DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant's submission filed on 06/23/2026 has been entered.
Drawings
Cancellation of fig 24 in the reply dated 02/02/2026 is noted.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities:
The amendment dated 12/04/2024 amended the specification with references to fig 24. Due to the cancellation of fig 24 in the reply dated 02/02/2026, references thereto in the specification should also be removed.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, and 8-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Korean Patent 10-0698757 – Jeon Byeong-Seok (a copy and translation of the document was provided in the Office Action dated 08/20/2021 in the priority case 16/698,409.) in view of PG Pub. US 2015/0136334 A1 – Iglesias Ballester and PG Pub US 2008/0035282 A1 – Coenraets.
Regarding claim 1.
Jeon Byeong-Seok discloses an overhead roll-up door assembly (fig 1), comprising:
a door panel having a first face (11, fig 1), a second face, a top edge, a bottom edge, a first vertical edge, and a second vertical edge (See annotated fig 1);
a first keder (See annotated fig 5) aligned along the first vertical edge, the first keder comprising a first elongated body (215, fig 6) surrounded by a first material (See fig 6), wherein a first portion of the first material is coupled to the first face of the door panel and a second portion of the first material is coupled to the second face of the door panel (See fig 6; see also figs 7-9);
a second keder (See annotated fig 5) aligned along the second vertical edge, the second keder comprising a second elongated body (215, fig 6) surrounded by a second material (See fig 6), wherein a first portion of the second material is coupled to the first face of the door panel and a second portion of the second material is coupled to the second face of the door panel (See fig 6; see also figs 7-9);
a first column of drive teeth (21, fig 6) fixed to the first keder (See annotated fig 5), wherein
at least one drive tooth (210, fig 6) from the first column of drive teeth (21, fig 6) is fixed to the first keder (See annotated fig 5) using a fastener (217, fig 6) which extends through the at least one drive tooth (See fig 6) from the first column of drive teeth (See fig 6); and
a second column of drive teeth (21, as in fig 6) fixed to the second keder (See annotated fig 5), wherein at least one drive tooth (210, as in fig 6) from the second column of drive teeth (21, as in fig 6) is fixed to the second keder (See annotated fig 5) using a second fastener (as at 217, fig 6) which extends through the at least one drive tooth from the second column of drive teeth (See fig 6).
Jeon Byeong-Seok does not explicitly disclose a first sheet of material, the first elongated body extending adjacent to the first vertical edge of the door panel and the first sheet of material being wrapped around an outer portion of the first elongated body and the first vertical edge of the door panel, wherein a first portion of the first sheet of material is coupled to the first face of the door panel and a second portion of the first sheet of material is coupled to the second face of the door panel and the first elongated body is fixed in length and will not stretch; or
a second sheet of material, the second elongated body extending adjacent to the second vertical edge of the door panel and the second sheet of material being wrapped around an outer portion of the second elongated body and the second vertical edge of the door panel, wherein a first portion of the second sheet of material is coupled to the first face of the door panel and a second portion of the second sheet of material is coupled to the second face of the door panel and the second elongated body is fixed in length and will not stretch; or
Fasteners extending perpendicular to the first portion and the second portion of the first sheet of material, wherein the fastener and the second fastener are positioned closer to a center portion of the door panel than the first and second elongated bodies, respectively.
However, Iglesias Ballester teaches a first sheet of material (7, fig 4), the first elongated body (8, fig 4) extending adjacent to the first vertical edge (See fig 2) of the door panel (2, fig 4) and the first sheet of material being wrapped around an outer portion of the first elongated body and the first vertical edge of the door panel (See fig 4), wherein a first portion of the first sheet of material is coupled to the first face of the door panel (See fig 4) and a second portion of the first sheet of material is coupled to the second face of the door panel (See fig 4); and
a second sheet of material (as at 7, fig 4), the second elongated body extending adjacent to the second vertical edge of the door panel (2, as in fig 4) and the second sheet of material being wrapped around an outer portion of the second elongated body (as at 8 in fig 4) and the second vertical edge of the door panel (2, as in fig 4), wherein a first portion of the second sheet of material is coupled to the first face of the door panel (as in fig 4) and a second portion of the second sheet of material is coupled to the second face of the door panel (as in fig 4), and
Fasteners (14, fig 2) extending perpendicular (see fig 5) to the first portion and the second portion of the first sheet of material (see fig 5), wherein the fastener and the second fastener are positioned closer to a center portion of the door panel than the first and second elongated bodies (see fig 5), respectively (Examiner notes that it is clear via the disclosure that the applicant intends to claim "wherein the fastener is positioned closer to a center portion of the door panel than the first elongated body is to a center portion of the door panel;", and the limitation is interpreted as such.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the panel of Jeon Byeong-Seok with the keder construction and fastener orientation of Iglesias Ballester. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of improving the centering of the panel within the opening of the door, and allowing for easier servicing or replacement of the drive teeth.
