DETAILED ACTION
Claim amendments filed 7/23/2024 are acknowledged and entered into the record.
Accordingly, Claims 12-14, 17-20, 25-26, 30-35, 38, 43-46 are pending and will be examined on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 12-14, 17-20, 25-26, 30-35, 38, 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a written description rejection.
The claims are drawn to a multispecific binding compound comprising a first binding unit having binding affinity to CD22 and a second binding unit having binding affinity to CD3, a CAR-T comprising said multispecific compound, a method of treatment comprising administering said multispecific compound, and methods of making said compound. The claims recite CDR sequences having “two or fewer substitutions”. The claims are drawn to defining an antibody by function but lack a structure-to-function correlation as well as alterations within the CDRs which can affect antigen binding.
The MPEP § 2163 states that the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied through sufficient description of a representative number of species by actual reduction to practice, or by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics, i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. A “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. See, e.g., AbbVie Deutschland GMBH v. Janssen Biotech, 759 F.3d 1285, 111 USPQ2d 1780 (Fed. Cir. 2014). Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus to provide a "representative number” of species. The “structural features common to the members of the genus” needed for one of skill in the art to ‘visualize or recognize’ the members of the genus takes into account the state of the art at the time of the invention. “Functional” terminology may be used “when the art has established a correlation between structure and function” but “merely drawing a fence around the outer limits of a purported genus is not an adequate substitute for describing a variety of materials constituting the genus and showing one has invented a genus and not just a species.” Ariad Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F3d 1336, 94 USPQ2d 1161, 1171 (Fed Cir. 2010).
As was well-known in the antibody art, antibodies as a class share an overall structure generally comprising two heavy chain polypeptides that each comprises a heavy chain variable region (VH) and a heavy chain constant region made up of several domain (CH1, hinge, CH2, CH3, and for some antibodies, a CH4). Each of the heavy chains pairs with a light chain polypeptide that comprises a light chain variable region (VL) and a constant region. But while this overall structure is shared amongst antibodies from a wide variety of sources (human, rat, mouse, rabbit), the structure each antibody uses to bind its particular epitope on an antigen is structurally distinct and is formed by a recombination event that results in high variability at the amino acid sequence level. By the time the invention was made, it was well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site in an antibody usually required the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three “complementarity determining regions” (“CDRs”) which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. E.g., Almagro & Fransson, Frontiers in Bioscience 2008; 13:1619-33 (see Section 3 “Antibody Structure and the Antigen Binding Site” and Figure 1). Chimeric antibodies comprise the heavy and light chain variable regions of a rodent antibody linked to human constant regions and preserve the entirety of the VH and VL of the parent antibody. Id. at 1619-20. Humanized antibodies comprise only the CDRs, or in some cases an abbreviated subset of residues within the CDRs, of a parental rodent antibody in the context of human framework sequences. Id. at Section 4. All of the CDRs of the heavy and light chain, in their proper order of CDR1, then 2, then 3, and in the context of framework sequences which maintain their required conformation are generally required to produce a humanized antibody in which the heavy and light chains associate to form an antigen-binding region that binds the same antigen as the parental rodent antibody. Id. at Section 4. Almagro provides a detailed discussion regarding various methods of humanization, including rationale design approaches and empirical approaches based on random screening. Almagro, Sections 4 and 5.
Overall, at the time the invention was made, the level of skill for preparing antibodies and then selecting those antibodies with desired functional properties was high. However, even if a selection procedure was, at the time of the invention, sufficient to enable the skilled artisan to identify antibodies with the recited functional properties, the written description provision of 35 U.S.C § 112 is severable from its enablement provision. Ariad Pharm., Inc. v. Eli Lilly & Co., 598 F.3d 1336 (Fed. Cir. 2010); see also Centocor Ortho Biotech Inc. v. Abbott Labs., 97 USPQ2d 1870, 1876 (Fed. Cir. 2011) (“The fact that a fully-human antibody could be made does not suffice to show that the inventors of the '775 patent possessed such an antibody.”) Absent the conserved structure provided by all six CDRs in the context of appropriate VH and VL framework sequences, the skilled artisan generally would not be able to visualize or otherwise predict, a priori, what an antibody with a particular set of functional properties would look like structurally.
