DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The references listed in the Information Disclosure Statement filed on 07/01/24 and 05/21/25 have been considered by the examiner (see attached PTO-1449 form or PTO/SB/08A and 08B).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 6, 11 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Cheng et al. (U.S. 20230156854).
For claim 1, Cheng et al. disclose a unicast sidelink communication method, comprising:
establishing, by a receive end configured with a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode, a unicast sidelink with a transmit end within unicast establishment active time (at least Fig. 5 and [0100]-[0101]. Before the UE has connected to a relay, it monitors for relay discovery messages for more relays, with a much longer DRX on duration for relay selection (e.g. to monitor for discovery messages from relay 1, relay 2, and relay 3). Once the remote UE is connected to a relay UE, the remote UE can request (negotiate) a dedicated SL DRX. In the illustrated example, the remote UE connects to Relay-1, which sends the remote UE a dedicated SL DRX via PC5 RRC.); and
after the unicast sidelink establishment is completed, receiving, by the receive end, a unicast service data packet by using target configuration information (at least Fig. 5, [0100]-[0101] and [0103]-[0105]. The relay UE may decide to switch the remote UE to a different SL DRX pattern. As illustrated, the relay UE may decide based on Remote UE reported SL measurements. The relay UE may instruct the remote UE to switch to a different SL DRX pattern via an RRC reconfiguration message.), wherein
the target configuration information comprises parameter configuration information of second DRX, and the parameter configuration information of the second DRX is indicated by a quality of service (QoS) configuration of a unicast service (at least Fig. 5, [0100]-[0101] and [0103]-[0105]. The relay UE may decide to switch the remote UE to a different SL DRX pattern. As illustrated, the relay UE may decide based on Remote UE reported SL measurements. The relay UE may instruct the remote UE to switch to a different SL DRX pattern via an RRC reconfiguration message. The remote UE may be configured to use a first SL DRX configuration (labeled DRX pattern 1) for use when the remote UE is experiencing good relay link quality (e.g., SL-RSRP is above certain threshold). When the relay link quality is below a certain threshold, however, the remote UE can switch (or be switched) to a second DRX configuration (labeled DRX pattern 2).); and
the unicast establishment active time comprises one of the following: an on-duration corresponding to first DRX; and the on-duration corresponding to the first DRX and extension time after the on-duration corresponding to the first DRX at least Fig. 5 and [0100]-[0101]. Before the UE has connected to a relay, it monitors for relay discovery messages for more relays, with a much longer DRX on duration for relay selection (e.g. to monitor for discovery messages from relay 1, relay 2, and relay 3). Once the remote UE is connected to a relay UE, the remote UE can request (negotiate) a dedicated SL DRX. In the illustrated example, the remote UE connects to Relay-1, which sends the remote UE a dedicated SL DRX via PC5 RRC.)
For claim 6, Cheng et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the unicast establishment active time comprises the on-duration corresponding to the first DRX, the establishing, by a receive end, a unicast sidelink with a transmit end within unicast establishment active time comprises: in the unicast sidelink establishment process, transmitting, by the receive end with the transmit end, PC5-S and PC5-RRC information within at least one on-duration corresponding to the first DRX (at least [0074] and [0089]. The remote UE establishes PC5-S unicast link setup and obtains an IP address. The PC5 unicast link AS configuration is managed using PC5-RRC. For L3 relay scenarios, the remote UE may report its DRX preference (e.g., preferred parameters) to a relay node via PC5 RRC message.)
For claims 11 and 18, the claims have features similar to claims 1 and 6 respectively. Therefore, the claims are also rejected for the same reason in claims 1 and 6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (U.S. 20230156854) in view of Park et al. (U.S. 20230115633).
For claim 7, Cheng et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein after the receiving, by the receive end, a unicast service data packet by using target configuration information after the unicast sidelink establishment is completed, the method further comprises: in a case that a second condition is satisfied, stopping receiving unicast service data packets, wherein the second condition comprises at least one of the following: the receive end receives first indication information sent by the transmit end, wherein the first indication information is used to indicate the receive end to stop using the second DRX ([0074] and [0103]-[0105]. The relay UE may instruct the remote UE to switch to a different SL DRX pattern via an RRC reconfiguration message. This option generally may apply only to the L3 relay scenario. The remote UE may be configured to use a first SL DRX configuration (labeled DRX pattern 1) for use when the remote UE is experiencing good relay link quality (e.g., SL-RSRP is above certain threshold). When the relay link quality is below a certain threshold, however, the remote UE can switch (or be switched) to a second DRX configuration (labeled DRX pattern 2).) However, Chang et al. do not disclose a first timer expires.
