DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 8, 14-17, and 27-29, are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding Claim 8; “each localized area” is unclear; whereas localized areas are not previously asserted; and thus it appears the language intends to refer to “corresponding sections of the cold plate”. Regarding Claim 14; “an intake manifold” is unclear; whereas an intake manifold is previously asserted in claim 1. Regarding Claim(s) 27 and 28; “one or more cold plate assembly” does not readily refer back to a cold plate assembly in claim 26, and thus lacks proper antecedence. Regarding Claim 28; “a corresponding information processing system node supported by a rack frame capable of supporting multiple information processing system nodes, each having one or more heat generating electronic components” is unclear; whereas corresponding information processing node, multiple information processing nodes, rack frame, and one or more heat generating electronic components are each asserted without respect to previous assertions of “an information processing system rack comprising: an information processing system comprising: at least one heat generating electronic component”, and thus it cannot be readily ascertained if intended to refer back to the same or assert new or different features etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 8, and 18, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by (Neal 2020/0227341).
Regarding Claim 1; Neal discloses a cold plate assembly (as constituted by 600-Fig. 6A) comprising: a cold plate (a cold plate is defined by 610 and 202, wherein 610 is a base of 202—as set forth by para. 0091) comprised of a thermally conductive material and having a first surface attachable to a heat generating electronic component (whereas the cold plate is in heat exchange with an IC die disposed in direct contact at a first surface at a bottom of the cold plate which forms a heat exchange surface—as set forth by para.’s 0024 and 0085, wherein 600 includes the base 610 of the cold plate—as depicted by Fig. 6A and seats directly over and interfaces the IC die and constitutes attachment thereto —as further set forth by para. 0089 and 0051) and a second surface opposite to the first surface and having an array of fins that facilitate heat transfer from the attached heat generating electronic component via a cooling liquid flow (whereas an opposite upper surface of 610/202 defines a second surface having fins defined by microchannel block 603 including fins i.e. 108 extending from the cold plate —as depicted by Fig.’s 5C and 6A—as further set forth by para. 0045); an encapsulating lid (lid-601/604) attachable to the second surface to form a liquid cooling cavity (as depicted by Fig. 6A--whereas 601 couples the base-610 and defines a cavity defined by walls 606 of a lid-601 and 610 receiving fresh coolant, wherein the fluid is a coolant—as set forth by para. 0088, and 0091) and comprising: (i) an intake port (605 corresponding to 105a) for receiving cooling liquid flow from a cooling liquid source (as set forth by para. 0027—discloses fluid channels between a source and the manifold, and para. 0088 further discloses the coolant enters the intake port 605 into inlet channels-105a); and (ii) an exhaust port (whereas 605 correspond to outlet channels 105b) for expelling exhaust cooling liquid provided from impingements of the received cooling liquid on the second surface of the cold plate (whereas a concentration of streamlines along the surface of the cold plate at a fluid velocity enables a large convective heat transfer of warmed coolant to rise and flow out of 105b—as set forth by para. 0070); and a distributed impingement and recovery manifold (DIRM) positioned within the liquid cooling cavity of the encapsulating lid above the second surface of the cold plate (as set forth by para.’s 0087-0088, and 0091--whereas 602 defines a distributed impingement and recovery manifold defined by delivery and collection manifolds 611, 612, wherein 602 is assembled and fit together with 603 and the lid-601 and constitutes being positioned or placed within enclosed by walls 606 and base-610 defining the cavity coolant via 105a and recovering the coolant via 105b, wherein the coolant flows down into 105a and forms microjets along the cold plate—as set forth by para. 0056), the DIRM comprising (i) an intake manifold (as constituted by an intake manifold defined by 611—as depicted by Fig. 6A) presenting at least one sequence of nozzle openings in fluid communication with the intake port, each nozzle opening providing direct impingement of a portion of cooling liquid on at least one corresponding section of the second surface (whereas the intake manifold fluidly couples nozzles constituted by each 105a in sequence along 611, and each comprising sidewalls 107 defining baffles optimize to minimize pressure drop—as further set forth by para. 0067; and discloses heat exchange surface of the cold plate-202 directly under microchannels 201—as further depicted by Fig.’s 3 and 5B-5C—as set forth by para. 0085) and (ii) a return manifold in fluid communication with the exhaust port and which facilitates a return of exhaust cooling liquid to the exhaust port (whereas a return manifold is constituted by 612 exhausting fluid via the exhaust port-605 which corresponds to 105b—as depicted by Fig. 6A) following at least one direct impingement of the portion of cooling liquid onto the at least one corresponding section to provide distributed, localized impingement cooling at corresponding sections of the cold plate (as depicted by Fig.’s 3, 5C and 6A--as constituted by the coolant flowing down the intake manifold 105a into sections of microchannels and further into depths of the microchannels in contact with the cold plate and focusing the microjets and heat is convectively transferred from the cold plate via warmed coolant and flows upward by both forced and natural convection, and enters outlet channels 105b—as set forth by para.’s 0055-0059).
