Drawings
2.The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the guide slot has a radius of curvature having its center co-located with the loaded hinge In claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
3. Claims 8, 9, 16, 17 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 8, line 3-4, “ a second, engaged position” should be – the second, engaged position—
Claim 9, line 2, “ the locking ledge” should be – a locking ledge—
Claim 16, line 1-2, “the position” should be – a position—
Claim 17, line 1, “the electric power coupler” should be – an electric power coupler--
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
4.Claims 1-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
The term “substantially rigid” in claim 1 and 15 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. For examination purpose, the “substantially rigid” has been interpretated as any degree of rigid.
Claims 2-14, 16-19 are rejected because they depend on claim 1, or 15.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-3, 7-8, 12-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strube (CN111883975A) in view of Fagan (US20200189413A1)
With regard to claim 1, Strube teaches a holster ( 4, Fig. 1-Fig. 12) for an electric charging station, the holster comprising: a substantially rigid base ( e.g., 12, Fig. 1);
a socket (6, Fig. 1 )pivotably disposed in the substantially rigid base ( 12, Fig. 1) such that the socket has a first, stowed position ( stowed position, Fig. 12 with no charging inert)) and a second, engaged position ( Fig. 1 , engaged position), the socket pivoting about a loaded hinge ( hinge [0029] and [0065] hinge 64); and
a biasing spring ( spring loaded pin at the second arm of hinge [0029]), the biasing spring producing a first force that urges the socket towards the first, stowed position ( position where 6 is at with no insert, Fig. 12, the control of spring loaded pin at the hinge caused the 6 at the stowed position of 6 in Fig. 12),
Strube does not teach the biasing spring being one of a group including a coil spring, a leaf spring, and a toroidal spring.
However, Fagan teaches the biasing spring being one of a group including a coil spring, a leaf spring, and a toroidal spring (The outer diameter of the slide 406A is separated from the inner diameter of the upper cap 404A by a leaf ring spring 405A which allows the slide 406A to move in the X and Y planes when the downward facing plug 110A is engaging with the upward facing socket 120A and to return to a default center position when the downward facing plug 110A is disengaged from the upward facing socket 120A.[0094]) Note that Fagan also teaches the biasing spring producing a first force that urges the socket towards the first, stowed position as a spring [0094])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strube, to configure the biasing spring being one of a group including a coil spring, a leaf spring, and a toroidal spring to produce the force for the socket towards the first stowed position, as taught by Fagan, in order to form the alignment position of the charge design using the leaf spring during the engagement and disengagement position [0094] In addition, it is known in the art that the leaf spring contacts in a charging socket provides constant tension because the curved flexible metal band, high durable and vibration resistance due to the spring flexes and absorb the movement.
With regard to claim 2, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Strube further teaches a guide slot ( e.g., 60, Fig. 3) disposed in the substantially rigid base ( e.g., 12, Fig. 3) and a guide nut ( e.g., 58, Fig. 3) attached to the socket ( e.g., 6, Fig. 3), the guide nut being at least partially disposed within the guide slot (58 partially in 60, Fig. 3).
With regard to claim 3, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 2, Strube further teaches the guide slot is curved (see Fig. 1, 60 is curved).
With regard to claim 7, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Strube further teaches the holster includes a locking ledge (e.g., 14, Fig. 1).
With regard to claim 8, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 1,Strube further teaches further comprising an electric power coupler ( 8, Fig. 1)at least partially disposed within the socket (6, Fig. 1). , Fagan teaches the electric power coupler creating a second force (plug 110A is the power coupler, Fig. 3A, and [0094]) , that is greater than the first force, which causes the socket to pivot about the loaded hinge, towards a second, engaged position(The outer diameter of the slide 406A is separated from the inner diameter of the upper cap 404A by a leaf ring spring 405A which allows the slide 406A to move in the X and Y planes when the downward facing plug 110A is engaging with the upward facing socket 120A and to return to a default center position when the downward facing plug 110A is disengaged from the upward facing socket 120A. [0096] .Note that the force generated by the plug 110A engaged with socket 120A, it created a force to move 406A, which is larger than the force generated by leaf spring 405A at the disengaged position)
With regard to claim 12, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 1, Strube further teaches further comprising a sensor that detects a position of the holster within the substantially rigid base ( see [0021] [0057]sensor detects the flipping motion of the 8 in the Fig. 1 -3)
With regard to claim 13, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 12, Strube further teaches a controller operatively connected to the sensor ([0021] sensor and control unit [0057] sensor identifying the flipping motion, and control unit corresponding to the flipping motion by manipulating the actuator accordingly)
With regard to claim 14, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 1,Strube further teaches comprising a housing of an electric vehicle charging station ( see Fig. 1, 2 is a housing)
With regard to claim 15, Strube teaches an electric vehicle charging station comprising: a main housing ( 2, Fig. 1); an electric charger connector (8, Fig. 1) and a charger cable ( 10, Fig. 1) attached to the main housing (housing of 2, Fig. 1) ; a controller ( control unit [0021]);
a user interface ([0022] stop pin is the input of a key to a lock) disposed in the main housing ( stop pin 24 is in 2, Fig. 1); and
a holster ( 4, Fig. 1) disposed in the main housing( 2, Fig. 1), the holster including a substantially rigid base ( 12, Fig. 1), a socket (6, Fig. 1 )pivotably disposed in the substantially rigid base ( 12, Fig. 1) such that the socket has a first, stowed position ( stowed position, Fig. 12 with no charging inert)) and a second, engaged position ( Fig. 1 , engaged position), the socket pivoting about a loaded hinge ( 64 [0029]); and
and a spring, the spring producing a first force that urges the socket towards the first, stowed position( position where 6 is at with no insert, Fig. 12, the control of spring loaded pin at the hinge caused the 6 at the stowed position of 6 in Fig. 12),
Strube does not teach a user interface operatively connected to the controller and the spring is leaf spring.
