DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed regarding claims as amended have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding independent claim 1 as amended, which incorporates portions of dependent claim 4, applicant’s arguments center on an embodiment of invention as illustrated in Fig. 2 of the ‘188 publication, and that it cannot be combined with a touch control device (as illustrated in Fig. 1) due to certain shortcomings of the device of Fig. 1 disclosed in the ‘188 publication.
The examiner respectfully disagrees with this analysis of the ‘188 publication. In the Office action dated 02/03/2026, claims 1, 4, which contained all the claimed limitations of amended claim 1, were rejected based on anticipation using only the touch control device illustrated in Fig. 1 of the ‘188 publication. This rejection did not rely on the embodiment of Fig. 2. While the ‘188 publication indeed discloses certain shortcomings associated with the device of Fig. 1, a reference is no less anticipatory if, after disclosing the invention, the reference then disparages it. In this case, the adhesive layer is patterned as a hollow center surrounded by adhesive tapes around the edge.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to remaining claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by CN 102043188 A patent publication by Li.
Regarding claims 1, 4, Li teaches an input device (touch control device, Fig. 1), comprising: a light guide element (light guide plate 20) having a first side (top side) and a second side (bottom side) relative to the first side; a first adhesive layer (a double-faced adhesive tape 30 on the top side of the plate 20) being disposed corresponding to the first side and comprising a first substance portion (e.g., at and above a right edge of the light guide plate 20); and a second adhesive layer (a double-faced adhesive tape 30 on the bottom side of the plate 20) being disposed corresponding to the second side and comprising a second substance portion (e.g., at and below the right edge of the light plate 20); wherein the first substance portion and the second substance portion overlap in an orientation of the input device (overlap in the vertical orientation as illustrated in Fig. 1), wherein the first adhesive layer has a first hollow pattern area (upper gap 40), the second adhesive layer has a second hollow pattern area (lower gap 40), and the first hollow pattern area and the second hollow pattern area overlap in the orientation (vertical orientation) of the input device.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 102043188 A patent publication by Li.
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches an input device (touch control device, Figs. 8A, B), comprising: a light guide element (light guide plate 100) having a first side (top side) and a second side (bottom side) relative to the first side; a first adhesive layer (120) being disposed corresponding to the first side and comprising a first substance portion (material between the plate 100 and a shell 610); and a second adhesive layer (130) being disposed corresponding to the second side and comprising a second substance portion (material between the plate 100 and a panel 800); wherein the first substance portion and the second substance portion overlap in an orientation of the input device (overlap in the vertical orientation as illustrated in Fig. 8). In the embodiment illustrated in Figs. 8A, B, Li does not teach that first and second adhesive layers are both patterned, and shows that only the first adhesive layer (120) above a light guide plate (110), which is formed by covering an optical micro-structure (114), is patterned (i.e., the adhesive layer 120 is essentially a cast to the micro-structure/mold.) However, Li, in a separate embodiment illustrated in Fig. 3, teaches that the optical micro-structure (114) may be formed on both sides of the light guide plate (110), “so as to make the light surface of the guide light board body 110 to generate more of refraction, so as to output light more uniformly”. Both of the first and second adhesive layers (120, 130) are therefore also patterned in this embodiment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine different features of the same invention by Li and use both the patterned optical micro-structures and the patterned adhesive layers on top and bottom surfaces of the light guide plate in an electronic device illustrated in Figs. 8A, B, for the same advantage of distributing output light more evenly.
Regarding claim 2, Li further teaches a light-transmissive element (transmissive portion 620); and a patterned layer (optical micro-structure 114) being disposed on the light-transmissive element and having a light-shielding area (non-transparent region 630 over the micro-structure 114); wherein the first substance portion and the second substance portion (both are below and overlap the light-shielding area 630 in the vertical direction) overlap the light-shielding area in the orientation.
Claim(s) 6-11, 15, 16, 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 102043188 A patent publication by Li. In view of CN 101598865 A patent publication by Chen.
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches an input device (Figs. 8A, B), further comprising a light-transmissive element (610); a patterned layer being disposed on the light-transmissive element and having a light-transmissive area (620) and a light-shielding area (630); and a microstructure layer (114) being disposed on the light guide element and comprising a first region (right half region further away from the light emitting element 700) and a second region (left half region closer to a light emitting element 700); wherein the first region overlaps a light-transmissive area (i.e., at least the rectangular-shaped 620) in an orientation of the input device, the second region overlaps a light-shielding area (at least 630 around the triangular-shaped 620) in the orientation, the first region has a first microstructure density (multiple structures 114 with in the right half region), the second region has a second microstructure density (multiple structure 114 within the left half region).