Also, Coenraets teaches the first elongated body (8, fig 9) is fixed in length and will not stretch (Examiner notes that the presence of steel cables 12 in the elongated body 8 would function similarly to the disclosed steel cables in the applicant’s invention); and
the second elongated body (8, fig 9) is fixed in length and will not stretch (Examiner notes that the presence of steel cables 12 in the elongated body 8 would function similarly to the disclosed steel cables in the applicant’s invention).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the assembly of Jeon Byeong-Seok with the fixed length elongated bodies of Coenraets. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the likelihood of the curtain to sag over time.
Regarding claim 2.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Jeon Byeong-Seok further discloses the first elongated body (215, fig 6) and the second elongated body (215, fig 6) comprise a non-stretch material having a static length (See second paragraph, page 7 of applicant supplied translation).
Regarding claim 3.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Jeon Byeong-Seok further discloses the first column (21, fig 4) of drive teeth (210, fig 6) comprises a first plurality of individual drive teeth (See figs 4 and 6) and the second column (21, fig 4) of drive teeth (210, fig 6) comprises a second plurality of drive teeth (See figs 4 and 6).
Regarding claim 4.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 3.
Jeon Byeong-Seok further discloses each individual drive tooth (210, fig 6) in the first plurality of drive teeth and each individual drive tooth (210, fig 6) in the second plurality of drive teeth comprise a fastener channel (See channel for accepting fastener 217 in fig 6).
Regarding claim 5.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 4.
Jeon Byeong-Seok further discloses each individual drive tooth (210, fig 6) from the first plurality of individual drive teeth is fastened to the first elongated body (215, fig 6) with a fastener (217, fig 6) and each individual drive tooth (210, fig 6) from the second plurality of individual drive teeth is fastened to the second elongated body (215, fig 6) with a fastener (217, fig 6).
Regarding claim 8.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 3.
Jeon Byeong-Seok further discloses each individual drive tooth (210, fig 6) in the first column of drive teeth and each individual drive tooth (210, fig 6) in the second column of drive teeth comprise an interior channel (seen best in fig 6, seen also in fig 5, and 7-9), each interior channel being open and having a dimension to match an exterior dimension of the first elongated body and surrounding material or the second elongated body and surrounding material (See figs 5-9).
Regarding claim 9.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 8.
Jeon Byeong-Seok further discloses each individual drive tooth (210, fig 6) in the first column of drive teeth and each individual drive tooth (210, fig 6) in the second column of drive teeth comprise an opening channel (See annotated fig 7), the opening channel being sized and having a dimension at least as large as a thickness of the door panel (11, fig 7), the first portion of the first material and the second portion of the first material, or a thickness of the door panel, the first portion of the second material and the second portion of the second material (See annotated fig 7).
Regarding claim 10.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 9.
Jeon Byeong-Seok further discloses the opening channel (See annotated fig 7) of each individual drive tooth (210, fig 6) is configured to pinch the door panel, the first portion of the first material and the second portion of the first material, or the door panel, the first portion of the second material and the second portion of the second material when each individual drive tooth is engaged by an outside body (See fig 7).
Regarding claim 11.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 3.
Jeon Byeong-Seok further discloses each individual drive tooth (210, fig 4) in the first column drive teeth are configured and positioned to allow the first column of drive teeth to flex in a first direction (as they wrap drum 3 and sprocket 17, fig 4) and prevent the first column of drive teeth from flexing in a second direction (as sag is prevented between drum 3 and sprocket 17, fig 4).
