Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a1) as being anticipated by Hong et al. (US 2020/0136173).
Regarding claim 1, Hong teaches a charging control apparatus in (see fig. 11) comprising: a storage device (ROM, 32) configured to store a battery model (para 0121, 0131); a detection device configured to detect an external state value comprising at least one of a voltage, a current, or a temperature of a battery (variable: T, V(t) see para 0134); and a control device (30) configured to control a charging current by using feedback loop control (see feedback to the charger via charging algorithms, 38) in which at least one internal state value of the battery (anode parameters) is estimated by using the battery model and the external state value “as a corrected internal state” by element (correction unit, 34) and configured to determine a first charging current value based on the at least one internal state value (para 0131-0140).
Regarding claim 9, Hong wherein the control device comprises one or more controllers capable of the feedback loop control comprise; and wherein the controller is configured to perform at least one control function of proportional (P) control, integral (I) control, or differential (D) control in (see para 0121, Table 1) which teaches using differential equations to determine charging parameters.
Regarding claim 10, Hong teaches wherein the control device is configured to communicate with a charger, and is configured to control a charging current by transferring the first charging current value to the charger in (see fig. 11).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0136173) in view of Jung et al. (US 2022/0115875, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 2, Hong et al. teaches updating internal state of a battery to a corrected internal state “target value”, degradation levels and SOC which can be used in determining charging current.
However, Hong fails to teach explicitly the subject matter of wherein the control device is configured to determine the first charging current value such that the at least one internal state value converges to a target value, and is configured to control the charging current based on the first charging current value.
Jung et al. teaches in (see figs. 3, 6-7) teaches a processor and memory system wherein a processor or control device is configured to determine charging current based on an estimated internal state value and configured to control subsequent charging current in (see para 0044, 0045, 0058, 0065, 0066, 0082, 0083).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jung et al. into that of Hong thus making it possible to consider the battery type and degradation to enhance the longevity of the battery by not overcharging it.
Claim(s) 2 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0136173) in view of Sugiyama et al. (US 11,187,754).
Regarding claims 2 and 6, Hong et al. teaches using electro-chemical for modeling an internal state of a secondary battery cell having one or more specifications similar to the battery type.
Sugiyama teaches an internal state estimation apparatus and method and battery control apparatus in (see figs. 1-9, 15) wherein the battery model comprises an electrochemical model for modelling an internal state of a secondary battery cell having one or more specifications that are substantially similar to those of the battery by means of estimators such as shown in (see fig. 2 and column 4). Sugiyama teaches setting target value for internal battery states in (see figs. 5-6) and considered in making charging decisions in (see fig. 15).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Sugiyama into that of Hong thus making it possible to model a charging current (see fig. 16 of Sugiyama) for a battery based on parameters associated with the battery and to mitigate deterioration.
Claim(s) 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0136173) in view of Jung et al. (US 2022/0115875, cited by applicant) and further in view of Koketsu (US 2022/0299576).
Regarding claim 3, The combination fails to teach wherein the target value corresponds to a boundary value between a high degradation region and a low degradation region divided with reference to an internal state of the battery.
Koketsu teaches a method of estimation external degradation state of degraded cell and measurement system of carrying out method wherein a target value can be extrapolated between a low region and high region in (see fig. 3-5, para 0005-0009, para 0041-0058) wherein a target value can be generated by looking at different degradation boundaries via differential extraction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Koketsu into that of the combination thus making it possible to determine the ideal degradation level for a battery and to operate the battery accordingly.
Regarding claim 5, see the explanation as set forth regarding claim 3. The limitation wherein the internal state comprises a cathode potential, and wherein the target value comprises a value that is less than an operating region voltage of a battery cell of the battery would be read as in a charging state, the cathode potential becomes the negative electrode potential and according to (see figs. 3-4 of Koketsu), the negative potential or electrode becomes lower than the ideal operating target voltage (10 of fig. 4 or 20 of fig. 3). Electrolytic Cell (Charging Battery): The cathode is negative (it connects to the negative side of a power source to push electrons into the chemical reaction
Claim(s) 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0136173) in view of Jung et al. (US 2022/0115875, cited by applicant) and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0116510).
Regarding claim 3, The combination fails to teach wherein the target value corresponds to a boundary value between a high degradation region and a low degradation region divided with reference to an internal state of the battery.
Kim teaches a battery state estimation in (see figs. 10, 11) wherein the internal state of a battery initially and updated can be used in deciding charging parameters by analyzing the difference between the two states (degradation levels, SOH) (see para 0004-0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into that of the combination thus making it possible to determine the ideal degradation level for a battery and to operate the battery accordingly.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0136173) in view of Jung et al. (US 2022/0115875, cited by applicant) and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0116510) and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2019/0190277, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 4, The combination fails to teach wherein the internal state comprises an anode potential, and wherein the target value comprises a value that is greater than 0.
