DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to an amendment/response filed on 4/13/2026.
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-17 have been amended.
Claims 6, 12, and 18 have been cancelled.
No new claims have been added.
Claims 1-5, 7-11, and 13-17 remain pending in the application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 4/13/2026 has been entered and considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see pages 8-9, filed 4/13/2026, with respect to the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections of claims 2-6, 8-12, and 14-18 has been withdrawn.
Applicant's other arguments filed 4/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Regarding the 35 U.S.C. 102 rejection of claims 1, 7, and 13, Applicant argues that Pezeshki does not teach “a first information block indicating a first function,” “a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource is associated with the first function,” and “a third information block indicating a first compressed CSI,” where “a first pre-compressed CSI [is] used as an input to the first function to generate the first compressed CSI.” Applicant asserts that nothing in Pezeshki teaches or suggests signaling whether a target reference signal resource is associated with a function. The Examiner respectfully disagrees with Applicant’s interpretation of the prior art. As a preliminary matter, the Examiner would like to note that the claimed “information blocks” do not appear to be “information blocks” as are known in the art such as “system information blocks (SIBs).” As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0081]-[0105] of Applicant’s specification, numerous different examples of “information blocks” are provided including but not limited to RRC signaling, a MAC CE, an Information Element (IE), a field in an IE, etc. The “first information block” and “second information block” are also described as potentially being different pieces of information in the same IE. The claimed “information blocks” thus appear to potentially be any piece of information. With regard to the teachings of the prior art, as can be seen in at least step 405 of Fig. 4 of Pezeshki, the UE may receive a configuration to be used for compressing one or more measurements corresponding to at least one reference signal using an AI encoder (Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]). Such a configuration is described (see, e.g., paragraph [0060]) as including at least an indication of a compression ratio and an indication of at least one AI module, which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as including a first information block and/or a second information block (Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]). At least one component of the received configuration for compression may be broadly reasonably interpreted a first information block indicating a first function. Pezeshki may thus be interpreted as teaching “a first information block indicating a first function. At least paragraph [0064] also discusses receiving an indication of a class of AI modules that the UE is to use, which may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as at least “a second information block” (Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]). As can also be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use (Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function (Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). As can be seen in at least paragraph [0049], CSI-RS is described as a reference signal (Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Pezehski may thus be interpreted as teaching “a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource is associated with the first function.” With regard to the third information block (which as is also noted above, appears as though it may be any piece of information according to Applicant’s specification), as can be seen in at least step 415 of Fig. 4 of Pezehski, the UE may transmit a codeword to the base station that is associated with a compression of the one or more measurements in accordance with the configuration (Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056]). At least such a codeword may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a third information block that is transmitted. As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). One of such AI modules is described as being trained for compression of CSI measurements (Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). The third information block may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating a first compressed CSI. Pezeshki may thus be interpreted as teaching “a third information block indicating a first compressed CSI.” The CSI used by the AI module as input to create the compressed CSI may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as a first pre-compressed CSI (Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Pezeshki may thus also be interpreted as teaching “a first pre-compressed CSI [is] used as an input to the first function to generate the first compressed CSI.” Pezeshki may thus be interpreted as teaching all of the argued limitations “a first information block indicating a first function,” “a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource is associated with the first function,” and “a third information block indicating a first compressed CSI,” where “a first pre-compressed CSI [is] used as an input to the first function to generate the first compressed CSI.”
