DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 302 and 321 are objected to because of the following informalities: Claims 302 and 321 each recite “poorly-water-soluble implant material” which appears to be referring to the – poorly-water-soluble matrix material –. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 301-333 is/are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over US Patent No. 6,579,533 B1 to Tormala et al. (Tormala).
Regarding at least claims 301, 302, 320, and 321
Tormala teaches bioabsorbable materials and implants used to prevent and treat infection and promote bone growth (abstract). Tormala meets the limitations of an implant suitable for placement in a patient, comprising: an implant component (fixation implant) having an outer surface; a poorly-water-soluble matrix material having a physically continuous interconnected matrix as a porous structure disposed on at least a portion of the outer surface of the implant component and defining interstices within the porous structure (the synthetic bioabsorbable polymeric matrix is a poorly-water-soluble matrix material having a physically continuous interconnected matrix as a porous structure disposed on the outer surface of the implant and defining interstices within the porous structure as disclosed in col. 5, lines 46-60, particularly since a matrix is defined by Oxford Learner’s Dictionary as a system of lines that cross each other forming a series of shape in between); and bioactive water-soluble inorganic material that is blended within and attached within at least some of the interstices of the porous structure such that (col. 5, lines 45-60 discloses that an antibiotic mixture and a bone growth promoting, antibacterial bioactive glass particle or fiber filler or reinforcement is dispersed, mixed, dissolved, homogenized, and/or covalently bound into the synthetic bioabsorbable polymeric carrier and is therefore construed to be blended within and attached within at least some of the interstices of the porous structure), when the implant is placed in proximity of bone tissue, the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material progressively dissolves generating biologically desirable voids, gradually exposing more of the interstices into which the tissue can grow to assist fixation of the implant within the patient (col. 7, lines 38-41 and 53-65 discloses that the bioactive glasses slowly/progressively dissolve causing an antibacterial effect and forming hydroxyapatite precipitations which enhance the new bone growth with and along the surface of the materials and implants – it is construed that as the bioactive material dissolves, biologically desirable voids are generated and more interstices of the matrix material are exposed into which the tissue can grow as claimed), wherein the poorly-water-soluble implant material includes metallic material, ceramic material, or polymeric material (the synthetic bioabsorbable polymer is a polymeric material).
Similarly, Tormala meets the limitations of an implant suitable for placement in a patient, comprising: an implant component including an outer surface defining a roughened or textured surface treatment creating pits, craters or surface irregularities as voids on at least a portion of the outer surface of the implant component (col. 9, lines 60-65) wherein the outer surface is formed of a poorly-water-soluble implant material (the synthetic bioabsorbable polymeric matrix is a poorly-water-soluble matrix material as disclosed in col. 5, lines 46-60); and bioactive water-soluble inorganic particles that are blended and attached within at least some of the voids (col. 5, lines 45-60 discloses that an antibiotic mixture and a bone growth promoting, antibacterial bioactive glass particle or fiber filler or reinforcement, which are construed to be bioactive water-soluble inorganic particles, is dispersed, mixed, dissolved, homogenized, and/or covalently bound into the synthetic bioabsorbable polymeric carrier and is therefore construed to be blended and attached within at least some of the voids) such that, when the implant is placed in proximity of bone tissue, upon the dissolution of said water-soluble inorganic particles said voids are recreated allowing for the infiltration and attachment of bone tissue to assist in the fixation of the implant within the patient (col. 7, lines 38-41 and 53-65 discloses that the bioactive glasses slowly dissolve causing an antibacterial effect and forming hydroxyapatite precipitations which enhance the new bone growth with and along the surface of the materials and implants – it is therefore construed that upon dissolution of the bioactive material, the voids are recreated allowing for the infiltration and attachment of bone tissue to assist in the fixation of the implant within the patient as claimed), wherein the poorly-water-soluble implant material includes metallic material, ceramic material, or polymeric material (the synthetic bioabsorbable polymer is a polymeric material).
Tormala also teaches that well-known procedures for the treatment of bone infections is the use of PMMA beads that contain antibiotics or antibiotics mixed with PMMA bone cement (col. 1, lines 61-67 through col. 2, lines 1-8). Though Tormala prefers synthetic bioabsorbable polymeric material, it is clear that use of a non-biodegradable polymer material is known in the art.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to substitute the biodegradable polymer/synthetic bioabsorbable polymeric matrix material taught by Tormala for a non-biodegradable polymer/PMMA, since it is prima facie obvious to select a known material based on its suitability for an intended purpose (See MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding at least claims 303 and 326
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 301 and 320 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material includes at least one form of calcium phosphate particles (col. 7, lines 38-49 discloses bioactive glasses; bioglasses are synthetic bioactive substances resembling glass but containing high proportions of calcium and phosphorous – therefore, the examiner construes that the bioactive glass particles of Tormala meet the limitation of being a form of calcium phosphate particles as claimed).
