DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the camera positioned on the piston housing (as recited in claim 5) must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Double Patenting
Claims 7-9 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 12,157,351. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the instant application are anticipated by the corresponding claim of the reference patent.
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 3 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 2 recites “said drum, and said outer-drums, each comprises a gear retained to its base”. The term “its base” lacks proper antecedent basis. The limitation should be amended to properly introduce the base of each of the drums.
Claim 3 recites “said piston housing contains 3 outer-drums”. In the context of the disclosure, it is clear that the outer-drums recited in claim 3 are not new drums, but are instead further specifying the number of the “one or more outer-drums” introduced in claim 2. Claim 3 should be amended to clearly reference the previously introduced outer-drums.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hensley (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0111703).
Regarding claim 1, Hensley discloses an electric spiraling piston (110, 200) comprising :a drum (225) around which said piston is spiraled when in a retracted orientation [FIG. 2A], said drum positioned within a piston housing (105-a); an electric motor (290) having a drive shaft connected to a central axis of said drum such that motor torque is relayed to the axis causing said drum to spin (paragraph 0064), wherein, when said drum is span by said motor said piston un-spirals and extracts out of said piston housing (paragraph 0064 discloses extension of the boom 110 from the housing via the motor) in a straight orientation [FIG. 2D]; and wherein said piston is biased to round its cross-section shape from a flat shape (shape of said piston 110 when it is wound on the drum 225) and into the shape of a full circle (shape of the piston when extended; paragraph 0073) [FIG. 3B], or more than a full circle, as it exits said housing.
Regarding claim 2, Hensley discloses an electric spiraling piston(110, 200) comprising: a drum (225) around which said piston is spiraled when in a retracted orientation [FIG. 2A], said drum positioned within a piston housing (105-a); an electric motor (290) having a drive shaft connected to a central axis of said drum such that motor torque is relayed to the axis causing said drum to spin and to extract said piston out of, or retract said piston into, said piston housing (paragraph 0064); wherein said piston housing further contains one or more outer-drums (220, 230, 240) positioned around, and in parallel orientation to, said drum [FIGS. 2A-2C], and wherein said drum, and said outer drums, each comprises a gear (215, 220, 245) retained to its base and each of said outer-drums gears is intermeshed with said drum gear (paragraphs 0063-0064); and wherein said drum gear is connected to said motor shaft with a uni-directional transmission mechanism (180), such that when said motor spins in a piston retraction direction said drum gear is disengaged by said uni-directional transmission mechanism and does not relay spinning motion to said outer-drums gears (paragraph 0052 discloses a clutch mechanism that disengages the boom deployment mechanism--including the outer-drums gears--during retraction of the boom).
Regarding claim 3, Hensley discloses that said piston housing contains 3 outer-drums (220, 230, 240).
Regarding claim 6, Hensley discloses that said uni-directional transmission mechanism is selected from the group consisting of: a one way bearing, a ratchet mechanism (paragraph 0052), a differential mechanism, and a multi gears or bands based transmission ratio mechanism.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hensley (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0111703) in view of Freese (U.S. Patent No. 10,486,503).
Regarding claim 4, Hensley discloses the piston housing, but does not disclose one or more window attachment components.
Nonetheless, Freese discloses a housing (20) including one or more window attachment components (31A, 31B) for attaching said housing to a surface of a window (50) [FIG. 4C].
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Hensley to include the window attachment components taught by Freese, in order to enable a fast and tool-free mechanism for securing the housing in place, and to allow for use of the retractable boom of Hensley in the shade assembly taught by Freese.
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hensley (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0111703) in view of Freese (U.S. Patent No. 10,486,503), as applied to claim 4 above, and further in view of Hall (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0051557).
Regarding claim 5, Hensley, as modified above, discloses the piston housing, but does not disclose a camera.
Nonetheless, Hall discloses a housing including a camera (3720; paragraph 0150) positioned on the housing [FIG. 38] such that it faces the window (paragraph 0150).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the housing of Hensley, as modified above, to include the camera taught by Hall, in order to provide means for detecting light levels or to provide additional security measures that the piston may be operated in response to.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hensley (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0111703) in view of Clymer (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0364665).
Regarding claims 7 and 9, Hensley discloses an electric spiraling piston system (200) comprising: an electric spiraling piston (110) including: a drum (225) around which said piston is spiraled when in a retracted orientation [FIG. 2A], said drum positioned within a piston housing (105-a); an electric motor (290) having a drive shaft connected to a central axis of said drum such that motor torque is relayed to the axis causing said drum to spin (paragraph 0064), wherein, when said drum is span by said motor said piston un-spirals and extracts out of said piston housing (paragraph 0064 discloses extension of the boom 110 from the housing via the motor) in a straight orientation [FIG. 2D]; an extracted piston segment length calculation mechanism (the encoder 190 reads on an extracted piston segment length calculation mechanism, as it determines a position of the boom 110), functionally associated with said drum, for collecting data indicative of said drum's rotational orientation or spinning (paragraph 0050). Hensley does not disclose communication circuitry, a mobile device application, or a user communication device.
Nonetheless, Clymer discloses a system (100) including communication circuitry (150) for relaying collected data to a user communication device (144) running a mobile device application (paragraph 0039); and said mobile device application for: calculating, based on the relayed data, the length of a segment of an extendable and retractable system component (116) that is extended from a respective housing; and visually presenting, over a screen of the user communication device, the length of the segment of said component, wherein the length of the segment is presented relative to a predefined length of a segment representing full extension (as shown in Figure 6I, the length of extension/retraction is shown as a portion of the bar of the interface 728).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the system of Hensley to include the communication circuitry and mobile device application taught by Clymer, in order to facilitate use of the system by an end user, and to provide means for remotely monitoring and/or controlling the system.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hensley (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0111703) in view of Clymer (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0364665), as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Brunk (U.S. Patent No. 10,119,330).
Regarding claim 8, Hensley, as modified above, discloses the extracted piston segment length calculation mechanism, but does not disclose a potentiometer.
Nonetheless, Brunk discloses a drum having a potentiometer functionally associated therewith for estimating, based on measured electric resistance level, the length of a segment of an extending member (column 28, lines 61-63).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the piston of Hensley, as modified above, to include the potentiometer taught by Brunk, in order to provide consistent and reliable detection of the position of the piston. All the claimed elements were known in the prior art as evidenced above, and one of ordinary skill in the art could have substituted one known element for another, using known methods with no change in their respective functions. Such a substitution would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made, since the elements perform as expected and thus the results would be expected.
Conclusion
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634