DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment, Restriction/Election, and Claim Status
The amendment filed 15 July 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 3, 5, 9, and 11 are canceled. Claims 21–24 have been added. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6–8, 10, and 12–24 are pending in the application.
Applicant’s election with traverse of Invention II (Claims 12–19) in the reply filed on 15 July 2026 is acknowledged. The restriction between Invention II and Invention I was due to Invention II not requiring all the details of Invention I, and there being a serious search and/or examination burden because the inventions have acquired a separate status in the art in view of their different classification. As Applicant’s amendment to Claim 12 is such that Invention II does now require the details of Invention I, Claims 1, 2, 4, 6–8, and 10 have been rejoined.
The restriction regarding Invention III is maintained. Claim 20 is thus withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
[0018]: the extra comma after “N-cycloalkyl methacrylate” should be removed.
[0024]: “The battery of claim 17” should be deleted and replaced with appropriate wording such as “The polyacrylate may include” or similar.
[0080]: the comma in “50 µm,” should be deleted and replaced with a period.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claims 13 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 13: the extra comma after “N-cycloalkyl methacrylate” should be removed.
Claim 20 is drawn to a nonelected invention, and therefore should be marked as withdrawn.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6–8, and 10–24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1 and 12 are indefinite as they recite the claim element “acrylate monomers”, and it is unclear whether this is meant to refer to multiple of the same acrylate monomer, i.e. the claimed polyacrylate could comprise only one type of acrylate monomer, or if it is meant to limit the claimed polyacrylate to only a polyacrylate comprising multiple different, chemically distinct acrylate monomers. For the purposes of this office action, the claims have been interpreted under this first interpretation.
Claims 2, 4, 6–8, 10, 11, and 13–24 are rejected as they depend upon Claims 1 and 12 and do not resolve the indefinite language described above.
Claims 4 and 24 are further indefinite as they recite the claim elements: “ethylene glycol poly(meth)acrylate, propylene glycol poly(meth)acrylate, glycerol poly(meth)acrylate, trimethylolpropane poly(meth)acrylate, pentaerythritol poly(meth)acrylate”. However it is unclear if the prefix “poly” in the above compound names is meant to suggest that these compounds are polymeric, i.e. are polymers with many (e.g. 10+) repeating units, or if instead the above compounds names is meant to suggest that the above compounds are referring to families of compounds comprising more than one, i.e. “poly”, (meth)acrylate functional group. For instance, put another way, it is unclear whether for example the recited compound name “trimethylolpropane poly(meth)acrylate” is meant to refer to a polymer comprising many (e.g. 10+) trimethylol propane (meth)acrylate repeating units, or if it is instead a general term meant to encompass the compounds trimethylol propane di(meth)acrylate, trimethylol propane tri(meth)acrylate, etc. which have more than one (meth)acrylate functional group. This second interpretation appears to have a basis in e.g. [0070] and [0074]. For the purposes of this office action, the claims have been interpreted under this second interpretation.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 7, 12–14, 16, 17, 19, 21, and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2023/0265223 A1) in view of Koh et al. (US 2017/0263978 A1).
Regarding Claims 1 and 12, Tang discloses an electrolyte (see gel electrolyte, [0114]) for a battery that cycles lithium ions (see secondary battery, [0134]; [0140]), the electrolyte comprising:
a polyacrylate (see gel polymer, [0051]) comprising acrylate monomers (see monomer used for preparing the repeating unit represented by Formula 1… selected from a compound represented by… Formula 6, [0037], wherein R1 is e.g. methyl, [0026], R2 is absent, M is a phosphate chain segment with a structural unit represented by Formula 5, [0024], [0034], q is e.g. 3, and R3 is OH, [0029]; note that q being e.g. 3 satisfies [0040] disclosing that the molecular weight of the monomer be within the range of 100 Da to 10000 Da, the molecular weight of the monomer as calculated by the examiner being 298.23 Da) covalently bonded to one another ([0023], [0037]); and
a liquid electrolyte (see electrolyte, [0116]) immobilized in the polyacrylate ([0052], [0137]; discloses gelation between the liquid electrolyte and polyacrylate; it can therefore be understood that the liquid electrolyte is immobilized in the polyacrylate).
Tang does not explicitly disclose the liquid electrolyte comprising a lithium salt in an organic solvent, and instead discloses wherein the liquid electrolyte is one commonly used in the field ([0117]).
