DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 17 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 17 recites in part “each track holder extends is fixed to the second portion”. This is grammatically incorrect.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
Claim 1 recites in part “a guide track holder comprising a pair of u-shaped track holders, each u-shaped track holder comprising a first track holder coupled to the first guide track and a second track holder coupled to the second guide track,”. Applicant refers to fig 15 for support for these limitations. Paragraph [0090] recites in part “As seen in FIG. 15, for example, a guide track holder 104 having a first track holder 104a and a second track holder 104b may be fixed to tracks 80a, 80b, respectively.” It appears that there is insufficient support for “a guide track holder comprising a pair of u-shaped track holders, each u-shaped track holder comprising a first track holder coupled to the first guide track and a second track holder coupled to the second guide track,”. It appears that there is support for “a guide track holder comprising a pair of u-shaped track holders, ”.
Claims 2-17 are at least rejected for depending from rejected claim 1. Dependent claims contain all limitations of the claims from which they depend, and therefore inherit their new matter issues.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, and 13-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Korean Document 20- 0256886 Y1., hereinafter Jeong Hae-guk.
Regarding claim 1.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses a door assembly (100, fig 1) (Examiner notes that, unless otherwise noted, the embodiment of fig 9 is relied upon. However, other figures may be referred to for illustration purposes.) comprising:
a first side column (at 120, fig 1) positioned proximate a first side of a doorway (See fig 1) and a second side column (at 120, fig 1) positioned proximate a second side of the doorway (See fig 1), wherein each side column comprises a pair of guide tracks having a first guide track (See annotated fig 9) and a second guide track (See annotated fig 9) bounding a guide channel (See annotated fig 9) accessible from the doorway through a gap (See annotated fig 9), wherein the first guide track and the second guide track each include a first portion (See annotated fig 9) and a curved portion (See annotated fig 9), the curved portion of each guide track extending towards the opposing guide track and defining the gap (See annotated fig 9), the gap being positioned between the curved portion of the first guide track and the curved portion of the second guide track (See annotated fig 9);
a guide track holder (127b, fig 9) comprising a pair of u-shaped track holders (See annotated fig 9), each u-shaped track holder comprising a first track holder (See annotated fig 9) coupled to the first guide track and a second track holder (See annotated fig 9) coupled to the second guide track (See annotated fig 9), wherein the first u-shaped track holder comprises
a first portion (See annotated fig 9) extending parallel to the first portion of the first guide track and being fixed to the first portion of the first guide track along an entire length of the first portion of the first u-shaped track holder (See annotated fig 9),
a second portion (See annotated fig 9) connected to the first portion by a wraparound portion (See annotated fig 9), the second portion being fixed to a second portion (See annotated fig 9) of the first guide track and extending within the guide channel (See annotated fig 9) bound within the first guide track and the second guide track so that the first u-shaped track holder is fixed to the first guide track along three faces of the guide track (See annotated fig 9), and the second u-shaped track holder comprises
a first portion (See annotated fig 9) extending parallel to the first portion of the second guide track (See annotated fig 9) and being fixed to the first portion of the second guide track along an entire length of the first portion of the second u-shaped track holder (See annotated fig 9),
a second portion (See annotated fig 9) connected to the first portion by a wraparound portion (See annotated fig 9), the second portion being fixed to a second portion (See annotated fig 9) of the second guide track and extending within the guide channel (See annotated fig 9) bound within the first guide track and the second guide track (See annotated fig 9) so that the second u-shaped track holder is fixed to the second guide track along three faces of the guide track (See annotated fig 9),
and further wherein
each guide track (See annotated fig 9) is made from a material more flexible (as in fig 7; See also attached machine translation) than each guide track holder (127b, fig 9), and each guide track extends laterally a greater distance towards an interior of the doorway than each guide track holder (See annotated fig 9).
Regarding claim 13.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Jeong Hae-guk further discloses the second portion (See annotated fig 9) of the first track holder and the second portion (See annotated fig 9) of the second track holder at least partially form a back surface of the guide channel (See annotated fig 9).
Regarding claim 14.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Jeong Hae-guk further discloses the guide track holder includes a connection portion, the connection portion connecting the first u-shaped track holder to the second u- shaped track holder.
Regarding claim 15.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 14.
Jeong Hae-guk further discloses the guide track holder (127b, fig 9) is formed as a single unitary body (See fig 9).
Regarding claim 16.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Jeong Hae-guk further discloses the second portion (See annotated fig 9) of each track holder includes a protrusion (See annotated fig 9), the protrusion mating with a notch (See annotated fig 9) formed in the second portion of the first guide track or the second guide track (See annotated fig 9).
Regarding claim 17.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Jeong Hae-guk further discloses the second portion of each track holder (See annotated fig 9) extends is fixed to the second portion of the first or second guide track along an entire length of each second portion of the second u-shaped track holder (See annotated fig 9), and each wraparound portion (See annotated fig 9) is fixed to a portion of the first or second guide track along its entire length (See annotated fig 9).
