DETAILED ACTION
The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA . This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s reply filed 10/23/25. Claims 1-3 were amended, claims 4-11 were canceled, claims 12-20 were newly added. Claims 1-3, and 12-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-3, and 12-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the other” in line 12. There is no antecedent bases for this limitation. Furthermore, “the other” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear what this is referring to. Claims 2-3, and 12-16 are rejected based on their dependency to claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, and 12-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Publication No. 2022/0105416 A1 to Arand (hereinafter “Arand”).
Concerning claim 1, Arand discloses a hitting mat (paragraph [0009]) comprising:
a fairway area (pargraphs [0064]-[0067]); and
a plurality of non-fairway areas including a first non-fairway area and a second non-fairway area, wherein a real golf ball is configured to be placed on the fairway area or the plurality of non-fairway areas when a user hits the real golf ball toward a screen displaying a virtual golf course (pargraphs [0064]-[0072]- first and second surface (50a and 50b may be interchangeable depending on what hand the golfer is, and both surfaces surround the fairway area), and
wherein one of the fairway area and the plurality of non-fairway areas is disposed on a side of the hitting mat closer to the screen, and the other is disposed on a side of the hitting mat farther from the screen (paragraphs [0064]-[0072], [0104]-[0114] – the fairway and non-fairway areas are closer to the screen and the putting green is further away from the screen).
Concerning claim 2, Arand discloses wherein, based on a virtual central axis of the hitting mat, a left side portion of the fairway area and right side portion of the fairway area are symmetrical to each other such that the left-handed user and the right-handed user can play on the same mat with the same condition (Figs. 18A, 18B, paragraphs [0064]-[0072], [0102]).
Concerning claim 3, Arand discloses wherein, based on a virtual central axis of the hitting mat, a left side portion of the non-fairway area and a right side portion of in the non-fairway area are symmetrical to each other such that the left-handed user and the right-handed user can play on the same mat with the same condition (Figs. 18A, 18B, 20A, paragraphs [0064]-[0072], [0102], [0122]-[0125]).
Concerning claim 12, Arand discloses wherein the fairway area corresponds to a fairway of the virtual golf course (Figs. 18A, 18B, 20A, paragraphs [0064]-[0072], [0102], [0122]-[0125]).
Concerning claim 13, Arand discloses wherein the first non-fairway area corresponds to a rough area of the virtual golf course, and the second non-fairway area corresponds to a bunker area of the virtual golf course (Figs. 18A, 18B, 20A, paragraphs [0064]-[0072], [0102], [0122]-[0125]).
Concerning claim 14, Arand discloses wherein the first non-fairway area is formed on a side of the plurality of the non-fairway areas closer to the screen, and the second non-fairway area is formed on a side of the plurality of the non-fairway areas farther from the screen (Figs. 18A, 18B, 20A, paragraphs [0064]-[0072], [0102], [0122]-[0125]).
Concerning claim 15, Arand discloses wherein the second non-fairway area is formed on a side of the plurality of the non-fairway areas closer to the screen, and the first non-fairway area is formed on a side of the plurality of the non-fairway areas farther from the screen (Figs. 18A, 18B, 20A, paragraphs [0064]-[0072], [0102], [0122]-[0125]).
Concerning claim 16, Arand discloses wherein the first non-fairway area corresponds to a rough area of the virtual golf course, and the second non-fairway area corresponds to a bunker area of the virtual golf course (Figs. 18A, 18B, 20A, paragraphs [0064]-[0072], [0102], [0122]-[0125]).
Concerning claim 17, Arand discloses a hitting mat comprising: a fairway area; and a plurality of non-fairway areas including a first non-fairway area and a second non-fairway area, wherein a real golf ball is configured to be placed on the fairway area or the plurality of non-fairway areas when a user hits the real golf ball, and wherein the fairway area, the first non-fairway area, and the second non-fairway area are respectively formed on both left and right sides of the hitting mat with respect to a virtual central axis thereof (Figs. 18A, 18B, 20A, paragraphs [0064]-[0072], [0102], [0104]-[0114], [0122]-[0125]).
Concerning claim 18, Arand discloses wherein, based on the virtual central axis of the hitting mat, a left side portion of the fairway area and a right side portion of the fairway area are symmetrical to each other such that the left-handed user and the right-handed user can play on the same mat with the same condition (Figs. 18A, 18B, 20A, paragraphs [0064]-[0072], [0102], [0122]-[0125]).
Concerning claim 19, Arand discloses wherein, based on the virtual central axis of the hitting mat, a left side portion of the non-fairway areas and a right side portion of the non-fairway areas are symmetrical to each other such that the left-handed user and the right-handed user can play on the same mat with the same condition (Figs. 18A, 18B, 20A, paragraphs [0064]-[0072], [0102], [0122]-[0125]).
Concerning claim 20, Arand discloses wherein the first non-fairway area corresponds to a rough area of a virtual golf course, and the second non-fairway area corresponds to a bunker area of the virtual golf course, and wherein the user hits the real golf ball toward a screen displaying the virtual golf course (Figs. 18A, 18B, 20A, paragraphs [0064]-[0072], [0102], [0122]-[0125]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/23/25 have been fully considered and are addressed in the Office Action above. Additional explanations and citations have been provided to address the claim amendments.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
MALINA D. BLAISE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3715
/MALINA D. BLAISE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715