Response to Amendment
The amendments filed 08/14/2026 have been entered. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome the rejections previously set forth in the final office action mailed 05/14/2026, however new 35 USC § 103 rejections have been entered as necessitated by amendment.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 12, and 20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7, 9-15, 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phang (US 2017/0180777) in view of Kim (US 2021/0329118 A1) and Checker (US 2025/0142143 A1).
Regarding claims 1, 12, and 20 Phang teaches a first electronic device, comprising: circuitry (Figs. 1, 3A & 3B, paragraphs [0008], [0011], [0020]) configured to:
receive a first user input indicative of at least one control command to operate a second electronic device associated with the first electronic device (Figs. 1, 5A-18, paragraphs [0010], [0011], [0015], [0016]), wherein
the at least one control command corresponds to a request for set of changes in values of a plurality of functional parameters of the second electronic device (Fig. 13B, paragraphs [0058], [0059], [0061], [0097], [0098], [0208], [0209] [0214]), and
the set of changes corresponds to an update of values of at least two functional parameters of the plurality of functional parameters (fig. 6B, 11A, paragraphs [0139]-[0141], [0126] – describes opening menus and scrolling through them, these functions update multiple functional parameters, such as the identification information of the displayed broadcast channels described in fig 6B and paragraphs [0139]-[0141])
determine the set of changes in the values of the at least two functional parameters, based on the received user input (paragraphs [0010],[0011], [0059], [0061], [0095], [0097]-[0099], [0211], [0212] – describes determining change in channel, volume, input mode, etc. which is changes to at least two functional parameters. Additionally, it describes updating two functional parameters of volume and mute/audible mode which, while related, are not the same.);
control an operation of the second electronic device based on the determined, set of changes in the values of the one or more functional parameters (Fig. 13B #1301 paragraphs [0208], [0211]-[0213]); and
control, at least one of the first electronic device or the second electronic device, to render a first operational preview associated with the determined set of changes, wherein the first operational preview is rendered based on the control of the operation of the second electronic device (Figs. 13B & 14B, paragraph [0020], [0021], [0027], [0213], [0214]);
control the second electronic device to update the values of the at least two functional parameters, wherein the values of the at least two functional parameters are updated based on the received first user input and the render of the first operational preview (fig. 6B, 11A, paragraphs [0139]-[0141], [0126] – describes opening menus and scrolling through them, these functions update multiple functional parameters based on the single inputs of opening the menu and scrolling, and render menus which are analogous to an operational preview).
Phang fails to explicitly teach
the plurality of functional parameters corresponds to at least one display parameter of a plurality of display parameters associated with the second electronic device, the at least one display parameter corresponds to at least one of:
a hue parameter associated with the second electronic device; or
a display tint parameter associated with the second electronic device,
the set of changes corresponds to a concurrent update of values; and
control the second electronic device to concurrently update the values of two functional parameters.
However, Kim teaches the plurality of functional parameters corresponds to at least one display parameter of a plurality of display parameters associated with the second electronic device (paragraph [0110])
the set of changes corresponds to a concurrent update of values; and
control the second electronic device to concurrently update the values of two functional parameters.
(paragraphs [0117], [0181]) Kim describes setting a value of a component corresponding to a control item’s function. Kim goes on to further suggest executing the described function in parallel, which is analogous to doing so concurrently. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to try to apply the teachings of Kim with Phang to concurrently update the two or more functional parameters concurrently, rather than the plurality of data information associated with a control item in order to improve processing speeds (broad motivation of parallelism obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art) and to improve the user experience.
Phang in view of Kim fail to teach the at least one display parameter corresponds to at least one of:
a hue parameter associated with the second electronic device; or
a display tint parameter associated with the second electronic device,
However, Checker (US 20250142143 A1) teaches the at least one display parameter corresponds to at least one of:
a hue parameter associated with the second electronic device (paragraph [0056], [0076]); or
a display tint parameter associated with the second electronic device (paragraphs [0007], [0016]). Checker is considered analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of remote controls and functional parameter adjustment. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Checker with Phang in view of Kim and modify the display parameters of Kim to include the hue/display tint parameter of Checker because such a modification is the result of applying a known technique to a known device ready for improvement to yield predictable results. More specifically, Checker’s inclusion of hue/display parameters as display parameters provide picture quality enhancement. This known benefit is applicable to Kim’s display parameters as they both share characteristics and capabilities, namely, they are directed to display parameters of a second electronic device. Therefore, it would have been recognized that modifying Kim’s display parameters to include Checker’s hue/display tint parameters would have yielded predictable results because (i) the level of ordinary skill in the art demonstrated by the references applied shows the ability to incorporate Checker’s hue/display tint parameters in the remote control of a second electronic device and (ii) the benefits of such a combination would have been recognized by those of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claims 2, and 13, Phang in view of Kim and Checker teaches the first electronic device according to claim 1. Phang further teaches wherein the plurality of functional parameters further corresponds to at least one of, at least one audio parameter of a plurality of audio parameters associated with the second electronic device (paragraphs [0058], [0097], [0098], [0102], [0208], [0209] – volume), or at least one media parameter of a plurality of media parameters associated with the second electronic device (figs 15A & 15B, paragraphs [0058], [0059], [0230], [0236] – broadcast channel is analogous to media parameter).
Regarding claim 3, Phang in view of Kim and Checker teaches the first electronic device according to claim 1. Kim further teaches wherein the at least one display parameter further corresponds to at least one of:
a brightness parameter associated with the second device, or a resolution parameter associated with the second device (paragraph [0110]). Kim describes adjusting brightness or resolution of an external device. Kim is considered analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of controlling an external display device. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Kim with the teachings of Phang to allow for the adjustment of display parameters such as resolution or brightness. The motivation to make this addition would be to improve the user experience by allowing for a greater degree of customization (these display parameters are adjusted automatically in Phang).