Regarding Claim 8; Neal discloses the cold plate assembly of claim 1, wherein each localized area of the second surface of the cold plate is impacted by a substantially perpendicular impingement of the portion of the cooling liquid (as constituted by each corresponding section of the cold plate associated with each of the respective nozzle openings-105a).
Regarding Claim 18; Neal discloses an information processing system comprising: at least one heat generating electronic component (as set forth by para. 0117—as constituted by an IC package including one or more dies for a server); and a cold plate assembly (as constituted by 600-Fig. 6A) comprising: a cold plate (a cold plate is defined by 610 and 202, wherein 610 is a base of 202—as set forth by para. 0091) comprised of a thermally conductive material and having a first surface attachable to a heat generating electronic component among the at least one heat generating electronic component (whereas the cold plate is in heat exchange with an IC die disposed in direct contact at a first surface at a bottom of the cold plate which forms a heat exchange surface—as set forth by para.’s 0024 and 0085, wherein 600 includes the base 610 of the cold plate—as depicted by Fig. 6A and seats directly over and interfaces the IC die and constitutes attachment thereto —as further set forth by para. 0089 and 0051) and a second surface opposite to the first surface configured with an array of extended fins facilitating heat transfer from the attached heat generating electronic component via a cooling liquid flow (whereas an opposite upper surface of 610/202 defines a second surface having fins defined by microchannel block 603 including fins i.e. 108 extending from the cold plate —as depicted by Fig.’s 5C and 6A—as further set forth by para. 0045); an encapsulating lid (lid-604) attachable to the second surface to form a liquid cooling cavity (whereas 601 couples 610 and defined a cavity receiving for a manifold defined by fluid delivery block-602, wherein the fluid is a coolant—as set forth by para. 0026) and comprising: (i) an intake port (605 corresponding to 105a) for receiving cooling liquid flow from a cooling liquid source (as set forth by para. 0027—discloses fluid channels between a source and a manifold, and para. 0088 further discloses the coolant enters the intake port 605 into inlet channels-105a); and (ii) an exhaust port (whereas 605 correspond to outlet channels 105b) for expelling exhaust cooling liquid provided from impingements of the received cooling liquid on the second surface of the cold plate (whereas a concentration of streamlines along the surface of the cold plate at a fluid velocity enables a large convective heat transfer of warmed coolant to rise and flow out of 105b—as set forth by para. 0070); and a distributed impingement and recovery manifold (DIRM) positioned within the liquid cooling cavity of the encapsulating lid above the second surface of the cold plate (as set forth by para.’s 0087-0088, and 0091--whereas 602 defines a distributed impingement and recovery manifold defined by delivery and collection manifolds 611, 612, wherein 602 is assembled and fit together with 603 and the lid-601 and constitutes being positioned or placed within enclosed by walls 606 and base-610 defining the cavity coolant via 105a and recovering the coolant via 105b, wherein the coolant flows down into 105a and forms microjets along the cold plate—as set forth by para. 0056), the DIRM comprising (i) an intake manifold (as constituted by an intake manifold defined by 611—as depicted by Fig. 6A) presenting at least one sequence of nozzle openings in fluid communication with the intake port, each nozzle opening providing direct impingement of a portion of cooling liquid on at least one corresponding section of the second surface (whereas the intake manifold fluidly couples nozzles constituted by each 105a in sequence along 611, and each comprising sidewalls 107 defining baffles optimize to minimize pressure drop—as further set forth by para. 0067; and discloses heat exchange surface of the cold plate-202 directly under microchannels 201—as further depicted by Fig.’s 3 