Koh teaches an electrolyte (see gel polymer electrolyte (130), [0024]) for a battery that cycles lithium ions (see lithium sulfur battery, [0024]), the electrolyte comprising: a polyacrylate (see polymer matrix, [0047]) comprising acrylate monomers (see trimethylolpropane ethoxylate triacrylate monomer, [0048]) covalently bonded to one another; and a liquid electrolyte (see electrolyte, [0041], [0047], [0050]) immobilized in the polyacrylate ([0047]), the liquid electrolyte comprising a lithium salt ([0041], [0050]) in an organic solvent ([0041], [0050]). Koh is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of batteries that cycle lithium ions.
KSR Rationale D (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to apply a “known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results”. In the instant case, Koh teaches a known liquid electrolyte for use in a similar electrolyte. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte of Tang such that the liquid electrolyte is that taught by Koh, to yield the predictable result of a functional electrolyte including a suitable liquid electrolyte.
Further regarding Claim 12, Tang further discloses a battery that cycles lithium ions (see secondary battery, [0134]; [0140]), the battery comprising:
a negative electrode ([0136]);
a positive electrode ([0136]) comprising an electroactive positive electrode material (see positive electrode active material, [0183]); and
a polymer electrolyte (see gel electrolyte, [0114]), this being the electrolyte already set forth above.
Tang does not explicitly disclose wherein the positive electrode is spaced apart from the negative electrode by a gap, the polymer electrolyte disposed within the gap between the negative electrode and the positive electrode. Instead, Tang discloses that the battery is assembled in a conventional manner.
Koh further teaches a battery that cycles lithium ions (see lithium sulfur battery, [0024]) comprising: a negative electrode (see negative electrode (150), [0024], FIG. 1); a positive electrode (see positive electrode (120), [0024], FIG. 1) spaced apart from the negative electrode by a gap ([0024], FIG. 1), the positive electrode comprising an electroactive positive electrode material (see positive electrode active material, [0025]); and a polymer electrolyte (see gel polymer electrolyte (130), [0024], FIG. 1) disposed within the gap between the negative electrode and the positive electrode ([0024], FIG. 1).
KSR Rationale D (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to apply a “known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results”. In the instant case, Koh teaches a known manner for assembly of a similar battery. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of modified Tang such that it is assembled in the same manner as taught by Koh, wherein the positive electrode is spaced apart from the negative electrode by a gap, and the polymer electrolyte is disposed within the gap between the negative electrode and the positive electrode, to yield the predictable result of a functional battery with a suitable manner of assembly.
Regarding Claim 2, 13, and 14, modified Tang discloses the electrolyte and battery as set forth above. Tang further discloses wherein the acrylate monomers comprise acrylate (see repeating unit from a gellable monomer, [0052], which can include acrylate, [0052]).
Further regarding Claims 2 and 14, Tang further discloses wherein at least one of the acrylate monomers comprises a phosphate substituent (as already set forth above, see monomer used for preparing the repeating unit represented by Formula 1… selected from a compound represented by… Formula 6, [0037], wherein R1 is selected from H or methyl, [0026], R2 is absent, M is a phosphate chain segment with a structural unit represented by Formula 5, [0024], [0034], and R3 is OH, [0029]).
Regarding Claims 6 and 16, modified Tang discloses the electrolyte and battery as set forth above. Tang further discloses wherein the polyacrylate further comprises an acrylonitrile monomer (see repeating unit from a gellable monomer, [0052], which can include acrylonitrile, [0052]), and wherein the acrylate monomers and the acrylonitrile monomer are covalently bonded to one another ([0052]).
Regarding Claims 7 and 17, modified Tang discloses the electrolyte and battery as set forth above. Tang further discloses wherein the polyacrylate comprises a polymer having the formula (1):
wherein:
m is an integer greater than 1;
n is zero;
p is an integer;
q is 1;
R1 is hydrocarbyl, R3 is a phosphate moiety; and
R2 is a divalent heterohydrocarbyl, because:
regarding the claimed repeating unit with the subscript m, as set forth above, Tang discloses acrylate monomers (see monomer used for preparing the repeating unit represented by Formula 1… selected from a compound represented by… Formula 6, [0037], wherein R1 is e.g. methyl, [0026], R2 is absent, M is a phosphate chain segment with a structural unit represented by Formula 5, [0024], [0034], q is e.g. 3, and R3 is OH, [0029]); polymerization of these acrylate monomers will result in the claimed repeating unit with the subscript m;
regarding the claimed repeating unit with the subscript n, Tang does not disclose this repeating unit and thus as set forth above, n is zero;
regarding the claimed repeating unit with the subscript p, Tang discloses wherein the polyacrylate further comprises an acrylonitrile monomer (see repeating unit from a gellable monomer, [0052], which can include acrylonitrile, [0052]); polymerization of the acrylonitrile monomer will result in the claimed repeating unit with the subscript n.