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-11, and 13-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Pezeshki et al. (US 2021/0195462, provided by Applicant, Pezeshki hereinafter). Regarding claim 1, Pezeshki teaches a user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communications (User equipment (UE); Pezeshki; Fig. 2; [0041]), the UE comprising: a receiver (As can be seen in at least Fig. 2, the UE may be comprised of a receiver; Pezeshki; Fig. 2; [0041]), configured to receive a first information block (As a preliminary matter, the Examiner would like to note that the claimed “information blocks” do not appear to be “information blocks” as are known in the art such as “system information blocks (SIBs).” As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0081]-[0105] of Applicant’s specification, numerous different examples of “information blocks” are provided including but not limited to RRC signaling, a MAC CE, an Information Element (IE), a field in an IE, etc. The “first information block” and “second information block” are also described as potentially being different pieces of information in the same IE. The claimed “information blocks” thus appear to potentially be any piece of information. As can be seen in at least step 405 of Fig. 4, the UE may receive a configuration to be used for compressing one or more measurements corresponding to at least one reference signal using an AI encoder. Such a configuration is described (see, e.g., paragraph [0060]) as including at least an indication of a compression ratio and an indication of at least one AI module, which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as including a first information block and/or a second information block. At least paragraph [0064] also discusses receiving an indication of a class of AI modules that the UE is to use, which may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as at least “a second information block.” Given the broad nature of the term “information block,” the Examiner would also like to note that other interpretations may be used for the first information block and the second information block; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the first information block indicating a first function (At least one component of the received configuration for compression may be broadly reasonably interpreted a first information block indicating a first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]); the receiver is further configured to receive a second information block, the second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource is associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]); and a transmitter (As can be seen in at least Fig. 2, the UE may be comprised of a transmitter; Pezeshki; Fig. 2; [0041]) configured to transmit a third information block (As can be seen in at least step 415 of Fig. 4, the UE may transmit a codeword to the base station that is associated with a compression of the one or more measurements in accordance with the configuration. At least such a codeword may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a third information block that is transmitted; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056]), the third information block indicating a first compressed channel state information (CSI) (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals. One of such AI modules is described as being trained for compression of CSI measurements. The third information block may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating a first compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]), a first pre-compressed CSI being used as an input to the first function to generate the first compressed CSI (The CSI used by the AI module as input to create the compressed CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a first pre-compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 2, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches the transmitter is further configured to transmit a fourth information block (As was also discussed with regard to the independent claims, the claimed “information blocks” appear to potentially be any piece of information. As can be seen in at least step 415 of Fig. 4, the UE may transmit a codeword to the base station that is associated with a compression of the one or more measurements in accordance with the configuration. At least part of such a codeword associated with potentially multiple measurements may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a fourth information block given the broad nature of the term “information block”; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the fourth information block indicates a second compressed CSI, and a second pre-compressed CSI is used as an input to a first enhancement function to generate the second compressed CSI (At least part of such a codeword generated by compressing two or more CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating a second compressed CSI, wherein a second pre-compressed CSI is used as an input to a first enhancement function (e.g., the module used for CSI compression) to generate the second compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), wherein the first function is used to generate the first enhancement function (The configuration information to be used for compression of CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being used to generate the module used for compression of CSI measurements; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the second information block indicates whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first enhancement function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether the target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first enhancement function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]), wherein the first enhancement function and the first function are different (The configuration information to be used for compression of CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being used to generate the module used for compression of CSI measurements. The first enhancement function and the first function may thus be interpreted as being different; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]). Regarding claim 3, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 2. Pezeshki further teaches the second information block indicates the first enhancement function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first enhancement function. Such information may thus also be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating the first enhancement function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 4, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches the transmitter is further configured to transmit a reference signal in a first reference signal resource pool, and the first reference signal resource pool comprise at least one reference signal resource (The UE is described as transmitting reference signals to the base station (e.g., sounding reference signals (SRS)), which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as using resources in a first resource pool comprising at least one reference signal resource; Pezeshki; Figs. 2-4; [0042]). Regarding claim 5, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 1. Pezeshki further teaches the second information block comprises a first transmission configuration state, and the first transmission configuration state indicates whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function. Such a second information block may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as comprising transmission configuration state information and thus as comprising a first transmission configuration state. Such a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 7, Pezeshki teaches a base station configured for wireless communications (Base station (BS); Pezeshki; Figs. 1-4; [0040]), the base station comprising: a transmitter (As can be seen in at least Fig. 2, the BS may be comprised of a transmitter; Pezeshki; Fig. 2; [0040]) configured