DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 1/8/2024 and 7/14/2024 have been entered and considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Regarding claims 2, 8, and 14, the claims recite “a first enhancement function,” and it is unclear if “a first enhancement function” is intended to be the same or different from “a first function” recited in claims 1, 7, and 13 respectively. Both “a first enhancement function” and “a first function” appear to take pre-compressed CSI as input and produce compressed CSI as output. Regarding claim 14 specifically, it is also unclear if “the fourth information block” is intended to be the same or different from “a fourth information.” Claims 2, 8, and 14 are thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “a first enhancement function” as potentially being the same or different from “a first function.” The Examiner will also interpret “the fourth information block” in claim 14 as potentially being the same or different from “a fourth information.” Regarding claims 3, 9, and 15, the claims are rejected because they depend from rejected claims 2, 8, and 14 respectively. Regarding claims 4, 10, and 16, claim 4 recites “wherein a reception behavior in the first reference signal resource pool is used by a target receiver of the first reference signal resource pool to determine the first function.” Claims 10 and 16 recite similar language. However, it is unclear what “a reception behavior in the first reference signal resource pool” is intended to require. For instance, a person having ordinary skill in the art would understand “reception” as being performed by a device and not a “resource pool.” Looking to Applicant’s specification for guidance, the specification appears to restate language similar to the claims and thus does not provide any additional information regarding what “a reception behavior in the first reference signal resource pool” entails. Specifically regarding claim 10, the claim also recites “the reception behavior in the first reference signal resource pool” which lacks antecedent basis and is therefore indefinite. Claims 4, 10, and 16 are thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “a reception behavior in the first reference signal resource pool” as potentially referring to anything pertaining to the content of the first reference signal resource pool. Regarding claims 5, 11, and 17, the claims recite “the second information block comprises a first transmission configuration state, and the first transmission configuration state implicitly indicates whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function.” However, Google dictionary defines “implicit” as “implied though not plainly expressed.” A person having ordinary skill in the art would also interpret an “implicit indication” as possibly not requiring any indication based on the definition of the word “implicit.” It is therefore unclear if “a first transmission configuration state” is required to indicate anything given the “implicitly indicates” language. A person having ordinary skill in the art might instead interpret such an “implicit indication” as referring to an intended use at a receiving device when no actual indication is provided. Claims 5, 11, and 17 are thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “a first transmission configuration state” as potentially not requiring anything because the first transmission configuration state is described as “implicitly indicat[ing] whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function.” Regarding claims 6, 12, and 18, the claims recite “the fifth information indicates whether the target reference signal resource is suitable to be associated with the first function.” However, it is unclear how such “the target reference signal resource” being “suitable to be associated with the first function” is different from “the second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource is associated with the first function” recited in the independent claims. Said differently, it is unclear if “suitable to be associated with” and “associated with” are intended to have similar or different scope. Using an interpretation wherein “suitable to be associated with” and “associated with” have the same scope, it is also unclear if “the second information block” is possibly the same as “the fifth information” or if “the fifth information” is perhaps a component of “the second information block.” Additionally, the claim limitation “the fifth information” lacks antecedent basis and it is therefore unclear if “the fifth information” is intended to be the same or different from “a fifth information block.” Claims 6, 12, and 18 are thus indefinite. For the purpose of this examination, the Examiner will interpret “suitable to be associated with” as potentially being the same or different from “associated with.” The Examiner will thus also interpret “the fifth information” as potentially being the same or different from “the second information block.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0195462, provided by Applicant, Pezeshki hereinafter). Regarding claim 1, Pezeshki teaches a first node for wireless communications (User equipment (UE); Pezeshki; Fig. 2; [0041]), comprising: a first receiver (As can be seen in at least Fig. 2, the UE may be comprised of a receiver; Pezeshki; Fig. 2; [0041]), receiving a first information block and a second information block (As a preliminary matter, the Examiner would like to note that the claimed “information blocks” do not appear to be “information blocks” as are known in the art such as “system information blocks (SIBs).” As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0081]-[0105] of Applicant’s specification, numerous different examples of “information blocks” are provided including but not limited to RRC signaling, a MAC CE, an Information Element (IE), a field in an IE, etc. The “first information block” and “second information block” are also described as potentially being different pieces of information in the same IE. The claimed “information blocks” thus appear to potentially be any piece of information. As can be seen in at least step 405 of Fig. 4, the UE may receive a configuration to be used for compressing one or more measurements corresponding to at least one reference signal using an AI encoder. Such a configuration is described (see, e.g., paragraph [0060]) as including at least an indication of a compression ratio and an indication of at least one AI module, which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as including a first information block and/or a second information block. At least paragraph [0064] also discusses receiving an indication of a class of AI modules that the UE is to use, which may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as at least “a second information block.” Given the broad nature of the term “information block,” the Examiner would also like to note that other interpretations may be used for the first information block and the second information block; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the first information block indicating a first function (At least one component of the received configuration for compression may be broadly reasonably interpreted a first information block indicating a first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource is associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]); and a first transmitter (As can be seen in at least Fig. 2, the UE may be comprised of a transmitter; Pezeshki; Fig. 2; [0041]), transmitting a third information block (As can