Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hitzke (US 20190001253 A1) in view of Takano (JP 2003126625 A) and Sergi (WO 2006083290 A2).
Regarding claim 1, Hitzke teaches a chemical filter comprising:
at least one first filter layer including a pair of first air-permeable bodies facing each other (Fig. 1: textile support layer 20, textile support layer 22) and at least one first adsorption layer between the pair of first air-permeable bodies (Fig. 1: second active layer 14);
but does not teach
a first buffer layer;
wherein the first filter layer is disposed on the first buffer layer
a second filter layer disposed on the first filter layer and including a pair of second air- permeable bodies facing each other and at least one second adsorption layer between the pair of second air-permeable bodies,
wherein the first filter layer is configured to be attachable to and detachable from the second filter layer.
Takano teaches a low cost filter structure using adsorption (abstract: To provide a thin parallel flow air filter capable of having performances required at a filter setting place in a low cost. SOLUTION: In a filter medium of the parallel flow air filter, the passing direction of air and the direction of cellular through-holes are almost parallel. The medium is composed of a filter functioning part and a spacer part, or a non-filter function part; pg. 1 par. 3: A conventional filter material for a parallel flow type air filter for removing a specific gaseous substance contained in air is a sheet-like material having a filter function for removing a specific gaseous substance by adsorption or decomposition). Takano teaches a multi-filter structure that can incorporate the filter composition of Hitzke into a more complete device for use (Fig. 1), wherein having multiple filters in conjunction would provide multiplied sterilization effect. Furthermore, Takano teaches having a spacer in between each filter in order to provide high filtering capacity in the same amount of space while cutting costs (pg. 2 par. 6: By doing so, it is possible to optimize the design by changing the composition ratio of the filter function filter material and the spacer filter material according to the installation location, and it is possible to reduce the cost). Takano teaches wherein the spacer has a hole (void) and is made of aluminum (pg. 3 par. 1: The spacer filter medium may be any one as long as it has a through hole and has air permeability; pg. 3 par. 3: Further, a material having a completely different material from the filter function filter material such as a structure having a through hole made of metal such as aluminum may be used).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter of Hitzke to be duplicated at least two times and stacked, with a an aluminum spacer having a hole disposed on each filter, as taught by Takano, in order to have multiplied sterilizing effect while reducing costs.
One of the duplicated filters would read on a second filter layer disposed on the first filter layer and including a pair of second air- permeable bodies facing each other and at least one second adsorption layer between the pair of second air-permeable bodies since the duplicated filter has the same properties as the original filter of Hitze.
Hitzke modified by Takano still does not teach wherein the first filter layer is configured to be attachable to and detachable from the second filter layer.
Hitzke already teaches wherein its filter is to be used in an interior space (par. 2: Filter media, in particular for air filters, in particular for interior air filters, are used to provide a space).
Sergi teaches an air filter for use in a clean room, which is an interior space (abstract: In another embodiment, an apparatus for removing contaminants from a gas in a clean room comprises a filter unit). Sergi provides a complete apparatus for this function rather than just a filter (Fig. 1).
Sergi also teaches stacking multiple filters (Fig. 4B), which would result in multiplied sterilization effect. Sergi teaches wherein the filters are attachable to each other by means which allow detachment (pg. 14 par. 4: Filters 18A-C may also be equipped with retaining means 63 for holding filters 18A-C firmly in place. Retaining means 63 may be spring-loaded clasps, quarter-turn fasteners, screws , plastic/nylon friction fit retainers and the like) in order to facilitate easy replacement (pg. 25 par. 1: filter modules 18 are designed to be replaced when their ability to remove airborne contaminants has been diminished below a defined performance threshold.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter of Hitzke modified by Takano to not only be duplicated and stacked, but also be attached by detachable mechanisms, in order to have a multiplied sterilization effect while making it easy to replace filters. This modification overlaps with the duplication modification of Takano and there is independent motivations for both.
Regarding claim 2, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the first buffer layer has a void therein and includes at least one of stainless steel (SUS) and aluminum (see Takano modification in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 3, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches
wherein the at least one first adsorption layer includes a first sub-adsorption layer disposed on a first air-permeable body located relatively lower among the pair of first air-permeable bodies (Fig. 1: second active layer 14; NOTE: the upper direction in Fig. 1 is interpreted to be the lower direction) and a second sub-adsorption layer disposed on the first sub-adsorption layer (Fig. 1: third active layer 16),
the first sub-adsorption layer comprises at least one of activated carbon supported with phosphorus-based compounds (par. 34: In a further embodiment, the second active layer comprises phosphoric-acid-impregnated activated carbon particles), and cation exchange resin, and
the second sub-adsorption layer comprises at least one of activated carbon supported with potassium-based compounds (par. 21: in particular consisting thereof, a third active layer comprising impregnated or catalytic activated carbon particles; par. 23: The impregnation can be deposited on activated carbon or on catalytic activated carbon in the context of the invention. Suitable impregnations are, for example, potassium carbonate for targeted removal of acidic gases) or sodium-based compounds, and anion exchange resin.
