DETAILED ACTION
Status Of Claims
Claims 1-12, received 1/4/2024, are pending for examination.
If applicant is aware of any relevant prior art, or other co-pending application not already of record, he/she is reminded of his/her duty under 37 CFR 1.56 to disclose the same.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Que et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2025/0208371 A1 (hereafter Que).
Regarding Claim 1, Que discloses an optical image stabilization device, applicable to a lens having an optical axis (see at least the title and abstract) and comprising:
a housing having a mounting space (see at least elements 10, 50 and 34, para. [0077]);
a focusing structure provided in the mounting space (see at least elements 21 and 22);
an elastic connection structure connected between the focusing structure and the housing and configured to enable the focusing structure to have a movement trend toward a first side of the housing in a direction of the optical axis in a free state (see at least elements 23, 231, 232 and 233, paras. [0079], [0094], [0096]);
image stabilization balls provided between the focusing structure and the first side of the housing, wherein the image stabilization balls are sandwiched between the focusing structure and the first side of the housing due to the movement trend, and the image stabilization balls are capable of rolling in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis under an external force (see at least element 42, paras. [0072], [0074], [0089]); and
a driving structure provided at the focusing structure and the housing and configured to generate a driving force between the focusing structure and the housing to drive the focusing structure to move and simultaneously make the image stabilization balls roll, in such a manner that the focusing structure moves in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis under a guidance of the image stabilization balls (see at least elements 32, 33, paras. [0074]-[0075], [0078]).
Regarding Claim 2, Que discloses the limitations of claim 1, wherein the housing comprises an upper cover and a base detachably connected to each other, the mounting space is enclosed by the upper cover and the base (see at least elements 10, 50 and 34, para. [0077]), the focusing structure is connected to the base through an elastic sheet (see at least elements 23, 231, 232 and 233, paras. [0079], [0094], [0096]), a gap is formed between the focusing structure and the base, and the image stabilization balls are located between the focusing structure and the base (see at least element 42, paras. [0072], [0074], [0089]).
Regarding Claim 3, Que discloses the limitations of claim 2, wherein an end of the focusing structure facing the base is provided with first bearing platforms spaced from one another, an end of each of the first bearing platforms facing the base is provided with a first rolling groove (see at least element 226, figure 4, paras. [0072], [0089]-[0090]), an end of the base facing the focusing structure is provided with a second bearing platform at a position corresponding to each of the first bearing platforms, the second bearing platform is provided with a second rolling groove at a position corresponding to each of the first rolling grooves (see at least elements 41, 521, figures 4, 13, paras. [0074], [0088]-[0090]), to form a limiting space between each of the first bearing platforms and each of the second bearing platforms, and each of the image stabilization balls is arranged in the limiting space (see at least figure 4).
Regarding Claim 4, Que discloses the limitations of claim 2, wherein the driving structure comprises shared magnets arranged in the focusing structure, a main board is arranged at the base, and the main board is connected to an image stabilization coil at a position corresponding to each of the shared magnets (see at least elements 32, 33, 34, paras. [0075]-[0076], [0094]-[0097]).
Regarding Claim 12, Que discloses an optical device, comprising an optical image stabilization device, wherein the optical image stabilization device is applicable to a lens having an optical axis (see at least the title and abstract) and comprises:
a housing having a mounting space (see at least elements 10, 50 and 34, para. [0077]);
a focusing structure provided in the mounting space (see at least elements 21 and 22);
an elastic connection structure connected between the focusing structure and the housing and configured to enable the focusing structure to have a movement trend toward a first side of the housing in a direction of the optical axis in a free state (see at least elements 23, 231, 232 and 233, paras. [0079], [0094], [0096]);
image stabilization balls provided between the focusing structure and the first side of the housing, wherein the image stabilization balls are sandwiched between the focusing structure and the first side of the housing due to the movement trend, and the image stabilization balls are capable of rolling in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis under an external force (see at least element 42, paras. [0072], [0074], [0089]); and
a driving structure provided at the focusing structure and the housing and configured to generate a driving force between the focusing structure and the housing to drive the focusing structure to move and simultaneously make the image stabilization balls roll, in such a manner that the focusing structure moves in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis under a guidance of the image stabilization balls (see at least elements 32, 33, paras. [0074]-[0075], [0078]).
Claims 1-5, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kwon et al., U.S. Patent Application Number 2024/0176097 A1 (hereafter Kwon).
