Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 8-9, 15-16, 23-24, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Bushmeyer et al. (US 2021/0266733).
Regarding claim 1, Bushmeyer teaches a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 0025…a second electronic device), comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code (Paragraph [0004]), the processing system configured to cause the UE to: receive, via a sensor (Paragraphs 0024…photosensor) at the UE (a second electronic device), a signal comprising light output modulation of a light-emitting device (first electronic device) (Paragraph [0025]… the first electronic device includes a light-emitting device to generate the electromagnetic radiation signal encoding the information), the signal comprising encoded pairing information (Paragraph 0021…. establish a pairing between a peripheral device and a user device, such as a mobile device, authentication information may be securely exchanged between the peripheral device and the user device); decode the encoded pairing information of the signal to obtain pairing information associated with the light-emitting device (Paragraphs [0024-0025], especially paragraph [0024]…. The user device may include a processor and/or logic circuitry configured to decode the encoded authentication information and thereby acquire the authentication information. The user device may then pair with the peripheral device using the authentication information); and perform, at the UE, a Bluetooth pairing procedure with the light-emitting device based at least in part on the pairing information (Paragraph [0025]…….. a first electronic device to encode information in an electromagnetic radiation signal and transmit the electromagnetic radiation to a second electronic device to decode the encoded information. In one example, the first electronic device includes a light-emitting device to generate the electromagnetic radiation signal encoding the information, and the second electronic device includes a photosensor configured to receive and transduce the electromagnetic radiation signal for decoding. In one exemplary embodiment, the first electronic device may transmit pairing authentication information to the second electronic device to enable the second electronic device to pair with the first electronic device and thereby form a wireless connection (for example, a wireless connection pursuant to the Bluetooth Low-Energy technology standard) with the first electronic device).
Regarding claims 8, 15, 23, and 30, Bushmever teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the light-emitting device comprises a Bluetooth low energy smart light, a light-emitting diode (LED) television set (Paragraphs 0003, 0005, 0023, and 0063), or an LED equipped vehicle.
Regarding claim 9, Bushmeyer teaches a light-emitting device (Paragraph 0025….the first electronic device includes a light-emitting device), comprising: a processing system that includes processor circuitry and memory circuitry that stores code (Paragraph [0004]), the processing system configured to cause the light-emitting device to: generate encoded pairing information associated with the light-emitting device (Paragraph 0025….the first electronic device includes a light-emitting device to generate the electromagnetic radiation signal encoding the information, and the second electronic device includes a photosensor configured to receive and transduce the electromagnetic radiation signal for decoding. In one exemplary embodiment, the first electronic device may transmit pairing authentication information to the second electronic device to enable the second electronic device to pair with the first electronic device); transmit a signal comprising light output modulation of the light-emitting device (Paragraph [0025]… the first electronic device includes a light-emitting device to generate the electromagnetic radiation signal encoding the information), the signal comprising the encoded pairing information (Paragraph 0021…. establish a pairing between a peripheral device and a user device, such as a mobile device, authentication information may be securely exchanged between the peripheral device and the user device); and perform, at the light-emitting device, a Bluetooth pairing procedure with a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on the encoded pairing information (Paragraph [0025]…….. a first electronic device to encode information in an electromagnetic radiation signal and transmit the electromagnetic radiation to a second electronic device to decode the encoded information. In one example, the first electronic device includes a light-emitting device to generate the electromagnetic radiation signal encoding the information, and the second electronic device includes a photosensor configured to receive and transduce the electromagnetic radiation signal for decoding. In one exemplary embodiment, the first electronic device may transmit pairing authentication information to the second electronic device to enable the second electronic device to pair with the first electronic device and thereby form a wireless connection (for example, a wireless connection pursuant to the Bluetooth Low-Energy technology standard) with the first electronic device. Thus, in this embodiment, the first and second electronic device may establish a wireless connection based on information transmitted via an electromagnetic radiation signal output by the light-emitting device.).