Regarding the limitation the sum of m + n + p is greater than or equal to 100 and less than or equal to 200,000, Tang discloses wherein a number average molecular weight of the polyacrylate is e.g. 100,000 Da ([0068]). Considering that, as calculated by the examiner, the molecular weights of the repeating units m and p set forth above are 298.23 Da and 53.06 Da, respectively, it can be understood that in any combination of repeating units, the above limitation will necessarily be satisfied. Specifically:
the lower limit of the sum of m + n + p is understood to be a scenario where the polymer includes 2 repeating unit derived from the acrylonitrile monomer (there needing to be at least 2 repeating units in the polymer for the unit to actually be “repeating”), i.e. p = 2, and 335 repeating units derived from the acrylate monomer, i.e. m = 335 (calculated by subtracting the molecular weight of repeating unit p, 53.06 Da, multiplied by 2, from 100,000 Da, then dividing the result by the molecular weight of repeating unit m, 298.23 Da, and rounding to the nearest whole integer). Thus the lower limit of the sum of m + n + p is 337;
the upper limit of the sum of m + n + p is understood to be a scenario where the polymer includes 2 repeating units derived from the acrylate monomer (there needing to be at least 2 repeating units in the polymer for the unit to actually be “repeating”), i.e. m = 2, and 1,873 repeating units derived from the acrylonitrile monomer, i.e. p = 1,873 (calculated by subtracting the molecular weight of repeating unit m, 298.23 Da, multiplied by 2, from 100,000 Da, then dividing the result by the molecular weight of repeating unit p, 53.06 Da, and rounding to the nearest whole integer). Thus the upper limit of the sum of m + n + p is 1,875.
Thus, it can be understood that Tang discloses wherein the sum of m + n + p is greater than or equal to 337 and less than or equal to 1,875.
Regarding Claim 19, modified Tang discloses the electrolyte and battery as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the electroactive positive electrode material comprises a sulfur-based material, and wherein the negative electrode comprises nonporous lithium. Instead, Tang does not disclose any specifics regarding the materials utilized in the positive electrode and negative electrode, besides one example wherein the positive electrode active material is lithium cobaltate ([0183]) and the negative electrode comprises silicon monoxide and graphite ([0185]).
Koh teaches wherein the electroactive positive electrode material comprises a sulfur-based material ([0027]), and wherein the negative electrode comprises nonporous lithium (see lithium metal, [0033]). Koh further teaches ([0002]) that lithium sulfur batteries have excellent safety, low active material costs, and discharging capacity of 2,600 Wh/kg.
KSR Rationale D (MPEP § 2141) states that it is obvious to apply a “known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results”. In the instant case, Koh teaches known materials for the positive and negative electrodes of a similar battery, and teaches that lithium sulfur batteries have excellent safety, low active material costs, and discharging capacity of 2,600 Wh/kg. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the battery of modified Tang such that the electroactive positive electrode material comprises a sulfur-based material, and the negative electrode comprises nonporous lithium, as taught by Koh, to yield the predictable result of a functional battery utilizing suitable positive and negative electrode materials, and which has the added benefits of excellent safety, low active material costs, and discharging capacity of 2,600 Wh/kg.
Regarding Claim 21, modified Tang discloses the electrolyte as set forth above. Modified Tang further discloses a battery that cycles lithium ions (see secondary battery, Tang [0134]; Tang [0140]), the battery comprising the electrolyte of claim 1.
Regarding Claim 22, modified Tang discloses the battery as set forth above. Modified Tang further discloses wherein the lithium salt comprises lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6) or lithium bis(trifluoromethane)sulfonylimide (LiTFSI) (Koh [0045]), wherein the organic solvent comprises an ether-based solvent comprising a mixture of a cyclic ether and an aliphatic ether, wherein the cyclic ether comprises 1,4-dioxane (Koh [0043]), tetrahydrofuran (Koh [0043]), 2-methyltetrahydrofuran (Koh [0043]), 1,3-dioxolane (see dioxolane, Koh [0043]), or a combination thereof, and wherein the aliphatic ether comprises triethylene glycol dimethyl ether (see triglyme, Koh [0043]), tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether (see tetraglyme, [0043]), 1,2-dimethoxyethane (DME), (Koh [0043]), 1,2-diethoxyethane (Koh [0043]), or a combination thereof (note that while Koh does not explicitly teach in [0043] that the listed organic solvents can be utilized in combination, it can be understood from e.g. Koh [0044] and [0065] that this is indeed the case; note that Koh [0065] specifically teaches that the organic solvent is a mixture including a cyclic ether DOL, i.e. 1,3-dioxolane, and an aliphatic ether TEGDME, i.e. tetraethylene glycol dimethyl ether).