Jung et al. teaches method and apparatus for charging in (see fig. 3 and para 0063) that an anode potential could be less than 0.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Jung into that of the combination thus making it possible to set a limit and control degradation levels to enhance the battery.
Claim(s) 7 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0136173) in view of Sugiyama et al. (US 11,187,754) and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2019/0190277, cited by applicant).
Regarding claim 7, The combination fails to teach wherein the control device is configured to determine second charging current values in a current range for internal state values that are estimated by using the battery model to converge to respective target values, and is configured to determine a current value satisfying all of the second charging current values as the first charging current value.
Jung et al. teaches in (see fig. 5) a method and apparatus with battery charging wherein the control device is configured to determine second charging current values (Delta I1, I2, In) in a current range for internal state values that are estimated (S1, ….Sn) by using the battery model to converge to “read as correlated” to respective target values (C1, A1, C2, A2, Cn, An), and is configured to determine a current value satisfying all of the second charging current values as the first charging current value (final variation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jung into that of the combination thus making it possible to determine how a battery is to be charged to avoid further degradation and enhance the lifetime of the battery.
Regarding claim 8, The combination fails to teach wherein the control device is configured to determine second charging current values for internal state values that are estimated by using the battery model to converge the target value, respectively, and is configured to determine the first charging current value by sequentially referring to the second charging current values according to a processing sequence based on a priority.
Jung et al. teaches in (see fig. 5) a method and apparatus with battery charging wherein the control device is configured to determine second charging current values (Delta I1, I2, In) in a current range for internal state values that are estimated (S1, ….Sn) by using the battery model to converge to “read as correlated” to respective target values (C1, A1, C2, A2, Cn, An), and is configured to determine a current value satisfying all of the second charging current values as the first charging current value (final variation). Fig. 5 teaches a plurality of variable sequentially prioritized in the order of the internal state, degradation condition, individual variation and so forth to determine a charging current and also, the different charging time periods or profiles (see para 0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jung into that of the combination thus making it possible to determine how a battery is to be charged to avoid further degradation and enhance the lifetime of the battery.
Claim(s) 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0136173) in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/01116510).
Regarding claim 11, Hong teaches a charging control apparatus in (see fig. 11) comprising: a storage device (ROM, 32) configured to store a battery model (para 0121, 0131); a detection device configured to detect an external state value comprising at least one of a voltage, a current, or a temperature of a battery (variable: T, V(t) see para 0134); and a control device (30) configured to control a charging current by using feedback loop control (see feedback to the charger via charging algorithms, 38) in which at least one internal state value of the battery (anode parameters) is estimated by using the battery model and the external state value “as a corrected internal state” by element (correction unit, 34) and configured to determine a first charging current value based on the at least one internal state value (para 0131-0140).
Hong teaches a controller which can be considered a battery management controller for controlling a battery as shown in see figs. but fails to explicitly teach a battery pack along with the battery management system.
Kim et al. teaches a method and apparatus with battery state estimation in (see fig. 2, 14) wherein degradation and internal state (figs. 1, 9/10) can be determined. Kim teaches a battery management system with a battery pack in (see fig. 14).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into that Hong thus making it possible to determine the status of a plurality of batteries and to make corrective decisions to enhance the lifetime of a battery by mitigating degradation.
Regarding claim 12, see the explanation as set forth regarding claim 11.
Claim(s) 13, 16 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0136173) in view of Jung et al. (US 2019/0190277)
Regarding claim 13, Hong teaches a charging control apparatus in (see fig. 11) comprising: a storage device (ROM, 32) configured to store a battery model (para 0121, 0131); a detection device configured to detect an external state value comprising at least one of a voltage, a current, or a temperature of a battery (variable: T, V(t) see para 0134); and a control device (30) configured to control a charging current by using feedback loop control (see feedback to the charger via charging algorithms, 38) in which at least one internal state value of the battery (anode parameters) is estimated by using the battery model and the external state value “as a corrected internal state” by element (correction unit, 34) and configured to determine a first charging current value based on the at least one internal state value (para 0131-0140).
Hong teaches a system wherein the process of repeating the process can be obvious but does not explicitly teach repeatedly performing the detecting, the estimating, the determining, and the controlling, while charging the battery pack.