However, Fagan teaches a user interface operatively connected to the controller ( [0155] processor operates on program code and data stored in memory, [0022] of Strube teaches that the input of a key to a lock , and it is well known in the art the controller will use the software program to control this input for key authorization function) the spring is leaf spring (The outer diameter of the slide 406A is separated from the inner diameter of the upper cap 404A by a leaf ring spring 405A which allows the slide 406A to move in the X and Y planes when the downward facing plug 110A is engaging with the upward facing socket 120A and to return to a default center position when the downward facing plug 110A is disengaged from the upward facing socket 120A.[0094]) Note that Fagan also teaches the biasing spring producing a first force that urges the socket towards the first, stowed position in [0094])
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Strube, to configure a user interface to be operatively connected to the controller and configure the spring as leaf spring to produce the force for the socket towards the first stowed position, as taught by Fagan, in order to form the alignment position of the charge design using the leaf spring during the engagement and disengagement position [0094] In addition, it is known in the art that the leaf spring contacts in a charging socket provides constant tension because the curved flexible metal band, high durable and vibration resistance due to the spring flexes and absorb the movement. And it is well known in the art the controller will use the software program to control this input key for authorization purpose
With regard to claim 16, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitation so fclaim 15, Strube further teaches comprising a sensor that detects the position of the holster and communicates the position of the holster to the controller([0021] sensor and control unit [0057] sensor identifying the flipping motion, and control unit corresponding to the flipping motion by manipulating the actuator accordingly.)
With regard to claim 17, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 15, wherein when the electric power coupler (8, Fig. 1) is disposed in the holster, a weight of the electric power coupler creates a second force, that is greater than the first force, the second force urging the socket to move towards the second, engaged position. (The outer diameter of the slide 406A is separated from the inner diameter of the upper cap 404A by a leaf ring spring 405A which allows the slide 406A to move in the X and Y planes when the downward facing plug 110A is engaging with the upward facing socket 120A and to return to a default center position when the downward facing plug 110A is disengaged from the upward facing socket 120A. [0096] .Note that the force generated by the plug 110A engaged with socket 120A, it created a force to move 406A, which is greater than the force generated by leaf spring 405A at the disengaged position)
With regard to claim 18, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 15, Strube further teaches a guide slot ( e.g., 60, Fig. 3) disposed in the substantially rigid base ( e.g., 12, Fig. 3) and a guide nut ( e.g., 58, Fig. 3) attached to the socket ( e.g., 6, Fig. 3), the guide nut being at least partially disposed within the guide slot (58 partially in 60, Fig. 3).
6. Claims 4-6, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strube (CN111883975A) in view of Fagan (US20200189413A1) in further view of Herzig (US20200055389A1)
With regard to claim 4, the combination of Strube, Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 3, but not wherein the guide slot has a radius of curvature having its center co-located with the loaded hinge.
However Herzig teaches the guide slot( slot where 52 attached to 58, Fig. 9) has a radius of curvature having its center co-located with the loaded hinge ( 20, Fig. 9) (see 20 and 58 has the same center in Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 3, to c the guide slot has a radius of curvature having its center co-located with the loaded hinge, as taught by Herzig, in order to use the spring attached to the guide to swing the hinge at different locations [0057]
With regard to claim 5, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 2, Strube further teaches the guide nut includes a nut slot ( 58, Fig. 3-5) and the spring ( 44, Fig. 5) .