Claims 4, 8, 15, 18, and 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2023/0265223 A1) in view of Koh et al. (US 2017/0263978 A1) as applied to Claims 1, 7, 12, and 17 above, further in view of He et al. (US 2025/0329780 A1).
Regarding Claims 4, 15, and 24, modified Tang discloses the electrolyte and battery as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein the polyacrylate further comprises a polyacrylate crosslinker, wherein the acrylate monomers and the polyacrylate crosslinker are covalently bonded to one another to form a three-dimensional network of interconnected polyacrylate chains.
He teaches an electrolyte (see gel polymer electrolyte 40, [0045]) for a battery that cycles lithium ions (see battery cell 5, [0040], [0055]), the electrolyte comprising: a polyacrylate (see polymer matrix, [0044]) comprising acrylate monomers (see first monomer, [0085], which can include an acrylic monomer, [0089], such as methyl acrylate and methyl methacrylate, [0090]) covalently bonded to one another; and a liquid electrolyte immobilized in the polyacrylate ([0045]–[0046]), the liquid electrolyte comprising a lithium salt in an organic solvent ([0098]–[0100]). He further teaches wherein the polyacrylate further comprises a polyacrylate crosslinker (see first monomer includes at least two crosslinking sites, [0085]; note that [0089] teaches the first monomer can include an acrylate monomer), wherein the acrylate monomers and the polyacrylate crosslinker are covalently bonded to one another ([0089] discloses the first monomer can include both an acrylic monomer, mapped above to the acrylate monomer, and an acrylate monomer, mapped to the polyacrylate crosslinker; as such, it will necessarily be the case that the formed polyacrylate will include the acrylate monomers and the polyacrylate crosslinker covalently bonded to one another) to form a three-dimensional network of interconnected polyacrylate chains ([0044], [0050], [0086]; note that the matrix is necessarily in the form of a three-dimensional network in order to occupy space in the battery, and the crosslinking of the polyacrylate as set forth above will necessarily form interconnected polyacrylate chains; note that [0086] teaches that the polyacrylate crosslinker is a part of the polymer chain). He teaches ([0087]) that including the polyacrylate crosslinker in the polyacrylate improves the elasticity, making the polyacrylate more elastic when under pressure.
He is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of batteries that cycle lithium ions. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte and battery of modified Tang such that the polyacrylate further comprises the polyacrylate crosslinker, wherein the acrylate monomers and the polyacrylate crosslinker are covalently bonded to one another to form a three-dimensional network of interconnected polyacrylate chains, as taught by He, for the purpose of improving the elasticity of the polyacrylate, making it more elastic when under pressure.
Further regarding Claims 4 and 24, modified Tang further discloses wherein the polyacrylate crosslinker comprises trimethylolpropane poly(meth)acrylate (see trimethylolpropane trimethacrylate, He [0091]) or pentaerythritol poly(meth)acrylate (see pentaerythritol tetraacrylate, He [0091]).
Regarding Claims 8 and 18, modified Tang discloses the electrolyte and battery as set forth above, but does not disclose wherein L is a divalent acrylate-containing moiety having the formula (2):
wherein:
a, b, c, and d are each individually zero or 1;
R6 and R7 are each individually a divalent hydrocarbyl or heterohydrocarbyl;
R8 and R9 are each individually a divalent hydrocarbyl, heterohydrocarbyl, diorganosulfate, or diorganophosphate; and
R10 and R11 are each individually H, hydroxyl, hydrocarbyl, heterohydrocarbyl, silyl, siloxy, alkoxysilyl, sulfo, phosphate, or acrylate moiety,
wherein at least one of R10 or R11 is an acrylate moiety,
because modified Tang does not disclose the repeating unit n, i.e. does not disclose a polyacrylate crosslinker.