and 5B-5C—as set forth by para. 0085) and (ii) a return manifold in fluid communication with the exhaust port and which facilitates a return of exhaust cooling liquid to the exhaust port (whereas a return manifold is constituted by 612 exhausting fluid via the exhaust port-605 which corresponds to 105b—as depicted by Fig. 6A) following at least one direct impingement of the portion of cooling liquid onto the at least one corresponding section to provide distributed, localized impingement cooling at corresponding sections of the cold plate (as depicted by Fig.’s 3, 5C and 6A--as constituted by the coolant flowing down the intake manifold 105a into sections of microchannels and further into depths of the microchannels in contact with the cold plate and focusing the microjets and heat is convectively transferred from the cold plate via warmed coolant and flows upward by both forced and natural convection, and enters outlet channels 105b—as set forth by para.’s 0055-0059).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 26, 31, and 37, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Neal 2020/0227341).
Regarding Claim 26; Neal discloses an information processing system comprising: at least one heat generating electronic component (as set forth by para. 0117—as constituted by an IC package including one or more dies for a server); and a cold plate assembly (as constituted by 600-Fig. 6A) comprising: a cold plate (a cold plate is defined by 610 and 202, wherein 610 is a base of 202—as set forth by para. 0091) comprised of a thermally conductive material and having a first surface attachable to a heat generating electronic component among the at least one heat generating electronic component (whereas the cold plate is in heat exchange with an IC die disposed in direct contact at a first surface at a bottom of the cold plate which forms a heat exchange surface—as set forth by para.’s 0024 and 0085, wherein 600 includes the base 610 of the cold plate—as depicted by Fig. 6A and seats directly over and interfaces the IC die and constitutes attachment thereto —as further set forth by para.’s 0089 and 0051) and a second surface opposite to the first surface configured with an array of extended fins facilitating heat transfer from the attached heat generating electronic component via a cooling liquid flow (whereas an opposite upper surface of 610/202 defines a second surface having fins defined by microchannel block 603 including fins i.e. 108 extending from the cold plate —as depicted by Fig.’s 5C and 6A—as further set forth by para. 0045); an encapsulating lid (lid-604) attachable to the second surface to form a liquid cooling cavity (whereas 601 couples 610 and defined a cavity receiving for a manifold defined by fluid delivery block-602, wherein the fluid is a coolant—as set forth by para. 0026) and comprising: (i) an intake port (605 corresponding to 105a) for receiving cooling liquid flow from a cooling liquid source (as set forth by para. 0027—discloses fluid channels between a source and a manifold, and para. 0088 further discloses the coolant enters the intake port 605 into inlet channels-105a); and (ii) an exhaust port (whereas 605 correspond to outlet channels 105b) for expelling exhaust cooling liquid provided from impingements of the received cooling liquid on the second surface of the cold plate (whereas a concentration of streamlines along the surface of the cold plate a fluid velocity enables a large convective heat transfer of warmed coolant to rise and flow out of 105b—as set forth by para. 0070); and a distributed impingement and recovery manifold (DIRM) positioned within the liquid cooling cavity of the encapsulating lid above the second surface of the cold plate (as depicted by Fig. 6A—602 defines a manifold distributing impingement coolant via 105a and recovering the coolant via 105b, wherein the coolant flows down into 105a and forms microjets along the cold plate—as set forth by para. 0056), the DIRM comprising (i) an intake manifold (as constituted by an intake manifold defined by 611—as depicted by Fig. 6A) presenting at least one sequence of nozzle openings in fluid communication with the