In the same field of endeavor, Park et al. disclose a first timer expires (at least [0183]. The inactivity timer may be started and then expired/terminated, and after that, the HARQ RTT/retransmission timer may be started and then expired/terminated.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Cheng et al. as taught by Park et al. for purpose of saving power for sidelink communication.
Claims 8-9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (U.S. 20230156854) in view of Park et al. (U.S. 20230115633) and further in view of Paladugu et al. (U.S. 20250184879).
For claim 8, the combination of Cheng et al. and Park et al. disclose the method according to claim 7, wherein that the receive end receives first indication information sent by the transmit end comprises one of the following: the receive end receives the first indication information sent by the transmit end by using higher layer signaling ([0074] and [0103]-[0105]. The relay UE may instruct the remote UE to switch to a different SL DRX pattern via an RRC reconfiguration message. This option generally may apply only to the L3 relay scenario. The remote UE may be configured to use a first SL DRX configuration (labeled DRX pattern 1) for use when the remote UE is experiencing good relay link quality (e.g., SL-RSRP is above certain threshold). When the relay link quality is below a certain threshold, however, the remote UE can switch (or be switched) to a second DRX configuration (labeled DRX pattern 2).) However, the combination of Cheng et al. and Park et al. do not disclose the receive end receives the first indication information sent by the transmit end by using media access control control element (MAC-CE) signaling.
In the same field of endeavor, Paladugu et al. disclose the receive end receives the first indication information sent by the transmit end by using media access control control element (MAC-CE) signaling (at least [0048]. A medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE) is a MAC layer communication structure that may be used for control command exchange between wireless nodes. For example, the BS 110a may transmit a MAC-CE to a UE 120a to put the UE 120a into a discontinuous reception (DRX) mode to reduce the UE's power consumption.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Cheng et al. as taught by Paladugu et al. for purpose of using for control command exchange between wireless nodes.
For claim 9, the combination of Chang et al., Park et al. and Paladugu et al. disclose the method according to claim 8. Park et al. disclose wherein in a case that the receive end receives a new data packet, the first timer is started or restarted (at least [0183]. The inactivity timer is a common DRX timer, and upon receiving a new TB from the TX UE, the RX UE may start the inactivity timer and monitor whether there is additional SL data transmitted by the TX UE.)
For claim 19, the claim has features similar to claim 7-8. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claims 7-8.
Claims 10 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cheng et al. (U.S. 20230156854) in view of Sun et al. (U.S. 20230217536).
For claim 10, Cheng et al. do not disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the parameter configuration information of the second DRX is indicated by one QoS configuration, the parameter configuration information of the second DRX is determined by a packet delay budget (PDB); or in a case that the parameter configuration information of the second DRX is indicated by at least two QoS configurations, the parameter configuration information of the second DRX is determined by a preset PDB in the at least two QoS configurations; wherein the preset PDB is a smallest PDB in the at least two QoS configurations.
In the same field of endeavor, Sun et al. disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that the parameter configuration information of the second DRX is indicated by one QoS configuration, the parameter configuration information of the second DRX is determined by a packet delay budget (PDB); or in a case that the parameter configuration information of the second DRX is indicated by at least two QoS configurations, the parameter configuration information of the second DRX is determined by a preset PDB in the at least two QoS configurations; wherein the preset PDB is a smallest PDB in the at least two QoS configurations (at least [0043]. The UE 204 can have multiple different configurations, which can be provided from the base station 201 by RRC signaling. If multiple DRX cycles are permitted and configured for the UE 204, the UE 204 can choose which DRX cycle to follow. The UE 204 can choose a DRX cycle based on the type of SL service provided to the UE 204. For example, when the UE 204 is engaged in SL communication for V2X services, the UE 204 can choose a shorter DRX cycle due to the potential high speed of vehicles. The UE 204 can also choose the DRX cycle based on quality of service (QoS) profiles including priority, packet delay budget of the SL communications, or other QoS factors.)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the invention of Cheng et al. as taught by Sun et al. for purpose of allowing a UE to choose a multiple different DRX configurations.
For claim 20, the claim has features similar to claim 10. Therefore, the claim is also rejected for the same reason in claim 10.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5 and 12-17are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/DAI PHUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2644