DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to Applicant’s Amended submission filed on 9/15/26. Applicant has amended 1, 9, and 15. Claims 1, 3-15, and 17-23 are pending and have been examined.
Response to Amendment and Arguments
35 U.S.C. 103 Rejections
Applicant’s arguments are moot in view of the new or modified grounds of rejection that were necessitated by the amendments to the Claims. Neverthess, in pg. 2 of the remarks, Applicant’s second point that Kojima transmits a control command, and not a keyphrase is not persuasive, as Examiner is only relying on Kojima for the transmitting aspect and shows that the reference teaches transmitting command that identifies the device to other device, but using Carbune reference for the transmission of the voice keyphrase aspect. Applicant’s third point in pg. 10 regarding Koijima is also not persuasive, as Examiner is only relying on Koijima reference to show that it is obvious to send instruction/commands from one apparatus to another. Applicant’s argument with respect to point number 4 on pg. 11 is also not persuasive, as hotwords can be considered keyphrases, and when combined in view of the other references cited, Rikhye and Kojima, that keyphrase containing device name and an command are taught, Carbune reference is mainly to show that device can send a device identifier with audio data. Applicant’s argument in pg. 13 regarding motivation to combine is also insufficient, as motivation to combine has been recited to show the benefit of each combination. Applicant’s argument with respect to point six in pg. 14 regarding claims 3, 11 and 17 not disclosed by Rexach has also been considered, but finds to be insufficient, as even if it is not clear that Rexach explicitly teaches voice command is send from apparatus to apparatus and the voice comman is only from user to apparatus, it would been obvious that machine can also send voice command to each other and even if the bidirectional flow between machines/appliances are not a particular keyphrase of the multiple keyphrases, it still communicates sensor and command data with each other, and when combine in view of the other references recited, it would be an obvious implementation or design choice. Applicant’s point number nine in pg. 16 with regards to claims 12 and 14 regarding Geng reference is also not persuasive, as Geng reference is just to show that other machine such as sweeping robots or mobile robot and etc can be manage or communicated to using command or keyphrases when combined in view of the references already recited which has already discussed or teaches the concept of a keyphrase.
Moreover, it is noted that one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s argument or point number seven/eight in pgs.15-16, regarding claims 4-5, 8 and 18-19 are persuasive, as the references do not disclose the claims as specially recited, therefore the rejections to those claims have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6-7, 9-10, 13, 15, and 20-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rikhye in view of Kojima (US 20150287411), further in view of Carbune (US 20180182397), and furthermore in view of Aiken (US 20190179610).
Regarding Claim 1, Rikhye discloses 1. A method, comprising: ([0007] keyphrase detection system, para 0135 describes a method that correspond to the system.)
receiving, by an audio unit of a first apparatus ([0133] computing device can be of varying types including a workstation, server, computing cluster, blade server, server farm, or any other data processing system or computing device.,) an audio signal representative of speech; ([0007] audio data can capture Scott speaking the utterance “Coffee maker, start brewing coffee” as well as a baby crying.)
detecting, by the first apparatus, ([0133] computing device can be of varying types including a workstation, server, computing cluster, blade server, server farm, or any other data processing system or computing device.,) based on applying a keyphrase recognition model to the speech ([0007] a keyphrase matching model), a particular keyphrase of multiple keyphrases, ([0008] The system can determine whether the text representation of the spoken utterance is a particular keyphrase, from a plurality of keyphrases associated with the user.)
wherein the keyphrase recognition model is based on the multiple keyphrases, ([0008] The system can determine whether the text representation of the spoken utterance is a particular keyphrase, from a plurality of keyphrases associated with the user.)
and wherein the particular keyphrase comprises a first string of characters defining an identifier corresponding to at least one of ([0007-0008] audio data can capture Scott speaking the utterance “Coffee maker, start brewing coffee”)
Rikhye does not explicitly disclose plurality of apparatus, wherein the first apparatus includes an instance of the keyphrase recognition model and a first communication unit and, wherein each plurality of apparatus includes a respective instance of the keyphrase recognition model, a respective audio input unit configured to receive an audio signal representative of speech, and a respective communication unit in communication with the first communication unit; sending via a wireline or a radio link by the first apparatus, based on the identifier, the particular keyphrase to at least one second apparatus of the plurality of apparatus when the first string of characters defines an identifier corresponding to the at least one second apparatus; and causing the first apparatus to execute the command in response to receiving the audio signal when the first string of characters define an identifier corresponding to the first apparatus.