intake port, each nozzle opening providing direct impingement of a portion of cooling liquid on at least one corresponding section of the second surface (whereas the intake manifold fluidly couples nozzles constituted by each 105a in sequence along 611, and each comprising sidewalls 107 defining baffles optimize to minimize pressure drop—as further set forth by para. 0067; and discloses heat exchange surface of the cold plate-202 directly under microchannels 201—as further depicted by Fig.’s 3 and 5B-5C—as set forth by para. 0085) and (ii) a return manifold in fluid communication with the exhaust port and which facilitates a return of exhaust cooling liquid to the exhaust port (whereas a return manifold is constituted by 612 exhausting fluid via the exhaust port-605 which corresponds to 105b—as depicted by Fig. 6A) following at least one direct impingement of the portion of cooling liquid onto the at least one corresponding section to provide distributed, localized impingement cooling at corresponding sections of the cold plate (as depicted by Fig.’s 3, 5C and 6A--as constituted by the coolant flowing down the intake manifold 105a into sections of microchannels and further into depths of the microchannels in contact with the cold plate and focusing the microjets and heat is convectively transferred from the cold plate via warmed coolant and flows upward by both forced and natural convection, and enters outlet channels 105b—as set forth by para.’s 0055-0059). Except, Neal does not explicitly disclose a data center comprising: an information processing system rack. However, the server denotes an information processing system which is commonly employed in a rack of a data center so as to allow for reliable and scalable operations in accordance with increased processing and computation demands, and thus it has been held that a recitation with respect to the manner in which a claimed apparatus is intended to be employed does not differentiate the claimed apparatus from a prior art apparatus satisfying the claimed structural limitations. Ex parte Masham, 2 USPQ2d 1647 (1987).
Regarding Claim 31; the method steps are necessitated by the already disclosed structure of Neal, except explicitly disclosing the sealably attaching the lid to the second surface. However, Neal-Fig. 8A further discloses sealably attaching the lid to a second surface (as set forth by para. 0104 discloses when assembled, a lid defined by cover-801 seals over a base-806), and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the lid-601/604 as sealably attached to the base-610 or cold plate 202 since it was known in the art that the a fluid tight structure will be employed to prevent mixing of fresh and warmed coolant, as set forth by para. 0104 and provide a more reliable structure is employed so as to prevent fluid loss and damage to an apparatus containing the cold plate assembly.
Regarding Claim(s) 37; the method steps are necessitated by the structure of Neal.
Claim(s) 9, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Neal 2020/0227341) as applied to claim 1 above, in view of (Limaye 2021/0320048).
Regarding Claim 9; Neal discloses the cold plate assembly of claim 1, except, explicitly further comprising a two-dimensional vapor chamber positioned between the heat generating electronic component and the cold plate. However, Limaye discloses a two-dimensional vapor chamber positioned between the heat generating electronic component and the cold plate (whereas the abstract discloses the cold plate includes an integrated two phase vapor chamber between the cold plate and an integrated circuit component), and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to the cold plate as comprising a vapor chamber between the cold plate and the heat generating component since it was known in the art that the cold plate of Neal is associated with one or more IC die so the modified cold plate assembly will improve equalization across multiple heat generating components, as suggested by the abstract of Limaye.
Claim 27 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Neal 2020/0227341) as applied to claim 26 above, in view of (Edmunds 2023/0096875).
