DETAILED ACTION
For this Office action, Claims 1-21 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. Applicant has amended the claims to further narrow the scope of the claims, in particular by requiring the limitation that the recycling means is configured to include the generation source of the dirty water, to supply recycled treated water for at least one of the toilet, washing or domestic water. Applicant then further argues that Heiss, US Pat Pub. 2005/0139530, does not disclose this limitation. Upon further consideration, the examiner agrees; therefore, the grounds of rejection are withdrawn. After further search and consideration, however, new grounds of rejection are made under 35 U.S.C. 103 using a secondary reference to address the amended limitations and are detailed below. Since the arguments do not address these new grounds of rejection, they are now considered moot and will not be addressed further at this time.
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/Remarks Made in an Amendment and the Terminal Disclaimer, filed 20 February 2026, with respect to grounds of rejection under nonstatutory double patenting have been fully considered and are persuasive. The double patenting grounds of rejection have been withdrawn. After consideration and approval of the Terminal Disclaimer, the double patenting rejections are now considered obsolete and are hereby withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 1, upon which the remaining claims are dependent, has been amended to recite “the toilet”; however, this limitation lacks established antecedent basis. See that “toilet sewage water” has been claimed, but not a toilet. Applicant is urged to address this issue in the response to this Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 13, 17, 18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Heiss, US Pat Pub. 2005/0139530, in view of Piascik et al. (herein referred to as “Piascik”, US Pat Pub. 2019/0169054).
Regarding instant Claim 1, Heiss discloses a water treatment system (Abstract; Figure 1; water purifier) comprising:
a first unit having a generation source of dirty water containing overall domestic drainage water and toilet sewage water (Abstract; Figure 1; Paragraph [0027]; at least water source 1, stationary pump 5 and portable submersible pump 3);
a third unit having a dirty-water inlet fluidly connected to the first unit and further having a pump, filter devices, and a control device, and at least a disinfectant device (Figure 1; Paragraph [0032]; Paragraph [0033]; third unit in storage tank 14 with chlorine injection 15 [disinfectant device], pumps 17/20; filter devices in UF modules 18/19 [filter devices]; ACS/automatic control system is control device for entire system; inlet of storage tank 14 fluidly connected with water source 1/first unit); wherein
each of the first and third units includes a sensor and a valve, and is transportable independent of other units by closing the valve (Figure 1; Figure 2; Figure 3; Paragraph [0037]; Paragraph [0031]; Paragraph [0033]; Paragraph [0034]; Paragraph [0037]; analyzers 12, 13, 21-23, various valves and sensors through system; see that individual units such as vessel, UF modules could be removed if valves are closed based on the construction of the system),
the control device performs centralized control of at least any of the valve, the pump, the disinfection device based on the sensor data from the sensor of each of the first to third to units (Abstract; Paragraph [0027]; Paragraph [0033]; various other paragraphs; ACS controls all such operations),
the first and third units include a recycling means to treat and recycle the dirty water in a circulation (Figure 1; Paragraph [0033]; see flow path used for backwashing and flushing/cleaning regarding UF modules 17/18; sensors and quality parameters would allow for further recycling of water through UF modules as necessary), and
the recycling means is configured to fluidly connect from the first unit to the filter devices in the third unit, and to fluidly connect from the third unit back to the first unit (Figure 1; Paragraph [0033]; see recycling loop that returns water from downstream of UF modules upstream of UF modules; first unit is fluid source, so returning water upstream is returning it to fluid source).
However, Heiss is silent on the recycling means being further configured to fluidly connect back to the first unit including the generation source of the dirty water, to supply the recycled treated water for at least one of the toilet, washing or domestic water.
Piascik discloses a liquid waste treatment system in the same field of endeavor as the instant application, as it solves the mutual problem of treating liquid waste water (Abstract). Piascik further discloses the return of recycled treated water for a toilet in order to recycle and conserve water used for toilet services (Figure 10; Paragraph [0094]; see return line system 1022 to toilet 1010).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the invention to modify the recycling means and first unit of Heiss to recycle the water to the generation source of the dirty water, to supply the recycled treated water for a toilet as taught by Piascik because Piascik discloses such recycling conserves water used for toilet services (Piacik, Paragraph [0094]).
Regarding instant Claim 2, Claim 1, upon which Claim 2 is dependent, has been rejected above. Heiss further discloses wherein the recycling means is configured to fluidly connect from the first unit to the filter devices in the third unit, and to fluidly connect from the filter devices through a water tank in the third unit back to the first unit (Figure 1; Paragraph [0033]; see tank 24).
Regarding instant Claim 13, Claim 1, upon which Claim 13 is dependent, has been rejected above. Heiss further discloses wherein the sensor data is the data required for water treatment, including at least water quality and volume of water (Heiss, Paragraph [0037]; Paragraph [0031]; Paragraph [0033]; Paragraph [0034]; Paragraph [0037]; sensors for flow plus various analyzers for water quality such as TOC and chlorine concentration).
Regarding instant Claim 17, Claim 1, upon which Claim 17 is dependent, has been rejected above. Heiss further discloses comprising a fifth unit that includes a decomposition treatment device for further decomposing and treating concentrated dirty water and impurities generated in the third unit (Figure 1; Paragraph [0042]; ozone injection 41 downstream of UF modules).
Regarding instant Claim 18, Claim 1, upon which Claim 18 is dependent, has been rejected above. Heiss further discloses wherein the dirty water is treated and recycled when a water supply and drainage infrastructure fails to function (Figure 1; Paragraphs [0032]-[0033]; Paragraph [0042]; water quality is monitored and recirculation occurs to meet certain water quality parameters/standards).
Regarding instant Claim 20, Claim 1, upon which Claim 20 is dependent, has been rejected above. Heiss further discloses wherein the third unit is connected to the first unit to set a water quality condition and prepare an equipment, both required for water supply and drainage when drainage water is not flown into an infrastructure sewage system (Figure 1; Paragraphs [0018], [0033], [0042]; water quality parameters are monitored throughout the system, including parameter thresholds).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/RICHARD C GURTOWSKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1773 03/12/2026