Regarding claim 4, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 3, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the cation exchange resin contains hydrogen ions (H+) as a functional group, and
the anion exchange resin contains hydroxide ions (OH-) as a functional group (see claim 3 rejection, wherein the activated carbon material was chosen to be read upon by the prior art, rather than the ion exchange material).
Regarding claim 5, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 3, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the phosphorus-based compounds include at least one selected from the group consisting of phosphoric acid (par. 34: In a further embodiment, the second active layer comprises phosphoric-acid-impregnated activated carbon particles), metaphosphoric acid, and polyphosphoric acid,
the potassium-based compounds include at least one selected from the group consisting of KI, KOH, and K2CO3 (par. 23: The impregnation can be deposited on activated carbon or on catalytic activated carbon in the context of the invention. Suitable impregnations are, for example, potassium carbonate for targeted removal of acidic gases), and
the sodium-based compounds include at least one selected from the group consisting of NaOH and Na2CO3.
Regarding claim 6, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the at least one second adsorption layer includes a first sub-adsorption layer disposed on a second air-permeable body located relatively lower among the pair of second air- permeable bodies (Fig. 1: second active layer 14; NOTE: the second filter has identical properties to the first filter and includes all possible embodiments of the first filter; the upper direction in Fig. 1 is interpreted to be the lower direction) and a second sub-adsorption layer disposed on the first sub-adsorption layer (Fig. 1: third active layer 16),
the first sub-adsorption layer comprises at least one of activated carbon (par. 34: In a further embodiment, the second active layer comprises phosphoric-acid-impregnated activated carbon particles) and zeolite, and
the second sub-adsorption layer comprises surface-modified activated carbon (par. 21: in particular consisting thereof, a third active layer comprising impregnated or catalytic activated carbon particles; par. 23: The impregnation can be deposited on activated carbon or on catalytic activated carbon in the context of the invention. Suitable impregnations are, for example, potassium carbonate for targeted removal of acidic gases).
Regarding claim 7, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches further comprising:
a second buffer layer between the first filter layer and the second filter layer (see Takano modification in claim 1 rejection).
Regarding claim 8, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the first filter layer comprises a first lower filter layer disposed on the first buffer layer (Fig. 1) and a first upper filter layer disposed on the first lower filter layer (NOTE: the second layer stacked on top of the original filter as a result of the Takano modification now reads on the first upper layer, while the third layer as a result of duplication now reads on the second filter),
the first lower filter layer comprises a pair of first lower air-permeable bodies facing each other (Fig. 1: textile support layer 20, textile support layer 22) and a first lower adsorption layer between the pair of first lower air-permeable bodies (Fig. 1: second active layer 14), and
the first upper filter layer comprises a pair of first upper air-permeable bodies facing each other (Fig. 1: textile support layer 20, textile support layer 22; NOTE: the duplicated filters have all the properties and embodiments of the original filter of Hitzke) and a first upper adsorption layer between the pair of first upper air-permeable bodies (Fig. 1: second active layer 14).
Regarding claim 9, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 8, as set forth above, and teaches the first lower adsorption layer comprises at least one of activated carbon supported with phosphorus-based compounds (par. 34: In a further embodiment, the second active layer comprises phosphoric-acid-impregnated activated carbon particles), and cation exchange resin, and
the first upper adsorption layer comprises at least one of activated carbon supported with potassium-based compounds (par. 21: in particular consisting thereof, a third active layer comprising impregnated or catalytic activated carbon particles; par. 23: The impregnation can be deposited on activated carbon or on catalytic activated carbon in the context of the invention. Suitable impregnations are, for example, potassium carbonate for targeted removal of acidic gases) or sodium-based compounds, and anion exchange resin.
Regarding claim 10, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 8, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the first lower filter layer is configured to be attachable to and detachable from the first upper filter layer (see Sergi modification in claim 1 rejection, which would apply to all duplicated filters).
