DETAILED ACTION
The amendments filed on 06/30/2026 have been entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bennett (US 5573360).
Regarding claim 1, Bennett discloses a latching mechanism attached to a pallet (40) to retain the pallet on a support having a keeper (32) (figs 1-10), comprising: a base member (46) configured for attachment to a bottom rail (61) of a pallet; a bolt (53) movably mounted to said base member (figs 1-10, col 2 lines 55-67), movable substantially horizontally between a latching position in the keeper and an unlatching position outside the keeper (figs 1-10, col 2 lines 55-67, col 4 lines 18-25); a spring (56) for urging said bolt to the latching position thereof (col 2 lines 55-67, figs 1-10), an actuator (60) movable substantially upwardly and substantially downwardly (figs 5-6), a link (70) mounted for rotation about a fixed point (figs 1-10), a slot (72) in said link and a pin (76) passing therethrough and attached to said bolt for coupling said bolt to said link (figs 1-10), said actuator coupled to said link (figs 1-10), said actuator comprises a plate (62) for being engaged by the fork of a lift truck for moving said actuator substantially upwardly to move said bolt to the unlatching position thereof (Col 3 lines 15-20).
Bennett is silent regarding the fact that the base member and the bolt can be removed together from the bottom rail of the pallet for maintenance.
However, before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Bennett before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Bennett to include the fact that the base member and the bolt can be removed together from the bottom rail of the pallet in order to allow easy replacement of parts since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. ·Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 2, Bennett further discloses that said bolt has a yolk-shaped end (fig 4), said yolk-shaped end receiving said link and said pin passing through said yolk- shaped end and said link (figs 1-10).
Regarding claim 3, Bennett further discloses that said plate is slightly inclined (fig 5).
Regarding claim 4, Bennett further discloses said actuator has an inclined surface (surface of 62, figs 5-6).
Regarding claim 5, Bennett further discloses that said link includes a plate (70) of generally triangular shape having three corners (figs 1-10), said fixed point being adjacent to one of said corners (figs 1-10), said slot adjacent to a second of said corners and said actuator being coupled adjacent to a third of said corners (figs 1-10).
Regarding claim 6, Bennett further discloses a latching mechanism assembly for mounting to a pallet (40) to retain the pallet on a support having a keeper (32) (figs 1-10), comprising: a base member (46, 51, 52, 55) configured to fit within a bottom channel (45, bottom channel shaped, col 3 lines 46-54) of a pallet (40) (figs 1-10); a bolt (53) movably mounted to the base member and movable substantially horizontally between a latching position in the keeper and an unlatching position outside the keeper (figs 1-10, col 2 lines 55-67, col 4 lines 18-25), a spring (56) for urging said bolt to the latching position thereof (col 2 lines 55-67, figs 1-10), an actuator (60) for being engaged by the fork of a lift truck for moving said actuator substantially upwardly to move said bolt to the unlatching position thereof (figs 1-10, Col 3 lines 15-20).
Bennett is silent regarding the fact that the base member and the bolt can be removed together from the bottom rail of the pallet for maintenance.
However, before the effective filling date, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, having the teachings of Bennett before him or her, to modify the apparatus/method disclosed by Bennett to include the fact that the base member and the bolt can be removed together from the bottom rail of the pallet in order to allow easy replacement of parts since it has been held that constructing a formerly integral structure in various elements involves only routine skill in the art. ·Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Regarding claim 7, Bennett further discloses that said base member is channel shaped (figs 1-10) and comprising a plurality of longitudinally spaced apart walls (walls created by 51, 52, 55) fixed to the base member within the channel shape of said base member (figs 1-10), each wall having a hole (see holes formed by 51, 52, 55, fig 7), the holes being in longitudinal registry, said bolt guided for horizontal movement by being movable in said holes (figs 1-10).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 06/30/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-7 under 102(a)(1) have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nerwin v. Erlichman, 168 USPQ 177, 179.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANY E AKAKPO/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
09/15/2026