be seen in at least step 415 of Fig. 4, the UE may transmit a codeword to the base station that is associated with a compression of the one or more measurements in accordance with the configuration. At least such a codeword may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a third information block that is transmitted; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056]), the third information block indicating a first compressed CSI (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals. One of such AI modules is described as being trained for compression of CSI measurements. The third information block may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating a first compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]), a first pre-compressed CSI being used as an input to the first function to generate the first compressed CSI (The CSI used by the AI module as input to create the compressed CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a first pre-compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 2, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches the first transmitter transmits a fourth information block (As was also discussed with regard to the independent claims, the claimed “information blocks” appear to potentially be any piece of information. As can be seen in at least step 415 of Fig. 4, the UE may transmit a codeword to the base station that is associated with a compression of the one or more measurements in accordance with the configuration. At least part of such a codeword associated with potentially multiple measurements may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a fourth information block given the broad nature of the term “information block”; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the fourth information block indicates a second compressed CSI, and a second pre-compressed CSI is used as an input to a first enhancement function to generate the second compressed CSI (At least part of such a codeword generated by compressing two or more CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating a second compressed CSI, wherein a second pre-compressed CSI is used as an input to a first enhancement function (e.g., the module used for CSI compression) to generate the second compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]); wherein the first function is used to generate the first enhancement function (The configuration information to be used for compression of CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being used to generate the module used for compression of CSI measurements; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]); the second information block indicates whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first enhancement function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether the target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first enhancement function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 3, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 2. Pezeshki further teaches the second information block indicates the first enhancement function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first enhancement function. Such information may thus also be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating the first enhancement function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 4, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches the first transmitter transmits a reference signal in a first reference signal resource pool, and the first reference signal resource pool comprise at least one reference signal resource (The UE is described as transmitting reference signals to the base station (e.g., sounding reference signals (SRS)), which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as using resources in a first resource pool comprising at least one reference signal resource; Pezeshki; Figs. 2-4; [0042]); wherein a reception behavior in the first reference signal resource pool is used by a target receiver of the first reference signal resource pool to determine the first function (Communication with the base station may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being performed based on reference signals transmitted by the UE to the base station, including later communication including the method of Fig. 4. A reception behavior in the first reference signal resource pool may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as being used by a target receiver of the first reference signal resource pool to determine the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 2-4; [0042], [0056], [0060], [0064]). Regarding claim 5, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches the second information block comprises a first transmission configuration state, and the first transmission configuration state implicitly indicates whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function. Such a second information block may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as comprising transmission configuration state information and thus as comprising a first transmission configuration state. Such a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as implicitly indicating whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 6, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches the first transmitter transmits a fifth information block, and the fifth information indicates whether the target reference signal resource is suitable to be associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a fifth information and/or a fifth information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is suitable to be associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 7, Pezeshki teaches a second node for wireless communications (Base station (BS); Pezeshki; Figs. 1-4; [0040]), comprising: a second transmitter (As can be seen in at least Fig. 2, the BS may be comprised of a transmitter; Pezeshki; Fig. 2; [0040]), transmitting a first information block and a second information block (As a preliminary matter, the Examiner would like to note that the claimed “information blocks” do not appear to be “information blocks” as are known in the art such as “system information blocks (SIBs).” As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0081]-[0105] of Applicant’s specification, numerous different examples of “information blocks” are provided including but not limited to RRC signaling, a MAC CE, an Information Element (IE), a field in an IE, etc. The “first information block” and “second information block” are also described as potentially being different pieces of information in the same IE. The claimed “information blocks” thus appear to potentially be any piece of information. As can be seen in at least step 405 of Fig. 4, the BS may transmit a configuration to be used by a user equipment (UE) for compressing one or more measurements corresponding to at least one reference signal using an AI encoder. Such a configuration is described (see, e.g., paragraph [0060]) as including at least an indication of a compression ratio and an indication of at least one AI module, which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as including a first information block and/or a second information block. At least paragraph [0064] also discusses receiving an indication of a class of AI modules that the UE is to use, which may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as at least “a second information block.” Given the broad nature of the term “information block,” the Examiner would also like to note that