Kojima discloses: wherein the first apparatus includes an instance of the (see fig. 1 reproduced below, which contains communication unit for each target device, and it also includes voice recognition unit, but it is not located in each target device.) [keyphrase recognition model is disclosed in Rikhye reference from earlier, also taught by Carbune reference from below.]
sending via a wireline or a radio link by the first apparatus, based on the identifier, the ([0008] In one general aspect, the techniques disclosed here feature a method in a device management system for managing a plurality of target devices that comprises: receiving, from a voice input apparatus associated with a first target device among the plurality of target devices, instruction information that includes first voice information indicating an operation instruction for any target device among the plurality of target devices; recognizing the operation instruction from the first voice information; determining whether or not second voice information indicating a second target device among the plurality of target devices is included in the instruction information; and transmitting, (i) if the second voice information is not included in the instruction information, a control command for executing the recognized operation instruction to the first target device, or, (ii) if the second voice information is included in the instruction information, the first control command to the second target device.) [The “second voice information” functions as an identifier for another device. The transmission to the second target device (likely over a network, which includes wireline/radio links) is based on the identifier.]
and causing the first apparatus to execute the command in response to receiving the audio signal when the first string of characters define an identifier corresponding to the first apparatus. ([0008] In one general aspect, the techniques disclosed here feature a method in a device management system for managing a plurality of target devices that comprises: receiving, from a voice input apparatus associated with a first target device among the plurality of target devices, instruction information that includes first voice information indicating an operation instruction for any target device among the plurality of target devices; recognizing the operation instruction from the first voice information; determining whether or not second voice information indicating a second target device among the plurality of target devices is included in the instruction information; and transmitting, (i) if the second voice information is not included in the instruction information, a control command for executing the recognized operation instruction to the first target device, or, (ii) if the second voice information is included in the instruction information, the first control command to the second target device.)[The first device receives the instruction (via the input apparatus) and is sent the command to execute it locally.]
Rikhye, and Kojima are considered analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Rikhye to combine the teaching of Kojima for the above mentioned features, because the system implementation described improve the communication networks by enhancing user experience and efficiency by combining the convenience of contextual and explicit voice control (Kojima, [0008]).
Rikhye and Kojima do not appear to disclose each apparatus include a keyphrase recognition model, sending a particular keyphrase but sends a command instead (silent as to if the command is send by voice or audio).
Carbune discloses: wherein the first apparatus includes an instance of the keyphrase recognition model and a first communication unit and, wherein each of the plurality of apparatus includes a respective instance of the keyphrase recognition model, a respective audio input unit configured to receive an audio signal representative of speech, ([0031] In more detail, the sequence of events in FIG. 1 begins at stage A. The computing devices 104a and 104b identify each other and other computing devices that are configured to respond to a particular, predefined hotword. In some implementations, the computing devices identify each other by searching the local network for other computing devices that are configured to respond to the hotword. For example, computing device 104b may search the local area network, and may identify computing device 104a as another computing device that is configured to respond to the hotword.) Also see fig. 1 which is reproduced below for viewing convenience. As both devices contains keyword/hotword detector, audio input and communicating unit. Also see para 0045 and 0056.
sending via a wireline or a radio link by the first apparatus, based on the identifier, ([0045] In some implementations, the computing devices may also send a device identifier with the audio data.) Also see para 0031, 0037, 0075, and 0077.
Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune are considered analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Rikhye and Kojima to combine the teaching of Carbune for the above mentioned features, because the system implementation described can enable device to communicate with each other and handle specialized task (Carbune, [0031]).
Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune are silent on a message comprising payload data defining the particular keyphrase to at least one second apparatus of the plurality of apparatus when the first string of characters defines an identifier corresponding to the at least one second apparatus;
Aiken in the related art discloses: a message comprising payload data defining defining the particular keyphrase to at least one second apparatus of the plurality of apparatus when the first string of characters defines an identifier corresponding to the at least one second apparatus; ([0035] package routing data and functional data in a payload which defines specific category and name of the command like “TurnOn” to a target device, group of device using unique endpoint ID to endpoint object which is the target device.)
Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken are considered analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune to combine the teaching of Aiken for the above mentioned features, because the system implementation described provides secure and standardized way to communicate directly with devices (Aiken, [0035]).
Regarding Claim 9, Rikhye discloses: 9. A system, comprising: ([0004] computing system) Also see fig. 6 and fig. 9.
multiple apparatuses including a first apparatus comprising: ([0099] computing system 602 include one or more of: a desktop computing device, a laptop computing device, a standalone hardware device at least in part dedicated to an automated assistant,)
an audio input unit; ([0098] a microphone)
a communication unit; (fig. 9, network interface)
at least one processor; (fig. 9, processor(s))
a first instance of keyphrase recognition model; ([0007] a keyphrase matching model)
and at least one memory device storing processor-executable instructions that, in response to being executed by the at least one processor, cause the first apparatus at least to: (fig. 9, storage subsystem including memory, [0131] storage of instructions and data during program execution)
As for the rest of the claim, it is reciting similar elements from the method of claim 1, therefore the rejection applied to claim 1 is equally applicable.
Regarding Claim 15, Rikhye discloses: 15. An apparatus comprising: ([0004] computing system) Also see fig. 6 and fig. 9.
an audio input unit; ([0098] a microphone)
a communication unit; (fig. 9, network interface)
at least one processor; (fig. 9, processor(s))
and at least one memory device storing processor-executable instructions that, in response to being executed by the at least one processor, cause the apparatus at least to: (fig. 9, storage subsystem including memory, [0131] storage of instructions and data during program execution)
As for the rest of the claim, it is reciting similar elements from the method of claim 1, therefore the rejection applied to claim 1 is equally applicable.
Regarding Claim 6, Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken discloses all the limitations of Claim 1 (See detail mapping from above).
Rikhye does not explicitly disclose that the device or apparatus is design to recognize specific voice commands intended for itself by first identifying the device in the command, and then sending the identified command to the relevant internal part of the apparatus or device which is basically what the claim is reciting.
Kojima further discloses: further comprising: receiving, by the first apparatus, a second audio signal representative of second speech; ([0028] For example, a user who has been in possession of a TV provided with an existing voice recognition function has been able to operate the TV merely by speaking an operation name such as “channel 4” or “increase volume” when using only the TV; however, after having introduced the integrated control system, the user usually has to speak a word such as “television” that indicates a device name, as in “television, channel 4” and “television, increase volume”.)
detecting, by the first apparatus, based on applying the keyphrase recognition model to the second speech, a second particular keyphrase of the multiple keyphrases, ([0028] For example, a user who has been in possession of a TV provided with an existing voice recognition function has been able to operate the TV merely by speaking an operation name such as “channel 4” or “increase volume” when using only the TV; however, after having introduced the integrated control system, the user usually has to speak a word such as “television” that indicates a device name, as in “television, channel 4” and “television, increase volume”.)
wherein the second particular keyphrase comprises a first string of characters defining a second identifier corresponding to the first apparatus ([0028] For example, a user who has been in possession of a TV provided with an existing voice recognition function has been able to operate the TV merely by speaking an operation name such as “channel 4” or “increase volume” when using only the TV; however, after having introduced the integrated control system, the user usually has to speak a word such as “television” that indicates a device name, as in “television, channel 4” and “television, increase volume”.)
and further comprises a second string of characters defining a second command; ([0028] For example, a user who has been in possession of a TV provided with an existing voice recognition function has been able to operate the TV merely by speaking an operation name such as “channel 4” or “increase volume” when using only the TV; however, after having introduced the integrated control system, the user usually has to speak a word such as “television” that indicates a device name, as in “television, channel 4” and “television, increase volume”.)
and sending, based on the second identifier, the second particular keyphrase to at least one component of the first apparatus. ([0028] For example, a user who has been in possession of a TV provided with an existing voice recognition function has been able to operate the TV merely by speaking an operation name such as “channel 4” or “increase volume” when using only the TV; however, after having introduced the integrated control system, the user usually has to speak a word such as “television” that indicates a device name, as in “television, channel 4” and “television, increase volume”.) Also see [0034] Thus, for example, a voice operation for which a voice input apparatus is used can be carried out for a plurality of target devices on a home network, and, for example, a voice operation in which the speaking of the device name has been omitted becomes possible with regard to a specific target device among the plurality of target devices that is associated with one voice input apparatus.] The reference describes a system where a user can operate multiple devices but also interact with a specific associated device without needing to state that device's name every time. This aligns with the claim’s mechanism of using a unique keyphrase/identifier to route a command to the “first apparatus” itself.