Regarding Claim 1, Kwon discloses an optical image stabilization device, applicable to a lens having an optical axis (see at least the abstract, para. [0089]) and comprising:
a housing having a mounting space (see at least elements 130 and 110, para. [0094]);
a focusing structure provided in the mounting space (see at least elements 200, 210 and 230);
an elastic connection structure connected between the focusing structure and the housing and configured to enable the focusing structure to have a movement trend toward a first side of the housing in a direction of the optical axis in a free state (see at least element 510, paras. [0086]-[0087], [0184]-[0190]);
image stabilization balls provided between the focusing structure and the first side of the housing, wherein the image stabilization balls are sandwiched between the focusing structure and the first side of the housing due to the movement trend, and the image stabilization balls are capable of rolling in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis under an external force (see at least element B1, paras. [0091]-[0093], [0139]-[0144); and
a driving structure provided at the focusing structure and the housing and configured to generate a driving force between the focusing structure and the housing to drive the focusing structure to move and simultaneously make the image stabilization balls roll, in such a manner that the focusing structure moves in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis under a guidance of the image stabilization balls (see at least elements 411, 451, 412,452, paras. [0106]-[0107], [0125]-[0126]).
Regarding Claim 2, Kwon discloses the limitations of claim 1, wherein the housing comprises an upper cover and a base detachably connected to each other, the mounting space is enclosed by the upper cover and the base (see at least elements 130, 110), the focusing structure is connected to the base through an elastic sheet (see at least elements 200, 210, 230, 110, 510, paras. [0086]-[0087], [0184]-[0190]), a gap is formed between the focusing structure and the base, and the image stabilization balls are located between the focusing structure and the base (see at least element B1).
Regarding Claim 3, Kwon discloses the limitations of claim 2, wherein an end of the focusing structure facing the base is provided with first bearing platforms spaced from one another, an end of each of the first bearing platforms facing the base is provided with a first rolling groove (see at least element 310), an end of the base facing the focusing structure is provided with a second bearing platform at a position corresponding to each of the first bearing platforms, the second bearing platform is provided with a second rolling groove at a position corresponding to each of the first rolling grooves (see at least element 111), to form a limiting space between each of the first bearing platforms and each of the second bearing platforms, and each of the image stabilization balls is arranged in the limiting space (see at least paras. [0148]-[0156]).
Regarding Claim 4, Kwon discloses the limitations of claim 2, wherein the driving structure comprises shared magnets arranged in the focusing structure (see at least elements 411 and 412), a main board is arranged at the base (see at least element 490), and the main board is connected to an image stabilization coil at a position corresponding to each of the shared magnets (see at least elements 451 and 452).
Regarding Claim 5, Kwon discloses the limitations of claim 4, wherein the focusing structure comprises a bracket (see at least element 230) and a lens barrel (see at least element 210), the bracket comprises a through-hole, the lens barrel is movably disposed in the through-hole along the direction of the optical axis (see at least elements 210, 230, para. [0083]), the elastic sheet comprises an upper elastic sheet (see at least element 510) and a lower elastic sheet arranged at two opposite sides of the focusing structure in the direction of the optical axis (see at least element 530), a partial structure of the upper elastic sheet is connected to each of the base, the bracket, and the lens barrel (see at least elements 510, 513, 512, 511, paras. [0184], [0189]), and the lower elastic sheet is connected to the bracket and the lens barrel (see at least element 530, para. [0185]).
Regarding Claim 12, Kwon discloses an optical device, comprising an optical image stabilization device, wherein the optical image stabilization device is applicable to a lens having an optical axis (see at least the abstract, para. [0089]) and comprises:
a housing having a mounting space (see at least elements 130 and 110, para. [0094]);
a focusing structure provided in the mounting space (see at least elements 200, 210 and 230);
an elastic connection structure connected between the focusing structure and the housing and configured to enable the focusing structure to have a movement trend toward a first side of the housing in a direction of the optical axis in a free state (see at least element 510, paras. [0086]-[0087], [0184]-[0190]);
image stabilization balls provided between the focusing structure and the first side of the housing, wherein the image stabilization balls are sandwiched between the focusing structure and the first side of the housing due to the movement trend, and the image stabilization balls are capable of rolling in a plane perpendicular to the optical axis under an external force (see at least element B1, paras. [0091]-[0093], [0139]-[0144); and
a driving structure provided at the focusing structure and the housing and configured to generate a driving force between the focusing structure and the housing to drive the focusing structure to move and simultaneously make the image stabilization balls roll, in such a manner that the focusing structure moves in a direction perpendicular to the optical axis under a guidance of the image stabilization balls (see at least elements 411, 451, 412,452, paras. [0106]-[0107], [0125]-[0126]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Que et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2025/0208371 A1 (hereafter Que) in view of Kwon et al., U.S. Patent Application Number 2024/0176097 A1 (hereafter Kwon).