Regarding claim 11, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 1, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the first filter layer and the second filter layer each have a plate shape (par. 54: In one embodiment, the filter media body is… layered as a flat filter; NOTE: a plate shape is interpreted to mean a flat shape).
Regarding claim 12, Hitzke teaches a chemical filter comprising: a first filter layer having a cylindrical shape (par. 54: In one embodiment, the filter media body is formed as a wound body)
and including a pair of first air-permeable bodies (Fig. 1: textile support layer 20, textile support layer 22) and at least one first adsorption layer between the pair of first air-permeable bodies (Fig. 1: second active layer 14);
but does not teach and
at least one second filter layer surrounding the first filter layer and including a pair of second air-permeable bodies and at least one second adsorption layer between the pair of second air-permeable bodies,
wherein the first filter layer is configured to be attachable to and detachable from the second filter layer.
Takano teaches a low cost filter structure using adsorption (abstract: To provide a thin parallel flow air filter capable of having performances required at a filter setting place in a low cost. SOLUTION: In a filter medium of the parallel flow air filter, the passing direction of air and the direction of cellular through-holes are almost parallel. The medium is composed of a filter functioning part and a spacer part, or a non-filter function part; pg. 1 par. 3: A conventional filter material for a parallel flow type air filter for removing a specific gaseous substance contained in air is a sheet-like material having a filter function for removing a specific gaseous substance by adsorption or decomposition). Takano teaches a multi-filter structure that can incorporate the filter composition of Hitzke into a more complete device for use (Fig. 1), wherein having multiple filters in conjunction would provide multiplied sterilization effect. Furthermore, Takano teaches having a spacer in between each filter in order to provide high filtering capacity in the same amount of space while cutting costs (pg. 2 par. 6: By doing so, it is possible to optimize the design by changing the composition ratio of the filter function filter material and the spacer filter material according to the installation location, and it is possible to reduce the cost). Takano teaches wherein the spacer has a hole (void) (pg. 3 par. 1: The spacer filter medium may be any one as long as it has a through hole and has air permeability).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter of Hitzke to be duplicated at least two times and stacked, with a spacer having a hole disposed on each filter, as taught by Takano, in order to have multiplied sterilizing effect while reducing costs. Since Takano teaches stacking filters on top of each other, this would result in the wound embodiment of Hitzke having more cylindrical filter layers surrounding the first filter layer.
One of the duplicated filters would read on a second filter layer surrounding the first filter layer and including a pair of second air- permeable bodies facing each other and at least one second adsorption layer between the pair of second air-permeable bodies since the duplicated filter has the same properties as the original filter of Hitze.
Hitzke modified by Takano still does not teach wherein the first filter layer is configured to be attachable to and detachable from the second filter layer.
Hitzke already teaches wherein its filter is to be used in an interior space (par. 2: Filter media, in particular for air filters, in particular for interior air filters, are used to provide a space).
Sergi teaches an air filter for use in a clean room, which is an interior space (abstract: In another embodiment, an apparatus for removing contaminants from a gas in a clean room comprises a filter unit). Sergi provides a complete apparatus for this function rather than just a filter (Fig. 1).
Sergi also teaches stacking multiple filters (Fig. 4B), which would result in multiplied sterilization effect. Sergi teaches wherein the filters are attachable to each other by means which allow detachment (pg. 14 par. 4: Filters 18A-C may also be equipped with retaining means 63 for holding filters 18A-C firmly in place. Retaining means 63 may be spring-loaded clasps, quarter-turn fasteners, screws , plastic/nylon friction fit retainers and the like) in order to facilitate easy replacement (pg. 25 par. 1: filter modules 18 are designed to be replaced when their ability to remove airborne contaminants has been diminished below a defined performance threshold.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter of Hitzke modified by Takano to not only be duplicated and stacked, but also be attached by detachable mechanisms, in order to have a multiplied sterilization effect while making it easy to replace filters. This modification overlaps with the duplication modification of Takano and there is independent motivations for both.
Regarding claim 13, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 12, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the second filter layer includes a plurality of sub-filter layers (Fig. 1: active layers 12, 14, 16; NOTE the duplicated filters would have the same properties and embodiments as the original filter of Hitzke), and the plurality of sub-filter layers have the same shape (see Takano modification in claim 12 rejection, wherein stacked layers would also have a cylindrical shape).
Regarding claim 14, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 13, as set forth above, and teaches wherein a total number of the plurality of sub-filter layers within a range from 2 to 6 (Fig. 1: active layers 12, 14, 16).
Regarding claim 15, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 13, as set forth above, but does not teach wherein the plurality of sub-filter layers are configured to be attachable to and detachable from each other.
