DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 15, recites “one or more co-locations”, but then recites “the co-location”; and
Claim 20, with respect to the second datacenter region, recites “second thermal energy”, but then recites “the thermal energy”. Further, recites “through the micro-grid” without first introducing “a micro-grid”. Further, recites “the datacenter region balance information” after introducing “first datacenter region balance information” and “second datacenter region balance information”, which is being referenced?
Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Trojer et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0098143 A1 (hereinafter: ‘143).
As per claim 1, ‘143 discloses a datacenter power system comprising:
a co-location including a plurality of computing devices (e.g., See ‘143; [0431] and [0456], which disclose a data center server farm housing many computers together in one location, the server farm being a barge); and
a micro-plant in electrical communication with the co-location to supply micro-plant electrical power to the co-location (e.g., See ‘143; [0456] and [0457], which disclose a generator module sending electricity through a cable to the server farm barge), the micro-plant including:
a plurality of micro-reactors, wherein each micro-reactor is configured to produce thermal energy (e.g., See ‘143; [0641] and [0648], which disclose multiple (16) micro-reactors, that, when turned on, produce heat (thermal) energy); and
at least one generator in thermal communication with the plurality of micro-reactors configured to convert at least a portion of the thermal energy to the micro-plant electrical power (e.g., See ‘143; [0279] and [0315], which disclose reactor steam flowing to turbine generators to produce electricity).
As per claim 3, ‘143 further discloses that each micro-reactor of the plurality of micro-reactors is thermally coupled to a unique generator of a plurality of generators of the micro-plant (e.g., See ‘143; [0638] and [0639], which disclose that each microreactor is in fluid communication with a corresponding power unit that takes heat from the microreactor and uses a turbo-generator to make electricity; therefore, each microreactor is thermally coupled to a unique turbo-generator).
As per claim 4, ‘143 further discloses that the micro-plant further includes a thermal manifold thermally coupled to the plurality of micro-reactors (e.g., See ‘143; [0291] and [0293], which disclose a steam manifold coupled to the reactor steam lines and configured to route reactor produced steam to the power generating equipment.
As per claim 5, ‘143 further discloses that at least one micro-reactor of the plurality of micro-reactors is a nuclear micro-reactor (e.g., See ‘143; [0004] and [0638], which disclose at least one microreactor being nuclear).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojet et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0098143 A1 (hereinafter: ‘143), as applied to claim 1, from above, in view of ARAFAT et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0075931 A1 (hereinafter ‘931).
As per claim 2, ‘143 does not adequately disclose that each micro-reactor of the plurality of micro-reactors is configured to generate no more than 20 Megawatts of thermal energy.
‘931 discloses this feature (e.g., See ‘931; [0023], which discloses that each microreactor is designed to produce less than 20 Mw of thermal heat).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘931 into ‘143 for the purpose of keeping each reactor small to facilitate cooling, transport, and installation, and to allow for easier incremental additions of reactors based on the needs of the system.
Claims 6 and 12-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojer et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0098143 A1 (hereinafter: ‘143), as applied to claim 1, from above, in view of Suryanarayana, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0115739 A1 (hereinafter ‘739).
As per claim 6, ‘143 does not specifically disclose at least one micro-reactor of the plurality of micro-reactors is a fuel cell micro-reactor.
‘739 discloses this feature (e.g., See ‘739; [0013] and [0031], which disclose a datacenter power system using one or more fuel cell modules for power).
As per claim 12, ‘143 does not specifically disclose at least one energy storage system (ESS) in electrical communication with the at least one generator.
‘739 discloses this feature (e.g., See ‘739; [0013], [0028] and [0041], which disclose batteries connected to the power system, the batteries providing ride through power to keep the loads running).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘739 into ‘143 for the purpose of improving power reliability with backup and ride-through, thereby keeping data center loads running during grid swings or outages.
As per claim 13, ‘143 in view of ‘739 further discloses that the ESS is a chemical battery ESS (e.g., See ‘739; [0028] and [0034], which disclose the system using energy storage in the form of batteries).
