DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-15 and 20 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-15 and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madigan et al. US Publication 2017/0157949 (hereafter “Madigan”) and Fu et al. US Publication 2022/0085122 (hereafter “Fu”).
Referring to claim 1, Madigan discloses a droplet processing device comprising:
a terminal including one or more processors, the one or more processors configured to
generate a general area halftoning image to which a print pattern is applied, and a target area halftoning image to which the random print pattern is not applied (paragraph 49, a “halftone” as used herein simply refers to a droplet pattern that will create a liquid layer of specified thickness following layer processing), the general area halftoning image including a plurality of areas defined based on general area size information and spaced apart from each other, a first density of dots included in the print pattern of a relatively inner one of the plurality of areas being denser than a second density of dots included in the print pattern of a relatively outer one of the plurality of areas (paragraph 115, FIGS. 9A-9G are used to discuss techniques for varying ink density at border regions in order to mitigate this effect and related effects, e.g., by adjusting “scaling” of the volume/area at portions of a layer which are adjacent to the edge of a layer. In one embodiment, this technique involves reducing the scaling of droplet density near an edge or corner of an intended print area), and
synthesize the general area halftoning image and the target area halftoning image to generate a synthesized image in which the general area halftoning image surrounds the general area halftoning image (paragraph 120, FIG. 9D provides a depiction 941 used to help illustrate one processing technique that adjusts material thickness at layer edges in the context of an OLED panel); and
an inkjet system configured to
receive the synthesized image, and
cause to spray droplets onto a substrate based on dot locations present in the synthesized image (paragraph 52, When planning is complete, the result is a set of control data (129) that can be stored in system memory (127) and/or immediately applied to printing; for example, as referenced above, printing can be performed according to the control data (i.e., according to the adjusted filter/data, as reference by numeral 131, upon a new substrate 132)),
wherein the general area halftoning image is generated for a central area (paragraph 120, Substrate geography where the encapsulation layer is to be deposited is seen to comprise area 943), and
the target area halftoning image is generated for an edge area enclosing a border of the general area (paragraph 120, boundary region 947).
While Madigan discloses the general area halftoning image, Madigan does not disclose expressly that a random print pattern is applied to the general area halftoning image.
Fu discloses generating a general area halftoning image to which a random print pattern is applied (paragraph 43, In one embodiment, the first organic layer 13 may have random thicknesses in the multiple transparent regions 111a),
the general area halftoning image including a first density of dots included in the random print pattern (paragraph 43, In one embodiment, the first organic layer 13 may have random thicknesses in the multiple transparent regions 111a).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to randomize a general area halftoning image. The motivation for doing so would have been to avoid diffraction from external light to improve the display effect of the display panel. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Fu with Madigan to obtain the invention as specified in claim 1.
Referring to claim 2, Madigan discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
set the general area size information for a general area (paragraph 51, As denoted by a dashed-line starting block 113, the fabrication apparatus and/or its control system receive a layer thickness for a layer to be fabricated upon a substrate. In the event that the specific layer is to be an element of an electronic layer stack (e.g., a functional layer in a light generating element), the target region is the intended geometry of the layer (e.g., with layer height and width established in advance)), and
receive the general area size information and set general area brightness information for the general area size information (paragraph 120, For example, scaling within region 945 can be increased as depicted by grayscale values seen at the left of FIG. 9D so as to optionally increase ink volume in areas approaching the boundary, or a correction factor can be added to planned in volumes. Note in this regard that each unit area of the substrate (each represented by a value of 0-255) can initially be associated with a particular thickness, for example, represented by hypothetical grayscale value, “220” in this example).
Referring to claim 3, Madigan discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to set the general area brightness information to gray scale (paragraph 120, For example, scaling within region 945 can be increased as depicted by grayscale values seen at the left of FIG. 9D so as to optionally increase ink volume in areas approaching the boundary, or a correction factor can be added to planned in volumes. Note in this regard that each unit area of the substrate (each represented by a value of 0-255) can initially be associated with a particular thickness, for example, represented by hypothetical grayscale value, “220” in this example).
Referring to claim 4, Madigan discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
receive the general area brightness information, and
set general area resolution information for the general area size information to generate a pixelated general area image (paragraph 52, In order to improve layer homogeneity, smoothness, printing time and other layer characteristics, the system plans printing according to principles discussed herein (117). This planning can include adjustment of the baseline volume per unit area or other print process parameters according to techniques discussed herein. In one optional embodiment, as introduced above, a scan filter (118) can be utilized to interleave droplets across multiple scans (in order that droplets coalesce in a manner that is more predictable) and this filter and/or pattern (or density) can optionally be adjusted (121) in order to account for nozzle error and/or other process variation).
Referring to claim 5, Madigan discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
receive the pixelated general area resolution setting unit, and
halftone the pixelated general area image in a form of dots to generate a general area halftoning image (paragraph 65, In one preferred embodiment, this pattern is generated by calling a “halftoning” subroutine (i.e., as a software module) which receives printable area definition (e.g., height and width) and print head particulars (e.g., nozzle-pitch, print grid particulars, and so forth) and the scaled density (e.g., “3.2-10 pL droplets per square millimeter”) and returns droplet pattern information that equates to nozzle firing decisions for the print grid overlaid against the printable area of the substrate).
