This office action is in response to remarks filed on 03/26/2026.
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, and 15-18 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 5, 10, 11, and 15 are amended. Claims 3, 4, 13, and 14 are canceled.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 03/30/2026 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 5, 10, 11, and 15 have been considered based on amendments.
35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection for claim 11 is withdrawn.
35 U.S.C. 101 rejection for claims 1-18 is withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 5-12, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Baudia et al (US20250063462A1) (hereinafter "Baudia") in view of Hampel et al (US20200092784A1) (hereinafter "Hampel").
Regarding claim 1, Baudia discloses a multi-hop wireless network system comprising a plurality of network nodes, comprising:
a first member node (Fig. 2: nodes 54, 56) comprising a processor ([0136] The relay node 100 further comprises a processor 116 for determining location information based on a signal transmitted between the second transceiver 112 and the or each mobile device.) and a storage circuit coupled to the processor ([0137] In an embodiment the relay node 100 comprises a storage 118 for buffering the data and/or location information prior to transmission by the first transceiver 110 to the upstream server 30.), connected to a control node (Fig. 2: node 12) of the network nodes through a first relay node (Fig. 2: node 50) in a tree topology network formed by the network nodes, and operating as a second relay node (Fig. 3B: node 56), wherein the first member node is configured to ([0117] Each relay node 14, 18, 20, 22, 24 comprises a first transceiver (110 in FIG. 5) for communicating with one or more other relay nodes so as to establish the multi-hop communication pathway (or single hop in the case of relay node 14). [0118] With a connection based approach, a path is established between a source (server 30 or device 26, 28) and a destination (device 26, 28 or server 30, respectively depending on the direction of the data), which may be via multiple hops, and the transmission of data is singe node by single node for each hop across a chain of the connections between nodes across the path. The topology employed is tree based rather than mesh based.).
Baudia fails to disclose a multi-hop wireless network system comprising a plurality of network nodes, wherein the first member node is configured to:
as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected, stop operating as the second relay node,
wherein the first member node is connected to a wireless terminal interface of a second member node through an access point interface of the first member node to operate as the second relay node of the second member node,
wherein the first member node stops operating as the second relay node by disabling the access point interface of the first member node as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected.
However, Hampel discloses a multi-hop wireless network system comprising a plurality of network nodes, wherein the first member node is configured to:
as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected, stop operating as the second relay node ([0121] In some aspects, relay device 405-b may suspend transmission on one or more channels (e.g., reference signals, synchronization signals, system information signals, beam management signals, and the like) in response to detecting the upstream RLF. Relay device 405-b may suspend transmission on such channels immediately upon detecting the upstream RLF or may initiate a timer upon detecting the upstream RLF and suspend transmission on such channels when the timer expires. In some aspects, relay devices 405-c and/or 405-d receiving the indication of the upstream RLF may, from their perspective, be considered detecting an upstream RLF.),
wherein the first member node is connected to a wireless terminal interface of a second member node through an access point interface of the first member node to operate as the second relay node of the second member node ([0204] The communications manager 1010 may detect an upstream RLF associated with an upstream link of a wireless backhaul, where the wireless backhaul includes a first wireless link between the relay device and a first upstream backhaul device, provide a first indication of the upstream RLF over a second wireless link between the relay device and a first downstream device, establish a third wireless link with a second upstream backhaul device based on the detected upstream RLF, and provide multiple-access services to one or more downstream devices, where providing the multiple-access services is based on backhaul communications between the relay device and the second upstream backhaul device over the third wireless link.),
wherein the first member node stops operating as the second relay node by disabling the access point interface of the first member node as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected ([0040] The first indication may be explicit or implicit. The first indication may be provided using one or more signals/message, based on scrambling certain signals/channels, based on the suspension of certain radio channels, and the like. [0120] In some aspects, the first indication may be provided by relay device 405-b scrambling one or more signals in response to the detected upstream RLF. For example, relay device 405-b may conventionally transmit one or more reference signals, synchronization signals, beam management signals, and the like, over the wireless links to each of its downstream devices. Upon detecting the upstream RLF, relay device 405-b may scramble, encode, encrypt, and the like, one or more of such signals to convey the indication that the upstream RLF has occurred. [0121] In some aspects, relay device 405-b may suspend transmission on one or more channels (e.g., reference signals, synchronization signals, system information signals, beam management signals, and the like) in response to detecting the upstream RLF. Relay device 405-b may suspend transmission on such channels immediately upon detecting the upstream RLF or may initiate a timer upon detecting the upstream RLF and suspend transmission on such channels when the timer expires. In some aspects, relay devices 405-c and/or 405-d receiving the indication of the upstream RLF may, from their perspective, be considered detecting an upstream RLF. [0122] At the stage shown in FIG. 4C, relay device 405-d may transmit or otherwise provide a first indication of the upstream RLF over the wireless link between relay device 405-d and relay device 405-e. As discussed above, the indication of the upstream RLF may be an implicit and/or explicit indication, e.g., may transmit a signal identifying the upstream RLF and/or may suspend transmission on various radio channels.).