As per claim 14, ‘143 in view of ‘739 further discloses that the ESS includes an electrolyzer (e.g., See ‘739; [0022] and [0037], which disclose an electrolyzer using electricity to make hydrogen for storage and for later power use).
Claims 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojer et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0098143 A1 (hereinafter: ‘143), as applied to claim 1, from above, in view of Nordin, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0247537 A1 (hereinafter: ‘537).
As per claim 7, ‘143 does not specifically disclose that the micro-plant provides electrical power at a high voltage proximate a grid connection.
‘537 discloses this feature (e.g., See ‘537; [0004] and [0017], which disclose power at the service entrance of 13.8 kV, then a transformer stepping down the voltage to 4.16kV, for distribution within the data center).
As per claim 8, ‘143 does not specifically disclose that the micro-plant provides the micro-plant electrical power at a medium voltage electrically opposite a transformer from a grid connection.
‘537 discloses this feature (e.g., See ‘537; [0004] and [0017], which disclose a medium voltage of 4.16kV being on the building side after the grid transformer).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘537 into ‘143 for the purpose of using standard grid voltages and transformers so the system connects easily to the utility and delivers power efficiently inside the data center.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojer et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0098143 A1 (hereinafter: ‘143), as applied to claim 1, from above, in view of MA et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0124356 A1 (hereinafter: ‘356).
As per claim 9, ‘143 does not specifically disclose a thermal store device in thermal communication with at least one micro-reactor.
‘356 discloses this feature (e.g., See ‘356; [0080] and [0081], which disclose a hot particle silo that stores thermal energy and transfers that heat into a fluid; and since ‘356 allows charging heat from industrial sources, and ‘143’s microreactors produce heat energy, the microreactors heat can be directed to the silo, placing the silo in thermal communication with at least one microreactor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘356 into ‘143 for the purpose of storing reactor heat for later use to smooth power output and keep data center power steady as demand changes.
As per claim 10, ‘143 in view of ‘356 further disclose that the thermal store includes a sand thermal mass (e.g., See ‘356; [0096] and [0103], which disclose the heat being stored in sand particles, such as silica sand).
As per claim 11, ‘143 in view of ‘356 further disclose that the thermal store is in thermal communication with the at least one generator (e.g., See ‘356; [0081], [0085] and [0086], which disclose heat stored in hot particles being transferred into a fluid, and that fluid then being sent to a turbine that turns a generator to make electricity).
Claims 15-16 and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojer et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0098143 A1 (hereinafter: ‘143), in view of Ozog, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0231028 A1 (hereinafter: ‘028).
As per claim 15, ‘143 discloses a datacenter power system comprising:
a grid connection configured to receive power from a regional power grid (e.g., See ’143; [0474] and [0476], which disclose a connection to a land based electrical grid, via a transmission line, that provides electricity to and from the grid);
one or more co-locations including a plurality of computing devices (e.g., See ‘143; [0422] and [0456], which discloses a data center server farm housing many computers together in one location on a server farm barge); and
a micro-plant in electrical communication with the grid connection and the co-location to supply micro-plant electrical power to the grid connection and the co-location (e.g., See ‘143; [0454], [0456] and [0457], which disclose a generator module sending electricity through a cable to the server farm barge), the micro-plant including:
a plurality of micro-reactors, wherein each micro-reactor is configured to produce thermal energy (e.g., See ‘143; [0638] and [0641], which disclose sixteen micro-reactors, each making heat energy, for electricity generation); and
at least one generator in thermal communication with the plurality of micro-reactors configured to convert at least a portion of the thermal energy to the micro-plant electrical power (e.g., See ‘143; [0279] and [0315], which disclose reactor steam flowing to turbine generators to produce electricity).
However, ‘143 does not specifically disclose a micro-plant controller in communication with the grid connection, the co-location, and the at least one generator, wherein the micro-plant controller is configured to receive co-location demand information, receive grid information, and adjust an output of micro-plant electrical power based at least partially on the co-location demand information and the grid information.