Regarding claim 16, Bushmeyer teaches method for wireless communications at a user equipment (UE) (Paragraph 0025…a second electronic device), comprising: receiving, via a sensor (Paragraphs 0024…photosensor) at the UE (a second electronic device), a signal comprising light output modulation of a light-emitting device (first electronic device) (Paragraph [0025]… the first electronic device includes a light-emitting device to generate the electromagnetic radiation signal encoding the information), the signal comprising encoded pairing information (Paragraph 0021…. establish a pairing between a peripheral device and a user device, such as a mobile device, authentication information may be securely exchanged between the peripheral device and the user device); decoding the encoded pairing information of the signal to obtain pairing information associated with the light-emitting device (Paragraphs [0024-0025], especially paragraph [0024]…. The user device may include a processor and/or logic circuitry configured to decode the encoded authentication information and thereby acquire the authentication information. The user device may then pair with the peripheral device using the authentication information); and performing, at the UE, a Bluetooth pairing procedure with the light-emitting device based at least in part on the pairing information (Paragraph [0025]…….. a first electronic device to encode information in an electromagnetic radiation signal and transmit the electromagnetic radiation to a second electronic device to decode the encoded information. In one example, the first electronic device includes a light-emitting device to generate the electromagnetic radiation signal encoding the information, and the second electronic device includes a photosensor configured to receive and transduce the electromagnetic radiation signal for decoding. In one exemplary embodiment, the first electronic device may transmit pairing authentication information to the second electronic device to enable the second electronic device to pair with the first electronic device and thereby form a wireless connection (for example, a wireless connection pursuant to the Bluetooth Low-Energy technology standard) with the first electronic device).
Regarding claim 24, Bushmeyer teaches a method for wireless communications at a light-emitting device (Paragraph 0025….the first electronic device includes a light-emitting device), comprising: generating encoded pairing information associated with the light-emitting device (Paragraph 0025….the first electronic device includes a light-emitting device to generate the electromagnetic radiation signal encoding the information, and the second electronic device includes a photosensor configured to receive and transduce the electromagnetic radiation signal for decoding. In one exemplary embodiment, the first electronic device may transmit pairing authentication information to the second electronic device to enable the second electronic device to pair with the first electronic device); transmitting a signal comprising light output modulation of the light-emitting device (Paragraph [0025]… the first electronic device includes a light-emitting device to generate the electromagnetic radiation signal encoding the information), the signal comprising the encoded pairing information (Paragraph 0021…. establish a pairing between a peripheral device and a user device, such as a mobile device, authentication information may be securely exchanged between the peripheral device and the user device); and performing, at the light-emitting device, a Bluetooth pairing procedure with a user equipment (UE) based at least in part on the encoded pairing information (Paragraph [0025]…….. a first electronic device to encode information in an electromagnetic radiation signal and transmit the electromagnetic radiation to a second electronic device to decode the encoded information. In one example, the first electronic device includes a light-emitting device to generate the electromagnetic radiation signal encoding the information, and the second electronic device includes a photosensor configured to receive and transduce the electromagnetic radiation signal for decoding. In one exemplary embodiment, the first electronic device may transmit pairing authentication information to the second electronic device to enable the second electronic device to pair with the first electronic device and thereby form a wireless connection (for example, a wireless connection pursuant to the Bluetooth Low-Energy technology standard) with the first electronic device. Thus, in this embodiment, the first and second electronic device may establish a wireless connection based on information transmitted via an electromagnetic radiation signal output by the light-emitting device).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-3, 10-11, 17-18, and 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bushmeyer et al. (US 2021/0266733) in view of Chang et al. (US 2013/0288604).
Regarding claims 2, 10, 17, and 25, Bushmever fails to teach the UE of claim 1, wherein: the signal comprises personal identification information associated with the light-emitting device, and performing the Bluetooth pairing procedure with the light-emitting device is based at least in part on the personal identification information.
However, in related art, Chang teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein: the signal comprises personal identification information associated with the light-emitting device, and performing the Bluetooth pairing procedure with the light-emitting device is based at least in part on the personal identification information (Paragraphs [0033-0034]….. the master device selects a Bluetooth device desiring connection from among the searched Bluetooth devices, and then requests pairing. In this case, the Bluetooth device that receives the request for the pairing transmits personal identification information to the master device…….. When the personal identification information requested by the master device coincides with personal identification information received from the Bluetooth device, pairing between the master device and the Bluetooth device is completed). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Chang’s teaching about wherein: the signal comprises personal identification information associated with the light-emitting device, and performing the Bluetooth pairing procedure with the light-emitting device is based at least in part on the personal identification information with Bushmever’s invention in order to perform data/voice communications.
