Response to Arguments
Applicant’s remarks regarding the 35 USC 112 rejections have been fully considered and accepted. The 35 USC 112 rejection of 12/18/2025 has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to all pending claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on all reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 - 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106225874 A to Zhao, Shu-fang (hereinafter “Zhao”) in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0009124 A1 to Xiao et al. (hereinafter “Xiao”).
Regarding Claim 1, Zhao teaches a sight glass (see abstract describing the invention directed to a liquid level detecting device provided with a cylinder comprising a liquid level meter and a sight glass, see arrangement at Fig. 1), comprising:
a body (see cylinder 6, Fig. 1, see page 3, line 16);
a first tapered section (see either top or bottom transition section 4, Fig. 1, which illustrates a tapered section at the transition section 4, see page 3, line 15) connected to the body (see arrangement at Fig. 1, illustrating the transition section 4 (i.e., tapered section) connected to the body or cylinder 6, see also description at page 3, lines 20 – 28 describing the transition section having a larger and smaller diameter section); and
a second tapered section (see either top or bottom transition section 4, Fig. 1, which illustrates a tapered section at the transition section 4, see page 3, line 15) connected to the body (see arrangement at Fig. 1, illustrating the transition section 4 (i.e., tapered section) connected to the body or cylinder 6, see also description at page 3, lines 20 – 28 describing the transition section having a larger and smaller diameter section);
wherein the body (6), the first tapered section (4 at either top or bottom as seen at Fig. 1), and the second tapered section (4 at either top or bottom as seen at Fig. 1) are each hollow (see description at page 4, last paragraph of the description section (i.e., before the ”Claims”, describing medium flow through the cylinder, which is visible through the sight glass 9, hence being hollow as claimed) and continuously formed of a material (see arrangement at Fig. 1, note that the body 6 and the tapered sections at 4 comprise of a material and are connected together (i.e., continuously formed), as also illustrated in the arrangement at Fig. 1).
Even though Zhao teaches “continuously formed” as described above, Zhao does not explicitly teach the continuously formed being continuously formed of a material such that the sight glass is a single component.
Xiao, in the field of additive manufacturing systems and methods, teaches that it is known to continuously form a material such that the sight glass is a single component (see Example 5 at paragraphs [0344] – [0352] describing 3D printing of transparent fused silica glass used in optical applications, see Figs. 34, 35 illustrating curved thin wall structures fabricated by the laser 3D printing process, see also paragraphs [0399] – [0400], describing 3D printing technology used in fabrication of sensors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use continuously formed material of Xiao into Zhao, in order to improve and enhance manufacturing efficiency of the device/glass. The modification further allows design for manufacturability (DFM) which ensures efficient, cost-effective and high-quality product.
Regarding Claim 10, Zhao teaches a method of making a sight glass (see abstract describing the invention directed to a liquid level detecting device provided with a cylinder comprising a liquid level meter and a sight glass, see arrangement at Fig. 1), comprising:
connecting a body (see cylinder 6, Fig. 1, see page 3, line 16) to each of a first taper (see either top or bottom transition section 4, Fig. 1, which illustrates a tapered section at the transition section 4, see page 3, line 15), and a second taper (see either top or bottom transition section 4, Fig. 1, which illustrates a tapered section at the transition section 4, see page 3, line 15), wherein the body (6), the first taper (4), and the second tapered section (4) are each hollow (see description at page 4, last paragraph of the description section (i.e., before the ”Claims”, describing medium flow through the cylinder, which is visible through the sight glass 9, hence being hollow as claimed), wherein the connecting comprises:
continuously forming the body (6), the first tapered section (4), and the second tapered section (4) from a material (see arrangement at Fig. 1, note that the body 6 and the tapered sections at 4 comprise of a material and are connected together (i.e., continuously formed), as also illustrated in the arrangement at Fig. 1).
Even though Zhao teaches “continuously formed” as described above, Zhao does not explicitly teach the continuously formed being continuously formed of a material such that the sight glass is a single component.
Xiao, in the field of additive manufacturing systems and methods, teaches that it is known to continuously form a material such that the sight glass is a single component (see Example 5 at paragraphs [0344] – [0352] describing 3D printing of transparent fused silica glass used in optical applications, see Figs. 34, 35 illustrating curved thin wall structures fabricated by the laser 3D printing process, see also paragraphs [0399] – [0400], describing 3D printing technology used in fabrication of sensors).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use continuously formed material of Xiao into Zhao, in order to improve and enhance manufacturing efficiency of the device/glass. The modification further allows design for manufacturability (DFM) which ensures efficient, cost-effective and high-quality product.
