Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 2-4, 6, 7, 9-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brown (US 2010/0072241).
Regarding Claim 9, Brown discloses an improved chest harness (Figures 1 & 2) comprising: a central vertical axis (CA, see annotated Figure 2 below), a central junction (junction, see annotated Figure 2 below) located along the central vertical axis; a circumferential belt (14) configured to extend around a torso of a user; an upper left diagonal strap (11) and an upper right diagonal strap (10), each of the upper diagonal straps having a proximate end and a distal end (Figures 1 & 2), the proximate end of the upper left diagonal strap being connected to the central junction and extending angularly away from the central junction in a first direction (Figures 1 & 2), the proximate end of the upper right diagonal strap being connected to the central junction and extending angularly away from the central junction in a second direction (Figures 1 & 2), the second direction mirroring the first direction across the central vertical axis (Figures 1 & 2), the distal end of each of the upper diagonal straps being connected to the circumferential belt (Figures 1 & 2 and/or via 12/13); a lower left diagonal strap (LL, see annotated Figure 2 below) and a lower right diagonal strap (LR, see annotated Figure 2 below), each of the lower diagonal straps having a proximate end and a distal end (Figures 1 & 2), the proximate end of the lower left diagonal strap being connected to the central junction and extending angularly away from the central junction in a third direction (Figures 1 & 2), the proximate end of the lower right diagonal strap being connected to the central junction and extending angularly away from the central junction in a fourth direction (Figures 1 & 2), the fourth direction mirroring the third direction across the central vertical axis (Figures 1 & 2), the distal end of each of the lower diagonal straps being connected to the circumferential belt (Figures 1 & 2 and/or via 12/13); wherein the first direction associated with the upper left diagonal strap is opposite the fourth direction associated with the lower right diagonal strap (Figures 1 & 2); and wherein the second direction associated with the upper right diagonal strap is opposite the third direction associated with the lower left diagonal strap (Figures 1 & 2).
Regarding Claim 2, Brown discloses the chest harness-includes cup supports (16).
Regarding Claim 3, Brown discloses the chest harness further comprises a first upper fixed connector (Para. 20, F, see annotated Figure 1 below) and a second upper fixed connector (Para. 20, F, see annotated Figure 1 below), the first upper fixed connector associated with the upper left diagonal strap (Figures 1 & 2), the second upper fixed connector associated with the upper right diagonal strap.
Regarding Claim 4, Brown discloses the central junction includes at least one pair of linear sides (Figure 2), each of linear sides being positioned opposite each other and configured for receiving and communicating a reciprocal force to the opposite linear side (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 6, Brown discloses the improved chest harness further comprises a releasable fastener (buckle, see annotated figure 1 below) associated with the circumferential belt, the releasable fastener being at least one column fastener (buckle is hook and loop; column of a hook and a column of loops for sizing).
Regarding Claim 7, Brown discloses the column fastener is a series of hook and eye connectors (buckle is hook and loop; column of a hook and a column of loops for sizing).
Regarding Claim 10, Brown discloses each of the upper left diagonal strap, the upper right diagonal strap, the lower left diagonal strap, and the lower right diagonal strap includes an adjustable fastener (Figures 1 & 2, Para. 20 & 21).
Regarding Claim 11, Brown discloses the central junction is a hexagonally-shaped structure (Figure 2) including an upper side, a lower side, an upper left diagonal side, an upper right diagonal side, a lower left diagonal side, and a lower right diagonal side (Figure 2); wherein the proximate end of the upper left diagonal strap connects to the central junction at the upper left diagonal side (Figure 2) and the proximate end of the upper right diagonal strap connects to the central junction at the upper right diagonal side (Figure 2); wherein the proximate end of the lower left diagonal strap connects to the central junction at the lower left diagonal side (Figure 2) and the proximate side of the lower right diagonal strap connects to the central junction at the lower right diagonal side (Figure 2).
Regarding Claim 12, Brown discloses the improved chest harness is configured to be worn such that the central junction is adjacent a user's torso (Figures 1 & 2).
Regarding Claim 13, Brown discloses an improved chest harness (Figure 1 & 2) comprising: a circumferential belt (14) configured to extend around a torso of a user (Figures 1 & 2); an upper left diagonal strap (11) and an upper right diagonal strap (10), each of the upper diagonal straps having a proximate end and a distal end (Figures 1 & 2), the proximate end for each of the upper diagonal straps having a mainly diagonal orientation (Figure 2), the distal end for each of the upper diagonal straps having a mainly vertical orientation (Figure 1); a lower left diagonal strap (LL, see annotated Figure 2 below) and a lower right diagonal strap (LR, see annotated Figure 2 below), each of the lower diagonal straps having a proximate end and a distal end (Figures 1 & 2); wherein the proximate end for each of the upper diagonal straps connects to a central junction (junction, see annotated Figure 2 below) located along a central vertical axis (CA, see annotated Figure 2 below) in a manner such that the upper left diagonal strap extends angularly away from the central junction in a first direction (Figure 2) and the upper right diagonal strap extends angularly from the central junction in a second direction (Figure 2), the second direction mirroring the first direction across the central vertical axis (Figure 2); wherein the proximate end for each of the lower diagonal straps connects to the central junction in a manner such that the lower left diagonal strap extends angularly away from the central junction in a third direction (Figure 2) and the lower right diagonal strap extends angularly from the central junction in a fourth direction (Figure 2), the fourth direction mirroring the third direction across the central vertical axis (Figure 2); wherein the distal end for each of the upper diagonal straps and each of the lower diagonal straps connects to the circumferential belt at a different location (Figures 1 & 2 and/or via 12/13).
Regarding Claim 14, Brown discloses each of the upper diagonal straps further includes a transition structure (at shoulders) located between the proximate end and the distal end (Figures 1 & 2).
Regarding Claim 15, Brown discloses the improved chest harness further comprises a releasable fastener (buckle, see annotated Figure 1 below) associated with the circumferential belt.
Regarding Claim 16, Brown discloses the releasable fastener associated with the circumferential belt is at least one a column fastener (buckle is hook and loop; column of hook and a column of loops for sizing).
Regarding Claim 17, Brown discloses an improved chest harness (Figures 1 & 2) comprising: a central junction (junction, see annotated Figure 2 below) ;a circumferential belt (14);a pair of upper diagonal straps (10/11), each of the upper diagonal straps having a proximate end and a distal end (Figures 1 & 2), the proximate end of each upper diagonal strap being anchored to the central junction (Figure 2), the distal end of each upper diagonal strap being anchored to the circumferential belt (Figures 1 & 2 and/or via 12/13); a pair of lower diagonal straps (LL and LR, see annotated Figure 2 below), each of the lower diagonal straps having a proximate end and a distal end (Figures 1 & 2), the proximate end of each lower diagonal strap being anchored to the central junction (Figure 2), the distal end of each lower diagonal strap being anchored to the circumferential belt (Figures 1 & 2 and/or via 12/13); an upper adjustable fastener (Para. 20) associated with at least one of the pair of upper diagonal straps; and a lower adjustable fastener (F, see annotated Figure 2 below) associated with at least one of the pair of lower diagonal straps.
Regarding Claim 18, Brown discloses the improved chest harness further comprises a releasable fastener (buckle, see annotated Figure 1 below) associated with the circumferential belt.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KATHARINE G KANE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732