DETAILED ACTION
The communication dated 05/19/2026 has been entered and fully considered.
Claims 1-9, 12, and 14-23 are currently pending. Claims 1, 3, 6, 9, and 14-15 are amended.
Claims 10-11 and 13 are cancelled. Claims 21-23 are new.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed 05/19/2026, with respect to claim 1 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. § 103 rejection (with regards to the Kim and Winslow references) of claim 1 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 9 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy U.S. Publication 2022/0356631 (henceforth referred to as Murphy) in view of Ling et al. U.S. Publication 2023/0181782 (henceforth referred to as Ling) and Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow).
As to claim 1, (Currently Amended) Murphy teaches a system comprising:
a washing machine (paragraph [0027] laundry treating appliance 100 which can be a washer) comprising a surface for mounting (paragraphs [0039] and [0042] housing 206 (of the sanitation component 202) can be removable from the agitator 150. If the housing 206, can be removed from the agitator, then it can be mounted in the agitator) and a target surface for disinfection (paragraphs [0040]-[0041] the sanitation component can disinfect surfaces, treating chamber 142, agitator 150, basket, lid 128, etc.); and
a device configured to disinfect the washing machine (paragraph [0040] sanitation component 202 may be an ultra-violet light 204), the device an appliance comprising:
an internal structure of cylindrical shape (FIG. 1 the housing 206 is cylindrical in shape);
a mounting mechanism configured to mount the device to the surface for mounting (paragraphs [0039] and [0042] housing 206 (of the sanitation component 202) can be removable from the agitator 150. If the housing 206, can be removed from the agitator, then it can be mounted in the agitator).
Murphy differs from the instant claim in failing to teach a door gasket; an internal structure of cylindrical shape configured to hold a plurality of one or more light emitters disposed about a circular cross-section of the internal structure, wherein the plurality of light emitters emit disinfecting light with a lighting characteristic and a peak wavelength in a range of 380 to 420nm; a controller configured to control the output of the disinfecting light, wherein the disinfecting light emits circumferentially around the circular cross- section from the device towards the door gasket target surface for disinfection, and wherein the door gasket target surface is not on the device.
Murphy teaches a door gasket in a second embodiment (paragraph [0052] a gasket assembly 410 may be arranged on the appliance lid 128).
The combination of the first embodiment of Murphy and the second embodiment of Murphy would teach that the disinfecting light emits circumferentially around the device towards the door gasket target surface for disinfection, and wherein the door gasket target surface is not on the device (If the sanitation component can disinfect the lid 128 and the gasket is on the lid, then the sanitation component can disinfect the gasket.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Murphy with a gasket as taught by a second embodiment of Murphy. It is known in the art to put a gasket on a lid to provide a seal as it would prevent vapors and liquids from escaping (paragraph [0052]).
Ling teaches a disinfection device (paragraph [0038] disinfectant tower 104). Ling teaches an internal structure of cylindrical shape configured to hold a plurality of one or more light emitters disposed about a circular cross-section of the internal structure (FIG. 3c paragraph [0039] a cylindrical housing 106 and a plurality of ultra-violet light emitting diode modules 108 disposed on the circumference of the cylindrical housing); wherein the plurality of light emitters emit disinfecting light with a lighting characteristic (paragraph [0039] ultra-violet light emitting diode modules); wherein the disinfecting light emits circumferentially around the circular cross- section from the device (FIG. 3C paragraph [0052] the UV-Led modules 108 can be varied so as to achieve a 360 degree spread or near 360 degree spread).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Murphy with a housing structure as taught by Ling. Having multiple UV-lights mounted on a cylindrical structure is known in the art and one of the various embodiments to emit light circumferentially.
Winslow teaches a similar device (abstract: methods, systems, and apparatuses involving devices with disinfecting illumination). Winslow teaches a peak wavelength in a range of 380 to 420 nm (paragraph [0059] disinfecting lighting elements 104 may emit a first wavelength (380-420nm disinfecting light)); and a controller configured to control the output of the disinfecting light (paragraph [0057] the control system may adjust the output of disinfecting light emitted by the disinfecting lighting element 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Murphy with a wavelength as taught by Winslow as a wavelength within the range of 380-420 nm may have a lethal effect on microorganisms such as bacteria, yeast, mold, and fungi (paragraph [0034]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to use a control system as it can be used to adjust the intensity, wavelength, emission time, etc. of the disinfecting light (paragraph [0057]).