Baudia and Hampel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of radio link failure management in a wireless network utilizing relay devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Baudia with Hampel to create a multi-hop wireless network system comprising a plurality of network nodes, wherein the first member node is configured to: as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected, stop operating as the second relay node, wherein the first member node is connected to a wireless terminal interface of a second member node through an access point interface of the first member node to operate as the second relay node of the second member node, wherein the first member node stops operating as the second relay node by disabling the access point interface of the first member node as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to rapidly and effectively establish connectivity between devices in a mesh network, optimize the network topology structure, and improve the communication quality between the devices.
Regarding claim 2, Baudia discloses the multi-hop wireless network system, wherein a distance between the first member node and the control node exceeds a connection distance threshold ([0129] Further, in an embodiment, if a downstream node is able to establish a pathway to the gateway 12 via a smaller number of hops it will do so. … In the least hops configuration, when relay node 50 is operable again (or is not blocked), after node 50 connects to the gateway 12, then node 54 will be able to determine that re-establishing the path to gateway via node 50 will have fewer hops and it would thus disconnect from node 56 and connect via node 50. Node 56 might remain connected to node 52. [0188] Each node may use an advertising phase (ADV) when it announces on a broadcast basis that it is connected to the gateway as well as its distance to the gateway. If a node is unconnected or is connected to another node more hops away from the gateway than the current node it is connected to, then the node may disconnect from the current node and then connect to the node with the fewer number of hops and in an embodiment the strongest signal strength.).
Regarding claim 5, Baudia fails to disclose the multi-hop wireless network system, wherein the first member node is further configured to: in response to determining that the first member node is switched through the control node to be connected to the control node through a third relay node, operate again as the second relay node by enabling the access point interface of the first member node.
However, Hampel discloses the multi-hop wireless network system, wherein the first member node is further configured to:
in response to determining that the first member node is switched through the control node to be connected to the control node through a third relay node, operate again as the second relay node by enabling the access point interface of the first member node ([0118] Turning first to the stage shown in FIG. 4A, an example RLF is illustrated as having occurred over the wireless link between relay device 405-a and 405-b (indicated by the “X”). The example RLF may be based on any of the discussed techniques above. Relay device 405-b may therefore determine or otherwise detect that an upstream RLF has occurred, e.g., based on radio link management monitoring of the wireless link. [0119] At the stage shown in FIG. 4B, relay device 405-b provides a first indication of the upstream RLF over wireless links between the relay device 405-b and one or more associated downstream devices (e.g., downstream devices would include relay device 405-c and 405-d, each with an associated wireless link). [0123] In some aspects, once each relay device 405 determines or otherwise detects the upstream RLF, each relay device 405 may begin the process of identifying a new path to the anchor node relay device 405-a. In some aspects, this may include one or more backup or inactive channels previously identified by the relay device 405. For example, during normal operations each relay device 405 may monitor for and/or otherwise identify potential backup wireless links and/or may actually configure additional backhaul wireless links to be in an inactive status. A first step that each relay device 405 may take when the upstream RLF is detected, and the corresponding indication of the upstream RLF is provided, would be to identify such an active or backup wireless links that would connect them to the anchor node relay device 405-a. When no such backup or inactive backhaul wireless links are available, each relay device 405 may begin searching or monitoring for a new wireless link to establish a backhaul connection to anchor node relay device 405-a. [0124] This begins at the stage shown in FIG. 4D in which relay device 405-e establishes a new wireless link with the second upstream backhaul device.).