Regarding Claim 5, Que discloses the limitations of claim 4, wherein the focusing structure comprises a bracket (see at least element 22) and a lens barrel (see at least element 21), the bracket comprises a through-hole, the lens barrel is movably disposed in the through-hole along the direction of the optical axis (see at least elements 21, 22, para. [0074]), the elastic sheet comprises an upper elastic sheet and a lower elastic sheet arranged at two opposite sides of the focusing structure in the direction of the optical axis, a partial structure of the upper elastic sheet is connected to each of the base, the bracket, and the lens barrel, and the lower elastic sheet is connected to the bracket and the lens barrel (see at least elements 23, 231, 232 and 233, paras. [0079], [0094], [0096], wherein connected structures 231 and 233 may be considered the upper elastic sheet which is connected to the base, bracket and lens barrel).
In the alternative, if Que is interpreted to not disclose that the elastic sheet comprises an upper elastic sheet and a lower elastic sheet arranged at two opposite sides of the focusing structure in the direction of the optical axis, a partial structure of the upper elastic sheet is connected to each of the base, the bracket, and the lens barrel, and the lower elastic sheet is connected to the bracket and the lens barrel, Kwon additionally teaches these limitations.
Kwon teaches an optical image stabilization device including a housing (see at least elements 130 and 110 of Kwon), a focusing structure (see at least elements 200, 210 and 230 of Kwon), an elastic connection structure connected between the focusing structure and the housing (see at least element 510 of Kwon), image stabilization balls provided between the focusing structure and the first side of the housing (see at least element B1 of Kwon), and a driving structure provided at the focusing structure and the housing (see at least elements 411, 451, 412,452 of Kwon); and wherein the focusing structure comprises a bracket (see at least element 230 of Kwon) and a lens barrel (see at least element 210 of Kwon), the bracket comprises a through-hole, the lens barrel is movably disposed in the through-hole along the direction of the optical axis (see at least elements 210, 230, para. [0083] of Kwon), the elastic sheet comprises an upper elastic sheet (see at least element 510 of Kwon) and a lower elastic sheet arranged at two opposite sides of the focusing structure in the direction of the optical axis (see at least element 530 of Kwon), a partial structure of the upper elastic sheet is connected to each of the base, the bracket, and the lens barrel (see at least elements 510, 513, 512, 511, paras. [0184], [0189] of Kwon), and the lower elastic sheet is connected to the bracket and the lens barrel (see at least element 530, para. [0185] of Kwon).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image stabilization device of Que to include the teachings of Kwon so that the elastic sheet comprises an upper elastic sheet and a lower elastic sheet arranged at two opposite sides of the focusing structure in the direction of the optical axis, a partial structure of the upper elastic sheet is connected to each of the base, the bracket, and the lens barrel, and the lower elastic sheet is connected to the bracket and the lens barrel, for the purpose of allowing movement of the optical elements for focusing and optical image stabilization while also providing support between the base, bracket and lens barrel.
Regarding Claim 6, Que discloses the limitations of claim 5, wherein the upper elastic sheet comprises a first upper connecting part, a second upper connecting part and a third upper connecting part, and wherein the first upper connecting part and the second upper connecting part are connected to each other through a first bending part, the second upper connecting part and the third upper connecting part are connected to each other through a second bending part (see at least element 231 in figures 2, 3 and 6, wherein multiple corner connecting parts are connected to each other through multiple bending parts), the bracket is provided with a first connecting pin (see at least element 22, and figure 10 where pins can be seen for connecting to corner upper connecting parts of upper elastic sheet 231), the lens barrel is provided with a second connecting pin (see at least element 21, and figure 9 where pins can be seen for connecting to upper elastic sheet 231), the second upper connecting part and the third upper connecting part are connected to the first connecting pin and the second connecting pin, and the first upper connecting part is connected to the base (see at least figure 6, wherein multiple corner connecting parts of sheet 231 are connected to the pins of bracket 22, and wherein the connecting parts of sheet portion 233 are connected to the base).
In the alternative, if Que is interpreted to not disclose that the upper elastic sheet comprises a first upper connecting part, a second upper connecting part and a third upper connecting part, and wherein the first upper connecting part and the second upper connecting part are connected to each other through a first bending part, the second upper connecting part and the third upper connecting part are connected to each other through a second bending part, Kwon additionally teaches these limitations.