As to claim 2, (Original) Murphy further teaches the device is removably coupled to the surface for mounting (paragraph [0042] the housing 206 is removable from the agitator 150).
As to claim 3, (Currently Amended) Murphy further teaches the washing machine is configured to run a cleaning cycle (paragraph [0027] the laundry treating appliance 100 can be a washer that performs a cycle of operation clean or otherwise treat laundry items placed therein.); the surface for mounting is a surface on a door of the washing machine or an internal drum of the washing machine (FIG. 1 paragraphs [0037] and [0039] the housing 206 can be configured to fit within the agitator 150. The agitator is within the treating chamber 142).
As to claim 5, (Original) Winslow further teaches the disinfecting light is emitted until a dosage threshold is met, wherein the dosage threshold is at least 20 J/cm2 (Table 2: the minimum recommended dosage to reduce bacteria is 20 J/cm2 and paragraph [0043] a dosage of 20 J/cm2 may be required to kill target bacteria).
As to claim 6, (Currently Amended) Winslow further teaches the disinfecting light: comprises an irradiance on the target surface for disinfection of at least 0.05 mW/cm2 (paragraph [0043] a device may be configured to emit an irradiance of disinfecting energy (0.05 mW/cm2)); and comprises an exposure time period correlating to the dosage threshold and the irradiance (paragraphs [0041]-[0043] time is determined based on irradiance and dosage).
As to claim 7, (Original) Murphy further teaches there are no opaque components in a direct path of the emitted disinfecting light and at least a portion of the target surface for disinfection (FIG. 1 there are no opaque components in a direct path of the emitted disinfecting light).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy U.S. Publication 2022/0356631 (henceforth referred to as Murphy), Ling et al. U.S. Publication 2023/0181782 (henceforth referred to as Ling), and Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow) as applied to claim 3 above, in further view of Lee et al. U.S. Publication 2018/0216282 (henceforth referred to as Lee-282).
As to claim 4, (Original) Murphy, Ling, and Winslow differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the door gasket of the washing machine is transparent or translucent and allows light within a range of 380 to 420 nanometers to transmit through it.
Lee-282 teaches a similar system (FIG. 1 paragraph [0065] laundry treating apparatus). Lee-282 teaches the door gasket of the washing machine is transparent or translucent (paragraph [0105] the gasket 817 is formed of transparent material).
The combination of Murphy, Ling, Winslow and Lee-282 would result in the light within a range of 380 to 420 nanometers being able to transmit through the transparent door gasket.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Murphy, Ling, and Winslow with a transparent gasket as taught by Lee-282 so that the inside of the laundry receiving part 20 can be externally exposed through the opening 13 (paragraph [0105]).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy U.S. Publication 2022/0356631 (henceforth referred to as Murphy), Ling et al. U.S. Publication 2023/0181782 (henceforth referred to as Ling), and Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow) as applied to claim 1 above, in further view of Janke et al. U.S. Publication 2017/0145616 (henceforth referred to as Janke).
As to claim 8, (Original) Murphy, Ling, and Winslow differ from the instant claim in failing to teach a sensor in communication with the controller, wherein the sensor is a vibration sensor or a motion sensor.
Janke teaches a similar system (paragraph [0032] washing machine 10). Janke a sensor in communication with the controller, wherein the sensor is a vibration sensor or a motion sensor (FIG. 2 paragraph [0046] controller 88 is coupled with one or more sensors 92, 94. The sensors can be an acceleration sensor, which reads on the motion sensor).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Murphy, Ling, and Winslow with a sensor as taught by Janke. It is known in the art to use sensors as they can be used to determine a variety of system and laundry characteristics, such as laundry load inertia or mass and system imbalance magnitude and position (paragraph [0046]).
Claims 9, 12, 15-16 and 19-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy U.S. Publication 2022/0356631 (henceforth referred to as Murphy) in view of Ling et al. U.S. Publication 2023/0181782 (henceforth referred to as Ling) and Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow).
As to claim 9, (Currently Amended) Murphy teaches a device configured to disinfect a washing machine (FIG. 1 paragraphs [0040]-[0041] the sanitation component can disinfect surfaces, treating chamber 142, agitator 150, basket, lid 128, etc.), the device an appliance comprising:
an internal structure of cylindrical shape (FIG. 1 the housing 206 is cylindrical in shape);
a mounting mechanism configured to mount the device to a surface for mounting (paragraphs [0039] and [0042] housing 206 (of the sanitation component 202) can be removable from the agitator 150. If the housing 206, can be removed from the agitator, then it can be mounted in the agitator).
