DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 01/04/2024 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-20 are currently pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. KR20200114504 (henceforth referred to as Kim) in view of Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow).
As to claim 1, Kim teaches a system comprising:
an appliance comprising a surface for mounting and a target surface for disinfection (FIG. 1 paragraph [0021] laundry treatment device 10); and
a device configured to disinfect an appliance comprising:
an internal structure configured to hold one or more light emitters (FIGS. 2-5 paragraph [0023] sterilizing module 20), wherein the one or more light emitters emit disinfecting light with a lighting characteristic (paragraph [0028] light source unit 23);
a mounting mechanism configured to mount the device to the surface for mounting (FIGS. 6-7 paragraph [0026] the sterilizing module 20 can be mounted on the inner surface of the gasket 14); and
a controller configured to control the output of the disinfecting light (paragraph [0035] the control unit may receive a mounting signal to determine whether power supplied from the battery to the light source unit),
wherein the disinfecting light emits from the device towards the target surface for disinfection, and wherein the target surface is not on the device (paragraph [0032] the light emitted from the light emitting element 232 can be widely diffused to the surface of the gasket 14).
Kim differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a peak wavelength in a range of 380 to 420 nm.
Winslow teaches a similar device (abstract: methods, systems, and apparatuses involving devices with disinfecting illumination). Winslow teaches a peak wavelength in a range of 380 to 420 nm (paragraph [0059] disinfecting lighting elements 104 may emit a first wavelength (380-420nm disinfecting light)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Kim with a wavelength as taught by Winslow as a wavelength within the range of 380-420 nm may have a lethal effect on microorganisms such as bacteria, yeast, mold, and fungi (paragraph [0034]).
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. CN101439192 (henceforth referred to as Lee-192) in view of Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow).
As to claim 1, Lee-192 teaches a system comprising:
an appliance comprising a surface for mounting and a target surface for disinfection (FIG. 2 paragraph [0023] drum washing machine 100); and
a device configured to disinfect an appliance comprising:
an internal structure configured to hold one or more light emitters (FIG. 1 paragraph [0031] ultraviolet irradiation portion 190), wherein the one or more light emitters emit disinfecting light with a lighting characteristic (paragraph [0033] ultraviolet lamp 191);
a mounting mechanism configured to mount the device to the surface for mounting (paragraph [0031] an insertion hole 181 is formed in the insertion portion 182 of the gasket 180 and the irradiation portion 190 is inserted into the insertion hole 181 and supported); and
wherein the disinfecting light emits from the device towards the target surface for disinfection, and wherein the target surface is not on the device (paragraph [0031] the ultraviolet irradiation unit 190 is used to sterilize contaminants present in the drum 170, the tub 160, and the laundry itself. The drum, tub or laundry are not on or part of the device).
Lee-192 differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a peak wavelength in a range of 380 to 420 nm; and a controller configured to control the output of the disinfecting light.
Winslow teaches a similar device (abstract: methods, systems, and apparatuses involving devices with disinfecting illumination). Winslow teaches a peak wavelength in a range of 380 to 420 nm (paragraph [0059] disinfecting lighting elements 104 may emit a first wavelength (380-420nm disinfecting light)); and a controller configured to control the output of the disinfecting light (paragraph [0057] the control system may adjust the output of disinfecting light emitted by the disinfecting lighting element 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Lee-192 with a wavelength as taught by Winslow as a wavelength within the range of 380-420 nm may have a lethal effect on microorganisms such as bacteria, yeast, mold, and fungi (paragraph [0034]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to use a control system as it can be used to adjust the intensity, wavelength, emission time, etc. of the disinfecting light (paragraph [0057]).
As to claim 2, Lee-192 further teaches the device is removably coupled to the surface for mounting (if the irradiation portion 190 can be inserted into the insertion hole 181, it can be removed from the insertion hole).
As to claim 3, Lee-192 further teaches:
the appliance is a washing machine configured to run a cleaning cycle (FIG. 2 paragraph [0046] drum washing machine 100 can run a washing cycle);
the surface for mounting is a surface on a door of the washing machine or an internal drum of the washing machine (paragraph [0032] the ultraviolet irradiation section 190 can be configured in conjunction with the door 175); and
the target surface for disinfecting is a door gasket of the washing machine or the internal drum of the washing machine (paragraph [0031] the ultraviolet irradiation unit 190 is used to sterilize contaminants present in the drum 170, the tub 160, and the laundry itself).