Regarding at least claims 304 and 327
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 303 and 326 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material includes at least one of tricalcium phosphate, hydroxyapatite or biphasic calcium phosphate (col. 7, lines 57-65 disclose hydroxyapatite precipitations formed by dissolution of the bioactive glasses).
Regarding at least claims 305 and 322
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 301 and 320, wherein a majority of the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material is particles having an average dimension less than 100 microns (col. 8, lines 18-23 discloses diameters less than 100 microns). Tormala also teaches that the implant may contain at their surface pores, holes, small gaps, longitudinal or spirally oriented grooves, hollows, etc., into which the drug-releasing and new bone formation promoting material can be spreaded, pressed, or melt molded (col. 9, lines 60-65). Further, Tormala teaches that the powders or suspensions of bioactive glass filler can be impregnated into the pores of the endoprostheses (col. 8, lines 28-38). However, Tormala does not explicitly teach wherein the interstices within the porous structure have average dimensions ranging from about 100 to 1,000 microns.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the interstices within the porous structure of Tormala to have average dimensions ranging from about 100 to 1,000 microns since it has been held that “where the only difference between the prior art and the claims was a recitation of relative dimensions of the claimed device and a device having the claimed relative dimensions would not perform differently than the prior art device, the claimed device was not patentably distinct from the prior art device” Gardner v. TEC Syst., Inc., 725 F.2d 1338, 220 USPQ 777 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 830, 225 SPQ 232 (1984). In the instant case, the device of Tormala would not operate differently with the claimed average dimensions and since the particles are less than 100 microns and are intended to fit within the pores of the implant the device would function appropriately having the claimed average dimensions. Further, it appears that applicant places no criticality on the range claimed, indicating simply that the pores “typically” be within the claimed ranges (specification pp. [00062]).
Regarding at least claims 306 and 323
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 301 and 320 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material includes the mixing of the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material in a liquid carrier to form a slurry (col. 8, lines 1-15 discloses mixing the bioactive glass/bioactive water-soluble inorganic material) that is blown or aspirated into the poorly-water-soluble matrix material to blend the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material within at least some of the interstices within the porous structure (col. 8, lines 23-28 discloses use of the mixture as sprays that impregnate the porous surface of the implant –spraying the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material it is construed as blowing or aspirating into the poorly-water-soluble matrix material to blend/impregnate the porous surface).
Regarding at least claims 307 and 324
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 301 and 320 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material is selected to have at least two different average particle dimensions (col. 8, lines 16-23 discloses sieving particles to separate the particles of the desired size including particles having a diameter, for example, of 10-50 microns – the range of sizes is construed to include at least two different average particle dimensions such as some particles being 10 microns and some being 50 microns and meets this limitation as claimed).
Regarding at least claims 308 and 325
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 301 and 320 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material includes some particles having a first formulation and other particles having a second formulation, the first and second formulations having different rates of dissolution (col. 7, lines 17-26 discloses variations in composition of each of the materials, such that some particles have a first formulation and other particles have a second formulation, to affect the release rates).
Regarding at least claims 309 and 328
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 301 and 320 wherein the attachment of the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material within the interstices of the poorly-soluble matrix material is accomplished by the utilization of heat to fuse, sinter or fix the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material (i) within the interstices of the poorly-soluble matrix material and (ii) directly to the poorly-soluble matrix material (col. 8, lines 1-38 discloses heating the mechanical mixture of bioactive water-soluble inorganic material and attaching/fixing within the interstices/pores).
Regarding at least claims 310 and 329
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 301 and 320 wherein the attachment of bioactive water-soluble inorganic material within the interstices of the poorly-soluble matrix material is accomplished by utilizing biodegradable polymers, or biocompatible adhesives or polymers (col. 8, lines 23-38 discloses that the microparticle suspensions can be used as pastes, which is construed to be a biocompatible adhesive, and impregnated into the pores).
Regarding at least claims 311 and 330
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 301 and 320 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material includes at least one osteoconductive agent, and/or at least one osteoinductive agent, and/or at least one non-antibiotic antimicrobial agent (col. 7, lines 49-52 discloses that the bioactive glasses express antibacterial effects and are construed to be at least one non-antibiotic antimicrobial agent).