Where the rationale for the combination would be similar to the one already provided.
Regarding Claim 7, Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken discloses all the limitations of Claim 6 (See detail mapping from above).
Kojima further discloses: further comprising, in response to the detecting the second particular keyphrase, causing the first apparatus to execute one or more control operations. ([0033] a control command that causes the recognized operation content to be executed is transmitted to the specific target device corresponding to the voice input apparatus,) Also see [0034] Thus, for example, a voice operation for which a voice input apparatus is used can be carried out for a plurality of target devices on a home network, and, for example, a voice operation in which the speaking of the device name has been omitted becomes possible with regard to a specific target device among the plurality of target devices that is associated with one voice input apparatus.] The reference describes a system where a user can operate multiple devices but also interact with a specific associated device without needing to state that device's name every time. This aligns with the claim’s mechanism of using a unique keyphrase/identifier to route a command to the “first apparatus” itself.
Where the motivation to combine is the same as previous presented.
Claim 20 is an apparatus claim that correspond to claim 6 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claim 21 is an apparatus claim that correspond to claim 7 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Regarding Claim 10, Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken discloses: All the limitations of Claim 9,
Rikhye further discloses: wherein the identifier corresponds to one of an individual apparatus ([0009] a smart coffee maker) [the claim only require one of the features recited]
and wherein the first string of characters precedes the second string of characters. ([0009] “Coffee maker, start brewing coffee” matches a particular keyphrase, the system can determine one or more actions corresponding to the keyphrase.) [the identifier Coffee maker is recited before the command]
Kojima also discloses wherein the identifier corresponds to one of an individual apparatus (see fig. 5A)
and wherein the first string of characters precedes the second string of characters. ([0078] Here, the household device operation command DB 33 may manage the identifiers of devices corresponding to each device name. When the user has spoken “television, change to channel 2” to the television-dedicated remote control 2 for inputting voice, the device name “television” is obtained as a voice recognition result (S203).)
Where the rationale for the combination would be similar to the one provided earlier.
Regarding Claim 13, Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken discloses all the limitations of Claim 9 (See detail mapping from above).
Rikhye further discloses: wherein each one of the first apparatus and the at least one second apparatus is a stationary machine. ([0099] computing system 602 include one or more of: a desktop computing device,)
Regarding Claim 22, Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken discloses all the limitations of Claim 9 (See detail mapping from above).
Kojima further discloses: wherein the communication unit comprises a radio unit configured to wirelessly send the particular keyphrase to the at least one second apparatus. ([0054] The transmission unit 23 transmits the voice obtained from the sound pickup unit 20, and the remote control operation information obtained from the operation information generation unit 22, to the devices 10 to 12 and the integrated control device 3 by means of a communication method such as infrared, Bluetooth (registered trademark), or a wireless LAN or the like. At such time, with regard to the voice transmitted to the integrated control device, voice data obtained from the sound pickup unit 20 may be transmitted as it is, or a feature quantity may be extracted from the obtained voice data and the extracted feature quantity may be transmitted.)
Carbune also disclose this feature, see fig. 1 from above.
Where the rationale for the combination would be similar to the one provided earlier.
Claim 23 is an apparatus claim that correspond to claim 22 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 3, 11 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken, and further in view of Rexach (US 20190090056).
Regarding Claim 3, Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken discloses all the limitations of Claim 1 (See detail mapping from above).
Although Rikhye disclose communication over a network in para 0099 and communicate with a number of peripheral devices in para 0127, it does not explicitly disclose a particular second apparatus of the at least one second apparatus communicating with the first apparatus and causing the first apparatus to execute one or more control operations corresponding to the second command.