Murphy differs from the instant claim in failing to teach an internal structure of cylindrical shape configured to hold a plurality of one or more light emitters disposed about a circular cross-section of the internal structure, wherein the plurality of one or more light emitters emit disinfecting light with a lighting characteristic and a peak wavelength in a range of 380 to 420nm; a controller configured to control the output of the disinfecting light, wherein the disinfecting light emits circumferentially around the circular cross- section from the device towards a door gasket of the washing machine, the door gasket comprising a target surface, and wherein the door gasket target surface is not on the device.
Ling teaches a disinfection device (paragraph [0038] disinfectant tower 104). Ling teaches an internal structure of cylindrical shape configured to hold a plurality of one or more light emitters disposed about a circular cross-section of the internal structure (FIG. 3c paragraph [0039] a cylindrical housing 106 and a plurality of ultra-violet light emitting diode modules 108 disposed on the circumference of the cylindrical housing); wherein the plurality of one or more light emitters emit disinfecting light with a lighting characteristic (paragraph [0039] ultra-violet light emitting diode modules); wherein the disinfecting light emits circumferentially around the circular cross- section from the device (FIG. 3C paragraph [0052] the UV-Led modules 108 can be varied so as to achieve a 360 degree spread or near 360 degree spread).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Murphy with a housing structure as taught by Ling. Having multiple UV-lights mounted on a cylindrical structure is known in the art and one of the various embodiments to emit light circumferentially.
Winslow teaches a similar device (abstract: methods, systems, and apparatuses involving devices with disinfecting illumination). Winslow teaches a peak wavelength in a range of 380 to 420nm (paragraph [0059] disinfecting lighting elements 104 may emit a first wavelength (380-420nm disinfecting light)); and a controller configured to control the output of the disinfecting light (paragraph [0057] the control system may adjust the output of disinfecting light emitted by the disinfecting lighting element 104).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Murphy with a wavelength as taught by Winslow as a wavelength within the range of 380-420 nm may have a lethal effect on microorganisms such as bacteria, yeast, mold, and fungi (paragraph [0034]). Additionally, it would have been obvious to use a control system as it can be used to adjust the intensity, wavelength, emission time, etc. of the disinfecting light (paragraph [0057]).
Murphy teaches a door gasket in a different embodiment (paragraph [0052] a gasket assembly 410 may be arranged on the appliance lid 128).
The combination of the first embodiment of Murphy and the second embodiment of Murphy would teach that the disinfecting light emits circumferentially around the device towards a door gasket of the washing machine, the door gasket comprising a target surface, and wherein the door gasket target surface is not on the device (If the sanitation component can disinfect the lid 128 and the gasket is on the lid, then the sanitation component can disinfect the gasket.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Murphy with a gasket as taught by a second embodiment of Murphy. It would have been obvious to have a gasket to seal the lid to prevent vapors and liquids from escaping (paragraph [0052]).
As to claim 12, (Original) Winslow further teaches the controller is in communication with a timer (paragraph [0062] the control system may comprise a timer), and wherein the disinfecting light is emitted while the timer runs for a time period and the disinfecting light is not emitted at the end of the time period (paragraph [0076] the timer can turn off the disinfecting lighting.).
As to claim 15, (Original) Winslow further teaches each light emitter of the plurality of light emitters comprises a circuit board disposed with one or more LEDs (paragraph [0092] the disinfecting lighting elements may be LEDs on printed circuit boards).
As to claim 16, (Original) Winslow further teaches the internal structure comprises: the controller; or an LED driver configured to provide power to the light emitters (paragraph [0089] an LED driver or power supply).
As to claim 19, (Original) Winslow and Ling further teach the internal structure comprises a heat sink (Winslow paragraph [0092] the PCBs may be fastened or adhered to a metal surface for heat sinking or Ling paragraph [0036] each of the plurality of UV-LED modules may include a heat sink).
As to claim 20, (Original) Winslow further teaches lenses disposed over each light emitter (paragraph [0065] there may be a protective layer over the lighting devices such as a transparent layer, which reads on the claimed lenses) and configured to transmit at least 70% of the disinfecting light emitting within the wavelength range of 380 to 420 nanometers (paragraph [0095] transparent or translucent surfaces may allow for 75%-100% transmission of the disinfecting wavelengths in the range of 380-420 nm).