Baudia and Hampel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of radio link failure management in a wireless network utilizing relay devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Baudia with Hampel to create the multi-hop wireless network system, wherein the first member node is further configured to: in response to determining that the first member node is switched through the control node to be connected to the control node through a third relay node, operate again as the second relay node by enabling the access point interface of the first member node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to rapidly and effectively establish connectivity between devices in a mesh network, optimize the network topology structure, and improve the communication quality between the devices.
Regarding claim 6, Baudia fails to disclose the multi-hop wireless network system, wherein the first member node operates as a wireless terminal served by the first relay node.
However, Hampel discloses the multi-hop wireless network system, wherein the first member node operates as a wireless terminal served by the first relay node ([0204] The communications manager 1010 may detect an upstream RLF associated with an upstream link of a wireless backhaul, where the wireless backhaul includes a first wireless link between the relay device and a first upstream backhaul device, provide a first indication of the upstream RLF over a second wireless link between the relay device and a first downstream device, establish a third wireless link with a second upstream backhaul device based on the detected upstream RLF, and provide multiple-access services to one or more downstream devices, where providing the multiple-access services is based on backhaul communications between the relay device and the second upstream backhaul device over the third wireless link.).
Baudia and Hampel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of radio link failure management in a wireless network utilizing relay devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Baudia with Hampel to create the multi-hop wireless network system, wherein the first member node operates as a wireless terminal served by the first relay node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to rapidly and effectively establish connectivity between devices in a mesh network, optimize the network topology structure, and improve the communication quality between the devices.
Regarding claim 7, Baudia fails to disclose the multi-hop wireless network system, wherein the first member node is connected to an access point interface of the first relay node through a wireless terminal interface of the first member node, and the first member node is configured to: in response to determining that connection between the wireless terminal interlace of the first member node and the access point interface of the first relay node is disconnected, determine that the connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected.
However, Hampel discloses the multi-hop wireless network system, wherein the first member node is connected to an access point interface of the first relay node through a wireless terminal interface of the first member node, and the first member node is configured to ([0204] The communications manager 1010 may detect an upstream RLF associated with an upstream link of a wireless backhaul, where the wireless backhaul includes a first wireless link between the relay device and a first upstream backhaul device, provide a first indication of the upstream RLF over a second wireless link between the relay device and a first downstream device, establish a third wireless link with a second upstream backhaul device based on the detected upstream RLF, and provide multiple-access services to one or more downstream devices, where providing the multiple-access services is based on backhaul communications between the relay device and the second upstream backhaul device over the third wireless link.):
in response to determining that connection between the wireless terminal interlace of the first member node and the access point interface of the first relay node is disconnected, determine that the connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected ([0127] Generally, relay 1 (R1) informs relays 2 (R2) and 3 (R3) about its backhaul RLF via a BH-RLF-alert message. R3 propagates this alert to relay 4 (R4). At this point, all relay devices 405 affected by the backhaul RLF have been notified, and they can search for alternative attachment points. The notified relay devices 405 may further stop admitting UEs or child-relays, and they may further reject access requests.).
Baudia and Hampel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of radio link failure management in a wireless network utilizing relay devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Baudia with Hampel to create the multi-hop wireless network system, wherein the first member node is connected to an access point interface of the first relay node through a wireless terminal interface of the first member node, and the first member node is configured to: in response to determining that connection between the wireless terminal interlace of the first member node and the access point interface of the first relay node is disconnected, determine that the connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to rapidly and effectively establish connectivity between devices in a mesh network, optimize the network topology structure, and improve the communication quality between the devices.
Regarding claim 8, Baudia discloses the multi-hop wireless network system further comprising:
the control node, configured to ([0132] A health status message may be used instead of a heartbeat signal. The health status may be sent periodically from each relay node to the server 30, say every 2 min, 5 min or 10 mins. The health status may comprise the battery level of the relay node, upstream and downstream connected nodes' received signal strength. Each relay node may be identified by its upstream MAC address as a unique identifier of the node.):
obtain a signal scan result of the first member node; and ([0131] A connection dropping/severing criteria may be provided. Typically, this may be by timeout of a heartbeat signal (such as a ping message), or drop in data transfer rate below a threshold or packet loss above a threshold, or a combination. In an embodiment the connection may be severed when a better connection (such as with a better signal strength) is available.)
