DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/23/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding claims 7 and 18, the applicant states that “Rudaitis does not disclose, teach, or suggest ‘each cap of the plurality of caps … configured to connect directly to a test post of the one or more test posts of the face plate of the test station assembly and, when each cap is connected to the test post of the one or more test posts, to fully cover the test post of the one or more test posts on the face plate except through an opening in each cap’ as required by independent claims 7 and 18” (emphasis added) on page 11. The examiner believes that Rudaitis et al. teach when the insulated washer 80 and the insulated head or guide busing 82 is mounted to the Z-shaped metal bracket 74, the washer 80 and bushing 82 fully cover the top portion of the threaded body 76 (FIG. 5). This interpretation of Rudaitis et al. is consistent with the applicant’s disclosure, particularly FIGURE 4, in which the non-conductive cap 200 full covers only the top portion of the test post 170.
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s Amendment filed on 10/23/2025 regarding claims 1-20 is fully considered. Of the above claims, claims 1-3, 7-8, 12-14, 16 and 18-19 have been amended.
Claim Objections
Claim 18 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Regarding claim 18, the recitation of “the test posts” in line 10 lacks antecedent basis.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7-10 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borin et al. (US 2021/0095380 A1) in view of Rudaitis et al. (US 2014/0097827 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Borin et al. teach a kit to provide enhanced monitoring at a test station assembly of a cathodic protection system of an at least partially buried or submerged structure (the system 10 for monitoring, measuring, evaluating, confirming, gauging assessing, quantifying, calculating, computing, determining and observing the amount, level and criteria for cathodic protection of a structure 12 and/or combination of structures 12; [0022]; Figs 1-3), the kit comprising:
a container (housing assembly 500; FIG. 4B, 6);
a probe positioned in the container and configured to connect to a measurement device (with the top 506 remove, a technician may access the manual test leads 112-n, e.g., using test probes 802 configured with separate portable measurement equipment 800; [0051]; Figs 2, 4B; when the test probes 802 are connected to the manual test leads 112-n, the test probes 802 are positioned in the housing assembly 500); and
a face plate positioned in the container and including one or more test posts, the face plate configured to connect to a housing of the test station assembly, the housing to receive electrical conductors attached to the one or more test posts to electrically connect the one or more test posts to a coupon assembly (the input terminals Tin-1 through Tin-6 may be configured with the terminals 110-1 through 110-6, and/or to wires 708-1 through 708-6, respectively, and the output terminals Tout-1 and Tout-2 may be electrically configured with the positive measurement lead ML+ and the negative measurement lead ML‒, respectively, of the voltage and/or current measuring device 106; [0042]; Figs 4A-4B; the test probe assembly 700 also may include wires 708 leading from each of the one or more test coupons 704; [0036]; top surface of an internal support structure includes the output jacks 112-n; FIG. 4B; the internal support structure being the housing), and
wherein the test posts are configured to facilitate measurement of voltage detected by the coupon assembly when (a) positioned proximate the structure and (b) attached to the one or more test posts (the input terminals Tin-1 through Tin-6 may be configured with the terminals 110-1 through 110-6, and/or to wires 708-1 through 708-6, respectively, and the output terminals Tout-1 and Tout-2 may be electrically configured with the positive measurement lead ML+ and the negative measurement lead ML‒, respectively, of the voltage and/or current measuring device 106; [0042]; Figs 4A-4B; the test probe assembly 700 also may include wires 708 leading from each of the one or more test coupons 704; [0036]; Figs 2-3; the connection assembly 102 also may include terminals 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 110-4, 110-5, 110-6 each electrically configured with associated output jacks 112-1, 112-2, 112-3, 112-4, 112-5, 112-6, respectively; [0039]; Figs 3, 4B, 6; the manual test leads 112-n may provide banana jacks; [0054]).
Further regarding claim 7, Borin et al. do not teach a plurality of caps, each cap of the plurality of caps is configured to connect directly to a test post of the one or more test posts of the face plate of the test station assembly and, when each cap is connected to the test post of the one or more test posts, to fully cover the test post of the one or more test posts on the face plate except through an opening in each cap, each cap of the plurality of caps includes the opening sized to allow passage of the probe therethrough.
