DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 2 and 20 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 2 and 20 both comprise a limitation “and the positive electrode connection terminal is configured to be connected to the negative electrode of the power source”. Based on a review of corresponding disclosure in ¶[0031] of the Specification filed 1/5/2024, this appears to be a typographical error and should instead read “and the negative electrode connection terminal is configured to be connected to the negative electrode of the power source.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-13 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Han et al. (Chinese Patent Publication No. CN213554885U) hereinafter referred to as Han.
Regarding claim 1, Han teaches a foot electrical stimulation massager ([0004]), comprising:
a first conductive region and a second conductive region, the first conductive region and the second conductive region being configured to simultaneously apply electrical stimulation to a same sole ([0008] and [0009]);
wherein the first conductive region is connected to a positive electrode of a power source, the second conductive region is connected to a negative electrode of the power source ([0008] and [0009]),
the first conductive region is configured to receive a current input by the positive electrode of the power source and transmit the current to the second conductive region via the sole upon transmitting the current to the sole thereon to apply the electrical stimulation ([0022], reference to Fig. 1), and the second conductive region is configured to output the current to the negative electrode of the power source ([0022], reference to Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 2, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 1.
Han teaches further comprising: a positive electrode connection terminal and a negative electrode connection terminal ([0022], reference to Fig. 1); wherein the positive electrode connection terminal is electrically connected to the first conductive region ([0022], reference to Fig. 1), and the positive electrode connection terminal is configured to be connected to the positive electrode of the power source ([0021]); and the negative electrode connection terminal is electrically connected to the second conductive region ([0022], reference to Fig. 1), and the negative electrode connection terminal is configured to be connected to the negative electrode of the power source ([0021]).
Regarding claim 3, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 2.
Han teaches further comprising: a base (Fig. 2, element 3); wherein the first conductive region, the second conductive region, the positive electrode connection terminal, and the negative electrode connection terminal are all disposed on a surface of the base (Fig. 1 and Fig. 2, when assembled these elements are supported by a surface of the base).
Regarding claim 4, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 1.
Han further teaches wherein the first conductive region is in contact with a front plantar region of the sole in use, and the second conductive region is in contact with a heel region of the sole in use ([0022], reference to Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 2.
Han teaches further comprising: a third conductive region and a fourth conductive region, the third conductive region and the fourth conductive region being configured to simultaneously apply electrical stimulation to another sole; wherein the third conductive region is electrically connected to the positive electrode connection terminal, and the fourth conductive region is electrically connected to the negative electrode connection terminal ([0022], reference to Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 6, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 2.
Han further teaches wherein the positive electrode connection terminal and the negative electrode connection terminal are disposed between the first conductive region and the third conductive region ([0017], reference to Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 7, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 1.
Han further teaches wherein the base is insulated, and the first conductive region and the second conductive region are respectively formed by arranging printed circuits on the base ([0017], reference to Fig. 1 and 2, PCB).
Regarding claim 8, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 7.
Han further teaches wherein the printed circuits are made by printing silver paste, or the printed circuits are made by conductive rubber or graphene ([0017], reference to Fig. 2, PCB).
Regarding claim 9, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 1.
Han further teaches wherein the first conductive region and the second conductive region are vertically arranged or horizontally arranged ([0022], reference to Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 1.
Han further teaches wherein the first conductive region and the second conductive region together form a shape capable of accommodating a sole, to form a conductive region that simultaneously electrically stimulates the same sole ([0022], reference to Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 11, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 10.
Han further teaches wherein a plurality of the conductive regions are arranged side by side on the foot electrical stimulation massager, forming a conductive region array for electrically stimulating to multiple pairs of soles ([0022], reference to Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 12, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 2.
Han further teaches wherein the positive electrode connection terminal is arranged on the first conductive region, and directly electrically connected to the first conductive region; or the positive electrode connection terminal is arranged separately from the first conductive region, and electrically connected to the first conductive region via printed circuit traces or wire connections ([0019], [0020], [0022], reference to Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 13, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 2.