Kwon further teaches an optical image stabilization device wherein the upper elastic sheet comprises a first upper connecting part (see at least one of elements 513, 512 and/or 511 of Kwon), a second upper connecting part and a third upper connecting part (see at least two of elements 513, 512 and/or 511 of Kwon), and wherein the first upper connecting part and the second upper connecting part are connected to each other through a first bending part (see at least one of elements 516, 515 and/or 514 of Kwon), the second upper connecting part and the third upper connecting part are connected to each other through a second bending part (see at least another of elements 516, 515 and/or 514 of Kwon).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image stabilization device of Que to include the teachings of Kwon so that the upper elastic sheet comprises a first upper connecting part, a second upper connecting part and a third upper connecting part, and wherein the first upper connecting part and the second upper connecting part are connected to each other through a first bending part, the second upper connecting part and the third upper connecting part are connected to each other through a second bending part, for the purpose of using a known design for an elastic sheet for allowing movement of the optical elements for focusing and/or optical image stabilization while also providing support between the base, bracket and lens barrel.
Regarding Claim 7, Que in view of Kwon discloses the limitations of claim 6, wherein the lower elastic sheet comprises a first lower connecting part and a second lower connecting part, and wherein the first lower connecting part and the second lower connecting part are connected to each other through the second bending part, the first lower connecting part is fixedly connected to the bracket, and the second lower connecting part is fixedly connected to the lens barrel (see at least element 232, paras. [0079], [0096] of Que).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Que et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2025/0208371 A1 (hereafter Que) in view of Kwon et al., U.S. Patent Application Number 2024/0176097 A1 (hereafter Kwon) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Zhuo et al., CN 215813672 U (hereafter Zhuo; It is noted that the pages of the specification of Zhuo referenced below are with respect to the pages of the English machine translation provided herewith).
Regarding claim 8, Que in view of Kwon discloses the optical image stabilization device of claim 5.
Que does not specifically disclose that the elastic sheet comprises four upper elastic sheets and four lower elastic sheets, two of the four upper elastic sheets form a group, and the two upper elastic sheets in a same group are connected through a connecting strip to integrally form a whole.
However, Kwon further teaches that the upper elastic sheet may comprise four upper elastic sheets (see at least elements 510 of Kwon), and the lower elastic sheet may comprise four lower elastic sheets wherein the lower elastic sheets may include two groups, each group connected through a connecting strip (see at least elements 530 of Kwon), and wherein the upper elastic sheet is connected to each of the base, the bracket, and the lens barrel (see at least elements 510, 513, 512, 511, paras. [0184], [0189] of Kwon).
Additionally, Zhuo teaches a similar optical image stabilization device (see at least figure 1 and the abstract of Zhuo), wherein an elastic sheet comprises four upper elastic sheets (see at least figure 1, element 251, page 4 of Zhuo) and four lower elastic sheets (see at least figure 1, element 252, page 4 of Zhuo), two of the four upper elastic sheets form a group, and the two upper elastic sheets in a same group are connected through a connecting strip to integrally form a whole (see at least figure 1, element 251, page 4 of Zhuo).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image stabilization device of Que in view of Kwon to include the further teachings of Kwon and the teachings of Zhuo so that the elastic sheet comprises four upper elastic sheets and four lower elastic sheets, two of the four upper elastic sheets form a group, and the two upper elastic sheets in a same group are connected through a connecting strip to integrally form a whole, for the purpose of using a known design for an elastic sheet for allowing movement of the optical elements for focusing and/or optical image stabilization while also providing support between the base, bracket and lens barrel.
Claims 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Que et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2025/0208371 A1 (hereafter Que) in view of Kwon et al., U.S. Patent Application Number 2024/0176097 A1 (hereafter Kwon) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Jung et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0199917 A1 (hereafter Jung).
Regarding claim 9, Que in view of Kwon discloses the optical image stabilization device of claim 5.
Que does not specifically disclose a damping material arranged between the bracket and the lens barrel.
However, Kwon further teaches using damping materials between elements such as the cover and the lens module, or the cover and the housing (see at least elements 151, 152, paras. [0228]-[0229] of Kwon).
Additionally, Jung teaches a similar optical image stabilization device (see at least the abstract, para. [0347] of Jung), wherein damping materials may be used between numerous optical elements, for example between an upper elastic member and a bobbin, between an upper elastic member and the housing, between a bottom elastic member and a bobbin, between a bottom elastic member and a housing, between a support member and a housing, and between a bobbin and a housing (see at least paras. [0183], [0246], [0491], [0586], [0632] of Jung, wherein the bobbin (110) of Jung corresponds to the lens barrel (22) of the instant application and the AF carrier (21) of Que, and the housing (140) corresponds to the bracket (21) of the instant application and the OIS carrier (22) of Que).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image stabilization device of Que in view of Kwon to include the further teachings of Kwon and the teachings of Jung so that a damping material is arranged between the bracket and the lens barrel, for the purpose of mitigating or restricting the trembling or oscillation of the elements from an outside shock (Jung, para. [0632]).