switch the first member node to be connected to the control node through a third relay node based on the signal scan result of the first member node ([0026] A tier B node establishes and forms a wireless point-to-point unidirectional or bidirectional link with one tier A node, and a tier C node establishes and forms a wireless point-to-point unidirectional and bidirectional link with one tier B node or optionally with one tier A node. [0130] FIG. 4 likewise illustrates node 18 becoming inoperable or its transmission to the node 16 is blocked or otherwise interfered with (including a data transfer rate dropping below a threshold). Node 22 is in range of node 14 so a connection 84 is established between nodes 14 and 20. Thus by establishing connection 84, device 26 can communicate with the server 30 by the chain of connections 90, 88, 86, 84, 80 and 96. Device 28 can communicate with the server 30 by the chain of connections 82, 86, 84, 80 and 96.).
Regarding claim 9, Baudia fails to disclose the multi-hop wireless network system, wherein the control node is a multi-point relay, and the first member node is a mesh access point.
However, Hampel discloses the multi-hop wireless network system, wherein the control node is a multi-point relay, and the first member node is a mesh access point ([0093] In some wireless communications systems, such as those deploying NR technologies, wireless backhaul links may be used to couple an access nodes (ANs) 305 to a network in place of a high-capacity, wired backhaul link (e.g., fiber). For example, a first AN 305 (e.g., a relay node or device) in communication with a UE 115, or another AN 305, may establish a backhaul link (wired or wireless) with a second AN 305 (e.g., anchor node or device), which has a high-capacity, wired backhaul link to the network. … The first AN 305 may be referred to as a UE-function (UEF) with respect to the anchor AN 305 and an Access Node Function (ANF) with respect to the UE (or another AN 305) with which the first AN 305 is communicating. Thus, a relay device may act as a UE for its one or more parent relays (e.g., upstream backhaul devices, which may also be considered relays that connect the relay device one hop closer to the anchor) and as a base station for its child relays and/or UEs (e.g., one or more downstream devices) within its coverage area.).
Baudia and Hampel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of radio link failure management in a wireless network utilizing relay devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Baudia with Hampel to create the multi-hop wireless network system, wherein the control node is a multi-point relay, and the first member node is a mesh access point.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to rapidly and effectively establish connectivity between devices in a mesh network, optimize the network topology structure, and improve the communication quality between the devices.
Regarding claim 10, Baudia discloses a method for maintaining a tree network topology, executed by a first member node of a plurality of network nodes of a multi-hop wireless network system, wherein the first member node comprises a processor and a storage circuit coupled to the processor, wherein the first member node is connected to a control node of the network nodes through a first relay node in a tree topology network formed by the network nodes, and operates as a second relay node, wherein the method comprises ([0117] Each relay node 14, 18, 20, 22, 24 comprises a first transceiver (110 in FIG. 5) for communicating with one or more other relay nodes so as to establish the multi-hop communication pathway (or single hop in the case of relay node 14). [0118] With a connection based approach, a path is established between a source (server 30 or device 26, 28) and a destination (device 26, 28 or server 30, respectively depending on the direction of the data), which may be via multiple hops, and the transmission of data is singe node by single node for each hop across a chain of the connections between nodes across the path. The topology employed is tree based rather than mesh based.).
Baudia fails to disclose a method for maintaining a tree network topology, wherein the method comprises:
as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected, stop operating as the second relay node,
wherein the first member node is connected to a wireless terminal interface of a second member node through an access point interface of the first member node to operate as the second relay node of the second member node,
wherein the first member node stops operating as the second relay node by disabling the access point interface of the first member node as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected.