Regarding claim 12.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 3.
Jeon Byeong-Seok further discloses each individual drive tooth (210, fig 4) in the second column drive teeth are configured and positioned to allow the second column of drive teeth to flex in a first direction (as they wrap drum 3 and sprocket 17, fig 4) and prevent the second column of drive teeth from flexing in a second direction (as sag is prevented between drum 3 and sprocket 17, fig 4).
Regarding claim 13.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 1.
The combination does not explicitly teach the first portion of the first material and the second portion of the first material and the first portion of the second material and the second portion of the second material are fixed to the door panel using adhesive.
However, Jeon Byeong-Seok does teach at least two strips of roll material (110, fig 5) extending along a length of the door panel, each strip being adhered (See 5th paragraph on page 7 of applicant supplied translation) to the door panel.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok and Iglesias Ballester by using adhesive to fix the first portion of the first material and the second portion of the first material and the first portion of the second material and the second portion of the second material to the door panel as suggested by the use of adhesive to attach the roll material to the panel. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to provide keders that would not fall off when changing out drive teeth as suggested by fig 6.
Regarding claim 14.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Jeon Byeong-Seok further discloses at least two strips of roll material (110, fig 5) extending along a length of the door panel, each strip being adhered (See 5th paragraph on page 7 of applicant supplied translation) to the door panel, wherein a thickness of the door panel and each strip of roll material being greater than a thickness of the first column of drive teeth and a thickness of the second column of drive teeth (see fig 5).
Regarding claim 15.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 1.
Jeon Byeong-Seok further discloses the door panel (11, fig 1) has a greater length (diagonally, see fig 1) than the first keder and a greater length than the second keder.
Regarding claim 16.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 9.
The combination, in Iglesias Ballester, further teaches the fastener channel (See fig 5) of each drive tooth (2a, fig 5) extends transverse to, and across, the opening channel (Between halves of 2a, see fig 5) of each drive tooth.
Regarding claim 17.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 16.
The combination, in Iglesias Ballester, further teaches the fastener (14, fig 5) fastening the at least one drive tooth (2a, fig 5) from the first column of drive teeth (See fig 2) to the first keder (8, fig 4) and the door panel (2, fig 5) bridges the opening channel (Between halves of 2a, see fig 5) of the at least one drive tooth from the first column of drive teeth (See figs 2 and 5), and the second fastener (as at 14, fig 5) fastening the at least one drive tooth (as at 2a, fig 5) from the second column of drive teeth (See fig 3) to the second keder (as at 8, fig 4) and the door panel (2, fig 5) bridges the opening channel (Between halves of 2a, see fig 5) of the at least one drive tooth from the second column of drive teeth (See figs 2 and 5).
Regarding claim 18.
Jeon Byeong-Seok discloses an overhead roll-up door assembly (fig 1), comprising:
a door panel having a first face (11, fig 1), a second face, a top edge, a bottom edge, a first vertical edge, and a second vertical edge (See annotated fig 1);
a first keder (See annotated fig 5) aligned along the first vertical edge, the first keder comprising a first elongated body (215, fig 6) the first elongated body extending adjacent to the first vertical edge of the door panel (See fig 5);
a second keder (See annotated fig 5) aligned along the second vertical edge, the second keder comprising a second elongated body (215, fig 6) the second elongated body extending adjacent to the second vertical edge of the door panel (See fig 5);
a plurality of drive teeth, each drive tooth comprising an interior channel extending vertically through a middle portion of each drive tooth;
an opening channel providing outside access to the interior channel; and
a fastener channel,
Jeon Byeong-Seok does not explicitly disclose a first sheet of material, the first sheet of material being wrapped around an outer portion of the first elongated body and the first vertical edge of the door panel and the first elongated body is fixed in length and will not stretch;
a second sheet of material, the second sheet of material being wrapped around an outer portion of the second elongated body and the second vertical edge of the door panel and the second elongated body is fixed in length and will not stretch;
the fastener channel extending transverse to, and across, the opening channel; wherein
a first portion of the plurality of drive teeth are fixed to the first keder such that the fastener channel of each drive tooth is transverse to the first keder and the first face of the door panel and the second face of the door panel, and the fastener channel is positioned closer to a center portion of the door panel than the interior channel; and
a second portion of the plurality of drive teeth are fixed to the second keder such that the fastener channel of each drive tooth is transverse to the second keder and the first face of the door panel and the second face of the door panel, and the fastener channel is positioned closer to a center portion of the door panel than the interior channel.