Regarding claims 3, 11, 18, and 26, the combination of Bushmever and Chang teach all the claimed elements in claim 2. In addition, Chang teaches the UE of claim 2, wherein the personal identification information comprises a personal identification number (PIN) or a passkey associated with the light-emitting device (Paragraph 0033….. The master device selects a Bluetooth device desiring connection from among the searched Bluetooth devices, and then requests pairing. In this case, the Bluetooth device that receives the request for the pairing transmits personal identification information to the master device. As an example of the personal identification information, a personal identification number (PIN) may be given).
Claims 4, 12, 19, and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bushmeyer et al. (US 2021/0266733) in view of Nascimento (US 2004/0145491).
Regarding claims 4, 12, 19, and 27, Bushmever fails to teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the signal further comprises an on-off keying signal, a variable pulse position modulation signal, a color shift keying signal, or any combination thereof.
However, in related art, Nascimento teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the signal further comprises an on-off keying signal (Paragraph 0019…... At least one segment (or transmission/reception) of the signal RF (e.g., at least operation or device one control signal) may be implemented as an unencoded or an encoded on/off keyed (OOK) signal), a variable pulse position modulation signal, a color shift keying signal, or any combination thereof. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Nascimento’s teaching about wherein the signal further comprises an on-off keying signal with Bushmever’s invention in order to control the device.
Claims 5, 13, 20, and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bushmeyer et al. (US 2021/0266733) in view of Nakamura (US Patent #7,974,535).
Regarding claims 5, 13, 20, and 28, Bushmever fails to teach the UE of claim 1, wherein, to receive the signal, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: detect a unique pattern of changes in light intensity of the light output modulation via the sensor at the UE.
However, in related art, Nakamura teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein, to receive the signal, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: detect a unique pattern of changes in light intensity of the light output modulation via the sensor at the UE (Col 2, lines 30-54). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Nascimento’s teaching about wherein, to receive the signal, the processing system is configured to cause the UE to: detect a unique pattern of changes in light intensity of the light output modulation via the sensor at the UE with Bushmever’s invention in order to have desired light intensity.
Claims 6, 14, 21, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bushmeyer et al. (US 2021/0266733) in view of Kudchadkar et al. (US 2021/0288716).
Regarding claims 6, 14, 21, and 29, Bushmever fails to teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises a light intensity flux sensor, a camera, or both.
However, in related art, Kudchadkar teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the sensor comprises a light intensity flux sensor, a camera (Paragraph 0043), or both. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Kudchadkar’s teaching about wherein the sensor comprises a camera with Bushmever’s invention in order to capture the light intensity of received signal.
Claims 7 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bushmeyer et al. (US 2021/0266733) in view of Zhang et al. (US 2020/0015301).
Regarding claims 7 and 22, Bushmever fails to teach the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: receive, a confirmation message indicating successful receipt of the encoded pairing information, wherein performing the Bluetooth pairing procedure is based at least in part on the confirmation message.
However, in related art, Zhang teaches the UE of claim 1, wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: receive, a confirmation message indicating successful receipt of the encoded pairing information, wherein performing the Bluetooth pairing procedure is based at least in part on the confirmation message (Paragraphs 0060-0061). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was made to use (pre-AIA ) or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to use Zhang’s teaching about wherein the processing system is further configured to cause the UE to: receive, a confirmation message indicating successful receipt of the encoded pairing information, wherein performing the Bluetooth pairing procedure is based at least in part on the confirmation message with Bushmever’s invention in order to obtain, transmit, or otherwise exchange or transfer information with the corresponding device.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Murray (US 2023/0140459), Nezamfar (US 2020/0076449), Hotta et al. (US 2018/0157456), Girard et al. (US 2018/0070419), Hardy et al. (US 2015/0256391), Sacha et al. (US Patent #8,891,793), Qin et al. (US 2013/0210357), and Abdelsamie et al. (US 2013/0095757).
/DOMINIC E REGO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2648 Tel 571-272-8132