DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bennett (US 5573360)
Regarding claim 1, Bennett discloses a latching mechanism attached to a pallet (40) to retain the pallet on a support having a keeper (32) (figs 1-10), comprising: a base member (46) configured for attachment to a bottom rail (61) of a pallet; a bolt (53) movably mounted to said base member (figs 1-10, col 2 lines 55-67), movable substantially horizontally between a latching position in the keeper and an unlatching position outside the keeper (figs 1-10, col 2 lines 55-67, col 4 lines 18-25); a spring (56) for urging said bolt to the latching position thereof (col 2 lines 55-67, figs 1-10), an actuator (60) movable substantially upwardly and substantially downwardly (figs 5-6), a link (70) mounted for rotation about a fixed point (figs 1-10), a slot (72) in said link and a pin (76) passing therethrough and attached to said bolt for coupling said bolt to said link (figs 1-10), said actuator coupled to said link (figs 1-10), said actuator comprises a plate (62) for being engaged by the fork of a lift truck for moving said actuator substantially upwardly to move said bolt to the unlatching position thereof (Col 3 lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 2, Bennett further discloses that said bolt has a yolk-shaped end (fig 4), said yolk-shaped end receiving said link and said pin passing through said yolk- shaped end and said link (figs 1-10).
Regarding claim 3, Bennett further discloses that said plate is slightly inclined (fig 5).
Regarding claim 4, Bennett further discloses said actuator has an inclined surface (surface of 62, figs 5-6).
Regarding claim 5, Bennett further discloses that said link includes a plate (70) of generally triangular shape having three corners (figs 1-10), said fixed point being adjacent to one of said corners (figs 1-10), said slot adjacent to a second of said corners and said actuator being coupled adjacent to a third of said corners (figs 1-10).
Regarding claim 6, Bennett further discloses a latching mechanism assembly for mounting to a pallet (40) to retain the pallet on a support having a keeper (32) (figs 1-10), comprising: a base member (46, 51, 52, 55) configured to fit within a bottom channel (45, bottom channel shaped, col 3 lines 46-54) of a pallet (40) (figs 1-10); a bolt (53) movably mounted to the base member and movable substantially horizontally between a latching position in the keeper and an unlatching position outside the keeper (figs 1-10, col 2 lines 55-67, col 4 lines 18-25), a spring (56) for urging said bolt to the latching position thereof (col 2 lines 55-67, figs 1-10), an actuator (60) for being engaged by the fork of a lift truck for moving said actuator substantially upwardly to move said bolt to the unlatching position thereof (figs 1-10, Col 3 lines 15-20).
Regarding claim 7, Bennett further discloses that said base member is channel shaped (figs 1-10) and comprising a plurality of longitudinally spaced apart walls (walls created by 51, 52, 55) fixed to the base member within the channel shape of said base member (figs 1-10), each wall having a hole (see holes formed by 51, 52, 55, fig 7), the holes being in longitudinal registry, said bolt guided for horizontal movement by being movable in said holes (figs 1-10).
Conclusion
/DANY E AKAKPO/Examiner, Art Unit 3672
1/20/2026