Further regarding claim 7, Rudaitis et al. teach a plurality of caps, each cap of the plurality of caps is configured to connect directly to a test post of one or more test posts and, when each cap is connected to the test post of the one or more test posts, to fully cover the test post of the one or more test posts except through an opening in each cap, each cap of the plurality of caps includes the opening sized to allow passage of a probe therethrough (banana jack adapter assembly 46; FIG. 2; insulated washer 80 and insulated head or guide bushing 82; FIG. 5; when the insulated washer 80 and the insulated head or guide busing 82 is mounted to the Z-shaped metal bracket 74, the washer 80 and bushing 82 fully cover the top portion of the threaded body 76; the internal opening of the bushing 82 allows passage of a probe) for the purpose of insulating electrical terminals to prevent inadvertent electrical contact.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a plurality of caps, each cap of the plurality of caps is configured to connect directly to a test post of the one or more test posts of the face plate of the test station assembly and, when each cap is connected to the test post of the one or more test posts, to fully cover the test post of the one or more test posts on the face plate except through an opening in each cap, each cap of the plurality of caps includes the opening sized to allow passage of the probe therethrough, as taught by Rudaitis et al., into Borin et al. for the purpose of insulating electrical terminals to prevent inadvertent electrical contact.
Regarding claim 8, Borin et al. teach wherein the housing and face plate are positioned in the container as a single component (the top surface that includes the output jacks 112-n is part of the internal support structure; FIG. 4B).
Regarding claim 9, Borin et al. teach wherein the electrical conductors are positioned within the container (the bottom 508 of the housing 500 may receive the wires 708-n; [0056]; Figs 1, 4B, 7).
Regarding claim 10, Borin et al. do not teach wherein a number of the plurality of caps positioned in the container correspond to a number of the test posts included on the face plate.
Further regarding claim 10, Rudaitis et al. teach a number of the plurality of caps positioned in the container correspond to a number of the test posts included on the face plate (there are about 10 banana jack adapter assemblies 46; FIG. 2) for the purpose of providing a number of insulated electrical terminals and preventing inadvertent electrical contact of a number of terminals.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein a number of the plurality of caps positioned in the container correspond to a number of the test posts included on the face plate, as taught by Rudaitis et al., into Borin et al. for the purpose of providing a number of insulated electrical terminals and preventing inadvertent electrical contact of a number of terminals.
Regarding claim 18, Borin et al. teach a kit to provide enhanced monitoring at a test station assembly of a cathodic protection system of an at least partially buried or submerged structure (the system 10 for monitoring, measuring, evaluating, confirming, gauging assessing, quantifying, calculating, computing, determining and observing the amount, level and criteria for cathodic protection of a structure 12 and/or combination of structures 12; [0022]; Figs 1-3), the kit comprising:
a container (housing assembly 500; FIG. 4B, 6);
a probe positioned in the container and configured to connect to a measurement device (with the top 506 remove, a technician may access the manual test leads 112-n, e.g., using test probes 802 configured with separate portable measurement equipment 800; [0051]; Figs 2, 4B; when the test probes 802 are connected to the manual test leads 112-n, the test probes 802 are positioned in the housing assembly 500);
one or more electrical conductors positioned in the container (the bottom 508 of the housing 500 may receive the wires 708-n; [0056]; Figs 1, 4B, 7);
a housing of the test station assembly positioned in the container (top surface of an internal support structure includes the output jacks 112-n; FIG. 4B; the internal support structure being the housing); and
a face plate positioned in the container and including one or more test posts, the face plate configured to connect to the housing of the test station assembly, the housing configured to receive the one or more electrical conductors attached to the test posts to electrically connect the test posts to a coupon assembly (the input terminals Tin-1 through Tin-6 may be configured with the terminals 110-1 through 110-6, and/or to wires 708-1 through 708-6, respectively, and the output terminals Tout-1 and Tout-2 may be electrically configured with the positive measurement lead ML+ and the negative measurement lead ML‒, respectively, of the voltage and/or current measuring device 106; [0042]; Figs 4A-4B; the test probe assembly 700 also may include wires 708 leading from each of the one or more test coupons 704; [0036]; top surface of an internal support structure includes the output jacks 112-n; FIG. 4B; the internal support structure being the housing), and
wherein the test posts are configured to facilitate measurement of voltage detected by the coupon assembly when (a) positioned proximate the structure and (b) attached to the one or more test posts (the input terminals Tin-1 through Tin-6 may be configured with the terminals 110-1 through 110-6, and/or to wires 708-1 through 708-6, respectively, and the output terminals Tout-1 and Tout-2 may be electrically configured with the positive measurement lead ML+ and the negative measurement lead ML‒, respectively, of the voltage and/or current measuring device 106; [0042]; Figs 4A-4B; the test probe assembly 700 also may include wires 708 leading from each of the one or more test coupons 704; [0036]; Figs 2-3; the connection assembly 102 also may include terminals 110-1, 110-2, 110-3, 110-4, 110-5, 110-6 each electrically configured with associated output jacks 112-1, 112-2, 112-3, 112-4, 112-5, 112-6, respectively; [0039]; Figs 3, 4B, 6; the manual test leads 112-n may provide banana jacks; [0054]).