Regarding at least claims 312 and 331
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 301 and 320 wherein the implant is a bone fixation device, and the outer surface of implant component includes a shaft region and/or a threaded region (col. 6, lines 38-44 disclose that the implants may be in the form of bone fracture fixation implants, like pins, screws, plates, tacks and intramedullary or soft-tissue-to-bone fixation implants, like screws, tacks, bolts, suture anchors, tissue anchors, interference screws and wedges, or soft tissue devices like arrows; at least the screws are a bone fixation device with an outer surface that includes a shaft and/or threaded region).
Regarding at least claims 313 and 332
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 312 and 331 wherein the bone fixation device is selected from a group including an external fixator pin and a bone screw, and the porous structure is disposed on at least a portion of the shaft region and/or the threaded region (col. 6, lines 38-44 disclose that the implants may be in the form of bone fracture fixation implants, like pins, screws, plates, tacks and intramedullary or soft-tissue-to-bone fixation implants, like screws, tacks, bolts, suture anchors, tissue anchors, interference screws and wedges, or soft tissue devices like arrows; at least the screws are a bone fixation device with the porous structure disposed on at least a portion of the shaft and/or threaded region).
Regarding at least claims 314 and 333
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 301 and 320 wherein the implant is an interbody spinal fusion device (col. 9, lines 8-13 discloses that the implants can be applied in the form of fixation devices, like bone fracture or osteotomy fixation pins, rods, screws, plates, tacks, bolts, wedges, intramedullary nails or soft tissue-to-bone fixation tacks or suture anchors, etc.; the implant is therefore construed to be fully capable of being used as an interbody spinal fusion device as claimed).
Regarding at least claims 315 and 334
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 314 and 333 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material includes elongated cylindrical particles which form elongated pockets for bone ingrowth upon dissolution (col. 6, lines 29-38 disclose that the polymer matrix, including antibiotic(s) and ceramic particle and/or fiber phase, can be in the form of cylinders; therefore the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material is construed to include elongated cylindrical particles which would form elongated pockets for bone growth upon dissolution as claimed).
Regarding at least claims 316 and 335
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 315 and 334 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic elongated cylindrical particles include at least one osteoconductive agent, and/or at least one osteoinductive agent, and/or at least one non-antibiotic antimicrobial agent (col. 8, lines 54-60 discloses that the drug releasing material can also be combined with gels which optionally may contain bone growth factors (BMP) which are osteoinductive agents).
Regarding at least claims 317 and 336
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 314 and 333 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material is bioactive glass (col. 5, lines 46-57 discloses that the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material is bioactive glass).
Regarding at least claims 318 and 337
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 301 and 320 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material includes bioactive glass (col. 5, lines 46-57 discloses that the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material is bioactive glass).
Regarding at least claims 319 and 338
Tormala teaches the implant according to claims 301 and 320 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material includes elongated cylindrical particles which form elongated pockets for bone ingrowth upon dissolution (col. 6, lines 29-38 disclose that the polymer matrix, including antibiotic(s) and ceramic particle and/or fiber phase, can be in the form of cylinders; therefore the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material is construed to include elongated cylindrical particles which would form elongated pockets for bone growth upon dissolution as claimed).
Double Patenting
Claims 301, 302, 305-313, 316, 320-325, and 328-332 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-6, 8, 12-22, and 28-32 of U.S. Patent No. 10,980,921 B2. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because:
Regarding claim 301, the patent claims also recite an implant suitable for placement in a patient, comprising: an implant component having an outer surface; a poorly-water-soluble matrix material having a physically continuous interconnected matrix as a porous structure disposed on at least a portion of the outer surface of the implant component and defining interstices within the porous structure, wherein the poorly-water-soluble matrix material is not a biodegradable polymeric material; and bioactive water-soluble inorganic material that is blended within and attached within at least some of the interstices of the porous structure such that, when the implant is placed in proximity of bone tissue, the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material progressively dissolves generating biologically desirable voids, gradually exposing more of the interstices into which the tissue can grow to assist fixation of the implant within the patient (see patent claim 1).
Regarding claim 302, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 301 wherein the poorly-water-soluble implant material includes metallic material, ceramic material, or polymeric material that is not biodegradable polymeric material (see patent claim 2).
Regarding claim 305, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 301 wherein the interstices within the porous structure have average dimensions ranging from about 100 to 1,000 microns and a majority of the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material is particles having an average dimension less than 100 microns (see patent claim 3).
Regarding claim 306, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 301 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material includes the mixing of the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material in a liquid carrier to form a slurry that is blown or aspirated into the poorly-water-soluble matrix material to blend the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material within at least some of the interstices within the porous structure (see patent claim 4).