Regarding claim 18.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses a door assembly (100, fig 1) (Examiner notes that, unless otherwise noted, the embodiment of fig 9 is relied upon. However, other figures may be referred to for illustration purposes.) comprising:
a first side column (at 120, fig 1) positioned proximate a first side of a doorway (see fig 1) and a second side column (at 120, fig 1) positioned proximate a second side of the doorway (see fig 1), wherein each side column comprises a pair of guide tracks having a first guide track (See annotated fig 9) and a second guide track (See annotated fig 9) bounding a guide channel (See annotated fig 9) accessible from the doorway through a gap (See annotated fig 9), wherein the first guide track and the second guide track each include a first portion (See annotated fig 9) and a curved portion (See annotated fig 9), the curved portion of each guide track extending towards the opposing guide track and defining the gap (See annotated fig 9), the gap being positioned between the curved portion of the first guide track and the curved portion of the second guide track (See annotated fig 9);
a guide track holder (See annotated fig 9) mounted to each side column, each guide track holder comprising a first u-shaped track holder (See annotated fig 9) integrated with a second u-shaped track holder (See annotated fig 9), wherein the first guide track extends into and is at least partially surrounded and engaged by the first u-shaped track holder (See annotated fig 9), and the second guide track extends into and is at least partially surrounded and engaged by the second u-shaped track holder (See annotated fig 9).
Regarding claim 19.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 18.
Jeong Hae-guk further discloses each u-shaped track holder comprises a first portion (See annotated fig 9) extending parallel to the first portion of the first or second guide track (See annotated fig 9) and being fixed to the first portion of the first or second guide track along an entire length of the first portion of each u-shaped track holder (See annotated fig 9), and
a second portion (See annotated fig 9) connected to the first portion by a wraparound portion (See annotated fig 9), the wraparound portion being fixed to an end of the guide track and the second portion being fixed to a second portion of the first or second guide track (See annotated fig 9) and extending within the guide channel (See annotated fig 9) bound within the first guide track and the second guide track so that each u-shaped track holder is fixed to the first or second guide track along three faces of the guide track (See annotated fig 9).
Regarding claim 20.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 18.
Jeong Hae-guk further discloses the second portion of each track holder includes a protrusion (See annotated fig 9), the protrusion mating with a notch (See annotated fig 9) formed in the second portion of the first guide track or the second guide track (See annotated fig 9).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 6, and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong Hae-guk in view of US Pat. 4,884,617 – Coenraets.
Regarding claim 2.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Jeong Hae-guk does not disclose a lower portion of the gap of each pair of guide tracks is reduced in width from a remainder of the gap, the lower portion of the gap forming a reduced gap portion, the reduced gap portion of each pair of guide tracks allowing access to the guide channel from the doorway.
However, Coenraets teaches a lower portion of the gap (below 23 in fig 5) of each pair of guide tracks is reduced in width from a remainder of the gap (above 23 in fig 5), the lower portion of the gap forming a reduced gap portion, the reduced gap portion of each pair of guide tracks allowing access to the guide channel from the doorway (See fig 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Jeong Hae-guk with the reduced gap width of Coenraets. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing more secure retention of the sheet when in a deployed state.
Regarding claim 6.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Jeong Hae-guk does not disclose a lower portion of each guide track (below 23, fig 5) is more rigid than any remaining portion of the guide track.
However, Coenraets teaches a lower portion of each guide track (below 23, fig 5) is more rigid than any remaining portion of the guide track (above 23, fig 5) (the increase in material at 7 and 8 would contribute to an increase in rigidity below 23 in fig 5).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Jeong Hae-guk with the more rigid lower portion of Coenraets. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing more secure retention of the sheet when in a deployed state.
Regarding claim 9.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Jeong Hae-guk does not disclose each guide track holder is constructed from one or more of metal, aluminum, or steel.
However, Coenraets teaches each guide track holder (in 12, fig 6) is constructed from one or more of metal, aluminum, or steel (Column 3, line 3; metal).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Jeong Hae-guk with the metal of Coenraets. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of providing more secure attachment of the track to the support structure.
Claim(s) 3-5, and 10-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jeong Hae-guk in view of US Pat. 8,109,317 – Bostyn.
Regarding claim 3.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Jeong Hae-guk does not disclose an interior surface of each of the first guide track and the second guide track from each pair of guide tracks is curved.
However, Bostyn teaches an interior surface of each of the first guide track and the second guide track from each pair of guide tracks is curved (See fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Jeong Hae-guk with the curved surfaces of Bostyn. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of allowing for smoother breakaway and refeeding of the panel.
Regarding claim 4.
The combination of Jeong Hae-guk and Bostyn teaches all limitations of claim 3.
The combination, in Bostyn, further teaches the interior surface which is curved of each first guide track and second guide track is located adjacent the gap (See fig 4).
Regarding claim 5.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Jeong Hae-guk does not disclose each guide track is constructed using an ultrahigh molecular weight polymer.