Regarding Claims 2 and 11, Zhao as modified above teaches wherein the first tapered section (4, for instance at top side of cylinder 6 illustrated at Fig. 1 and the annotated figure below) and the second tapered section (4, for instance at bottom side of cylinder 6 illustrated at Fig. 1 and the annotated figure below) each independently have a narrower end (see narrower end at the straight section 3, Fig. 1 and/or annotated section below) and a wider end (see wider end at the connection region of the tapered section 4 with the body 6, see annotated figure below and/or arrangement at Fig. 1, see also page 3, lines 20 – 28).
Regarding Claims 3 and 12, Zhao as modified above teaches wherein the body (6) has a first end and a second end opposing the first end (see Fig. 1 and/or annotated figure above), wherein the first end is connected to the wider end of the first tapered section and the second end is connected to the wider end of the second taper (see arrangement at Fig. 1 or annotated figure above illustrating the 1st end of the body and the second end of the body being connected to the wider end of the first and second tapered section).
Regarding Claims 4 and 13, Zhao as modified above teaches wherein the component further comprises a first flange and a second flange (see annotated figure above), wherein the first flange comprises a void therethrough and is connected to the first tapered section at the narrower end of the first tapered section (see annotated figure above, note that the 1st flange as indicated in the annotated figure above is connected at the narrower end 3 and has a void in which the pipe 7 passes therethrough, hence reading on the invention as claimed) and the second flange comprises a void therethrough and is connected to the second tapered section at the narrower end of the second tapered section (see annotated figure above, note that the 2nd flange as indicated in the annotated figure above is connected at the narrower end 3 of the tapered section 4 and has a void in which the ball valve 2 is connected therethrough, hence reading on the invention as claimed).
Regarding Claims 5 and 14, Zhao as modified above teaches wherein the component further comprises a first pipe (see upper connecting pipe 7, Fig. 1, see page 3, line 16) and a second pipe (see lower connecting tube 1, Fig. 1, see page 3, line 15), wherein the first pipe (7) is connected to the first tapered section and the first flange therebetween (see annotated figure above) and the second pipe (1) is connected to the second tapered section and the second flange therebetween (see annotated figure above).
Regarding Claims 6 and 15, Zhao as modified above teaches wherein the material is translucent (see arrangement of the sight glass 9, Fig. 1 and description at page 3, lines 20 – 35 describing distribution of the sight glass 9 on the cylinder 6, thus it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to recognize a translucent material of the body section 6, since sight glass 9 is arranged on the cylinder part 6 in order to view the fluid within).
Regarding Claims 7 and 16, Zhao as modified above teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the material comprises a polymer. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a material comprising a polymer, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification allows for a lightweight, cost-effective and highly impact-resistance as the polymer material is safer than glass material which is capable of being shattered. In addition, see paragraph [0344] of Xiao describing polymer-silica composite prepared for the printing process.
Regarding Claims 8 and 17, Zhao as modified above teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the material comprises polypropylene. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a material comprising a polypropylene, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification allows for a lightweight, cost-effective and highly chemical-resistance.
Regarding Claims 9 and 18, Zhao as modified above teaches the claimed invention except for wherein the material comprises a cured clear resin. However, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a material comprising a cured clear resin, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 227 F.2d 197, 125 USPQ 416 (CCPA 1960). The modification allows for a lightweight, good mechanical strength and highly impact-resistance.
Regarding Claims 19 and 20, Zhao in view of Xiao as modified in claims 1 and 10 above teaches wherein the single component is produced by 3D printing (see Example 5 at paragraphs [0344] – [0352] of Xiao describing 3D printing of transparent fused silica glass used in optical applications, see Figs. 34, 35 of Xiao illustrating curved thin wall structures fabricated by the laser 3D printing process, see also paragraphs [0399] – [0400] of Xiao describing 3D printing technology used in fabrication of sensors).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form accompanying this office action which includes the following relevant prior art:
JP 7398543 B1 teaches sight glasses having tapered ends at the end and the surfaces made of transparent materials including acrylic plate, glass plate, polycarbonate plate etc.
Davidson et al. (U.S. 2018/0250747 A1) teaches additive manufactured heat exchangers including forming tubes 52 using 3D printer.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MARRIT EYASSU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2855