Claims 7-9 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madigan et al. US Publication 2017/0157949 and Fu et al. US Publication 2022/0085122 as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Lee et al. US Publication 2017/0266957 (hereafter “Lee”).
Referring to claim 7, Madigan discloses the target area, but does not disclose expressly a target area size setting unit.
Lee discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to set the target area size information for a target area (paragraph 63, Detailed data such as a position and an area of the second region may be determined when the second region is set).
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to set a size of a target area in an image. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the accuracy and control over forming layers onto a substrate. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Lee with Madigan to obtain the invention as specified in claim 7.
Referring to claim 8, Lee discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to set the target area to surround a border of the general area (paragraph 62, The second region is closer than the first region to an edge of the target region).
Referring to claim 9, Lee discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
receive the target area size information, and
set target area brightness information for the target area size information (paragraph 77, In operation S355, in order to generate control data for the second region, a print density varying method for the second region is first selected).
Referring to claim 11, Lee discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to set the target area brightness information to brightness lower than the general area brightness information (paragraph 63, A print density of the second region is set to be less than a print density of the first region).
Referring to claim 12, Lee discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
receive the target area brightness information, and
set target area resolution information for the target area size information to generate a pixelated target area image (paragraph 83, FIG. 10 is a view illustrating an example where the inkjet head 100 is driven according to the control data CD2_1 of FIG. 9 to eject the droplets LD to the second region R2).
Referring to claim 13, Lee discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
receive the pixelated target area image, and
generate a target area halftoning image by halftoning the pixelated target area image in a form of dots (paragraph 105, Next, in operation S389, the control data CD2_3 in a matrix form is generated by multiplying the bitmap data determined for each of the unit regions of the second region, the ratio of the droplets to be discharged onto the unit regions to the standard discharge amount, and the standard driving voltage per nozzle together [the matrix can be considered a halftoning image because it is a droplet pattern that creates a liquid layer of specified thickness])).
Referring to claim 14, Madigan discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
receive the general area halftoning image and the target area halftoning image, and
format the general area halftoning image and the target area halftoning image into a single image to generate a synthesized image (paragraph 52, When planning is complete, the result is a set of control data (129) that can be stored in system memory (127) and/or immediately applied to printing; for example, as referenced above, printing can be performed according to the control data (i.e., according to the adjusted filter/data, as reference by numeral 131, upon a new substrate 132)).
Referring to claim 15, Madigan discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to
receive the synthesized image, and
transmit the received synthesized image to an inkjet system (paragraph 52, When planning is complete, the result is a set of control data (129) that can be stored in system memory (127) and/or immediately applied to printing; for example, as referenced above, printing can be performed according to the control data (i.e., according to the adjusted filter/data, as reference by numeral 131, upon a new substrate 132))
Claim 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madigan et al. US Publication 2017/0157949, Fu et al. US Publication 2022/0085122 and Lee et al. US Publication 2017/0266957 as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of well known prior art.
Referring to claim 10, Lee discloses wherein the one or more processors are further configured to set the target area brightness information (paragraph 77, In operation S355, in order to generate control data for the second region, a print density varying method for the second region is first selected).
Madigan and Lee do not disclose expressly setting the target area brightness information to gray scale.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known and obvious in the art to use gray scale to set brightness (See MPEP 2144.03). The motivation for doing so would have been to simply processing of brightness in order to quickly and efficiently process the information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine well known prior art with Madigan and Lee to obtain the invention as specified in claim 10.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Madigan et al. US Publication 2017/0157949, Fu et al. US Publication 2022/0085122, Lee et al. US Publication 2017/0266957 and well known prior art.