However, Bostyn teaches each guide track is constructed using an ultrahigh molecular weight polymer (Column 3, lines 30-37; The slideway …may be made … of high density polyethylene).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Jeong Hae-guk with the ultrahigh molecular weight polymer of Bostyn. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the operating friction of the shutter.
Regarding claim 10.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Jeong Hae-guk further discloses the first portion of the first track holder (See annotated fig 9) extends laterally across the exterior portion of the first guide track coupled thereto a first distance (See annotated fig 9) along a lower portion of the first guide track (See annotated fig 9).
Jeong Hae-guk does not disclose a second distance along any remaining portion of the first guide track, wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance.
However, Bostyn teaches the first portion of the first track holder (14, fig 4) extends laterally across the exterior portion of the first guide track (12 or 13, fig 4) coupled thereto a first distance (at 21, fig 8) along a lower portion of the first guide track (See fig 6), and
a second distance (as in fig 4) along any remaining portion of the first guide track (See fig 4), wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance (See fig 6).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Jeong Hae-guk with the holder extension distances of Bostyn. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of selectively increasing rigidity of the system in areas where such rigidity is desirable.
Regarding claim 11.
The combination of Jeong Hae-guk and Bostyn teaches all limitations of claim 10.
Jeong Hae-guk further discloses the first portion of the second track holder extends laterally across the exterior portion of the second guide track coupled thereto a first distance along a lower portion of the second guide track.
Jeong Hae-guk does not disclose a second distance along any remaining portion of the second guide track,
wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance.
However, Bostyn teaches the first portion of the second track holder (14, fig 4) extends laterally across the exterior portion of the second guide track (12 or 13, fig 4) coupled thereto a first distance (See fig 4) along a lower portion of the second guide track, and
a second distance along any remaining portion of the second guide track, wherein the first distance is greater than the second distance (See fig 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Jeong Hae-guk with the holder extension distances of Bostyn. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of selectively increasing rigidity of the system in areas where such rigidity is desirable.
Regarding claim 12.
Jeong Hae-guk discloses all limitations of claim 1.
Jeong Hae-guk does not disclose the first portion of each track holder extends laterally across a majority of the exterior portion of the first guide track or the second guide track coupled thereto.
However, Bostyn teaches the first portion of each track holder (14, fig 4) extends laterally across a majority of the exterior portion of the first guide track or the second guide track (12 or 13, fig 4) coupled thereto.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the assembly of Jeong Hae-guk with the holder extension distances of Bostyn. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of selectively increasing rigidity of the system in areas where such rigidity is desirable.
Claim(s) 7-8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Jeong Hae-guk and Coenraets, as applied to claim 6 above, and in further view of PG Pub. US 2007/0148429 A1 – McGrath et al., hereinafter McGrath.
Regarding claim 7.
The combination of Jeong Hae-guk and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 6.
Jeong Hae-guk further discloses each of the first guide track and the second guide track of each pair of guide tracks is an extrusion (the examiner notes that the method of forming an apparatus is not germaine to patentability of apparatus itself. Even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process." In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985) (citations omitted).
MPEP 2113 [R-1] Product-by-Process Claims
PRODUCT-BY-PROCESS CLAIMS ARE NOT LIMITED TO THE
MANIPULATIONS OF THE RECITED STEPS, ONLY THE STRUCTURE
IMPLIED BY THE STEPS) (in the instant case, the tracks of Coenraets are of a shape which is readily extrudable. See fig 6)
The combination, in Coenraets, further teaches a lower portion (below 23, fig 5) of each guide track is more rigid than any remaining portion of the guide track (above 23, fig 5) (The increase of material in 7 and 8 would increase the rigidity of the lower portion as compared to any remaining portion of the guide track (See fig 5)).
However, the combination does not teach an individual extrusion comprising multiple materials, wherein a material used for the lower portion of each [extrusion] is more rigid than a material used for any remaining portion of each guide track.
However, McGrath teaches an individual extrusion comprising multiple materials (including HDPE and glass fibers), wherein a material used for the lower portion of each [extrusion] is more rigid than a material used for any remaining portion of each [extrusion] (Paragraph [0104]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Jeong Hae-guk and Coenraets with the sequential coextrusion of McGrath. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the cost of the part as recited in paragraph [0104] of McGrath.
Regarding claim 8.
The combination of Jeong Hae-guk and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 6.
The combination does not teach one or more additives applied to each first guide track and each second guide track, wherein the one or more additives make a portion of each guide track more flexible than any remaining portion of the guide track, or make a portion of each guide track more rigid than any remaining portion of the guide track.
However, McGrath teaches an individual extrusion comprising multiple materials (including one or more additives), wherein a material used for the lower portion of each [extrusion] is more rigid than a material used for any remaining portion of each [extrusion] (Paragraph [0104]).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Jeong Hae-guk and Coenraets with the sequential coextrusion of McGrath. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the cost of the part as recited in paragraph [0104] of McGrath.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments submitted 01/21/2026 have been considered but are moot in light of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
/J.W.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/ABE MASSAD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634