other interpretations may be used for the first information block and the second information block; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the first information block indicating a first function (At least one component of the received configuration for compression may be broadly reasonably interpreted a first information block indicating a first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource is associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including the transmission of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]); and a second receiver (As can be seen in at least Fig. 2, the BS may be comprised of a receiver; Pezeshki; Fig. 2; [0040]), receiving a third information block (As can be seen in at least step 415 of Fig. 4, the UE may transmit a codeword to the base station that is associated with a compression of the one or more measurements in accordance with the configuration. At least such a codeword may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a third information block that is transmitted; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056]), the third information block indicating a first compressed CSI (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals. One of such AI modules is described as being trained for compression of CSI measurements. The third information block may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating a first compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]), a first pre-compressed CSI being used as an input to the first function to generate the first compressed CSI (The CSI used by the AI module as input to create the compressed CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a first pre-compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 8, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 7. Pezeshki further teaches the second receiver receives a fourth information block (As was also discussed with regard to the independent claims, the claimed “information blocks” appear to potentially be any piece of information. As can be seen in at least step 415 of Fig. 4, the UE may transmit a codeword to the base station that is associated with a compression of the one or more measurements in accordance with the configuration. At least part of such a codeword associated with potentially multiple measurements may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a fourth information block given the broad nature of the term “information block”; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the fourth information block indicates a second compressed CSI, and a second pre-compressed CSI is used as an input to a first enhancement function to generate the second compressed CSI (At least part of such a codeword generated by compressing two or more CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating a second compressed CSI, wherein a second pre-compressed CSI is used as an input to a first enhancement function (e.g., the module used for CSI compression) to generate the second compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]); wherein the first function is used to generate the first enhancement function (The configuration information to be used for compression of CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being used to generate the module used for compression of CSI measurements; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]); the second information block indicates whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first enhancement function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether the target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first enhancement function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 9, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 8. Pezeshki further teaches the second information block indicates the first enhancement function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first enhancement function. Such information may thus also be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating the first enhancement function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 10, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 7. Pezeshki further teaches the second receiver receives a reference signal in a first reference signal resource pool, and the first reference signal resource pool comprises at least one reference signal resource (The UE is described as transmitting reference signals to the base station (e.g., sounding reference signals (SRS)), which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as using resources in a first resource pool comprising at least one reference signal resource; Pezeshki; Figs. 2-4; [0042]); wherein the reception behavior in the first reference signal resource pool is used by the second node to determine the first function (Communication with the base station may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being performed based on reference signals transmitted by the UE to the base station, including later communication including the method of Fig. 4. The reception behavior in the first reference signal resource pool may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as being used by the BS to determine the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 2-4; [0042], [0056], [0060], [0064]). Regarding claim 11, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 7. Pezeshki further teaches the second information block comprises a first transmission configuration state, and the first transmission configuration state implicitly indicates whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function. Such a second information block may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as comprising transmission configuration state information and thus as comprising a first transmission configuration state. Such a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as implicitly indicating whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 12, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 7. Pezeshki further teaches the second receiver receives a fifth information block, and the fifth information indicates whether the target reference signal resource is suitable to be associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a fifth information and/or a fifth information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is suitable to be associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 13, Pezeshki teaches a method in a first node for wireless communications (User equipment (UE); Pezeshki; Fig. 2; [0041]), comprising: receiving a first information block (As a preliminary matter, the Examiner would like to note that the claimed “information blocks” do not appear to be “information blocks” as are known in the art such as “system information blocks (SIBs).” As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0081]-[0105] of Applicant’s specification, numerous different examples of “information blocks” are provided including but not limited to RRC signaling, a MAC CE, an Information Element (IE), a field in an IE, etc. The “first information block” and “second information block” are also described as potentially being different pieces of information in the same IE. The claimed “information blocks” thus appear to potentially be any piece of information. As can be seen in at least step 405 of Fig. 4, the UE may receive a configuration to be used for compressing one or more measurements corresponding to at least one reference signal using an AI encoder. Such a configuration is described (see, e.g., paragraph [0060]) as including at least an indication of a compression ratio and an indication of at least one AI module, which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as including a first information block. Given the broad nature of the term “information block,” the Examiner would also like to note that other interpretations may be used for the claimed information blocks; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060]), the first information block indicating a first function (At least one component of the received configuration for compression may be broadly reasonably interpreted a first information block indicating a first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060]); receiving a second information block (As can be seen in at least step 405 of Fig. 4, the UE may receive a configuration to be used for compressing one or more measurements corresponding to at least one reference signal using an AI encoder. Such a configuration is described (see, e.g., paragraph [0060]) as including at least an indication of a compression ratio and an indication of at least one AI module, which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as including a second information block. At least paragraph [0064] also discusses receiving an indication of a class of AI modules that the UE is to use, which may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as at least “a second information block.” Given the broad nature of the term “information block,” the Examiner would also like to note that other interpretations may be used for the claimed information blocks; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource is associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]); and transmitting a third information block (As can be seen in at least step 415 of Fig. 4, the UE may transmit a codeword to the base station that is associated with a compression of the one or more measurements in accordance with the configuration. At least such a codeword may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a third information block that is transmitted; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056]), the third information block indicating a first compressed CSI (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals. One of such AI modules is described as being trained for compression of CSI measurements. The third information block may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating a first compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]), a first pre-compressed CSI being used as an input to the first function to generate the first compressed CSI (The CSI used by the AI module as input to create the compressed CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a first pre-compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 14, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 13. Pezeshki further teaches transmitting a fourth information (As was also discussed with regard to the independent claims, the claimed “information blocks” appear to potentially be any piece of information. As can be seen in at least step 415 of Fig. 4, the UE may transmit a codeword to the base station that is associated with a compression of the one or more measurements in accordance with the configuration. At least part of such a codeword associated with potentially multiple measurements may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a fourth information given the broad nature of the term “information block”; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the fourth information block indicating a second compressed CSI, a second pre-compressed CSI being used as an input to a first enhancement function to generate the second compressed CSI (At least part of such a codeword generated by compressing two or more CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating a second compressed CSI, wherein a second pre-compressed CSI is used as an input to a first enhancement function (e.g., the module used for CSI compression) to generate the second compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]); wherein the first function is used to generate the first enhancement function (The configuration information to be used for compression of CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being used to generate the module used for compression of CSI measurements; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]); the second information block indicates whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first enhancement function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether the target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first enhancement function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 15, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 14. Pezeshki further teaches the second information block indicates the first enhancement function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first enhancement function. Such information may thus also be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating the first enhancement function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 16, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 13. Pezeshki further teaches transmitting a reference signal in a first reference signal resource pool, the first reference signal resource pool comprising at least one reference signal resource (The UE is described as transmitting reference signals to the base station (e.g., sounding reference signals (SRS)), which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as using resources in a first resource pool comprising at least one reference signal resource; Pezeshki; Figs. 2-4; [0042]); wherein a reception behavior in the first reference signal resource pool is used by a target receiver of the first reference signal resource pool to determine the first function (Communication with the base station may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being performed based on reference signals transmitted by the UE to the base station, including later communication including the method of Fig. 4. A reception behavior in the first reference signal resource pool may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as being used by a target receiver of the first reference signal resource pool to determine the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 2-4; [0042], [0056], [0060], [0064]). Regarding claim 17, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 13. Pezeshki further teaches the second information block comprises a first transmission configuration state, and the first transmission configuration state implicitly indicates whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function. Such a second information block may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as comprising transmission configuration state information and thus as comprising a first transmission configuration state. Such a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as implicitly indicating whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 18, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 13. Pezeshki further teaches transmitting a fifth information block, the fifth information indicating whether the target reference signal resource is suitable to be associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a fifth information and/or a fifth information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is suitable to be associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]).
Conclusion
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474