Regarding Claim 27; Neal discloses the data center of claim 26, except, explicitly further comprising: a facility source of facility-grade cooling liquid, the facility source comprising a facility outlet port and a facility return port; and a liquid distribution system sealably connected between the intake port of the cold plate assembly and an outlet port of the facility source to channel unheated facility water to the cold plate assembly and between the exhaust port of the cold plate assembly and the facility return port to channel heated exhaust water from the cold plate assembly to the facility return port. However, Edmunds discloses a facility source of facility-grade cooling liquid, the facility source comprising a facility outlet port and a facility return port (as constituted by an IT facility—para. 0004, wherein para.’s 0207 and 0209 discloses a facility level cooling system which constitutes supply and return ports for 490 and 495 to supply mains water to cold plate 125—as depicted by Fig.’s 4B); and a liquid distribution system sealably connected between the intake port of the cold plate assembly and an outlet port of the facility source (as constituted atleast in-part via dedicated first and second chambers of heat exchanger-170-Fig. 4B or 1330-Fig. 13B sealed with respect to an electronic module to prevent harmful leakage—as set forth by para.’s 0024-0025, and/or as constituted via quick disconnect mechanisms—as set forth by para.’s 0197 and 0240) to channel unheated facility water to the cold plate assembly and between the exhaust port of the cold plate assembly and the facility return port to channel heated exhaust water from the cold plate assembly to the facility return port (as depicted by Fig.’s 4B or 13B), and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the data center as comprising supply and return facility ports with a sealably connected cooling system and the cold plate since it was known in the art that enhance the removal of heat away from the server with fresh coolant supply and/or upon install or repair to pluggably connect a server into the rack via quick disconnects without leakage or interrupting cooling or services of other servers in the rack.
Claim(s) 28-29, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (Neal 2020/0227341) as applied to claim 27 above, in view of (Edmunds 2023/0096875) and in further view of (Shelnutt 2017/0295677).
Regarding Claim 28; Neal discloses the already modified data center of claim 27, wherein the liquid distribution system comprises: a rack liquid cooling manifold system(as depicted by Edmunds-Fig.’s 4B--whereas each 405, 410 constitute supply and return manifolds for respective processing systems coupled to a rack liquid cooling manifold system—as further depicted by Fig. 5) comprising: a supply manifold comprising a manifold intake port available for sealably coupling to a facility water supply to receive a cooling liquid and comprising more than one server supply ports each available for sealably coupling, for liquid transfer of the cooling liquid, to a respective cooling liquid supply input of a corresponding information processing system node supported by a rack frame capable of supporting multiple information processing system nodes, each having one or more heat generating electronic components; and a return manifold comprising a facility water return port for sealably coupling to a facility return to exhaust the cooling liquid and comprising more than one server return ports, each available for sealably coupling, for exhaust liquid transfer, to a respective cooling liquid exhaust output of the corresponding information processing system node, the respective cooling liquid exhaust output and a paired supply liquid cooling input directing cooling liquid flow through one or more cold plate assembly positioned within the corresponding information processing system node to thermally cool the one or more heat generating electronic components (as already set forth by quick disconnects—wherein 145, 180 constitutes sealably coupling to facility water via 405, 490 to supply/return the water to/from via respective a cold plate 125 mounted to an electronic device-130—para. 0196 of a respective information processing systems-100 with the rack--as depicted by Fig.’s 4B-5). Except, Neal does not explicitly disclose the supply manifold comprising a supply control valve. However, Shelnutt discloses supply manifold comprising a supply control valve (as set forth by para.’s 0021-0022 a supply control valve-214 is coupled to a supply manifold-243 so as to regulate facility cooling water and provide a variable flow rate in for cooling processors), and thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to modify the supply manifold with a supply control valve since it was known in the art, that regulating facility cooling water is employed to provide a variable flow rate for cooling the heat generating electronic component(s).