MPEP § 2163 states that a “representative number of species” means that the species which are adequately described are representative of the entire genus. Thus, when there is substantial variation within the genus, one must describe a sufficient variety of species to reflect the variation within the genus.
The CDR sequences of one antibody do not predict the CDR sequence/structure of any and all other binding variant antibodies yet to be discovered. The instant application does not provide adequate written description for any and all CD22xCD3 antibodies that function as claimed yet to be discovered, even those that bind known epitopes. Furthermore, although screening applications are well known in the art to identify CD22xCD3 binding antibodies, screening is only a wish or plan for the future invention of undiscovered, unknown antibodies (the court found in (Rochester v. Searle, 358 F.3d 916, Fed Cir., 2004) that screening assays are not sufficient to provide adequate written description for an invention because they are merely a wish or plan for obtaining the claimed chemical invention). Based on the disclosed antibody sequences, one could not readily envision or predict the CDR sequences of any and all other future, undiscovered CD22xCD3 targeting antibodies that can function as claimed. A definition by function does not suffice to define the genus because it is only an indication of what the antibody does, rather than what it is. A description of a genus of antibodies may be achieved by means of a recitation of a representative number of antibodies, defined by sequence, falling within the scope of the genus or of a recitation of structural features common to the members of the genus, which features constitute a substantial portion of the genus. The written description requirement can be met by showing that an invention is complete by disclosure of sufficiently detailed, relevant identifying characteristics ....i.e., complete or partial structure, other physical and/or chemical properties, functional characteristics when coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or some combination of such characteristics. The court found that if the disclosed species only abide in a corner of the genus, one has not described the genus sufficiently to show that the inventor invented, or had possession of, the genus. He only described a portion of it. The specifically defined antibody sequences claimed or disclosed in the specification are not representative of nor predictive of any and all other antibody sequences for the broadly claimed genus. Applicants are directed to the recent and relevant decision in AbbVie Deutschland GmbH v. Janssen Biotech, Inc. (Fed. Cir. 2014). The court found that if the disclosed species only abide in a corner of the genus, one has not described the genus sufficiently to show that the inventor invented, or had possession of, the genus. He only described a portion of it. Therefore, claims which do not define the antibodies with 100% identity to specific variable or CDR sequences or do not defined all 6 CDR regions or both VH and VL in one claim, are rejected for not adequately providing written description for the entire genus instantly claimed. Furthermore, it is also well established in the art that the formation of an intact antigen-binding site generally requires the association of the complete heavy and light chain variable regions of a given antibody, each of which consists of three CDRs which provide the majority of the contact residues for the binding of the antibody to its target epitope. The amino acid sequences and conformations of each of the heavy and light chain CDRs are critical in maintaining the antigen binding specificity and affinity which is characteristic of the parent immunoglobulin. It is expected that all of the heavy and light chain CDRs in their proper order and in the context of framework sequences which maintain their required conformation, are required in order to produce a protein having antigen-binding function and that proper association of heavy and light chain variable regions is required in order to form functional antigen binding sites. Even minor changes in the amino acid sequences of the heavy and light variable regions, particularly in the CDRs, may dramatically affect antigen-binding function as evidenced by Rudikoff et al. (Proc Natl Acad Sci USA 1982 Vol 79 page 1979). Rudikoff et al. teach that the alteration of a single amino acid in the CDR of a phosphocholine-binding myeloma protein resulted in the loss of antigen-binding function. MacCallum et al. J. Mol. Biol. (1996) 262, 732-745, analyzed many different antibodies for interactions with antigen and state that although CDR3 of the heavy and light chain dominate, a number of residues outside the standard CDR definitions make antigen contacts (see page 733, right col) and non-contacting residues within the CDRs coincide with residues as important in defining canonical backbone conformations (see page 735, left col.). Pascalis et al. (The Journal of Immunology (2002) 169, 3076-3084) demonstrate that