As to claim 5, Winslow further teaches the disinfecting light is emitted until a dosage threshold is met, wherein the dosage threshold is at least 20 J/cm2 (Table 2: the minimum recommended dosage to reduce bacteria is 20 J/cm2 and paragraph [0043] a dosage of 20 J/cm2 may be required to kill target bacteria).
As to claim 6, Winslow further teaches the disinfecting light:
comprises an irradiance on the target surface for disinfection of at least 0.05 mW/cm2 (paragraph [0043] a device may be configured to emit an irradiance of disinfecting energy (0.05 mW/cm2)); and
comprises an exposure time period correlating to the target dosage threshold and the irradiance (paragraphs [0041]-[0043] time is determined based on irradiance and dosage).
As to claim 7, Lee-192 further teaches there are no opaque components in a direct path of the emitted disinfecting light and at least a portion of the target surface for disinfection (FIG. 6 there are no opaque components in a direct path of the emitted disinfecting light).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. CN101439192 (henceforth referred to as Lee-192) and Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow) as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Lee et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0216282 (henceforth referred to as Lee-282).
As to claim 4, Lee-192 and Winslow differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the door gasket of the washing machine is transparent or translucent and allows light within a range of 380 to 420 nanometers to transmit through it.
Lee-282 teaches a similar system (FIG. 1 paragraph [0065] laundry treating apparatus). Lee-282 teaches the door gasket of the washing machine is transparent or translucent (paragraph [0105] the gasket 817 is formed of transparent material).
The combination of Lee-192, Winslow, and Lee-282 would result in the light within a range of 380 to 420 nanometers being able to transmit through the transparent door gasket.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Lee-192 and Winslow with a transparent gasket as taught by Lee-282 so that the inside of the laundry receiving part 20 can be externally exposed through the opening 13 (paragraph [0105]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. CN101439192 (henceforth referred to as Lee-192) and Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Janke et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0145616 (henceforth referred to as Janke).
As to claim 8, Lee-192 and Winslow differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a sensor in communication with the controller, wherein the sensor is a vibration sensor or a motion sensor.
Janke teaches a similar system (paragraph [0032] washing machine 10). Janke a sensor in communication with the controller, wherein the sensor is a vibration sensor or a motion sensor (FIG. 2 paragraph [0046] controller 88 is coupled with one or more sensors 92, 94. The sensors can be an acceleration sensor, which reads on the motion sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Lee-192 and Winslow with a sensor as taught by Janke. It is known in the art to use sensors as they can be used to determine a variety of system and laundry characteristics, such as laundry load inertia or mass and system imbalance magnitude and position (paragraph [0046]).
Claims 9-13, 15-16, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. CN101439192 (henceforth referred to as Lee) in view of Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow).
As to claim 9, Lee-192 teaches a device configured to disinfect an appliance comprising:
an internal structure configured to hold one or more light emitters (FIG. 1 paragraph [0031] ultraviolet irradiation portion 190), wherein the one or more light emitters emit disinfecting light with a lighting characteristic (paragraph [0033] ultraviolet lamp 191;
a mounting mechanism configured to mount the device to a surface for mounting (paragraph [0031] an insertion hole 181 is formed in the insertion portion 182 of the gasket 180 and the irradiation portion 190 is inserted into the insertion hole 181 and supported); and
wherein the disinfecting light emits from the device towards a target surface, and wherein the target surface is not on the device (paragraph [0031] the ultraviolet irradiation unit 190 is used to sterilize contaminants present in the drum 170, the tub 160, and the laundry itself. The drum, tub or laundry are not on or part of the device).
Lee-192 differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a peak wavelength in a range of 380 to 420 nm; and a controller configured to control the output of the disinfecting light.
Winslow teaches a similar device (abstract: methods, systems, and apparatuses involving devices with disinfecting illumination). Winslow teaches a peak wavelength in a range of 380 to 420 nm (paragraph [0059] disinfecting lighting elements 104 may emit a first wavelength (380-420nm disinfecting light)); and a controller configured to control the output of the disinfecting light (paragraph [0057] the control system may adjust the output of disinfecting light emitted by the disinfecting lighting element 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Lee-192 with a wavelength as taught by Winslow as a wavelength within the range of 380-420 nm may have a lethal effect on microorganisms such as bacteria, yeast, mold, and fungi (paragraph [0034]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to use a control system as it can be used to adjust the intensity, wavelength, emission time, etc. of the disinfecting light (paragraph [0057]).
As to claim 10, Lee-192 further teaches the device is cylindrical in shape (FIGS. 3-4 the ultraviolet irradiation unit 190 (and ultraviolet lamp 191) are cylindrical in shape).