Regarding claim 307, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 301 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material is selected to have at least two different average particle dimensions (see patent claim 5).
Regarding claim 308, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 301 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material includes some particles having a first formulation and other particles having a second formulation, the first and second formulations having different rates of dissolution (see patent claim 6).
Regarding claim 309, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 301 wherein the attachment of the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material within the interstices of the poorly-soluble matrix material is accomplished by the utilization of heat to fuse, sinter or fix the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material (i) within the interstices of the poorly-soluble matrix material and (ii) directly to the poorly-soluble matrix material (see patent claim 12).
Regarding claim 310, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 301 wherein the attachment of bioactive water- soluble inorganic material within the interstices of the poorly-soluble matrix material is accomplished by utilizing biodegradable polymers, or biocompatible adhesives or polymers (see patent claim 13).
Regarding claim 311, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 301 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material includes at least one osteoconductive agent, and/or at least one osteoinductive agent, and/or at least one non-antibiotic antimicrobial agent (see patent claim 8).
Regarding claim 312, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 301 wherein the implant is a bone fixation device, and the outer surface of implant component includes a shaft region and/or a threaded region (see patent claim 15).
Regarding claim 313, the patent claims also the implant according to claim 312 wherein the bone fixation device is selected from a group including an external fixator pin and a bone screw, and the porous structure is disposed on at least a portion of the shaft region and/or the threaded region (see patent claim 16).
Regarding claim 316, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 315 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic elongated cylindrical particles include at least one osteoconductive agent, and/or at least one osteoinductive agent, and/or at least one non-antibiotic antimicrobial agent (see patent claim 14).
Regarding claim 320, the patent claims also recite an implant suitable for placement in a patient, comprising: an implant component including an outer surface defining a roughened or textured surface treatment creating pits, craters or surface irregularities as voids on at least a portion of the outer surface of the implant component, wherein the outer surface is formed of a poorly- water-soluble implant material that is not a biodegradable polymeric material; and bioactive water-soluble inorganic particles that are blended and attached within at least some of the voids such that, when the implant is placed in proximity of bone tissue, the bioactive water-soluble inorganic material progressively dissolves recreating biologically desirable voids allowing for the infiltration and attachment of bone tissue to assist in the fixation of the implant within the patient (see patent claim 17).
Regarding claim 321, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 320 wherein the poorly-water-soluble implant material includes metallic material, ceramic material, or polymeric material that is not biodegradable polymeric material (see patent claim 18).
Regarding claim 322, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 320 wherein the voids have an average dimension ranging from about 100 to 1,000 microns and a majority of the bioactive water-soluble inorganic particles have an average dimension less than 100 microns (see patent claim 19).
Regarding claim 323, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 320 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic particles are blended within at least some of the voids by mixing of the bioactive water-soluble inorganic particles in a liquid carrier to form a slurry or is blown or aspirated into the pits, craters or surface irregular voids (see patent claim 20).
Regarding claim 324, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 320 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic particles are selected to have at least two different average particle dimensions (see patent claim 21).
Regarding claim 325, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 320 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic particles include particles having at least first and second formulations which have different rates of dissolution (see patent claim 22).
Regarding claim 328, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 320 wherein the attachment of the bioactive water-soluble inorganic particles within the voids of the pits, craters and surface irregularities is accomplished by the utilization of heat, to fuse, sinter or fix the bioactive water-soluble inorganic particles (i) within the voids of the pits, craters and surface irregularities on the surface of the implant and (ii) directly to the poorly-water-soluble implant material (see patent claim 28).
Regarding claim 329, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 320 wherein the attachment of the bioactive water-soluble inorganic particles within the voids of the pits, craters or surface irregularities is accomplished by utilizing biodegradable polymers, or biocompatible adhesives, or polymers (see patent claim 29).
Regarding claim 330, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 320 wherein the bioactive water-soluble inorganic particles include at least one osteoinductive agent, and/or at least one osteoconductive agent, and/or at least one non-antibiotic antimicrobial agent (see patent claim 30).
Regarding claim 331, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 320 wherein the implant is a bone fixation device, and the outer surface of implant component includes a shaft region and/or a threaded region (see patent claim 31).
Regarding claim 332, the patent claims also recite the implant according to claim 331 wherein the bone fixation device is selected from a group including an external fixator pin and a bone screw, and the porous structure is disposed on at least a portion of the shaft region and/or the threaded region (see patent claim 32).
Conclusion
/M.A.H/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774