However, Hampel discloses a method for maintaining a tree network topology, wherein the method comprises:
as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected, the first member node stopping operating as the second relay node ([0121] In some aspects, relay device 405-b may suspend transmission on one or more channels (e.g., reference signals, synchronization signals, system information signals, beam management signals, and the like) in response to detecting the upstream RLF. Relay device 405-b may suspend transmission on such channels immediately upon detecting the upstream RLF or may initiate a timer upon detecting the upstream RLF and suspend transmission on such channels when the timer expires. In some aspects, relay devices 405-c and/or 405-d receiving the indication of the upstream RLF may, from their perspective, be considered detecting an upstream RLF.),
wherein the first member node is connected to a wireless terminal interface of a second member node through an access point interface of the first member node to operate as the second relay node of the second member node ([0204] The communications manager 1010 may detect an upstream RLF associated with an upstream link of a wireless backhaul, where the wireless backhaul includes a first wireless link between the relay device and a first upstream backhaul device, provide a first indication of the upstream RLF over a second wireless link between the relay device and a first downstream device, establish a third wireless link with a second upstream backhaul device based on the detected upstream RLF, and provide multiple-access services to one or more downstream devices, where providing the multiple-access services is based on backhaul communications between the relay device and the second upstream backhaul device over the third wireless link.),
wherein the first member node stops operating as the second relay node by disabling the access point interface of the first member node as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected ([0040] The first indication may be explicit or implicit. The first indication may be provided using one or more signals/message, based on scrambling certain signals/channels, based on the suspension of certain radio channels, and the like. [0120] In some aspects, the first indication may be provided by relay device 405-b scrambling one or more signals in response to the detected upstream RLF. For example, relay device 405-b may conventionally transmit one or more reference signals, synchronization signals, beam management signals, and the like, over the wireless links to each of its downstream devices. Upon detecting the upstream RLF, relay device 405-b may scramble, encode, encrypt, and the like, one or more of such signals to convey the indication that the upstream RLF has occurred. [0121] In some aspects, relay device 405-b may suspend transmission on one or more channels (e.g., reference signals, synchronization signals, system information signals, beam management signals, and the like) in response to detecting the upstream RLF. Relay device 405-b may suspend transmission on such channels immediately upon detecting the upstream RLF or may initiate a timer upon detecting the upstream RLF and suspend transmission on such channels when the timer expires. In some aspects, relay devices 405-c and/or 405-d receiving the indication of the upstream RLF may, from their perspective, be considered detecting an upstream RLF. [0122] At the stage shown in FIG. 4C, relay device 405-d may transmit or otherwise provide a first indication of the upstream RLF over the wireless link between relay device 405-d and relay device 405-e. As discussed above, the indication of the upstream RLF may be an implicit and/or explicit indication, e.g., may transmit a signal identifying the upstream RLF and/or may suspend transmission on various radio channels.).
Baudia and Hampel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of radio link failure management in a wireless network utilizing relay devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Baudia with Hampel to create a method for maintaining a tree network topology, wherein the method comprises: as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected, the first member node stopping operating as the second relay node, wherein the first member node is connected to a wireless terminal interface of a second member node through an access point interface of the first member node to operate as the second relay node of the second member node, wherein the first member node stops operating as the second relay node by disabling the access point interface of the first member node as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to rapidly and effectively establish connectivity between devices in a mesh network, optimize the network topology structure, and improve the communication quality between the devices.
Regarding claim 11, Baudia discloses first member node comprising a processor and a storage circuit coupled to the processor, connected to a control node of a plurality of network nodes through a first relay node in a tree topology network formed by the network nodes, and operating as a second relay node, wherein the first member node is configured to ([0117] Each relay node 14, 18, 20, 22, 24 comprises a first transceiver (110 in FIG. 5) for communicating with one or more other relay nodes so as to establish the multi-hop communication pathway (or single hop in the case of relay node 14). [0118] With a connection based approach, a path is established between a source (server 30 or device 26, 28) and a destination (device 26, 28 or server 30, respectively depending on the direction of the data), which may be via multiple hops, and the transmission of data is singe node by single node for each hop across a chain of the connections between nodes across the path. The topology employed is tree based rather than mesh based.).
Baudia fails to disclose a first member node, wherein the first member node is configured to:
as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected, stop operating as the second relay node,
wherein the first member node is connected to a wireless terminal interface of a second member node through an access point interface of the first member node to operate as the second relay node of the second member node,
wherein the first member node stops operating as the second relay node by disabling the access point interface of the first member node as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected.