Hitzke currently teaches using an adhesive to connect the active layers (Fig. 1: adhesive layers 18).
However, Sergi teaches wherein filters are attachable to each other by means which allow detachment (pg. 14 par. 4: Filters 18A-C may also be equipped with retaining means 63 for holding filters 18A-C firmly in place. Retaining means 63 may be spring-loaded clasps, quarter-turn fasteners, screws , plastic/nylon friction fit retainers and the like) in order to facilitate easy replacement (pg. 25 par. 1: filter modules 18 are designed to be replaced when their ability to remove airborne contaminants has been diminished below a defined performance threshold. Thus, Sergi teaches a feature than can improve upon Hitzke by making it more convenient to replace individual parts of the filters, which reduces costs and increases the ease of maintenance.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the adhesive layers of Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi to instead be an attachment means that allows detachment, as taught by Sergi, in order to facilitate easy replacement of individual filter layers, which reduces costs and increases the ease of maintenance.
Regarding claim 16, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 12, as set forth above, and teaches a cover layer covering a top surface of the first filter layer and a top surface of the second filter layer (see spacer modification in Takano modification in claim 12 rejection).
Regarding claim 17, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 12, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the at least one first adsorption layer comprises a first sub-adsorption layer in contact with a first air-permeable body located relatively inside among the pair of first air- permeable bodies (Fig. 1: second active layer 14), and a second sub-adsorption layer in contact with a first air-permeable body located relatively outside among the pair of first air-permeable bodies (Fig. 1: third active layer 16),
the first sub-adsorption layer comprises at least one of activated carbon supported with phosphorus-based compounds (par. 34: In a further embodiment, the second active layer comprises phosphoric-acid-impregnated activated carbon particles), and cation exchange resin,
and the second sub-adsorption layer comprises at least one of activated carbon supported with potassium-based compounds (par. 21: in particular consisting thereof, a third active layer comprising impregnated or catalytic activated carbon particles; par. 23: The impregnation can be deposited on activated carbon or on catalytic activated carbon in the context of the invention. Suitable impregnations are, for example, potassium carbonate for targeted removal of acidic gases) or sodium- based compounds, and anion exchange resin,
the at least one second adsorption layer includes a third sub-adsorption layer in contact with a second air-permeable body located relatively inside among the pair of second air-permeable bodies (Fig. 1: second active layer 14; NOTE: the duplicated filters have the same properties and embodiments as the original filter of Hitzke), and a fourth sub-adsorption layer in contact with a second air-permeable body located relatively outside among the pair of second air-permeable bodies (Fig. 1: third active layer 16), and
the third sub-adsorption layer comprises at least one of activated carbon (par. 34: In a further embodiment, the second active layer comprises phosphoric-acid-impregnated activated carbon particles; NOTE: the sub layers of the second filter would have all the properties of the sub layers of the original filter) and zeolite,
and the fourth sub-adsorption layer comprises surface-modified activated carbon (par. 21: in particular consisting thereof, a third active layer comprising impregnated or catalytic activated carbon particles).
Regarding claim 18, Hitzke teaches
a first filter layer and including a pair of first air- permeable bodies facing each other (Fig. 1: textile support layer 20, textile support layer 22), and a first sub-adsorption layer and a second sub-adsorption layer which are sequentially arranged between the pair of first air-permeable bodies (Fig. 1: second active layer 14, third active layer 16);
but does not teach
a first buffer layer;
wherein the first filter layer is disposed on the first buffer layer
a second filter layer disposed on the first filter layer and including a pair of second air- permeable bodies facing each other, and a third sub-adsorption layer and a fourth sub-adsorption layer which are sequentially arranged between the pair of second air-permeable bodies,
wherein the first filter layer is configured to be attachable to and detachable from the second filter layer as a first air-permeable body located higher among the pair of first air-permeable bodies is attached to or detached from a second air-permeable body positioned lower among the pair of second air-permeable bodies.
