DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-16 are pending in the current application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
A person shall be entitled to a patent unless –(a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
Claims 1, 2, 4-6, 8, 10-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Furey, US 2311043. Furey discloses a fitting #1 for securing a rope, comprising:
a) a body portion #9 having a cavity #15 adapted to receive a rope #19;
b) a first one or more threaded openings #17 in the body portion and a second one or more threaded (#16) openings #17 in the body portion, wherein the first one or more openings and the second one or more openings are in communication with the cavity (see Fig. 1) and are designed to receive threaded screws #18, the heads of the screws recessed (countersunk) below the plane of the body and
c) a first end portion #3 having an opening #14 that is in communication with the cavity.
Furey further discloses a second end portion of the fitting with a connector #8 which comprises openings (at least where pin 8 penetrates arms #6).
The examiner considers the longitudinal axis of the cavity #14 (cable receiving passage) to be perpendicular to the first one or more opening and second one or more openings. Furley further discloses an opening between the connector and the body portion (openings are between the pin #8 and the cross piece or yoke #7, and between the yoke #7 and the body #9.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Furey. Furey discloses the invention set forth above but does not explicitly disclose a plurality of first one or more openings or a plurality of second one or more openings, or that the screws are pointed, or that the longitudinal axis of the first one or more openings and the second one or more openings have offset longitudinal axis.
The examiner considers pointed screws, multiple first and second openings and offset longitudinal axis of the openings to be routine design choices made by an artisan when determining the retaining force needed to retain the rope in the body. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the rope fitting of Furey by using multiple first and second screw connections (axis of additional screw connections would obviously be offset as they are made around an elliptically shaped body) and to use pointed screws to more easily penetrate the cable or rope. Doing so provides greater retaining force to hold the rope in the body.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150210372 discloses a furling system with a rope connecting terminal #9 comprising an end opening and cavity for receiving the rope and multiple first and second openings. However, the multiple first and second openings do not communicate with the cavity.
/ANTHONY D WIEST/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3615