However, Hampel discloses a first member node, wherein the first member node is configured to:
as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected, the first member node stopping operating as the second relay node ([0121] In some aspects, relay device 405-b may suspend transmission on one or more channels (e.g., reference signals, synchronization signals, system information signals, beam management signals, and the like) in response to detecting the upstream RLF. Relay device 405-b may suspend transmission on such channels immediately upon detecting the upstream RLF or may initiate a timer upon detecting the upstream RLF and suspend transmission on such channels when the timer expires. In some aspects, relay devices 405-c and/or 405-d receiving the indication of the upstream RLF may, from their perspective, be considered detecting an upstream RLF.),
wherein the first member node is connected to a wireless terminal interface of a second member node through an access point interface of the first member node to operate as the second relay node of the second member node ([0204] The communications manager 1010 may detect an upstream RLF associated with an upstream link of a wireless backhaul, where the wireless backhaul includes a first wireless link between the relay device and a first upstream backhaul device, provide a first indication of the upstream RLF over a second wireless link between the relay device and a first downstream device, establish a third wireless link with a second upstream backhaul device based on the detected upstream RLF, and provide multiple-access services to one or more downstream devices, where providing the multiple-access services is based on backhaul communications between the relay device and the second upstream backhaul device over the third wireless link.),
wherein the first member node stops operating as the second relay node by disabling the access point interface of the first member node as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected ([0040] The first indication may be explicit or implicit. The first indication may be provided using one or more signals/message, based on scrambling certain signals/channels, based on the suspension of certain radio channels, and the like. [0120] In some aspects, the first indication may be provided by relay device 405-b scrambling one or more signals in response to the detected upstream RLF. For example, relay device 405-b may conventionally transmit one or more reference signals, synchronization signals, beam management signals, and the like, over the wireless links to each of its downstream devices. Upon detecting the upstream RLF, relay device 405-b may scramble, encode, encrypt, and the like, one or more of such signals to convey the indication that the upstream RLF has occurred. [0121] In some aspects, relay device 405-b may suspend transmission on one or more channels (e.g., reference signals, synchronization signals, system information signals, beam management signals, and the like) in response to detecting the upstream RLF. Relay device 405-b may suspend transmission on such channels immediately upon detecting the upstream RLF or may initiate a timer upon detecting the upstream RLF and suspend transmission on such channels when the timer expires. In some aspects, relay devices 405-c and/or 405-d receiving the indication of the upstream RLF may, from their perspective, be considered detecting an upstream RLF. [0122] At the stage shown in FIG. 4C, relay device 405-d may transmit or otherwise provide a first indication of the upstream RLF over the wireless link between relay device 405-d and relay device 405-e. As discussed above, the indication of the upstream RLF may be an implicit and/or explicit indication, e.g., may transmit a signal identifying the upstream RLF and/or may suspend transmission on various radio channels.).
Baudia and Hampel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of radio link failure management in a wireless network utilizing relay devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Baudia with Hampel to create a first member node, wherein the first member node is configured to: as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected, the first member node stopping operating as the second relay node, wherein the first member node is connected to a wireless terminal interface of a second member node through an access point interface of the first member node to operate as the second relay node of the second member node, wherein the first member node stops operating as the second relay node by disabling the access point interface of the first member node as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to rapidly and effectively establish connectivity between devices in a mesh network, optimize the network topology structure, and improve the communication quality between the devices.
Regarding claim 12, Baudia discloses the first member node, wherein a distance between the first member node and the control node exceeds a connection distance threshold ([0129] Further, in an embodiment, if a downstream node is able to establish a pathway to the gateway 12 via a smaller number of hops it will do so. … In the least hops configuration, when relay node 50 is operable again (or is not blocked), after node 50 connects to the gateway 12, then node 54 will be able to determine that re-establishing the path to gateway via node 50 will have fewer hops and it would thus disconnect from node 56 and connect via node 50. Node 56 might remain connected to node 52. [0188] Each node may use an advertising phase (ADV) when it announces on a broadcast basis that it is connected to the gateway as well as its distance to the gateway. If a node is unconnected or is connected to another node more hops away from the gateway than the current node it is connected to, then the node may disconnect from the current node and then connect to the node with the fewer number of hops and in an embodiment the strongest signal strength.).
Regarding claim 15, Baudia fails to disclose the first member node, wherein the first member node is further configured to: in response to determining that the first member node is switched through the control node to be connected to the control node through a third relay node, operate again as the second relay node by enabling the access point interface of the first member node.