grafting of the CDRs into a human framework was performed by grafting CDR residues and maintaining framework residues that were deemed essential for preserving the structural integrity of the antigen binding site (see page 3079, right col.). Although abbreviated CDR residues were used in the constructs, some residues in all 6 CDRs were used for the constructs (see page 3080, left col.). The fact that not just one CDR is essential for antigen binding or maintaining the conformation of the antigen binding site, is underscored by Casset et al. (BBRC 2003, 307:198-205), which constructed a peptide mimetic of an anti-CD4 monoclonal antibody binding site by rational design and the peptide was designed with 27 residues formed by residues from 5 CDRs (see entire document). Casset et al. also states that although CDR H3 is at the center of most if not all antigen interactions, clearly other CDRs play an important role in the recognition process (page 199, left col.) and this is demonstrated in this work by using all CDRs except L2 and additionally using a framework residue located just before the H3 (see page 202, left col.). Vajdos et al. (J. Mol. Biol. (2002) 320, 415-428), additionally state that antigen binding is primarily mediated by the CDRs more highly conserved framework segments which connect the CDRs are mainly involved in supporting the CDR loop conformations and in some cases framework residues also contact antigen (page 416, left col.). Chen et al. (J. Mol. Bio. (1999) 293, 865-881) describe high affinity variant antibodies binding to VEGF wherein the results show that the antigen binding site is almost entirely composed of residues from heavy chain CDRs, CDR-H1, H2, H3 (page 866). Wu et al. (J. Mol. Biol. (1999) 294, 151-162) state that it is difficult to predict which framework residues serve a critical role in maintaining affinity and specificity due in part to the large conformational change in antibodies that accompany antigen binding (page 152 left col.) but certain residues have been identified as important for maintaining conformation. Padlan et al. (PNAS 1989, 86:5938-5942) described the crystal structure of an antibody-lysozyme complex where all 6 CDRs contribute at least one residue to binding and one residue in the framework is also in contact with antigen. Lastly, Lamminmaki et al. (JBC 2001, 276:36687-36694) describe the crystal structure of an anti-estradiol antibody in complex with estradiol where, although CDR3 of VH plays a prominent roll, all CDRs in the light chain make direct contact with antigen (even CDR2 of VL, which is rarely directly involved in hapten binding).
In the absence of a representative number of species, the written description requirement for a claimed genus may be satisfied by disclosure of relevant, identifying characteristics; i.e., structure or other physical and/or chemical properties, by functional characteristics coupled with a known or disclosed correlation between function and structure, or by a combination of such identifying characteristics, sufficient to show the applicant was in possession of the claimed genus. To meet this requirement in the instant case, the specification must describe structural features that convey the claimed CD22xCD3 binding members. As noted above, the art generally accepted that the combination of the CDRs within the VH and VL pair of an antibody were essential for binding specificity. But the specification does not describe what residues within the CDRs confer the binding activity claimed. Accordingly, the skilled artisan would not be able to discern a structure/function correlation for antibodies other than those comprising either all six CDRs (in the context of VH and VL regions) of one parental antibody, or the VH and VL of one parental antibody. Given the lack of shared structural properties that provide the claimed binding activity, the limited number of species described, and the fact that the species that were described cannot be considered representative of the broad genus of variant antibodies, Applicant was not in possession of the invention as claimed.
Applicant is invited to amend the claims to recite groupings of 3 defined CDRs for targeting CD22 and 3 defined CDRs for targeting CD3 with any specific substitutions defined by amino acid and residue.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-14, 17-20, 25-26, 30-35, 38, 43-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trinklein et al. (WO/2018/052503 published 03/22/2018, cited on IDS filed 11/4/2020) in view of Rangaswamy et al. (J. of Clinical Oncology, Vol. 36, no. 5, suppl. 26, February 2018, cited on IDS filed 11/4/2020) and Aldred et al. (WO/2019/126756).
The claims are drawn to a multi-specific binding compound comprising a CD22 binding unit and a CD3 binding unit, a polynucleotide encoding said binding compound and a method for the treatment of B-cell disorder characterized by expression of CD22, comprising administering said multi-specific binding compound. The claims recite the CDRs have “two or fewer substitutions” which reads on zero substitutions.