Strube does not teach the leaf spring is at least partially disposed in the nut slot
However, Herzig teaches the leaf spring ( 42, Fig. 9) is partially disposed in the nut slot ( the slot in 58 ( guide surface) through 52, Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 2, to configure the leaf spring is at least partially disposed in the nut slot as taught by Herzig, because leaf spring slider remove the needs for bulky swinging shackles, fit directly onto frame rails, and the spring end moves freely back and forth in the slot as the metal flexes, preventing the rigid mechanical bind
With regard to claim 6, the combination of Strube and Fagan and Herzig teaches all the limitations of claim 5, Herzig teaches the leaf spring slidably disposed in the nut in Fig. 9)
With regard to claim 19, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 18, Strube further teaches the guide slot is curved ( Fig. 3, 58) but not wherein the guide slot has a radius of curvature having its center co-located with the loaded hinge.
However Herzig teaches the guide slot( slot where 52 attached to 58) has a radius of curvature having its center co-located with the loaded hinge ( 20, Fig. 9) (see 20 and 58 has the same center in Fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 18, to c the guide slot has a radius of curvature having its center co-located with the loaded hinge, as taught by Herzig, in order to use the spring attached to the guide to swing the hinge at different locations [0057]
7. Claims 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strube (CN111883975A) in view of Fagan (US20200189413A1) in further view of Tormey (US20120135626A1)
With regard to claim 9, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 8, but not the electric power coupler includes a lock that engages the locking ledge when the electric power coupler is disposed in the socket.
However, Tormey teaches that the electric power coupler ( 168, Fig. 3) includes a lock ( 320, Fig. 3) that engages the locking ledge ( latch in 160 ( locking Holster, Fig. 3) when the electric power coupler is disposed in the socket. ([0048] the connector latch 320 used in combination with a latch of the locking holster 160 allows the connector 168 to lock and unlock within the locking holster 160)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 8, to configure the electric power coupler includes a lock that engages the locking ledge when the electric power coupler is disposed in the socket. as taught by Tormey, in order to allow the connector 168 to lock and unlock within the locking holster ([0048].
8. Claims 10-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Strube (CN111883975A) in view of Fagan (US20200189413A1) in further view of Yan (CN-217635546-U)
With regard to claim 10, the combination of Strube and Fagan teaches all the limitations of claim 1, but not the socket is one of translucent and transparent.
However, Yan teaches the socket ( Fig. 4, 2 is socket) is one of translucent and transparent [n0037] socket 2 includes a transparent componet22, 23).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify claim 1, to configure the socket to be translucent and transparent as taught by Yan, so that LED in the socket can illustrate the charging port during the night.[n0038]
With regard to claim 11, the combination of Strube, Fagan and Yan teaches all the limitations of claim 10, Strube further teaches a light source capable of illuminating the socket ([0031] the plug receiving device has a proximity light). Yan also teaches a light source capable of illuminating the socket (The lighting LED 311 on the base plate assembly 3 is lit, and the emitted light illuminates the charging port through the first transparent component 22,[n0038])
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhang (CN113320406A) teaches The knob is used for winding a spring on the spring barrel through the transmission shaft, the spring barrel can transmit energy to the single-tooth gear through the rotating shaft to drive the single-tooth gear to rotate, the single-tooth gear rotates for a circle to drive the rack to move for a tooth pitch, the rack moves to drive the sliding rod to move, when the sliding rod moves to the right for a certain distance, the sliding block can move inwards, the sliding block cannot clamp the wedge block after moving, the plug can be ejected out of the socket under the action of the movable plate and the small spring, and the function of timing disconnection is achieved.
BERTANA (WO2021001073A1) teaches a recharging station (100) for an electric vehicle, the electric vehicle being provided with a charging socket electrically connected to a battery, the recharging station (100) comprising a fixture (110), in which the vehicle and a movable power supply socket (120) are configured to connect to the charging socket in order to recharge the battery of the vehicle.
Brown (US20110171850A1) teaches Connector assembly for electric vehicle charging
Baxter (US 20160185244 A1) teaches a charging coupler 315 inserted into a holster 310 of the charging station 300 that holds the charging coupler 315 when not in use. In use, a user removes the charging coupler 315 from the holster 310 and connects the charging coupler 315 to their electric vehicle. While a holster 310 is illustrated that holds the charging coupler 315 when not in use, embodiments of the invention are applicable to charging stations that do not include a holster or other ways of holding the charging coupler when not in use.
FREELING-WILKINSON (US 20200324661 A1 ) teaches that he charging station may further comprise a user interface configured to receive an input from a user and the controller is further configured to adjust the predetermined period of time in dependence on the received input.
/PINPING SUN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2872