However, Hampel discloses the first member node, wherein the first member node is further configured to: in response to determining that the first member node is switched through the control node to be connected to the control node through a third relay node, operate again as the second relay node by enabling the access point interface of the first member node ([0118] Turning first to the stage shown in FIG. 4A, an example RLF is illustrated as having occurred over the wireless link between relay device 405-a and 405-b (indicated by the “X”). The example RLF may be based on any of the discussed techniques above. Relay device 405-b may therefore determine or otherwise detect that an upstream RLF has occurred, e.g., based on radio link management monitoring of the wireless link. [0119] At the stage shown in FIG. 4B, relay device 405-b provides a first indication of the upstream RLF over wireless links between the relay device 405-b and one or more associated downstream devices (e.g., downstream devices would include relay device 405-c and 405-d, each with an associated wireless link). [0123] In some aspects, once each relay device 405 determines or otherwise detects the upstream RLF, each relay device 405 may begin the process of identifying a new path to the anchor node relay device 405-a. In some aspects, this may include one or more backup or inactive channels previously identified by the relay device 405. For example, during normal operations each relay device 405 may monitor for and/or otherwise identify potential backup wireless links and/or may actually configure additional backhaul wireless links to be in an inactive status. A first step that each relay device 405 may take when the upstream RLF is detected, and the corresponding indication of the upstream RLF is provided, would be to identify such an active or backup wireless links that would connect them to the anchor node relay device 405-a. When no such backup or inactive backhaul wireless links are available, each relay device 405 may begin searching or monitoring for a new wireless link to establish a backhaul connection to anchor node relay device 405-a. [0124] This begins at the stage shown in FIG. 4D in which relay device 405-e establishes a new wireless link with the second upstream backhaul device.).
Baudia and Hampel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of radio link failure management in a wireless network utilizing relay devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Baudia with Hampel to create the first member node, wherein the first member node is further configured to: in response to determining that the first member node is switched through the control node to be connected to the control node through a third relay node, operate again as the second relay node by enabling the access point interface of the first member node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to rapidly and effectively establish connectivity between devices in a mesh network, optimize the network topology structure, and improve the communication quality between the devices.
Regarding claim 16, Baudia fails to disclose the first member node, wherein the first member node operates as a wireless terminal served by the first relay node.
However, Hampel discloses the first member node, wherein the first member node operates as a wireless terminal served by the first relay node ([0204] The communications manager 1010 may detect an upstream RLF associated with an upstream link of a wireless backhaul, where the wireless backhaul includes a first wireless link between the relay device and a first upstream backhaul device, provide a first indication of the upstream RLF over a second wireless link between the relay device and a first downstream device, establish a third wireless link with a second upstream backhaul device based on the detected upstream RLF, and provide multiple-access services to one or more downstream devices, where providing the multiple-access services is based on backhaul communications between the relay device and the second upstream backhaul device over the third wireless link.).
Baudia and Hampel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of radio link failure management in a wireless network utilizing relay devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Baudia with Hampel to create the first member node, wherein the first member node operates as a wireless terminal served by the first relay node.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to rapidly and effectively establish connectivity between devices in a mesh network, optimize the network topology structure, and improve the communication quality between the devices.
Regarding claim 17, Baudia fails to disclose the first member node, wherein the first member node is connected to an access point interface of the first relay node through a wireless terminal interface of the first member node, and the first member node is configured to: in response to determining that connection between the wireless terminal interface of the first member node and the access point interface of the first relay node is disconnected, determine that the connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected.
However, Hampel discloses the first member node, wherein the first member node is connected to an access point interface of the first relay node through a wireless terminal interface of the first member node, and the first member node is configured to ([0204] The communications manager 1010 may detect an upstream RLF associated with an upstream link of a wireless backhaul, where the wireless backhaul includes a first wireless link between the relay device and a first upstream backhaul device, provide a first indication of the upstream RLF over a second wireless link between the relay device and a first downstream device, establish a third wireless link with a second upstream backhaul device based on the detected upstream RLF, and provide multiple-access services to one or more downstream devices, where providing the multiple-access services is based on backhaul communications between the relay device and the second upstream backhaul device over the third wireless link.):
in response to determining that connection between the wireless terminal interface of the first member node and the access point interface of the first relay node is disconnected, determine that the connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected ([0127] Generally, relay 1 (R1) informs relays 2 (R2) and 3 (R3) about its backhaul RLF via a BH-RLF-alert message. R3 propagates this alert to relay 4 (R4). At this point, all relay devices 405 affected by the backhaul RLF have been notified, and they can search for alternative attachment points. The notified relay devices 405 may further stop admitting UEs or child-relays, and they may further reject access requests.).