As to claim 11, Lee-192 further teaches the disinfecting light emits from the device radially 360 degrees around a circular cross-section of the device (the ultraviolet lamp 191 emits from the device radially 360 degrees around a circular cross-section of the device).
As to claim 12, Winslow further teaches the controller is in communication with a timer(paragraph [0062] the control system may comprise a timer), and wherein the disinfecting light is emitted while the timer runs for a time period and the disinfecting light is not emitted at the end of the time period (paragraph [0076] the timer can turn off the disinfecting lighting.).
As to claim 13, Lee-192 further teaches the appliance is a washing machine configured to run a cleaning cycle (FIG. 2 paragraph [0046] drum washing machine 100 can run a washing cycle).
As to claim 15, Winslow further teaches the light emitter comprises a circuit board disposed with one or more LEDs (paragraph [0092] the disinfecting lighting elements may be LEDs on printed circuit boards).
As to claim 16, Winslow further teaches the internal structure comprises: the controller; or an LED driver configured to provide power to the light emitters (paragraph [0089] an LED driver or power supply).
As to claim 19, Winslow further teaches the internal structure comprises a heat sink (paragraph [0092] the PCBs may be fastened or adhered to a metal surface for heat sinking).
As to claim 20, Winslow further teaches lenses disposed over each light emitter (paragraph [0065] there may be a protective layer over the lighting devices such as a transparent layer, which reads on the claimed lenses) and configured to transmit at least 70% of the disinfecting light emitting within the wavelength range of 380 to 420 nanometers (paragraph [0095] transparent or translucent surfaces may allow for 75%-100% transmission of the disinfecting wavelengths in the range of 380-420 nm).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. CN101439192 (henceforth referred to as Lee-192) and Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow) as applied to claim 13 above, in further view of Lee et al. WO2022250277 (henceforth referred to as Lee-277).
As to claim 14, Lee-192 and Winslow differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the controller is in communication with the appliance and controls the disinfecting light such that the disinfecting light is emitted when the cleaning cycle is not active.
Lee-277 teaches a similar device (paragraph [0036] a second light source 52b is used for sterilization). Lee-277 teaches the controller is in communication with the appliance and controls the disinfecting light such that the disinfecting light is emitted when the cleaning cycle is not active (paragraph [0053] one embodiment of a method for controlling a washing machine may further include a step (S160) of sterilizing the inside of the washing tub by irradiating sterilizing light after performing washing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Lee-192 and Winslow with a disinfecting light that disinfects when the cleaning cycle is not active as taught by Lee-277. By performing the sterilization step after washing, it would remove any remaining contaminants and detergent (paragraph [0055]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. CN101439192 (henceforth referred to as Lee-192) and Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow) as applied to claim 15 above, in further view of Khizar U.S. Publication 2020/0102695 (henceforth referred to as Khizar).
As to claim 17, Lee-192 and Winslow differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the circuit board comprises an on-board controller configured to control the output of the LEDs.
Khizar teaches a similar device (paragraph [0023] light source 30 may emit ultraviolet (UV) light 30a). Khizar teaches the circuit board comprises an on-board controller configured to control the output of the LEDs (paragraph [0032] the PCB 90 includes a control having control circuitry with light source drive circuitry for controlling activation and deactivation of the light source 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Lee-192 and Winslow with an on-board controller as taught by Khizar as the controller can send information to a user to update the user on the status of the appliance, cleaning cycle, sanitation process, and/or combination thereof (paragraph [0041]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al. CN101439192 (henceforth referred to as Lee-192) and Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow) as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Barron et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0085810 (henceforth referred to as Barron).
As to claim 18, Lee-192 and Winslow differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the lighting characteristic is a radiometric energy output of at least 200mW.
Barron teaches a similar device (abstract: methods, systems, and apparatuses involving disinfecting light sub components). Barron teaches the lighting characteristic is a radiometric energy output of at least 200mW (paragraph [0027] light emitters may have a minimum amount of radiometric energy 1000mW or 3000mW).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Lee-192 and Winslow with a radiometric energy of at least 200 mW as taught by Barron. It is known in the art that the radiometric energy can vary depending on the distance that the surface is away from the substrate, based on the size of the surface, based on a microorganism to be inactivated, or based on a beam angle of at least one of the more light emitters (paragraph [0098]). It would have been obvious to adjust the radiometric energy based on the amount of microbes that a user wants to inactivate.
Conclusion
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711