Han further teaches wherein the negative electrode connection terminal is arranged on the second conductive region, and directly electrically connected to the second conductive region; or the negative electrode connection terminal is arranged separately from the second conductive region, and electrically connected to the second conductive region via printed circuit traces or wire connections ([0019], [0020], [0022], reference to Fig. 2).
Regarding claims 19-20, the claims are directed to a massage device comprising substantially the same subject matter as claims 1-2 and are rejected under substantially the same sections of Han.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Han; in view of Chen (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2020/0139106) hereinafter referred to as Chen.
Regarding claim 14, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 2.
Han does not teach wherein the positive electrode connection terminal is a conductive snap-fit structure or a pin connection structure; the negative terminal is a conductive snap-fit structure or a pin connection structure.
Attention is drawn to the Chen reference, which teaches wherein the positive electrode connection terminal is a conductive snap-fit structure or a pin connection structure; the negative terminal is a conductive snap-fit structure or a pin connection structure (¶[0117]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the electrode connection terminals of Han to include snap-fit structures, as taught by Chen, because the snaps releasably engage and electrically connect the electrode pad to a stimulation unit, which would improve hygiene (Chen ¶[0117]).
Regarding claim 15, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 1.
Han does not teach a foot massage cushion; wherein the first conductive region and the second conductive region are disposed on an outer surface of the foot massage cushion.
Attention is drawn to the Chen reference, which teaches a foot massage cushion; wherein the first conductive region and the second conductive region are disposed on an outer surface of the foot massage cushion (¶[0118], ¶[0149], a slipper form includes an insole which functions as a cushion for the foot).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the massager to Han to take the form of slippers, as taught by Chen, because the slippers can directly contact particular areas of the body surface, and a conformal surface can more easily be applied to body surfaces (Chen ¶[0118], ¶[0149]).
Regarding claim 16, Han teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 1.
Han does not teach wherein the foot electrical stimulation massager is a slipper, the slipper comprising an insulative shoe sole; wherein the first conductive region and the second conductive region are both disposed on a surface of the insulative shoe sole, wherein the surface of the insulative shoe sole is close to the sole.
Attention is drawn to the Chen reference, which teaches a foot electrical stimulation massager that is a slipper, the slipper comprising an insulative shoe sole; wherein the first conductive region and the second conductive region are both disposed on a surface of the insulative shoe sole, wherein the surface of the insulative shoe sole is close to the sole (¶[0118], ¶[0149]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify the massager to Han to take the form of slippers, as taught by Chen, because the slippers can directly contact particular areas of the body surface, and a conformal surface can more easily be applied to body surfaces (Chen ¶[0118], ¶[0149]).
Regarding claim 17, Han as modified teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 16.
Chen further teaches wherein the positive electrode connection terminal is disposed at an end corner, facing towards the second conductive region, on the first conductive region; and the negative electrode connection terminal is disposed at an end corner, opposite to the positive electrode connection terminal, on the second conductive region (above, Han teaches the configuration of positive and negative connected electrodes, Fig. 44, 50 of Chen shows their relative locations in the form of snap connector locations).
Regarding claim 18, Han as modified teaches the foot electrical stimulation massager according to claim 16.
Chen further teaches wherein a protrusion is formed on a side of the insulative shoe sole, wherein the side of the insulative shoe sole is for contacting with the sole, and the protrusion is positioned between the first conductive region and the second conductive region (¶[0232] insulation area, Fig. 50).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2017/0354816 to Huelman et al. teaches a variety of electrical stimulation substrates configured for parts of the body including feet.
Chinese Patent Publication No. CN207118667U to Huang teaches a shoe-pad and wiring of positive and negative terminals.
U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2004/0059387 to Yu teaches an electrically stimulating pad or shoe.
/AMANDA L STEINBERG/Examiner, Art Unit 3792