DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I, claims 1-9 and 11 in the reply filed on 9/16/2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the groups are not independent and distinct. This is not found persuasive because the groups are independent and distinct as demonstrated in the requirement for restriction of 8/7/2026.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim 10 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on 9/16/2026.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-9 and 11 are objected to because of the following informalities: A period must be added to the end of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kakegawa (JP 2000-136483A).
Regarding claims 1 and 3: Kakegawa teaches a composition comprising 80 wt% polyvinylidene fluoride (claimed fluororesin) and 20 wt% of carbon fibers surface treated with a polymer sizing agent [0026, 0037; Examples; Tables]. The carbon fibers of Kakegawa have a mass loss after heat treatment at 600°C of 3% [0026]. Therefore, at a temperature of 400°C, the mass loss will be at most 3%.
Regarding claim 2: 0 wt% is within the range of “at most 20 mass%. The examples of Kakegawa tech 0 wt% of other components [Examples; Tables].
Regarding claim 4: Kakegawa teaches a fiber length of 6 mm [0026; Examples].
Regarding claim 11: Kakegawa teaches a molded body [Examples].
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakegawa (JP 2000-136483A) as applied to claim 1 above.
Kakegawa teaches a tetrafluoroethylene-ethylene copolymer resin or a tetrafluoroethylene-hexafluoropropylene copolymer resin [0024]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select a tetrafluoroethylene-ethylene copolymer resin or a tetrafluoroethylene-hexafluoropropylene copolymer resin as the polymeric material from the short, finite of Kakegawa.
Claim(s) 5-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kakegawa (JP 2000-136483A) as applied to claim 1 above further in view of Iwasa et al. (JP 2007-314720A).
Kagegawa teaches glass fibers or carbon fibers [0007]. Kakegawa teaches a tetrafluoroethylene-ethylene copolymer resin [0024].
Kakegawa fails to teach the claimed fluororesin.
However, Iwasa et al. teach a fluororesin with a functional group comprising a carbonyl, hydroxyl group, a carboxyl group, or an acid anhydride, from the viewpoint of adhesion between the glass fiber-reinforced composite material and a metal [0024]. Iwasa et al. teach fluorinated copolymers based upon tetrafluoroethylene and unites based on ethylene [0023].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a tetrafluoroethylene-ethylene copolymer resin with a functional group comprising a carbonyl, hydroxyl group, a carboxyl group, or an acid anhydride as taught by Iwasa et al. as the polymeric material in Kakegawa to promote adhesion between the composition and a metal.
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763