Rexach (in a related field of controlling intelligent household appliance) discloses: further comprising: receiving, from a particular apparatus of the at least one second apparatus, ([0027] FIG. 7 illustrates bidirectional flow of data between appliances, according to an exemplary embodiment. [0127] The second appliance 32 analyzes the sensor data 37 collected at the first appliance 31 and sends command data 45 directly to the first appliance 31, or indirectly through the network device 14 and/or the server 13.) a second particular keyphrase of the multiple keyphrases, ([0159] the voice commands received at the control module 123 may include device identifiers that describe the auxiliary device and device functions to be performed)
wherein the second particular keyphrase comprises a first string of characters defining a second identifier corresponding to the first apparatus and further comprises a second string of characters defining a second command; ([0159] the voice commands received at the control module 123 may include device identifiers that describe the auxiliary device and device functions to be performed)
and causing the first apparatus to execute one or more control operations corresponding to the second command. ([0027] FIG. 7 illustrates bidirectional flow of data between appliances, according to an exemplary embodiment. [0127] The second appliance 32 analyzes the sensor data 37 collected at the first appliance 31 and sends command data 45 directly to the first appliance 31, or indirectly through the network device 14 and/or the server 13.)
Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken/Rexach are considered analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken to combine the teaching of Rexach for the above mentioned features, because the system implementation described improve the communication networks by standardizing the exchange of data among household appliances (Rexach, [0057]).
Regarding Claim 11, Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken discloses all the limitations of Claim 9 (See detail mapping from above).
Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken do not explicitly disclose wherein the first apparatus and the at least one second apparatus are nodes in a peer-to-peer network.
Rexach (in a related field of controlling intelligent household appliance) discloses: wherein the first apparatus and the at least one second apparatus are nodes in a peer-to-peer network. ([0107] The wireless mesh network many include may to many communication. For example, the appliances of FIG. 1 and/or FIG. 2 may be directly connected to form a mesh network.)
Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken/Rexach are considered analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken to combine the teaching of Rexach for the above mentioned features, because the system implementation described improve the communication networks by enhance performance and cost (eliminate centralize server) and reduce latency (direct communication) (Rexach, [0107]).
Claim 17 is an apparatus claim that correspond to claim 3 and is rejected under similar rationale.
Claims 12 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken, further in view of Geng (US 20190355354).
Regarding Claim 12, Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken discloses all the limitations of Claim 9 (See detail mapping from above).
Rikhye does not explicitly disclose wherein each one of the first apparatus and the at least one second apparatus is a mobile robot.
Geng (in the related field of system for speech interaction) discloses: wherein each one of the first apparatus and the at least one second apparatus is a mobile robot. ([0042] The command execution terminals 1031, 1032, and 1033 may be various electronic devices capable of receiving control commands sent by the speech processing terminals 1021, 1022 and capable of performing operations indicated by the control commands, including but not limited to televisions, speakers, sweeping robots, smart washing machines, smart refrigerators, smart ceiling lamps, curtains, air conditioners, security devices, and the like.)
Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken/Geng are considered analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken to combine the teaching of Geng for the above mentioned features, because mobile robots can perform repetitive and labor extensive functions for a user (Geng, [0042]).
Regarding Claim 14, Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken discloses all the limitations of Claim 9 (See detail mapping from above).
Rikhye further discloses: and wherein a second particular apparatus of the at least one second apparatus is a stationary machine. ([0099] computing system 602 include one or more of: a desktop computing device,)
Rikhye does not explicitly disclose wherein a particular apparatus of the at least one second apparatus is a mobile robot. (Rikhye also does not explicitly disclose the second apparatus being a group or multiple apparatus)
Geng (in the related field of system for speech interaction) discloses: wherein a particular apparatus of the at least one second apparatus is a mobile robot. ([0042] The command execution terminals 1031, 1032, and 1033 may be various electronic devices capable of receiving control commands sent by the speech processing terminals 1021, 1022 and capable of performing operations indicated by the control commands, including but not limited to televisions, speakers, sweeping robots, smart washing machines, smart refrigerators, smart ceiling lamps, curtains, air conditioners, security devices, and the like.)
Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken/Geng are considered analogous art. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the teachings of Rikhye/Kojima/Carbune/Aiken to combine the teaching of Geng for the above mentioned features, because mobile robots can perform repetitive and labor extensive functions for a user (Geng, [0042]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4-5, 8, 18-19 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Wittke US 20200005777 – disclose a system determines a plurality of network-connected devices capable of performing the action. See Abstract, para 0008, 0168, 0170 for additional details.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PHILIP H LAM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2656