Regarding claim 4, Phang in view of Kim and Checker teaches the first electronic device according to claim 2. Phang further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to control play of audio data on the second electronic device (paragraphs [0070], [0216], [0217], [0239], [0234], [0245]), and
the at least one audio parameter corresponds to a volume level of the played audio data (paragraphs [0047], [0058], [0097], [0098], [0102], [0208], [0209]).
Regarding claim 5, Phang in view of Kim and Checker teaches the first electronic device according to claim 2. Phang further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to control play of media on the second electronic device (paragraph [0107], [0108]).
Checker further teaches the at least one media parameter corresponds to a temperature parameter associated with the played media (paragraphs [0059], [0076]), or a language associated with media played on the second electronic device (paragraph [0068]). The motivation to combine Checker with Phang in view of Kim with respect to claim 5 would have been the same as that of claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, and 14, Phang in view of Kim and Checker teaches the first electronic device according to claim 1. Phang further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to control the second electronic device to render an on-screen display (OSD) menu on the second electronic device (Figs. 13B, 14A & 14B, paragraphs [0184]-[0186], [0212]), and the OSD menu corresponds to changes of the at least two functional parameters (Figs. 11A. 11B, 13B #1302, 14A & 14B, paragraphs [0184]-[0186],[0216] [0220], [0221], [0227], [0229]).
Regarding claims 7, and 15, Phang in view of Kim and Checker teaches the first electronic device according to claim 6. Phang further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
receive a second user input to inactivate the rendered OSD menu on the second electronic device (paragraph [0101], [0200] – user input to return to a previous screen applies to the menu. In other words, when the menu is present and a user returns to a previous screen, the menu is inactivated); and
control, based on the received second user input, the second electronic device to inactivate the rendered OSD menu on the second electronic device (Fig. 12A, paragraphs [0101], [0199]-[0201] [0257]). Phang describes displaying and menu and when a signal is received, the display provides a the previously displayed screen, which inactivates the menu as seen in figure 12A.
Regarding claims 9, and 17, Phang in view of Kim and Checker teaches the first electronic device according to claim 1. Phang further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to:
receive a current value of each of the at least two functional parameters (paragraphs [0090], [0101], [0135], [0212] – volume information and identification information related to volume increase are both received according to a specific signal. Additionally describes broadcast information of the current, previous or next channels.);
and control the first electronic device to render the received current value of the each of the at least two functional parameters (paragraphs [0059], [0212], [0213]),
wherein the reception of the first user input is based on the control of the first electronic device to render the received current value (paragraphs [0058], [0096]-[0099]).
Regarding claims 10, and 18, Phang in view of Kim and Checker teaches the first electronic device according to claim 1. Phang further teaches wherein the circuitry is further configured to: receive a current value of each of the at least two functional parameters (paragraphs [0090], [0101], [0135], [0212]); and control the first electronic device to render a second operational preview associated with the received current value of the each of the at least two functional parameters (Figs. 1, 13A, 13B, 14B, paragraphs [0183], [0212], [0214]), wherein the reception of the first user input is based on the control of the first electronic device to render the second operational preview (paragraph [0020], [0183]).
Regarding claims 11, and 19, Phang in view of Kim and Checker teaches the first electronic device according to claim 1. Phang further teaches wherein the first electronic device corresponds to a remote control device communicatively coupled to the second electronic device (paragraphs [0008], [0011]), and the second electronic device corresponds to a media playback device (paragraphs [0011], [0020]).
Claim(s) 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Phang in view of Kim and Checker as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Johnson (US 2012/0236156 A1).
Regarding claim 21, Phang in view of Kim and Checker teaches the first electronic device according to claim 1. Checker further teaches wherein the set of changes in the values of the at least two functional parameters comprises a range (paragraph [0057])
Phang in view of Kim and Checker fail to explicitly teach a specific range including a minimum value and a maximum value,
the minimum value comprises a lowest value attained by the at least two functional parameters of the second electronic device, and the maximum value comprises a highest value attained by the at least two functional parameters of the second electronic device.
However, Johnson teaches a specific range including a minimum value and a maximum value (paragraph [0030]),
the minimum value comprises a lowest value attained by the at least two functional parameters of the second electronic device (paragraph [0030] – “A similar process is then also used to detect minimum levels for red/green/blue (RGB) colors 414. In other words, a minimum level, for example a minimum green level signal, is sent to the display and is increased until a change is detected.”), and the maximum value comprises a highest value attained by the at least two functional parameters of the second electronic device (paragraph [0030] – “A similar process is then used to detect maximum levels for red/green/blue (RGB) colors 412. In other words, a maximum level, for example a maximum green level signal, is sent to the display and is reduced until a change is detected”). Johnson describes a system for calibrating display parameters for a display. This process of calibrating display parameters involves determining a range for the parameters by finding the maximum and minimum levels of these parameters at which the display starts to change. The example given in paragraph 30 determines the minimum and maximum green signal levels by increasing/decreasing the value until a change in the display is detected at which point the minimum/maximum is determined respectively. In other words, the maximum and minimum parameter values are the highest and lowest values attainable by the display device. Johnson is considered analogous to the claimed invention as it is in the same field of display parameter control. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to combine the teachings of Johnson with Phang in view of Kim and Checker to specify the functional parameter range of Checker includes a maximum and minimum value and to add the optimization of display parameters, which improves the displayed content and in turn the user’s viewing experience.
Conclusion
/AIDAN W MCCOY/Examiner, Art Unit 2611
/HAIXIA DU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2611