Regarding Claim 29; Neal discloses the already modified data center of claim 28, wherein the liquid distribution system further comprises a plurality of conduits that sealably couple for liquid transfer: (i) the more than one server supply ports of the supply manifold to the corresponding server supply inputs of the more than one information processing system nodes; (ii) the corresponding server supply input to the one or more cold plate assemblies in the corresponding information processing system node; (iii) the one or more cold plate assemblies in the corresponding information processing system node to the corresponding server return output; and (iv) and the more than one server return outputs to the server return ports of the return manifold (as constituted by Edmunds—Fig.’s 4B and 5-whereas the quick disconnects for respective supply and return conduits of each node constitutes a sealable liquid coupling to the manifold transferring liquid to/from the cold plate of each node).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-7, 10-17, 19-25, 30, 32-36, and 38-39, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Regarding Claim 2; the cold plate assembly of claim 1, wherein the DIRM comprises: a nozzle plate positioned as a first layer proximate and parallel to the second surface and having the at least one sequence of nozzle openings comprising a plurality of through holes configured to create respective jets of cooling liquid that impinge the second surface; and a return port plate positioned as a second layer stacked on the nozzle plate and having more than one supply flow paths that channel supply liquid from the intake port to a first subset of the plurality of through holes in the nozzle plate that function as nozzle orifices and having one or more return flow paths, adjacent to a respective supply flow path, that channel exhaust cooling liquid from a second subset of the plurality of through holes that function as return orifices to the exhaust port, the second subset being exclusive of the first subset, with one or more nozzle orifices being located proximate to one or more return orifices creating localized cooling flow paths with localized recovery of the cooling liquid that disrupt a thermal boundary layer at the second surface of the cold plate.
Regarding Claim 10; the cold plate assembly of claim 1, wherein the DIRM comprises: a supply manifold system sealably connected for liquid transfer from the intake port to a first subset of the at least one sequence of nozzle openings comprising a plurality of through holes in the nozzle plate configured to create a corresponding plurality of nozzle jets that impinges the array of extended fins; and a return manifold system sealably connected for liquid transfer to the exhaust port from a second subset of the plurality of through openings, exclusive of and alternating with, the first subset of the plurality of through holes to create a localized liquid flow aligned with the array of extended fins between adjacent nozzle openings aligned with the array of extended fins that disrupt a thermal boundary layer at the second surface of the cold plate.
Regarding Claim 14; the cold plate assembly of claim 1, wherein: the array of extended fins presents a plurality of microchannels between each adjacent pair of fins; and the DIRM comprises: an intake manifold comprising a top plate that extends over the array of extended fins and having a first sequence of nozzle openings presenting a single nozzle opening above each microchannel of the plurality of microchannels, the single nozzle opening presenting a jet of cooling liquid impinging a first section of the second surface along a corresponding microchannel; an arrangement of alternating upper and lower baffles extending beneath the top plate and positioned laterally inside each microchannel to cause alternating upwards and downwards flow of the cooling liquid impinging at the first section within the microchannel, each downwards flow causing the cooling liquid to impinge a next section of the second surface within the microchannel, each impingement of the cooling liquid on sections of the microchannel resulting in an increased liquid heat transfer coefficient at the second surface; and a bifurcated return manifold having a first and a second return channel at opposed ends of the microchannels along the array of extended fins for collecting and channeling the exhaust cooling liquid flow flowing from each microchannel towards the exhaust port.
Regarding Claim 19; the information processing system of claim 18, wherein the DIRM comprises: a nozzle plate positioned as a first layer proximate and parallel to the second surface and having a plurality of through holes; a supply manifold system sealably connected for liquid transfer from the intake port to a first subset of the through holes in the nozzle plate configured to create a corresponding plurality of nozzle jets that impinges the array of extended fins; and a return manifold system sealably connected for liquid transfer to the exhaust port from a second subset of the plurality of through holes, exclusive of and alternating with, the first subset of the plurality of through holes to create a localized liquid flow aligned with the array of extended fins between adjacent through holes aligned with the array of extended fins that disrupt a thermal boundary layer at the second surface of the cold plate.
