DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “or both.” It is unclear what the limitation “or both” is referring to or what “or both” would be an alternative to.
All other claims are rejected due to their dependence on one of the above rejected claims.
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 2 is dependent on claim 1, and the limitation “the fuel cell is positioned aft of the combustor of the turbomachine” of claim 2 is already recited in claim 1. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinwandel (hereafter Steinwandel – US 20140047814) in view of Milcarek et al. (hereafter Milcarek – US 20200313207).
Claim 1 recites “a gas turbine engine.” Steinwandel teaches such a gas turbine engine, as will be shown.
Steinwandel teaches (Figs. 1-5) a gas turbine engine comprising:
a turbomachine 2 having a compressor section 6, a combustor 26, and a turbine section 18 arranged in serial flow order, the turbomachine further comprising an outer casing (see casing of turbomachine 2, Fig. 2); and
a fuel cell assembly 4 positioned within the outer casing of the turbomachine (see Fig. 1, 2), the fuel cell assembly comprising a fuel cell 30.
However, Steinwandel does not teach the fuel cell assembly comprising a fuel cell positioned aft of the combustor of the turbomachine, defining an exhaust in fluid communication with a location forward of the fuel cell to provide output products to the location, or both.
Milcarek teaches a gas turbine engine (Figs. 1-4) comprising a turbomachine 400 having a compressor 402, a combustor 408, a turbine 404 arranged in serial order (Fig. 4), and a fuel assembly 411 comprising a fuel cell 412 positioned aft of the combustor of the turbomachine, defining an exhaust in fluid communication with a location forward of the fuel cell to provide output products to the location, or both (para. 0032 and Fig. 4, exhaust from combustor is provided to a location forward of the fuel cell)
Milcarek further teaches providing such an arrangement with a fuel cell positioned aft of the combustor would result in direct conversion of a part of the incoming jet fuel to electricity while the rest is converted to heat used to run the gas turbine, and operation in the absence of a reformer, thereby allowing a reduction in system weight when compared to the power output of the fuel cell (para. 0008).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Milcarek to the gas turbine engine of Steinwandel to have the fuel cell assembly comprising a fuel cell positioned aft of the combustor of the turbomachine, defining an exhaust in fluid communication with a location forward of the fuel cell to provide output products to the location, or both, as both references and Applicant’s invention are directed to gas turbine engines. Doing so would result in a reduction in system weight, as recognized by Milcarek.
Regarding Claim 2, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5) the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the fuel cell is positioned aft of the combustor of the turbomachine (see above).
Regarding Claim 3, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5) the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the turbomachine further comprises an exhaust nozzle located downstream of the turbine section defining a primary exhaust gas flowpath, wherein the fuel cell is positioned inward of the primary exhaust gas flowpath along a radial direction of the gas turbine engine (Steinwandel turbomachine comprises a bypass fan 8 which would have an exhaust nozzle defining a primary exhaust gas flowpath in the same way as Applicant).
Regarding Claim 4, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5) the gas turbine engine of claim 1, further comprising: an electric machine 42, wherein the fuel cell and the electric machine are positioned inward of at least a portion of a working gas flowpath of the turbomachine along a radial direction of the gas turbine engine (see Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5) the gas turbine engine of claim 4, wherein the fuel cell is in electric communication with the electric machine (para. 0053).
Regarding Claim 7, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Milcarek Figs. 1-4) the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the turbomachine comprises an exhaust gas flow from the turbine section during operation of the gas turbine engine, wherein the fuel cell is positioned to receive a portion of the exhaust gas flow (see Fig. 4, exhaust from turbine is recuperated and received by fuel cell).
Regarding Claim 8, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5) the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the gas turbine engine defines a bypass airflow passage over the turbomachine (bypass fan 8 would define bypass airflow passage), and wherein the fuel cell is in selective thermal communication with the bypass airflow passage (selective when the gas turbine engine is powered on or off).