Regarding Claim 10, Que in view of Kwon and Jung discloses the limitations of claim 9, wherein Que further discloses that the shared magnets are arranged at an inner wall of the bracket and around the lens barrel (see at least element 33, para. [0075] of Que), the driving structure comprises a driving coil arranged at the lens barrel and facing the shared magnets (see at least element 31, para. [0074] of Que), the main board is arranged at the base, and the upper elastic sheet is connected to the main board and the driving coil (see at least element 34, paras. [0079], [0097] of Que).
Regarding Claim 11, Que in view of Kwon and Jung discloses the limitations of claim 10. Que does not specifically disclose a metal piece electrically connected to the main board is embedded in the base, and the upper elastic sheet is welded to the metal piece.
However, Kwon further teaches a metal piece electrically connected to a main board is embedded in the base (see at least element 115, paras. [0204]-[0205], [0212]-[0213] of Kwon), and the upper elastic sheet is attached to the metal piece (see at least element 513, paras. [0189], [0204] of Kwon).
Additionally, Jung further teaches connecting various optical elements through soldering or welding, for example conductive elements, elastic sheets and support members (see at least paras. [0019], [0021], [0035], [0075], [0204] of Jung).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image stabilization device of Que in view of Kwon and Jung to include the further teachings of Kwon and the teachings of Jung so that a metal piece electrically connected to the main board is embedded in the base, and the upper elastic sheet is welded to the metal piece, for the purpose of using known structure and techniques to physically and electrically connect optical elements while having a reasonable expectation for success.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kwon et al., U.S. Patent Application Number 2024/0176097 A1 (hereafter Kwon) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Jung et al., U.S. Patent Application Publication Number 2021/0199917 A1 (hereafter Jung).
Regarding claim 9, Kwon discloses the optical image stabilization device of claim 5.
Kwon does not specifically disclose a damping material arranged between the bracket and the lens barrel.
However, Kwon further teaches using damping materials between elements such as the cover and the lens module, or the cover and the housing (see at least elements 151, 152, paras. [0228]-[0229] of Kwon).
Additionally, Jung teaches a similar optical image stabilization device (see at least the abstract, para. [0347] of Jung), wherein damping materials may be used between numerous optical elements, for example between an upper elastic member and a bobbin, between an upper elastic member and the housing, between a bottom elastic member and a bobbin, between a bottom elastic member and a housing, between a support member and a housing, and between a bobbin and a housing (see at least paras. [0183], [0246], [0491], [0586], [0632] of Jung, wherein the bobbin (110) of Jung corresponds to the lens barrel (22) of the instant application and the AF carrier (21) of Que, and the housing (140) corresponds to the bracket (21) of the instant application and the OIS carrier (22) of Que).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to an ordinarily skilled artisan before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the optical image stabilization device of Kwon to include the further teachings of Kwon and the teachings of Jung so that a damping material is arranged between the bracket and the lens barrel, for the purpose of mitigating or restricting the trembling or oscillation of the elements from an outside shock (Jung, para. [0632]).
Other Related Art
This prior art, made of record, but not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure since the following references have similar structure and/or use similar optical elements to what is claimed and/or disclosed in the instant application:
Moon, US 20250251644 A1, discloses a similar optical device including a housing, focusing structure, elastic structure, balls and driving structure (fig. 6);
Bang et al., US 2015/0146025 A1, discloses a similar optical device including a focusing structure, balls and driving structure (fig. 2); and
Hee et al., US 2016/0161757 A1, discloses a similar optical device including a housing, focusing structure, elastic structure, balls and driving structure (fig. 2).
Conclusion
The Examiner has cited particular columns and line number, paragraphs, and/or figures and elements in the references as applied to the claims for the convenience of the Applicant. Although the specified citation(s) are representative of the teachings in the art, and are applied to limitations within the individual claim(s), other passages and figures may additionally be applied since the cited prior art is relevant for all that they contain. Therefore, the specified citations should not be considered as an exhaustive list of teachings in the prior art which may be interpreted to read on the claim limitations, and other embodiments and citations in the cited prior art should also be considered as being relevant to the claimed limitations. It is requested that, in preparing responses, the Applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the disclosed/claimed invention, as well as the context of the passages and figures as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the Examiner.
/Derek S. Chapel/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872 12/10/2025
Derek S. CHAPEL
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2872