Regarding Claim 25; the information processing system of claim 18, wherein the DIRM comprises: an intake manifold comprising a top plate that extends over the array of extended fins and having a first sequence of nozzle openings presenting a single nozzle opening above each microchannel of a plurality of microchannels, the single nozzle opening presenting a jet of cooling liquid impinging a first section of the second surface along a corresponding microchannel; an arrangement of alternating upper and lower baffles extending beneath the top plate and positioned laterally inside each microchannel to cause alternating upwards and downwards flow of the cooling liquid impinging at the first section within the microchannel, each downwards flow causing the cooling liquid to impinge a next section of the second surface within the microchannel, each impingement of the cooling liquid on sections of the microchannel resulting in an increased liquid heat transfer coefficient at the second surface; and a bifurcated return manifold having a first and a second return channel at opposed ends of the microchannels along the array of extended fins for collecting and channeling the exhaust cooling liquid flow flowing from each microchannel towards the exhaust port
Regarding Claim 30; the data center of claim 26, wherein the DIRM comprises: a nozzle plate positioned as a first layer proximate and parallel to the second surface and having a plurality of through holes; a supply manifold system sealably connected for liquid transfer from the intake port to a first subset of the through holes in the nozzle plate configured to create a corresponding plurality of nozzle jets that impinges the array of extended fins; and a return manifold system sealably connected for liquid transfer to the exhaust port from a second subset of the plurality of through holes, exclusive of and alternating with, the first subset of the plurality of through holes to create a localized liquid flow aligned with the array of extended fins between adjacent through holes aligned with the array of extended fins that disrupt a thermal boundary layer at the second surface of the cold plate.
Regarding Claim 32; the method of claim 31, wherein placing the DIRM comprises: positioning a nozzle plate having a plurality of through holes as a first layer proximate and parallel to the second surface of the cold plate; and positioning a return port plate as a second layer stacked on the first layer, the return port plate having more than one supply flow paths that channel supply liquid from the intake port to a first subset of the plurality of through holes in the nozzle plate that function as nozzle orifices and having one or more return flow paths, adjacent to a respective supply flow path, that channel exhaust liquid from a second subset of the plurality of through holes that function as return orifices to the exhaust port, the second subset being exclusive of the first subset, with one or more nozzle orifices being located proximate to one or more return orifices creating localized cooling flow paths with localized recovery of the cooling liquid that disrupt a thermal boundary layer at the second surface of the cold plate.
Regarding Claim 38; the method of claim 37, further comprising, prior to attaching the heat generating electronic component to the first surface of the cold plate, positioning a two-dimensional vapor chamber between the heat generating electronic component and the cold plate.
Regarding Claim 39; the method of claim 31, wherein placing the DIRM comprises: provisioning a DIRM comprising: an intake manifold comprising a top plate that extends over the array of extended fins and having a first sequence of nozzle openings presenting a single nozzle opening above each microchannel of a plurality of microchannels, the single nozzle opening presenting a jet of cooling liquid impinging a first section of the second surface along a corresponding microchannel; an arrangement of alternating upper and lower baffles extending beneath the top plate and positioned laterally inside each microchannel to cause alternating upwards and downwards flow of the cooling liquid impinging at the first section within the microchannel, each downwards flow causing the cooling liquid to impinge a next section of the second surface within the microchannel, each impingement of the cooling liquid on sections of the microchannel resulting in an increased liquid heat transfer coefficient at the second surface; and a bifurcated return manifold having a first and a second return channel at opposed ends of the microchannels along the array of extended fins for collecting and channeling the exhaust cooling liquid flow flowing from each microchannel towards the exhaust port.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US-12274026-B2
Hazra; Sougata et al.
Fig.’s 1-3, and 7A-7B
US-20230225082-A1
Zhang; Chi et al.
Fig. 2
/COURTNEY L SMITH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2835