He teaches an electrolyte (see gel polymer electrolyte 40, [0045]) for a battery that cycles lithium ions (see battery cell 5, [0040], [0055]), the electrolyte comprising: a polyacrylate (see polymer matrix, [0044]) comprising acrylate monomers (see first monomer, [0085], which can include an acrylic monomer, [0089], such as methyl acrylate and methyl methacrylate, [0090]) covalently bonded to one another; and a liquid electrolyte immobilized in the polyacrylate ([0045]–[0046]), the liquid electrolyte comprising a lithium salt in an organic solvent ([0098]–[0100]). He further teaches wherein the polyacrylate further comprises a polyacrylate crosslinker (see first monomer includes at least two crosslinking sites, [0085]; note that [0089] teaches the first monomer can include an acrylate monomer), wherein the acrylate monomers and the polyacrylate crosslinker are covalently bonded to one another ([0089] discloses the first monomer can include both an acrylic monomer, mapped above to the acrylate monomer, and an acrylate monomer, mapped to the polyacrylate crosslinker; as such, it will necessarily be the case that the formed polyacrylate will include the acrylate monomers and the polyacrylate crosslinker covalently bonded to one another) to form a three-dimensional network of interconnected polyacrylate chains ([0044], [0050], [0086]; note that the matrix is necessarily in the form of a three-dimensional network in order to occupy space in the battery, and the crosslinking of the polyacrylate as set forth above will necessarily form interconnected polyacrylate chains; note that [0086] teaches that the polyacrylate crosslinker is a part of the polymer chain). Finally, He teaches that the polyacrylate crosslinker comprises trimethylolpropane poly(meth)acrylate (see trimethylolpropane trimethacrylate, [0091]) or pentaerythritol poly(meth)acrylate (see pentaerythritol tetraacrylate, [0091]). He teaches ([0087]) that including the polyacrylate crosslinker in the polyacrylate improves the elasticity, making the polyacrylate more elastic when under pressure.
He is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of batteries that cycle lithium ions. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte and battery of modified Tang such that the polyacrylate further comprises the polyacrylate crosslinker, wherein the acrylate monomers and the polyacrylate crosslinker are covalently bonded to one another to form a three-dimensional network of interconnected polyacrylate chains, and wherein the polyacrylate crosslinker comprises trimethylolpropane trimethacrylate or pentaerythritol tetraacrylate, as taught by He, for the purpose of improving the elasticity of the polyacrylate, making it more elastic when under pressure.
Thus modified Tang can be understood to disclose wherein:
n is an integer;
L is a divalent acrylate-containing moiety having the formula (2) above wherein:
a, b, c, and d are each 1;
R6 and R7 are each a divalent hydrocarbyl;
R8 and R9 are each a divalent hydrocarbyl;
in the case of the polyacrylate crosslinker, i.e. repeating unit n, being trimethylolpropane trimethacrylate, one of R10 and R11 is an acrylate moiety and the other of R10 and R11 is a hydrocarbyl;
in the case of the polyacrylate crosslinker, i.e. repeating unit n, being pentaerythritol tetraacrylate, R10 and R11 are each an acrylate moiety.
Claims 10 and 23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tang et al. (US 2023/0265223 A1) in view of Koh et al. (US 2017/0263978 A1) as applied to Claims 1 and 22 above, further in view of Kwon et al. (US 2023/0069409 A1).
Regarding Claims 10 and 23, modified Tang discloses the electrolyte and battery as set forth above. Modified Tang further discloses wherein the organic solvent comprises an ether-based solvent (Koh [0043]), and wherein the lithium salt comprises lithium hexafluorophosphate (LiPF6) or lithium bis(trifluoromethane)sulfonylimide (LiTFSI) (Koh [0045]).
However, modified Tang does not disclose wherein the electrolyte further comprises an additive comprising lithium nitrate (LiNO3).
Kwon teaches an electrolyte (see polymer gel electrolyte, [0044]) for a battery that cycles lithium ions (see lithium metal battery, [0045]), the electrolyte comprising: a polyacrylate (see polymer, [0044]) comprising acrylate monomers (see cross-linking agent having two or more acrylate functional groups, [0046]) covalently bonded to one another; and a liquid electrolyte (see lithium salt… dissolved in an ether-based organic solvent, [0047]) in the polyacrylate ([0044], [0057]–[0058]), the liquid electrolyte comprising a lithium salt (see lithium salt, [0046]) in an organic solvent (see ether-based organic solvent, [0044]). Kwon teaches that when the electrolyte further comprises an additive comprising lithium nitrate (LiNO3) (see nitrate, [0044], which can be LiNO3, [0053]), a stable film can be formed on the surface of an electrode to inhibit the corrosion reaction of a metal that can be used as a positive electrode ([0053]).
Kwon is analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of batteries that cycle lithium ions. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the electrolyte and battery of modified Tang such that the electrolyte further comprises an additive comprising lithium nitrate (LiNO3), as taught by Kwon, for the purpose of forming a stable film on the surface of an electrode to inhibit the corrosion reaction of a metal that can be used as a positive electrode.
Conclusion
/J.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725