Trinklein et al. teach the generation of anti-CD3 antibodies comprising a fixed light chain set forth in SEQ ID NO: 19, which is identical to SEQ ID NO: 92 of the present application, and alternative heavy chains including the heavy chain set forth in SEQ ID NO: 13, which is identical to SEQ ID NO: 91 of the present application. Trinklein et al. further discloses the use of these antibodies for generation of bispecific antibodies wherein one arm comprises the anti-CD3 antibody and the other arm a variable region specifically binding a tumor-associated antigen (see in particular paragraphs 16-20, 23, figures 1-4 and examples). Trinklein et al. does not teach a CD22 x CD3 bispecific antibody or the specific anti-CD22 sequences instantly claimed, these deficiencies are is made up for by Rangaswamy et al. and Aldred et al.
Rangaswamy et al. teaches that combining unique anti-CD3 arms with different tumor targeting arms enables creation of bispecific antibodies of varying tumor cell killing capability. Rangaswamy et al. refers to combining these arms with tumor antigen binding arms: anti-BCMA for multiple myeloma therapy and anti-CD22 arm for B-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia therapy and teaches that these bispecific antibodies show in vivo efficacy in vivo in xenograft model.
Aldred et al. teach heavy chain only anti-CD22 antibodies useful for treating B-cell disorders characterized by the expression of CD22. Aldred et al. disclose 100% identity to instantly claimed SEQ ID NOs: 24, 25, and 32 as well as CAR-T formats. Aldred et al. further disclose a bispecific anti-CD22 x anti-CD3 antibody mediated killing of human tumor cells through redirection of activated T cells (see example 4).
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make and use a multispecific CD22xCD3 binding compound with the specific sequences taught by Trinklein et al. and Aldred et al. based on the teachings of Trinklein et al., Rangaswamy et al., and Aldred et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Trinklein et al. teach targeting both CD3 and a tumor-associated using a bispecific antibody and Rangaswamy et al. and Aldred et al. teach successful bispecific targeting antibodies for CD3 and CD22 for tumor cell killing. The instant situation is amenable to the type of analysis set forth in In re Kerkhoven, 205 USPQ 1069 (CCPA 1980) wherein the court held that it is prima facie obvious to combine two modes of treatment, each of which is taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose in order to make a protocol that is to be used for the very same purpose since the idea of combining them flows logically from their having been individually taught in the prior art. Applying the same logic to the instantly claimed multispecific CD22xCD3 antibody and method of treatment, given the teaching of the prior art, it would have been obvious to combine the teachings of Trinklein et al., Rangaswamy et al. and Aldred et al. to make and use an improved bispecific antibody targeting both CD22 and CD3 for improved therapeutic benefit for the treatment of B-cell acute lymphoblastic leukemia because the idea of doing so would have logically followed from their having been individually taught in the prior art to be useful for the same purpose, successfully targeting CD22 and CD3 to target and kill tumor cells. Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to make and use a multispecific binding compound targeting CD22 and CD3 comprising the instantly claimed CDR and variable region sequences (Trinklein et al. for CD3 sequences and Aldred et al. for CD22 sequences) based on the teachings of Trinklein et al., Rangaswamy et al., and Aldred et al. all showing improved therapeutic benefit when such bispecific targeting compounds are administered.
Double Patenting
Claims 12-14, 17-20, 25-26, 30-35, 38, 43-46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-97 of U.S. Patent No. 11,905,326. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and those of US Patent 11,905,326 are both drawn to a multispecific antibody binding to CD22 and CD3 comprising the same CDR/VHH sequences.
Claims 12-14, 17-20, 25-26, 30-35, 38, 43-46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 11-12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,873,336. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims and those of US Patent 11,873,336 are both drawn to a multispecific antibody binding to CD22 and CD3 comprising the same CDR/VHH sequences.
Conclusion
Claims 12-14, 17-20, 25-26, 30-35, 38, 43-46 are rejected.
No Claim is allowed.
/Meera Natarajan/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1643