As to claim 21, (New) Ling further teaches the cylindrical internal structure comprises an outer edge forming a continuously illuminated surface (FIG. 3C the outer edge forms a continuously illuminated surface (there are no gaps in the illumination beams)).
As to claim 22, (New) Ling further teaches each of the plurality of light emitters emits at a respective beam angle (FIG. 3C the light emitters emit at a respective beam angle), and the respective beam angles collectively span 360 degrees around a central axis of the cylindrical internal structure (FIG. 3C paragraph [0052] the UV-Led modules 108 can be varied so as to achieve a 360 degree spread or near 360 degree spread).
As to claim 23, (New) Murphy and Winslow further teaches the washing machine is a front load washing machine (Murphy paragraph [0027] the laundry treating appliance may be a horizontal axis clothes washer.), and wherein the controller is configured to cause the plurality of light emitters to continuously emit the disinfecting light onto the door gasket (Winslow paragraphs [0043] and [0061] the disinfecting light may be continuously applied to keep the bacteria counts down. The user may input a lower power setting (on the control system) to continuously disinfect an item.).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy U.S. Publication 2022/0356631 (henceforth referred to as Murphy), Ling et al. U.S. Publication 2023/0181782 (henceforth referred to as Ling), and Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow) as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Lee et al. WO2022250277 (henceforth referred to as Lee-277).
As to claim 14, (Currently Amended) Murphy, Ling, and Winslow differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the controller is in communication with the washing machine and controls the disinfecting light such that the disinfecting light is emitted when a cleaning cycle of the washing machine is not active.
Lee-277 teaches a similar device (paragraph [0036] a second light source 52b is used for sterilization). Lee-277 teaches the controller is in communication with the appliance and controls the disinfecting light such that the disinfecting light is emitted when the cleaning cycle is not active (paragraph [0053] one embodiment of a method for controlling a washing machine may further include a step (S160) of sterilizing the inside of the washing tub by irradiating sterilizing light after performing washing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Murphy, Ling, and Winslow with a disinfecting light that disinfects when the cleaning cycle is not active as taught by Lee-277. By performing the sterilization step after washing, it would remove any remaining contaminants and detergent (paragraph [0055]).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy U.S. Publication 2022/0356631 (henceforth referred to as Murphy), Ling et al. U.S. Publication 2023/0181782 (henceforth referred to as Ling), and Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow) as applied to claim 15 above, in further view of Khizar U.S. Publication 2020/0102695 (henceforth referred to as Khizar).
As to claim 17, (Original) Murphy, Ling, and Winslow differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the circuit board comprises an on-board controller configured to control the output of the LEDs.
Khizar teaches a similar device (paragraph [0023] light source 30 may emit ultraviolet (UV) light 30a). Khizar teaches the circuit board comprises an on-board controller configured to control the output of the LEDs (paragraph [0032] the PCB 90 includes a control having control circuitry with light source drive circuitry for controlling activation and deactivation of the light source 30).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Murphy, Ling, and Winslow with an on- board controller as taught by Khizar as the controller can send information to a user to update the user on the status of the appliance, cleaning cycle, sanitation process, and/or combination thereof (paragraph [0041]).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Murphy U.S. Publication 2022/0356631 (henceforth referred to as Murphy), Ling et al. U.S. Publication 2023/0181782 (henceforth referred to as Ling), and Winslow et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0046198 (henceforth referred to as Winslow) as applied to claim 9 above, in further view of Barron et al. U.S. Publication 2021/0085810 (henceforth referred to as Barron).
As to claim 18, (Original) Murphy, Ling, and Winslow differ from the instant claim in failing to teach the lighting characteristic is a radiometric energy output of at least 200mW.
Barron teaches a similar device (abstract: methods, systems, and apparatuses involving disinfecting light sub components). Barron teaches the lighting characteristic is a radiometric energy output of at least 200mW (paragraph [0027] light emitters may have a minimum amount of radiometric energy 1000mW or 3000mW).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the device as taught by Murphy, Ling, and Winslow with a radiometric energy of at least 200 mW as taught by Barron. It is known in the art that the radiometric energy can vary depending on the distance that the surface is away from the substrate, based on the size of the surface, based on a microorganism to be inactivated, or based on a beam angle of at least one of the more light emitters (paragraph [0098]). It would have been obvious to adjust the radiometric energy based on the amount of microbes that a user wants to inactivate.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.G.O./Examiner, Art Unit 1711
/MICHAEL E BARR/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1711