Further regarding claim 18, Borin et al. do not teach a plurality of caps, each cap of the plurality of caps is a single unit configured to connect directly to a test post of the one or more test posts of the face plate of the test station assembly and, when each cap is connected to the test post of the one or more test posts, to fully cover the test post of the one or more test posts on the face plate except through an opening in each cap, a number of the plurality of caps positioned in the container correspond to a number of the test posts included on the face plate, wherein each cap of the plurality of caps includes the opening sized to allow passage of the probe therethrough.
Further regarding claim 18, Rudaitis et al. teach a plurality of caps, each cap of the plurality of caps is a single unit configured to connect directly to a test post of the one or more test posts of the face plate of the test station assembly and, when each cap is connected to the test post of the one or more test posts, to fully cover the test post of the one or more test posts on the face plate except through an opening in each cap, a number of the plurality of caps positioned in the container correspond to a number of the test posts included on the face plate, wherein each cap of the plurality of caps includes the opening sized to allow passage of the probe therethrough (banana jack adapter assembly 46; FIG. 2; insulated washer 80 and insulated head or guide bushing 82; FIG. 5; when the insulated washer 80 and the insulated head or guide busing 82 is mounted to the Z-shaped metal bracket 74, the washer 80 and bushing 82 fully cover the top portion of the threaded body 76; the internal opening of the bushing 82 allows passage of a probe; there are about 10 banana jack adapter assemblies 46; FIG. 2; when the washer 80 and the busing 82 are mounted, they form a single unit functioning to insulate the threaded body 76) for the purpose of providing a number of insulated electrical terminals and preventing inadvertent electrical contact of a number of terminals.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate a plurality of caps, each cap of the plurality of caps is a single unit configured to connect directly to a test post of the one or more test posts of the face plate of the test station assembly and, when each cap is connected to the test post of the one or more test posts, to fully cover the test post of the one or more test posts on the face plate except through an opening in each cap, a number of the plurality of caps positioned in the container correspond to a number of the test posts included on the face plate, wherein each cap of the plurality of caps includes the opening sized to allow passage of the probe therethrough, as taught by Rudaitis et al., into Borin et al. for the purpose of providing a number of insulated electrical terminals and preventing inadvertent electrical contact of a number of terminals.
Regarding claim 19, Borin et al. teach wherein the housing and faceplate are positioned in the container as a single component (the top surface that includes the output jacks 112-n is part of the internal support structure; FIG. 4B).
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Borin et al. (US 2021/0095380 A1) as modified by Rudaitis et al. (US 2014/0097827 A1) as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of D’Addario (US 2003/0013350 A1).
Regarding claim 20, Borin et al as modified by Rudaitis et al. teach wherein the one or more test posts comprises one or more colors, and wherein one of the one or more colors is configured to indicate a corresponding portion of the coupon assembly (the manual test leads 112-n may provide banana jacks, preferably are color coded for easy identification; [0054]; the test probe assembly 700 also may include wires 708, preferably color coded, leading from each of the one or more test coupons 704; [0036]; Borin; color coded banana jacks including color coded caps) but do not teach wherein the one or more caps include a label.
Further regarding claim 20, D’Addario teach one or more caps include a label (the coupler 16 also preferably includes a bridge 42 which ay advantageously be used as a flat surface for mounting, affixing, or positioning an identification label; [0034]; FIG. 3) for the purpose of easily identifying terminal posts. As such, the label is capable of being used with the color coding to easily identify the one or more test coupons the posts are connected to.
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to incorporate wherein the plurality of caps include a label, as taught by D’Addario, into Borin et al. as modified by Rudaitis et al. for the purpose of easily identifying terminal posts.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 1-6 and 11-17 are allowed.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
The primary reason for allowance of claim(s) 1-6 and 11 is the inclusion of “wherein each cap of the plurality of caps includes a recess that extends into an inner end of the cap and a bore that extends from the recess through the cap to the opening in an outer end of the cap, wherein the recess is configured to receive a nut of the respective test post so that the inner end of the cap abuts the face plate when connected to the respective test post”. These limitations, as they are claimed in the combination, have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, making claim(s) 1-6 and 11 allowable over the prior art.
The primary reason for allowance of claim(s) 12-17 is the inclusion of “wherein each cap of the one or more of caps includes a recess that extends into an inner end of the cap and a bore that extends from the recess through the cap to the opening in an outer end of the cap, wherein the recess is configured to receive a nut of the respective test post so that the inner end of the cap abuts the face plate when connected to the respective test post”. These limitations, as they are claimed in the combination, have not been found, taught or suggested by the prior art of record, making claim(s) 12-17 allowable over the prior art.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
16 January 2026
/KENDRICK X LIU/Examiner, Art Unit 2853
/DOUGLAS X RODRIGUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2853