Takano teaches a low cost filter structure using adsorption (abstract: To provide a thin parallel flow air filter capable of having performances required at a filter setting place in a low cost. SOLUTION: In a filter medium of the parallel flow air filter, the passing direction of air and the direction of cellular through-holes are almost parallel. The medium is composed of a filter functioning part and a spacer part, or a non-filter function part; pg. 1 par. 3: A conventional filter material for a parallel flow type air filter for removing a specific gaseous substance contained in air is a sheet-like material having a filter function for removing a specific gaseous substance by adsorption or decomposition). Takano teaches a multi-filter structure that can incorporate the filter composition of Hitzke into a more complete device for use (Fig. 1), wherein having multiple filters in conjunction would provide multiplied sterilization effect. Furthermore, Takano teaches having a spacer in between each filter in order to provide high filtering capacity in the same amount of space while cutting costs (pg. 2 par. 6: By doing so, it is possible to optimize the design by changing the composition ratio of the filter function filter material and the spacer filter material according to the installation location, and it is possible to reduce the cost). Takano teaches wherein the spacer has a hole (void) and is made of aluminum (pg. 3 par. 1: The spacer filter medium may be any one as long as it has a through hole and has air permeability; pg. 3 par. 3: Further, a material having a completely different material from the filter function filter material such as a structure having a through hole made of metal such as aluminum may be used).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter of Hitzke to be duplicated at least two times and stacked, with a an aluminum spacer having a hole disposed on each filter, as taught by Takano, in order to have multiplied sterilizing effect while reducing costs.
One of the duplicated filters would read on a second filter layer disposed on the first filter layer and including a pair of second air- permeable bodies facing each other, and a third sub-adsorption layer and a fourth sub-adsorption layer which are sequentially arranged between the pair of second air-permeable bodies since the duplicated filter has the same properties as the original filter of Hitze.
Hitzke modified by Takano still does not teach wherein the first filter layer is configured to be attachable to and detachable from the second filter layer as a first air-permeable body located higher among the pair of first air-permeable bodies is attached to or detached from a second air-permeable body positioned lower among the pair of second air-permeable bodies..
Hitzke already teaches wherein its filter is to be used in an interior space (par. 2: Filter media, in particular for air filters, in particular for interior air filters, are used to provide a space).
Sergi teaches an air filter for use in a clean room, which is an interior space (abstract: In another embodiment, an apparatus for removing contaminants from a gas in a clean room comprises a filter unit). Sergi provides a complete apparatus for this function rather than just a filter (Fig. 1).
Sergi also teaches stacking multiple filters (Fig. 4B), which would result in multiplied sterilization effect. Sergi teaches wherein the filters are attachable to each other by means which allow detachment (pg. 14 par. 4: Filters 18A-C may also be equipped with retaining means 63 for holding filters 18A-C firmly in place. Retaining means 63 may be spring-loaded clasps, quarter-turn fasteners, screws , plastic/nylon friction fit retainers and the like) in order to facilitate easy replacement (pg. 25 par. 1: filter modules 18 are designed to be replaced when their ability to remove airborne contaminants has been diminished below a defined performance threshold.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the filter of Hitzke modified by Takano to not only be duplicated and stacked, but also be attached by detachable mechanisms, in order to have a multiplied sterilization effect while making it easy to replace filters. This modification overlaps with the duplication modification of Takano and there is independent motivations for both.
Stacking the duplicate layers would result in a first air-permeable body located higher among the pair of first air-permeable bodies is attached to or detached from a second air-permeable body positioned lower among the pair of second air-permeable bodies.
Regarding claim 19, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 18, as set forth above, and teaches
wherein the first sub-adsorption layer comprises at least one of activated carbon supported with phosphorus-based compounds (par. 34: In a further embodiment, the second active layer comprises phosphoric-acid-impregnated activated carbon particles), and cation exchange resin,
the second sub-adsorption layer comprises at least one of activated carbon supported with potassium-based compounds (par. 21: in particular consisting thereof, a third active layer comprising impregnated or catalytic activated carbon particles; par. 23: The impregnation can be deposited on activated carbon or on catalytic activated carbon in the context of the invention. Suitable impregnations are, for example, potassium carbonate for targeted removal of acidic gases) or sodium- based compounds, and anion exchange resin,
the third sub-adsorption layer comprises at least one of activated carbon (par. 34: In a further embodiment, the second active layer comprises phosphoric-acid-impregnated activated carbon particles; NOTE the sub layers of the second filter would have all the properties of the sub layers of the original filter) and zeolite,
and the fourth sub-adsorption layer comprises surface-modified activated carbon (par. 21: in particular consisting thereof, a third active layer comprising impregnated or catalytic activated carbon particles).
Regarding claim 20, Hitzke modified by Takano and Sergi teaches the chemical filter of claim 18, as set forth above, and teaches wherein the first filter layer and the second filter layer have a plate shape (par. 54: In one embodiment, the filter media body is… layered as a flat filter; NOTE: a plate shape is interpreted to mean a flat shape).
Conclusion
/C.C./Examiner, Art Unit 1796
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799