Jung teaches a method and apparatus with battery charging wherein repeatedly performing the detecting, the estimating, the determining, and the controlling, while charging the battery pack in (see fig. 5., para 0075-0077) and fig. 9).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jung into that of Hing thus making it possible to control the degradation level of a battery by considering updated parameters associated with the battery.
Regarding claim 16, The combination teaches wherein the internal state comprises at least one of an anode potential, a cathode potential, or a cathode concentration (see para 0034, 0041, 0077, 0135, 0140 of Hong et al.).
Regarding claim 17, The combination teaches wherein the battery model comprises an electrochemical model for modelling an internal state of a secondary battery cell having one or more specifications that are substantially similar to those of the battery (see Hong ( para 0131-140) or Kim) .
Claim(s) 14, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0136173) in view of Jung et al. (US 2019/0190277) and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2022/0115875).
Regarding claim 14, The combination fails to teach explicitly the subject matter of wherein the control device is configured to determine the first charging current value such that the at least one internal state value converges to a target value, and is configured to control the charging current based on the first charging current value.
Jung et al. teaches in (see figs. 3, 6-7) teaches a processor and memory system wherein a processor or control device is configured to determine charging current based on an estimated internal state value and configured to control subsequent charging current in (see para 0044, 0045, 0058, 0065, 0066, 0082, 0083).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jung et al. into that of the combination thus making it possible to consider the battery type and degradation to enhance the longevity of the battery by not overcharging it.
Regarding claim 18, The combination as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 fails to address wherein the control device is configured to determine second charging current values in a current range for internal state values that are estimated by using the battery model to converge to respective target values, and is configured to determine a current value satisfying all of the second charging current values as the first charging current value.
Jung et al. (US 2019/0190277) teaches in (see fig. 5) a method and apparatus with battery charging wherein the control device is configured to determine second charging current values (Delta I1, I2, In) in a current range for internal state values that are estimated (S1, ….Sn) by using the battery model to converge to “read as correlated” to respective target values (C1, A1, C2, A2, Cn, An), and is configured to determine a current value satisfying all of the second charging current values as the first charging current value (final variation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jung into that of the combination thus making it possible to determine how a battery is to be charged to avoid further degradation and enhance the lifetime of the battery.
Regarding claim 19, The combination as set forth in the rejection of claim 14 fails to address wherein the control device is configured to determine second charging current values in a current range for internal state values that are estimated by using the battery model to converge to respective target values, and is configured to determine a current value satisfying all of the second charging current values as the first charging current value.
Jung et al. (US 2019/0190277) teaches in (see fig. 5) a method and apparatus with battery charging wherein the control device is configured to determine second charging current values (Delta I1, I2, In) in a current range for internal state values that are estimated (S1, ….Sn) by using the battery model to converge to “read as correlated” to respective target values (C1, A1, C2, A2, Cn, An), and is configured to determine a current value satisfying all of the second charging current values as the first charging current value (final variation). Fig. 5 teaches a plurality of variable sequentially prioritized in the order of the internal state, degradation condition, individual variation and so forth to determine a charging current and also, the different charging time periods or profiles (see para 0076).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Jung into that of the combination thus making it possible to determine how a battery is to be charged to avoid further degradation and enhance the lifetime of the battery.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. (US 2020/0136173) in view of Jung et al. (US 2019/0190277) and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2022/0115875) and . and further in view of Koketsu (US 2022/0299576).
Regarding claim 15, The combination fails to teach wherein the target value corresponds to a boundary value between a high degradation region and a low degradation region divided with reference to an internal state of the battery.
Koketsu teaches a method of estimation external degradation state of degraded cell and measurement system of carrying out method wherein a target value can be extrapolated between a low region and high region in (see fig. 3-5, para 0005-0009, para 0041-0058) wherein a target value can be generated by looking at different degradation boundaries via differential extraction.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Koketsu into that of the combination thus making it possible to determine the ideal degradation level for a battery and to operate the battery accordingly.
Claim(s) 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hong et al. in(US 2020/0136173) in view of Jung et al. (US 2019/0190277) and further in view of Jung et al. (US 2022/0115875) and . and further in view of Kim et al. (US 2021/0116510).
Regarding claim 15, The combination fails to teach wherein the target value corresponds to a boundary value between a high degradation region and a low degradation region divided with reference to an internal state of the battery.
Kim teaches a battery state estimation in (see figs. 10, 11) wherein the internal state of a battery initially and updated can be used in deciding charging parameters by analyzing the difference between the two states (degradation levels, SOH) (see para 0004-0020).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the teaching of Kim into that of the combination thus making it possible to determine the ideal degradation level for a battery and to operate the battery accordingly.
Conclusion
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/REXFORD N BARNIE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2836