Referring to claim 20, Madigan discloses a droplet processing device comprising:
a terminal including one or more processors are further configured to
set general area size information for a general area (paragraph 51, As denoted by a dashed-line starting block 113, the fabrication apparatus and/or its control system receive a layer thickness for a layer to be fabricated upon a substrate. In the event that the specific layer is to be an element of an electronic layer stack (e.g., a functional layer in a light generating element), the target region is the intended geometry of the layer (e.g., with layer height and width established in advance)),
receive the general area size information, set general area brightness information for the general area size information, and set the general area brightness information to gray scale (paragraph 120, For example, scaling within region 945 can be increased as depicted by grayscale values seen at the left of FIG. 9D so as to optionally increase ink volume in areas approaching the boundary, or a correction factor can be added to planned in volumes. Note in this regard that each unit area of the substrate (each represented by a value of 0-255) can initially be associated with a particular thickness, for example, represented by hypothetical grayscale value, “220” in this example),
receive the general area brightness information, and set general area resolution information for the general area size information to generate a pixelated general area image (paragraph 52, In order to improve layer homogeneity, smoothness, printing time and other layer characteristics, the system plans printing according to principles discussed herein (117). This planning can include adjustment of the baseline volume per unit area or other print process parameters according to techniques discussed herein. In one optional embodiment, as introduced above, a scan filter (118) can be utilized to interleave droplets across multiple scans (in order that droplets coalesce in a manner that is more predictable) and this filter and/or pattern (or density) can optionally be adjusted (121) in order to account for nozzle error and/or other process variation),
receive the general area image, and halftone the pixelated general area image in a form of dots to generate a general area halftoning image (paragraph 65, In one preferred embodiment, this pattern is generated by calling a “halftoning” subroutine (i.e., as a software module) which receives printable area definition (e.g., height and width) and print head particulars (e.g., nozzle-pitch, print grid particulars, and so forth) and the scaled density (e.g., “3.2-10 pL droplets per square millimeter”) and returns droplet pattern information that equates to nozzle firing decisions for the print grid overlaid against the printable area of the substrate), the general area halftoning image including a plurality of areas defined based on general area size information and spaced apart from each other, a first density of dots included in the print pattern of a relatively inner one of the plurality of areas being denser than a second density of dots included in the print pattern of a relatively outer one of the plurality of areas (paragraph 115, FIGS. 9A-9G are used to discuss techniques for varying ink density at border regions in order to mitigate this effect and related effects, e.g., by adjusting “scaling” of the volume/area at portions of a layer which are adjacent to the edge of a layer. In one embodiment, this technique involves reducing the scaling of droplet density near an edge or corner of an intended print area),
receive the general area halftoning image and the target area halftoning image, and format the general area halftoning image and the target area halftoning image into a single image to generate a synthesized image (paragraph 52, When planning is complete, the result is a set of control data (129) that can be stored in system memory (127) and/or immediately applied to printing; for example, as referenced above, printing can be performed according to the control data (i.e., according to the adjusted filter/data, as reference by numeral 131, upon a new substrate 132)), and
receive the synthesized image, and transmit the received synthesized image (paragraph 52, When planning is complete, the result is a set of control data (129) that can be stored in system memory (127) and/or immediately applied to printing; for example, as referenced above, printing can be performed according to the control data (i.e., according to the adjusted filter/data, as reference by numeral 131, upon a new substrate 132)); and
an inkjet system configured to
receive the synthesized image from the terminal, and
spray droplets onto a substrate based on dot locations present in the synthesized image (paragraph 52, When planning is complete, the result is a set of control data (129) that can be stored in system memory (127) and/or immediately applied to printing; for example, as referenced above, printing can be performed according to the control data (i.e., according to the adjusted filter/data, as reference by numeral 131, upon a new substrate 132)),
wherein the general area halftoning image is generated for a central area (paragraph 120, Substrate geography where the encapsulation layer is to be deposited is seen to comprise area 943), and
the target area halftoning image is generated for an edge area enclosing a border of the general area (paragraph 120, boundary region 947).
While Madigan discloses the general area halftoning image, Madigan does not disclose expressly that a random print pattern is applied to the general area halftoning image.
Fu discloses generating a general area halftoning image to which a random print pattern is applied (paragraph 43, In one embodiment, the first organic layer 13 may have random thicknesses in the multiple transparent regions 111a),
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to randomize a general area halftoning image. The motivation for doing so would have been to reduce visible color or lighting defects in the image (paragraph 43, In one embodiment, the first organic layer 13 may have random thicknesses in the multiple transparent regions 111a).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to randomize a general area halftoning image. The motivation for doing so would have been to avoid diffraction from external light to improve the display effect of the display panel.
Madigan does not disclose expressly setting a target area size.
Lee discloses the one or more processors configured to
set the target area size information for a target area and set the target area to surround a border of the general area (paragraph 63, Detailed data such as a position and an area of the second region may be determined when the second region is set),
receive the target area size information (paragraph 77, In operation S355, in order to generate control data for the second region, a print density varying method for the second region is first selected), set target area brightness information for the target area size information to lower brightness than the general area brightness information (paragraph 63, A print density of the second region is set to be less than a print density of the first region),
receive the target area brightness information, and set target area resolution information for the target area size information to generate a pixelated target area image (paragraph 83, FIG. 10 is a view illustrating an example where the inkjet head 100 is driven according to the control data CD2_1 of FIG. 9 to eject the droplets LD to the second region R2),
receive the target area image, and generate a target area halftoning image by halftoning the target area image in a form of dots (paragraph 52, When planning is complete, the result is a set of control data (129) that can be stored in system memory (127) and/or immediately applied to printing; for example, as referenced above, printing can be performed according to the control data (i.e., according to the adjusted filter/data, as reference by numeral 131, upon a new substrate 132)).
At the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to set a size of a target area in an image. The motivation for doing so would have been to increase the accuracy and control over forming layers onto a substrate.
Madigan and Lee do not disclose expressly setting the target area brightness information to gray scale.
Official Notice is taken that it is well known and obvious in the art to use gray scale to set brightness (See MPEP 2144.03). The motivation for doing so would have been to simply processing of brightness in order to quickly and efficiently process the information. Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine well known Fu, Lee and prior art with Madigan to obtain the invention as specified in claim 20.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PETER K HUNTSINGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2682