However, Iglesias Ballester teaches a first sheet of material (7, fig 4), the first sheet of material being wrapped around an outer portion (See fig 4) of the first elongated body (8, fig 4) and the first vertical edge (See fig 2) of the door panel (2, fig 4);
a second sheet of material (as at 7 in fig 4), the second sheet of material being wrapped around an outer portion (See fig 4) of the second elongated body (as at 8, fig 4) and the second vertical edge (See fig 3) of the door panel (2, fig 4);
the fastener channel (See at 14 in fig 2) extending transverse to, and across, the opening channel (See fig 5); wherein
a first portion of the plurality of drive teeth (2a, fig 5) are fixed to the first keder (8, fig 4) such that the fastener channel (See at 14 in fig 2) of each drive tooth is transverse (See fig 5) to the first keder and the first face of the door panel and the second face of the door panel (See 2, fig 5), and the fastener channel is positioned closer to a center portion of the door panel than the interior channel (See figs 2 and 5) (Examiner notes that it is clear via the disclosure that the applicant intends to claim "wherein the fastener is positioned closer to a center portion of the door panel than the first elongated body is to a center portion of the door panel;", and the limitation is interpreted as such.); and
a second portion of the plurality of drive teeth (as at 2a, fig 5) are fixed to the second keder (as at 8, fig 4) such that the fastener channel (See at 14 in fig 2) of each drive tooth is transverse (See fig 5) to the second keder and the first face of the door panel and the second face of the door panel (See 2, fig 5), and the fastener channel is positioned closer to a center portion of the door panel than the interior channel (See figs 2 and 5) (Examiner notes that it is clear via the disclosure that the applicant intends to claim "wherein the fastener is positioned closer to a center portion of the door panel than the first elongated body is to a center portion of the door panel;", and the limitation is interpreted as such.).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the panel of Jeon Byeong-Seok with the keder construction and fastener orientation of Iglesias Ballester. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of improving the centering of the panel within the opening of the door, and allowing for easier servicing or replacement of the drive teeth.
Also, Coenraets teaches the first elongated body (8, fig 9) is fixed in length and will not stretch (Paragraph [0040]; This strip 8 is substantially incompressible in its lengthwise and, possibly, widthwise direction and is attached in an unremovable way on one of the faces of the screen 2 at the side edges 4); and
the second elongated body (8, fig 9) is fixed in length and will not stretch (Paragraph [0040]; This strip 8 is substantially incompressible in its lengthwise and, possibly, widthwise direction and is attached in an unremovable way on one of the faces of the screen 2 at the side edges 4).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, with a reasonable expectation of success, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to further modify the assembly of Jeon Byeong-Seok with the fixed length elongated bodies of Coenraets. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification in order to yield the predictable result of reducing the likelihood of the curtain to sag over time.
Regarding claim 19.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 18.
The combination, in Iglesias Ballester, further teaches a plurality of fasteners (14, fig 2), wherein each drive tooth (2a, fig 2) from the plurality of drive teeth (See fig 2) is fastened to the first keder (8, fig 2) or the second keder with a different fastener from the plurality of fasteners (See fig 2), each different fastener bridging the opening channel (Between the halves of 2a in fig 5) in the drive tooth when fastening the drive tooth to the first keder or the second keder (See fig 2).
Regarding claim 20.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 1.
The combination, in Coenraets, further teaches the first elongated body (8, fig 9) and the second elongated body (8, fig 9) each comprise a steel cable (21, fig 9).
Regarding claim 21.
The combination of Jeon Byeong-Seok, Iglesias Ballester, and Coenraets teaches all limitations of claim 18.
The combination, in Coenraets, further teaches the first elongated body (8, fig 9) and the second elongated body (8, fig 9) each comprise a steel cable (21, fig 9).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 18 have been considered but are moot in light of the new ground of rejection.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.W.H./Examiner, Art Unit 3634
/Johnnie A. Shablack/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3634