to transmit a first information block (As a preliminary matter, the Examiner would like to note that the claimed “information blocks” do not appear to be “information blocks” as are known in the art such as “system information blocks (SIBs).” As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0081]-[0105] of Applicant’s specification, numerous different examples of “information blocks” are provided including but not limited to RRC signaling, a MAC CE, an Information Element (IE), a field in an IE, etc. The “first information block” and “second information block” are also described as potentially being different pieces of information in the same IE. The claimed “information blocks” thus appear to potentially be any piece of information. As can be seen in at least step 405 of Fig. 4, the BS may transmit a configuration to be used by a user equipment (UE) for compressing one or more measurements corresponding to at least one reference signal using an AI encoder. Such a configuration is described (see, e.g., paragraph [0060]) as including at least an indication of a compression ratio and an indication of at least one AI module, which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as including a first information block and/or a second information block. At least paragraph [0064] also discusses receiving an indication of a class of AI modules that the UE is to use, which may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as at least “a second information block.” Given the broad nature of the term “information block,” the Examiner would also like to note that other interpretations may be used for the first information block and the second information block; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the first information block indicating a first function (At least one component of the received configuration for compression may be broadly reasonably interpreted a first information block indicating a first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]); the transmitter is further configured to transmit a second information block, the second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource is associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including the transmission of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]); and a receiver (As can be seen in at least Fig. 2, the BS may be comprised of a receiver; Pezeshki; Fig. 2; [0040]) configured to receive a third information block (As can be seen in at least step 415 of Fig. 4, the UE may transmit a codeword to the base station that is associated with a compression of the one or more measurements in accordance with the configuration. At least such a codeword may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a third information block that is transmitted; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056]), the third information block indicating a first compressed channel state information (CSI) (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals. One of such AI modules is described as being trained for compression of CSI measurements. The third information block may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating a first compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]), a first pre-compressed CSI being used as an input to the first function to generate the first compressed CSI (The CSI used by the AI module as input to create the compressed CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a first pre-compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 8, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 7. Pezeshki further teaches the receiver is further configured to receive a fourth information block (As was also discussed with regard to the independent claims, the claimed “information blocks” appear to potentially be any piece of information. As can be seen in at least step 415 of Fig. 4, the UE may transmit a codeword to the base station that is associated with a compression of the one or more measurements in accordance with the configuration. At least part of such a codeword associated with potentially multiple measurements may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a fourth information block given the broad nature of the term “information block”; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the fourth information block indicates a second compressed CSI, and a second pre-compressed CSI is used as an input to a first enhancement function to generate the second compressed CSI (At least part of such a codeword generated by compressing two or more CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating a second compressed CSI, wherein a second pre-compressed CSI is used as an input to a first enhancement function (e.g., the module used for CSI compression) to generate the second compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), wherein the first function is used to generate the first enhancement function (The configuration information to be used for compression of CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being used to generate the module used for compression of CSI measurements; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the second information block indicates whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first enhancement function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether the target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first enhancement function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]), wherein the first enhancement function and the first function are different (The configuration information to be used for compression of CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being used to generate the module used for compression of CSI measurements. The first enhancement function and the first function may thus be interpreted as being different; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]). Regarding claim 9, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 8. Pezeshki further teaches the second information block indicates the first enhancement function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first enhancement function. Such information may thus also be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating the first enhancement function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 10, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 7. Pezeshki further teaches the receiver is configured to receive a reference signal in a first reference signal resource pool, and the first reference signal resource pool comprises at least one reference signal resource (The UE is described as transmitting reference signals to the base station (e.g., sounding reference signals (SRS)), which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as using resources in a first resource pool comprising at least one reference signal resource; Pezeshki; Figs. 2-4; [0042]). Regarding claim 11, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 7. Pezeshki further teaches the second information block comprises a first transmission configuration state, and the first transmission configuration state indicates whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function. Such a second information block may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as comprising transmission configuration state information and thus as comprising a first transmission configuration state. Such a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 13, Pezeshki teaches a method for use in a user equipment (UE) configured for wireless communications (User equipment (UE); Pezeshki; Fig. 2; [0041]), the method comprising: receiving a first information block (As a preliminary matter, the Examiner would like to note that the claimed “information blocks” do not appear to be “information blocks” as are known in the art such as “system information blocks (SIBs).” As can be seen in at least paragraphs [0081]-[0105] of Applicant’s specification, numerous different examples of “information blocks” are provided including but not limited to RRC signaling, a MAC CE, an Information Element (IE), a field in an IE, etc. The “first information block” and “second information block” are also described as potentially being different pieces of information in the same IE. The claimed “information blocks” thus appear to potentially be any piece of information. As can be seen in at least step 405 of Fig. 4, the UE may receive a configuration to be used for compressing one or more measurements corresponding to at least one reference signal using an AI encoder. Such a configuration is described (see, e.g., paragraph [0060]) as including at least an indication of a compression ratio and an indication of at least one AI module, which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as including a first information block. Given the broad nature of the term “information block,” the Examiner would also like to note that other interpretations may be used for the claimed information blocks; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060]), the first information block indicating a first function (At least one component of the received configuration for compression may be broadly reasonably interpreted a first information block indicating a first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060]); receiving a second information block (As can be seen in at least step 405 of Fig. 4, the UE may receive a configuration to be used for compressing one or more measurements corresponding to at least one reference signal using an AI encoder. Such a configuration is described (see, e.g., paragraph [0060]) as including at least an indication of a compression ratio and an indication of at least one AI module, which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as including a second information block. At least paragraph [0064] also discusses receiving an indication of a class of AI modules that the UE is to use, which may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as at least “a second information block.” Given the broad nature of the term “information block,” the Examiner would also like to note that other interpretations may be used for the claimed information blocks; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource is associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]); and transmitting a third information block (As can be seen in at least step 415 of Fig. 4, the UE may transmit a codeword to the base station that is associated with a compression of the one or more measurements in accordance with the configuration. At least such a codeword may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a third information block that is transmitted; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056]), the third information block indicating a first compressed channel state information (CSI) (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals. One of such AI modules is described as being trained for compression of CSI measurements. The third information block may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating a first compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]), a first pre-compressed CSI being used as an input to the first function to generate the first compressed CSI (The CSI used by the AI module as input to create the compressed CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a first pre-compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 14, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 13. Pezeshki further teaches transmitting a fourth information block (As was also discussed with regard to the independent claims, the claimed “information blocks” appear to potentially be any piece of information. As can be seen in at least step 415 of Fig. 4, the UE may transmit a codeword to the base station that is associated with a compression of the one or more measurements in accordance with the configuration. At least part of such a codeword associated with potentially multiple measurements may be broadly reasonably interpreted as a fourth information block given the broad nature of the term “information block”; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the fourth information block indicating a second compressed CSI, a second pre-compressed CSI being used as an input to a first enhancement function to generate the second compressed CSI (At least part of such a codeword generated by compressing two or more CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating a second compressed CSI, wherein a second pre-compressed CSI is used as an input to a first enhancement function (e.g., the module used for CSI compression) to generate the second compressed CSI; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), wherein the first function is used to generate the first enhancement function (The configuration information to be used for compression of CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being used to generate the module used for compression of CSI measurements; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]), the second information block indicates whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first enhancement function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether the target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first enhancement function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]), wherein the first enhancement function and the first function are different (The configuration information to be used for compression of CSI may be broadly reasonably interpreted as being used to generate the module used for compression of CSI measurements. The first enhancement function and the first function may thus be interpreted as being different; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0056], [0060], [0064]). Regarding claim 15, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 14. Pezeshki further teaches the second information block indicates the first enhancement function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first enhancement function. Such information may thus also be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating the first enhancement function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]). Regarding claim 16, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 13. Pezeshki further teaches transmitting a reference signal in a first reference signal resource pool, the first reference signal resource pool comprising at least one reference signal resource (The UE is described as transmitting reference signals to the base station (e.g., sounding reference signals (SRS)), which may be broadly reasonably interpreted as using resources in a first resource pool comprising at least one reference signal resource; Pezeshki; Figs. 2-4; [0042]). Regarding claim 17, Pezeshki teaches the limitations of claim 13. Pezeshki further teaches the second information block comprises a first transmission configuration state, and the first transmission configuration state indicates whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function (As can be seen in at least paragraph [0064], the UE may be configured with different classes of AI modules configured for compressing different types of signals (e.g., CSI), and the BS may indicate the class of AI modules that the UE is to use. Configuration of the UE to use an AI module associated with a specific type of reference signal may thus be broadly reasonably interpreted as including receipt of a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function. Such a second information block may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as comprising transmission configuration state information and thus as comprising a first transmission configuration state. Such a second information block indicating whether a target reference signal resource (e.g., CSI-RS) is associated with the first function may also be broadly reasonably interpreted as indicating whether the target reference signal resource is associated with the first function; Pezeshki; Figs. 3-4; [0049], [0056], [0060], [0064], [0093]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC MYERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2474