Baudia and Hampel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of radio link failure management in a wireless network utilizing relay devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Baudia with Hampel to create the first member node, wherein the first member node is connected to an access point interface of the first relay node through a wireless terminal interface of the first member node, and the first member node is configured to: in response to determining that connection between the wireless terminal interface of the first member node and the access point interface of the first relay node is disconnected, determine that the connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to rapidly and effectively establish connectivity between devices in a mesh network, optimize the network topology structure, and improve the communication quality between the devices.
Regarding claim 18, Baudia fails to disclose the first member node, wherein the control node is a multi-point relay, and the first member node is a mesh access point.
However, Hampel discloses the first member node, wherein the control node is a multi-point relay, and the first member node is a mesh access point ([0093] In some wireless communications systems, such as those deploying NR technologies, wireless backhaul links may be used to couple an access nodes (ANs) 305 to a network in place of a high-capacity, wired backhaul link (e.g., fiber). For example, a first AN 305 (e.g., a relay node or device) in communication with a UE 115, or another AN 305, may establish a backhaul link (wired or wireless) with a second AN 305 (e.g., anchor node or device), which has a high-capacity, wired backhaul link to the network. … The first AN 305 may be referred to as a UE-function (UEF) with respect to the anchor AN 305 and an Access Node Function (ANF) with respect to the UE (or another AN 305) with which the first AN 305 is communicating. Thus, a relay device may act as a UE for its one or more parent relays (e.g., upstream backhaul devices, which may also be considered relays that connect the relay device one hop closer to the anchor) and as a base station for its child relays and/or UEs (e.g., one or more downstream devices) within its coverage area.).
Baudia and Hampel are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of radio link failure management in a wireless network utilizing relay devices.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Baudia with Hampel to create the first member node, wherein the control node is a multi-point relay, and the first member node is a mesh access point.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to rapidly and effectively establish connectivity between devices in a mesh network, optimize the network topology structure, and improve the communication quality between the devices.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 03/26/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
On page 13 of Applicant's remarks, Applicant states, "This shows that in Hampel, when 405-b detects an RLF, it does not immediately disconnect from its downstream devices but instead maintains the connection with its downstream devices to send the first indication. Moreover, except for 405-b, which directly detects the RLF, other downstream devices are informed about the RLF between 405-b and 405-a based on the indications provided by upstream devices. In other words, except for 405-b, other downstream devices do not directly detect the disconnection from their respective upstream devices. … In contrast, amended claim 1 requires that the first member node directly disables its
access point interface immediately upon determining that the connection with the first relay
node is disconnected. Disabling the access point interface inherently interrupts communication with all downstream member nodes served by the first member node. No signaling or RLF propagation to downstream nodes is performed before the interface is disabled. Thus, the amended claim 1 adopts a concept opposite to that of Hampel. Whereas Hampel maintains downstream connections to propagate failure information, the claimed disclosure immediately disables the access point interface, thereby terminating downstream connectivity."
Examiner respectfully disagrees, noting that while Hampel presents various examples of the first indication being in the form of an explicit message, Hampel [0040] also discloses that the first indication may be implicit. In the case of relay device 405-b detecting an upstream RLF, relay device 405-b may immediately suspend transmission on one or more channels (e.g., reference signals, synchronization signals, system information signals, beam management signals, and the like) or scramble certain signals/channels. In doing so, relay device 405-b disconnects from its downstream devices, and the inability of the downstream devices to connect with relay device 405-b serves as the first indication of upstream RLF [0120-0122].
Therefore, the broadest reasonable interpretation of Hampel is the disclosure of "wherein the
first member node stops operating as the second relay node by disabling the access point interface of the first member node as soon as determining that connection between the first relay node and the first member node is disconnected."
Regarding claims 10 and 11, Examiner submits the same rationales above to demonstrate that Hampel discloses all of the limitations of claims 10 and 11 and thus maintains rejection of claims 10 and 11 based on 35 USC 103.
Regarding claims 2, 5-9 and 12, 15-18, Applicant submits these claims as patentable based on being dependent on amended claims 1 and 11. Based on remarks above, Examiner maintains rejection of claims 1 and 11 based on 35 USC 103 and thus maintains rejection of claims 2, 5-9 and 12, 15-18 based on 35 USC 103.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419