‘028 appears to adequately discloses these features (e.g., See ‘028; [0016] and [0020], which disclose forecasting site demand and grid pricing information, and [0177] and [0576], which disclose using that information to generate dispatch signals for generation and storage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘028 into ‘143 for the purpose of matching plant output to data center demand and grid prices to cut costs and keep power delivery steady.
As per claim 16, ‘143 in view of ‘028 further discloses that adjusting the output of micro-plant electrical power includes distributing electrical power from at least one generator to an energy storage system (e.g., See ‘028; [0031] and [0048], which disclose generated power being transferred into batteries for storage).
As per claim 18, ‘143 in view of ‘028 further discloses that adjusting the output of micro-plant electrical power includes increasing the output based on an increase in grid pricing of the grid information (e.g., See ‘028; [0020] and [0048], which disclose receiving grid pricing information and using it to optimize dispatch such that, when costs are higher, more power is supplied from local resources instead of the grid).
As per claim 19, ‘143 in view of ‘028 further discloses that adjusting the output of micro-plant electrical power includes increasing the output based on an increase in carbon load of the grid information (e.g., See ‘028; [0576] and [0580], which disclose using carbon pollution information to help decide when to generate power locally, so that when grid power becomes more polluted, the system can generate additional local power instead).
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojer et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0098143 A1 (hereinafter: ‘143), in view of Ozog, U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2011/0231028 A1 (hereinafter: ‘028), as applied to claim 15, from above, in further view of ARAFAT et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2018/0075931 A1 (hereinafter ‘931).
As per claim 17, ‘143 in view of ‘028 does not specifically that adjusting the output of micro-plant electrical power includes changing a thermal output of at least one micro-reactor of the plurality of micro-reactors.
‘931 discloses this feature (e.g., See ‘931; [0019] and [0052], which disclose that the micro reactor can safely and automatically increase or decrease its heat output to match the changing load demand).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘931 into ‘143 in view of ‘028 for the purpose of quickly responding to changing demand and grid signals, thereby keeping power delivery to the data center steady and reducing wasted energy.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Trojer et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2021/0098143 A1 (hereinafter: ‘143), as applied to claim 1, from above, in view of MPEP 2144, Section VI, Subsection B (Duplication of Parts), in further view of BRAINARD et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2014/0249686 A1 (hereinafter: ‘686).
As per claim 20, and with respect to the features and limitations associated with the first data center region, the examiner incorporates by reference the rationale as set forth above with respect to the rejection of claim 1 using ‘143.
Further, with respect to the second data center region, the examiner believes that this section represents a second instance of the same structural and functional elements recited in the first data center region, and in the opinion of the examiner, it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to duplicate or replicate the data center because such duplication would not produce a new and unexpected result (See MPEP 2144 VI, B (Duplication of Parts)). Rather, the duplication would provide an obvious benefit of improved reliability via redundancy.
However, ‘143 does not specifically disclose that a micro-grid controller in data communication with the regional power grid, the first datacenter region, and the second datacenter region, wherein the micro-grid controller is configured to: receive first datacenter region balance information, receive second datacenter region balance information, and adjust electrical power between the first datacenter region and the second datacenter region through the micro-grid based at least partially on the datacenter region balance information.
‘686 discloses these features (e.g., See ‘686; [0020], [0021] and [0028], which disclose the controller monitoring the grid and checking whether each region has surplus power or has a power shortage, then sending electricity through the microgrid, from a surplus region, to a region having a shortage).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to incorporate the teachings of ‘686 into ‘143 for the purpose of balancing power between data center regions so shortages are covered by surplus, thereby improving reliability and reducing wasted energy.
References Considered but Not Relied Upon
The following references were considered but were not relied upon with respect to any prior art rejections:
(1) US 2011/0316337 A1, which discloses placing a data center beside a power plant and feeding it power straight from the generator before transformers, and the system using a grid backup; and
(2) US 2015/0278968 A1, which discloses moving computing work between data centers based on forecast electricity prices, wherein the system schedules energy assets to cut costs and earn market revenue.
Conclusion
Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/RONALD D HARTMAN JR/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2119 February 27, 2026
/RDH/