DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species I, Figure 2, claims 1-11, 23-27, 31-44 in the reply filed on 06/19/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 12-22, 28-30 have been cancelled as being drawn to a nonelected Species II, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 06/19/2026.
Applicant is reminded that upon the cancelation of claims to a non-elected invention, the inventorship must be corrected in compliance with 37 CFR 1.48(a) if one or more of the currently named inventors is no longer an inventor of at least one claim remaining in the application. A request to correct inventorship under 37 CFR 1.48(a) must be accompanied by an application data sheet in accordance with 37 CFR 1.76 that identifies each inventor by his or her legal name and by the processing fee required under 37 CFR 1.17(i).
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that use the word “means” or “step” but are nonetheless not being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph because the claim limitation(s) recite(s) sufficient structure, materials, or acts to entirely perform the recited function. Such claim limitations are: “means for” in claims 42, 43.
If applicant intends to have this/these limitation(s) interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, applicant may: (1) amend the claim limitation(s) to remove the structure, materials, or acts that performs the claimed function; or (2) present a sufficient showing that the claim limitation(s) does/do not recite sufficient structure, materials, or acts to perform the claimed function.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 6, 11, 23, 24, 26, 36- 38, 40, 42, 43 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yi (US 2023/0232421 A1) in view of Gunduz (US 2021/0319286 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Yi discloses a wireless device (e.g. Fig. 15), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code; and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the wireless device (e.g Fig. 15 and Paragraph [0207]) to: scramble a message sequence based at least in part on a scrambling configuration (e.g. Fig. 16a, Fig. 16c, Paragraph [02016, 0218]); modulate the scrambled message sequence to generate a codeword (e.g. Fig. 16c and Paragraph [0218]); and transmit a signal based at least in part on the codeword (e.g. Fig. 16c, and Paragraph [0218]).
Although Yi discloses modulate the scrambled message sequence to generate a codeword (e.g. Fig. 16c and Paragraph [0218]); it fails to explicitly disclose to encode the scrambled message sequence based at least in part on a non- linear channel encoder configured to encode and to generate a codeword.
However, Gunduz teaches to encode the scrambled message sequence based at least in part on a non-linear channel encoder configured to encode (e.g. Fig. 2 Joint source channel coding autoencoder, Paragraph [0161]) and to generate a codeword (e.g. Paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to incorporate the coder as taught as Gunduz into device of Yi in order to efficiently and reliably send data over a communication channel at a high rate as possible with fewer errors.
Regarding Claims 2, 24, 38, 43, Yi discloses to communicate the scrambling configuration, the scrambling configuration indicating a change of a scrambling sequence between transmissions, wherein scrambling the message sequence comprises scrambling the message sequence in accordance with the scrambling sequence (e.g. Fig. 13A, Paragraph [0177, 0178]).
Regarding Claims 6, 26, 40, Yi discloses scrambling the message sequence is performed to reduce a per-message block error rate (BLER) spread of a set of message sequences that includes the message sequence (e.g. Paragraph [0173]).
Regarding Claims 11, 36, Gunduz further teaches the non-linear channel encoder is an artificial intelligence-based channel encoder (e.g. Fig. 2 Joint source channel coding autoencoder, Paragraph [0161]).
Regarding Claim 23, Yi discloses a method for wireless communications at a wireless device (e.g. Paragraph [0042]), comprising: scramble a message sequence based at least in part on a scrambling configuration (e.g. Fig. 16a, Fig. 16c, Paragraph [02016, 0218]); modulate the scrambled message sequence to generate a codeword (e.g. Fig. 16c and Paragraph [0218]); and transmit a signal based at least in part on the codeword (e.g. Fig. 16c, and Paragraph [0218]).
Although Yi discloses modulate the scrambled message sequence to generate a codeword (e.g. Fig. 16c and Paragraph [0218]); it fails to explicitly disclose to encode the scrambled message sequence based at least in part on a non- linear channel encoder configured to encode and to generate a codeword.
However, Gunduz teaches to encode the scrambled message sequence based at least in part on a non-linear channel encoder configured to encode (e.g. Fig. 2 Joint source channel coding autoencoder, Paragraph [0161]) and to generate a codeword (e.g. Paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to incorporate the coder as taught as Gunduz into method of Yi in order to efficiently and reliably send data over a communication channel at a high rate as possible with fewer errors.
Regarding Claim 37, Yi discloses a non-transitory computer-readable medium storing code for wireless communications (e.g. Paragraph [0213]), the code comprising instructions executable by one or more processors to: scramble a message sequence based at least in part on a scrambling configuration (e.g. Fig. 16a, Fig. 16c, Paragraph [02016, 0218]); modulate the scrambled message sequence to generate a codeword (e.g. Fig. 16c and Paragraph [0218]); and transmit a signal based at least in part on the codeword (e.g. Fig. 16c, and Paragraph [0218]).
Although Yi discloses modulate the scrambled message sequence to generate a codeword (e.g. Fig. 16c and Paragraph [0218]); it fails to explicitly disclose to encode the scrambled message sequence based at least in part on a non- linear channel encoder configured to encode and to generate a codeword.
However, Gunduz teaches to encode the scrambled message sequence based at least in part on a non-linear channel encoder configured to encode (e.g. Fig. 2 Joint source channel coding autoencoder, Paragraph [0161]) and to generate a codeword (e.g. Paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to incorporate the coder as taught as Gunduz into method of Yi in order to efficiently and reliably send data over a communication channel at a high rate as possible with fewer errors.
Regarding Claim 42, Yi discloses a wireless device (e.g. Fig. 15), comprising: means for scrambling a message sequence based at least in part on a scrambling configuration (e.g. Fig. 16a, Fig. 16c, Paragraph [02016, 0218]); means for modulating the scrambled message sequence to generate a codeword (e.g. Fig. 16c and Paragraph [0218]); and means for transmitting a signal based at least in part on the codeword (e.g. Fig. 16c, and Paragraph [0218]).
Although Yi discloses to modulate the scrambled message sequence to generate a codeword (e.g. Fig. 16c and Paragraph [0218]); it fails to explicitly disclose to encode the scrambled message sequence based at least in part on a non- linear channel encoder configured to encode and to generate a codeword.
However, Gunduz teaches to encode the scrambled message sequence based at least in part on a non-linear channel encoder configured to encode (e.g. Fig. 2 Joint source channel coding autoencoder, Paragraph [0161]) and to generate a codeword (e.g. Paragraph [0020]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at time of the invention to incorporate the coder as taught as Gunduz into device of Yi in order to efficiently and reliably send data over a communication channel at a high rate as possible with fewer errors.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-5, 7-10, 25, 27, 31-35, 39, 41, 44 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Lei (US 2021/0219296 A1), discloses modified downlink control information;
Ly (US 2019/0007179 A1), discloses demodulation reference signals.
/YULIN SUN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2485