DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 5-10, 13-17 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perez et al. WO 2021/032907 A1, hereinafter, ‘Perez’.
Consider Claims 9, and as applied to Claim 1(e.g., see architecture in at least figures 1 and 2) and Claim 16, Perez teaches a method performed by a radio access network (e.g., see at least RAN in figures 4 and 5 – page 10 line 9 “Method may be performed by a radio access network(RAN) device) apparatus, the method comprising: determining, by the apparatus, that position information of a user equipment is needed for one or more functions to be performed at the apparatus (e.g., page 10 lines 34-36 “the LMC may be able to support location service requests from functions internal to the RAN node, for purposes such as Radio Resource Management(RRM), Minimization of Drive Tests (MDT), etc.); and triggering a location procedure for obtaining positioning information of the user equipment, in response to the determining that position information of the user equipment is needed (e.g., see figures 4 -5, “406 triggering RCP”, “triggering of the location session may be performed by the RAN node itself”, in step 406, based on RCPAI and a trigger (such as a local trigger, e.g., RI-RL) to start RCP, the RAN node decides whether to use RCP or not…in step 408, if RCP is used as decided in step 406, the RAN node may initiate positioning procedures for the target UE” ).
Consider Claims 2, 10 and 17, Perez teaches wherein the apparatus is caused to perform: acting as a Location Control Session Client(e.g., see figures 4 -5, “406 triggering RCP”, “triggering of the location session may be performed by the RAN node itself”, in step 406, based on RCPAI and a trigger (such as a local trigger, e.g., RI-RL) to start RCP, the RAN node decides whether to use RCP or not…in step 408, if RCP is used as decided in step 406, the RAN node may initiate positioning procedures for the target UE” )..
Consider Claims 5, 13 and 20, Perez teaches wherein the apparatus is caused to perform: checking positioning capability information of the user equipment, in response to the determining that position information of the user equipment is needed, and performing the triggering a location procedure in a manner dependent on the capability information (e.g., see at least page 11 lines 6-9, “the RAN device, such as the LMC, may have capabilities for: receiving location service requests for a target UE from the serving AMF or from an internal function of the serving RAN node (e.g., RRM, MDT, etc.); decide on the position method(s) to be used… Page 17, lines 6-10).
Consider Claims 6 and 14, Perez teaches wherein the apparatus is caused to perform; sending a request for the positioning capability information of the user equipment (e.g., see page 15 lines 23-25, the target device may provide its positioning capabilities …possibly based on RRC request from the RAN, see also modes/capabilities on page 14 lines 26-34 ).
Consider Claim 7, Perez teaches wherein the apparatus is caused to perform: receiving the positioning capability information of the user equipment without having sent a request(e.g., see page 15 lines 23-25, the target device may provide its positioning capabilities …possibly based on RRC request from the RAN, see also modes/capabilities on page 14 lines 26-34 ).
Consider Claim 8, Perez teaches wherein the positioning capability information of the user equipment comprises information of a positioning mode capability or a positioning method capability(e.g., see page 15 lines 23-25, the target device may provide its positioning capabilities …possibly based on RRC request from the RAN, see also modes/capabilities on page 14 lines 26-34).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3-4, 11-12 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez et al. WO 2021/032907 A1, hereinafter, ‘Perez’ in view of Lee at al. US Patent Pub. No.: 2023/0148189 A1, hereinafter, ‘Lee’.
Consider Claims 3, 11 and 18, Perez teaches the claimed invention except wherein the apparatus is caused to perform: sending a request to a core network entity for the positioning information of the user equipment.
In analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the apparatus is caused to perform: sending a request to a core network entity for the positioning information of the user equipment (e.g., see figure 9, 901b RAN induced location request).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the apparatus is caused to perform: sending a request to a core network entity for the positioning information of the user equipment for the purpose of determining location information.
Consider Claims 4, 12 and 19, Perez teaches the claimed invention except wherein the request to the core network comprises a Location Control Session Quality of Service threshold value.
In analogous art, Lee teaches wherein the request to the core network comprises a Location Control Session Quality of Service threshold value (e.g., see figure 9, 903 location QoS information).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to try wherein the request to the core network comprises a Location Control Session Quality of Service threshold value for the purpose of determining location information.
Conclusion
/CHARLES T SHEDRICK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646