DETAILED ACTION
Claims Status
Claims 1-7 are currently pending and are original.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over BHASME et al. (US 2023/0356625 A1, BHASME) in view of THOMAS et al. (US 10,826,304 B1, hereinafter THOMAS).
Regarding claims 1 and 6 (Claim 1 is considered representative for limitation matching purposes), BHASME discloses a power storage system comprising a bi-directional direct-current/direct-current (DC/DC) converter, wherein the system allows the use of a battery with an inverter/charger (See Figs.2A-2C, disclose a vehicle system comprising a bi-directional DC-DC converter 212. Fig.2B, discloses the DC-DC converter operable in a direction to discharge the battery 204 to inverter/charger systems 208-1 and 208-2. Fig.2C, discloses the converter operating in a second direction to charge the battery 204 from inverter/charger system 208-1 and 208-2).
However, BHASME does not disclose a protocol translator, wherein the battery is ordinarily incompatible with the inverter/charger with respect to voltage.
THOMAS discloses a vehicle electrical system comprising a protocol translator (See Fig. 2, Items#209+202 and Fig.3 which discloses the structure of battery capacitor translator “lead acid output emulator” 209. See Col.10, line 36 to Col.11, lines 49, disclose the battery capacity translator converts the measurement parameter of the battery 201 and converts it to data that is readable and understood by the external charger 208), wherein the battery is ordinarily incompatible with the inverter/charger with respect to voltage (See Col.9, lines 31-39, disclose the battery capacity translator tricks any device that uses sense line 105 [i.e. external charger 208] to think that a lithium based battery [incompatible] is a lead-acid battery [compatible]).
BHASME and THOMAS are analogous art since they both deal with vehicle electrical systems.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BHASME with the teaching of THOMAS by adding the protocol translator for the benefit of increasing efficiency by allowing the system to replace a lead-acid battery with a lithium-based battery (See THOMAS, Col.3, lines 9-15 and Col.13, line 60 to Col.14, line 2).
Regarding claim 6, the claim includes all limitations of claim 1 except the bi-directional DC/DC converter. The limitations of claim 6 are met by the rejection of claim 1 as discussed above.
Regarding claim 2, BHASME and THOMAS disclose the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein battery voltages and currents are changed within the protocol translator by a specific ratio or a specific procedure to make the battery appear to the inverter/charger to be the correct voltage and current for the inverter/charger (See THOMAS, Col.10, line 36 to Col.11, lines 49, disclose the battery capacity translator converts the measurement parameter of the battery 201 and converts it to data that is readable and understood by the external charger 208. Col.11, table 1 also discloses measurements of lithium-based cells and the corresponding lead acid terminal voltage and the battery translator outputs a voltage which represents the lithium-based battery as a lead-acid battery).
Regarding claim 3, BHASME and THOMAS disclose the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the protocol translator performs at least one basic function of battery balancing by acting directly on reported voltages and currents, rather than translating them first (See THOMAS, Fig.2, Item#202 and Col.8, lines 38-47, disclose the control circuit balances the charge of the battery cells based on the direct voltage measurement as the circuit directly measures the voltage of the cells of battery 201).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BHASME and THOMAS with the further teachings of THOAMAS by performing battery balancing by acting directly on reported voltages and currents, rather than translating them first for the benefit of reducing the balancing time by acting on the direct voltage measurement data instead of translating it first.
Regarding claim 4, BHASME and THOMAS disclose the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the battery voltage is transformed by the bidirectional, fixed-ratio converter in order to allow normal operation of the inverter/charger (See BHASME, Fig.2A, Item#212 and Par.44, disclose the DC-DC converter 212 converts the DC voltage from the battery 204 to the voltage of the drivetrain components 208-1, 208-2).
Regarding claims 5 and 7, BHASME and THOMAS disclose the system of claim 1 as discussed above, wherein the protocol translator converts at least one unique report of the battery to a universal format (See THOMAS, Col.10, line 36 to Col.11, lines 49 and Col.6, lines 5-10, discloses converted data is transmitted on a serial bus, parallel bus, wireless or other type of communication i.e. universal format understood by an external device).
The examiner further explains that if the applicant disagrees with the examiner’s interpretation that data transmitted on a serial bus or wireless communication is universal format, that it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention disclosed by BHASME and THOMAS by converting the measurements into universal format for the benefit of allowing any external device to understand the translated data.
References considered but not relied upon:
HASLER (US 2022/0405222 A1): discloses battery data translator which translates battery data and output it into a different format that is used/understood by a power system of a machine.
AMARASEKARA et al. (US 2017/0110901 A1): discloses a battery power translator which allows an incompatible battery to be used with an existing device by converting the battery voltage to a compatible voltage and perform logical interface with the device.
COLAVITO et al. (US 11,003,876 B2): discloses an apparatus comprising a universal power interface that allows the device to receive power and communicate with a plurality of different types of batteries.
Conclusion
/AHMED H OMAR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2859