Regarding Claim 9, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Milcarek Figs. 1-4) the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the exhaust is in fluid communication with the location forward of the fuel cell to provide the output products to the location (see location 4a, Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 10, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Milcarek Figs. 1-4) the gas turbine engine of claim 9, wherein the exhaust is configured to provide output products to the location forward of the fuel cell, wherein the exhaust is an anode exhaust (anode exhaust is recuperated in the loop, see Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 11, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Milcarek Figs. 1-4) the gas turbine engine of claim 9, wherein the turbomachine defines a working gas flowpath, and wherein the exhaust is in fluid communication with the working gas flowpath at the location (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 12, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Milcarek Figs. 1-4) the gas turbine engine of claim 9, wherein the location is the combustor, and wherein the exhaust is in fluid communication with the combustor (Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 13, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5) the gas turbine engine of claim 9, further comprising: a fuel delivery line 38, wherein the fuel cell assembly comprises a fuel processing unit 36, wherein the fuel processing unit is in thermal communication with the output products from the fuel cell to convert a fuel flow to a hydrogen rich gas (para. 0049), and wherein the fuel processing unit is in flow communication with the fuel delivery line for providing the hydrogen rich gas to the fuel delivery line (para. 0048-0049).
Regarding Claim 14, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5) the gas turbine engine of claim 9, further comprising: a fuel delivery line 38 in fluid communication with the combustor, wherein the turbomachine further comprises a combustion section 26 having the combustor, wherein the combustion section of the turbomachine further comprises a primary fuel nozzle 36 integrated into the combustor, and wherein the fuel delivery line is in fluid communication with the primary fuel nozzle (para. 0048-0049).
Regarding Claim 15, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5) the gas turbine engine of claim 9, wherein the output products comprise unspent fuel from the fuel cell (Milcarek Fig. 4).
Regarding Claim 16, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5) the gas turbine engine of claim 9, wherein the location is the turbine section 16, and wherein the exhaust is in fluid communication with the turbine section (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 17, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5) the gas turbine engine of claim 9, wherein the location is the compressor section 6, and wherein the exhaust is in thermal communication with the compressor section (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 18, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5) the gas turbine engine of claim 9, wherein the gas turbine engine further comprises a rotor assembly (of compressor or turbine sections), wherein the location is the rotor assembly, and wherein exhaust is in thermal communication with the rotor assembly (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 19, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5 and Milcarek Figs. 1-4) the gas turbine engine of claim 1, further comprising: a fuel delivery line (Steinwandel 38) in fluid communication with the combustor; and a thermal bus assembly comprising a heat source exchanger (Milcarek 306), a heat sink exchanger (Milcarek 308) and a thermal bus (Milcarek 312)in fluid communication with the heat source exchanger and the heat sink exchanger, wherein the heat source exchanger is in thermal communication with the output products, and wherein the heat sink exchanger is in thermal communication with the fuel delivery line (Milcarek Fig. 3).
Regarding Claim 20, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5 and Milcarek Figs. 1-4) the gas turbine engine of claim 19, wherein the heat source exchanger is positioned to receive substantially exclusively a flow from the fuel cell assembly (Milcarek Fig. 3).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Steinwandel in view of Milcarek, and further in view of Taylor (US 20230159176).
Regarding Claim 6, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek in Claim 1 above, teaches (Steinwandel Figs. 1-5) the gas turbine engine of claim 1, wherein the turbomachine further comprises an exhaust nozzle located downstream of the turbine section defining a primary exhaust gas flowpath (gas turbine engine comprising bypass fan 8 would have such an exhaust nozzle).
However, Steinwandel, as modified with Milcarek does not teach wherein the fuel cell is positioned outward of the primary exhaust gas flowpath along a radial direction of the gas turbine engine.
Taylor teaches (Fig. 6) a gas turbine engine wherein a fuel cell 510 is positioned outward of the primary exhaust gas flowpath along a radial direction of the gas turbine engine (see Fig. 6).
Taylor further teaches such a fuel cell arrangement is provides thermal advantages (para. 0051, 0054) and space saving (para. 0057).
It would have been obvious for a person having ordinary skill in the art to apply the teachings of Taylor to the gas turbine engine of modified Steinwandel to have wherein the fuel cell is positioned outward of the primary exhaust gas flowpath along a radial direction of the gas turbine engine, as both references and Applicant’s invention are directed to gas turbine engines. Doing so would result in efficient thermals and space savings, as recognized by Taylor.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See cited references.
/ANDREW THANH BUI/Examiner, Art Unit 3745
/COURTNEY D HEINLE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3745