Li does not specify that the first microstructure density is different from the second microstructure density. Chen teaches a touch display device (Fig. 2) comprising a light guide plate (21), an adhesive layer (50), a microstructure layer (membrane 30 with optical structures 311), an light emitting element (LED 22), wherein the microstructure layer (30) has a first/right region further from the LED (22) and a second/left region closer to the LED having first and second microstructure densities, respectively, and wherein the first microstructure density is different from the second microstructure density (the microstructures 311 close to the light source 22 are sparsely arranged, and the microstructures 311 further away from light source 22 is relatively more densely packed, in order to reach the effect of homogenizing of light). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li’s invention, by using a gradually increasing density profile to arrange the optical microstructures (114), as suggested by Chen, in order to create homogenized light on the light guide plate.
Regarding claim 7, Chen further suggests the first microstructure density (on the right side) is greater than the second microstructure density (on the left side), the first region comprises first microstructures, the second region comprises second microstructures, and a shortest distance between an entirety of the first microstructures and an entirety of the second microstructures is not greater than a first interval between two adjacent second microstructures and a second interval between two adjacent second microstructures (since the spacing between microstructures 311 gradually decreases/tapers from further away from the LED 22, in order to create homogenized light).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches an input device (Figs. 8A, B), comprising: a light guide element (100) having a first side (upper side) and a second side (lower side) relative to the first side; a microstructure layer (114) being disposed on the light guide element and comprising a first region (right half region further away from the light emitting element 700) and a second region (left half region closer to a light emitting element 700); and a first adhesive layer (120) being disposed corresponding to the first side (the upper side); and a second adhesive layer (130) being disposed corresponding to the second side (the lower side); wherein the first region overlaps a light-transmissive area (i.e., at least the rectangular-shaped 620) in an orientation of the input device, the second region overlaps a light-shielding area (at least 630 around the triangular-shaped 620) in the orientation, the first region has a first microstructure density (multiple structures 114 with in the right half region), the second region has a second microstructure density (multiple structure 114 within the left half region). In the embodiment illustrated in Figs. 8A, B, Li does not teach that first and second adhesive layers are both patterned, and shows that only the first adhesive layer (120) above a light guide plate (110), which is formed by covering an optical micro-structure (114), is patterned (i.e., the adhesive layer 120 is essentially a cast to the micro-structure/mold.) However, Li, in a separate embodiment illustrated in Fig. 3, teaches that the optical micro-structure (114) may be formed on both sides of the light guide plate (110), “so as to make the light surface of the guide light board body 110 to generate more of refraction, so as to output light more uniformly”. Both of the first and second adhesive layers (120, 130) are therefore also patterned in this embodiment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine different features of the same invention by Li and use both the patterned optical micro-structures and the patterned adhesive layers on top and bottom surfaces of the light guide plate in an electronic device illustrated in Figs. 8A, B, for the same advantage of distributing output light more evenly.
Li does not specify that the first microstructure density is different from the second microstructure density. Chen teaches a touch display device (Fig. 2) comprising a light guide plate (21), an adhesive layer (50), a microstructure layer (membrane 30 with optical structures 311), an light emitting element (LED 22), wherein the microstructure layer (30) has a first/right region further from the LED (22) and a second/left region closer to the LED having first and second microstructure densities, respectively, and wherein the first microstructure density is different from the second microstructure density (the microstructures 311 close to the light source 22 are sparsely arranged, and the microstructures 311 further away from light source 22 is relatively more densely packed, in order to reach the effect of homogenizing of light). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li’s invention, by using a gradually increasing density profile to arrange the optical microstructures (114), as suggested by Chen, in order to create homogenized light on the light guide plate.
Regarding claim 9, Chen further suggests the first microstructure density (on the right side) is greater than the second microstructure density (on the left side), the first region comprises first microstructures, the second region comprises second microstructures, and a shortest distance between an entirety of the first microstructures and an entirety of the second microstructures is not greater than a first interval between two adjacent second microstructures and a second interval between two adjacent second microstructures (since the spacing between microstructures 311 gradually decreases/tapers from further away from the LED 22, in order to create homogenized light).
Regarding claim 10, Li further teaches a first adhesive layer comprising a first substance portion (120); and a second adhesive layer comprising a second substance portion (130) – the substance portions are formed by covering the optical micro-structures (114) with the substance/adhesive, and the first substance portion and the second substance portion overlap in the (vertical) orientation of the input device (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 11, Li further teaches a light-transmissive element (620); and a patterned layer being disposed on the light-transmissive element and having the light-shielding area (630); wherein the first substance portion (120) and the second substance portion (130) overlap the light-shielding area in the (vertical) orientation (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches an input device (Figs. 8A, B), comprising: a light guide element (100) having a first side (top side) and a second side (bottom side) relative to the first side; a microstructure layer (114) being disposed on the light guide element and comprising a first region (right half region further away from the light emitting element 700) and a second region (left half region closer to a light emitting element 700); wherein the first region overlaps a light-transmissive area (i.e., at least the rectangular-shaped 620) in an orientation of the input device, the second region overlaps a light-shielding area (at least 630 around the triangular-shaped 620) in the orientation, the first region has a first microstructure density (multiple structures 114 with in the right half region), the second region has a second microstructure density (multiple structure 114 within the left half region); a first adhesive layer (120) continuously extending on the first side; and a second adhesive layer (130) continuously extending on the second side; wherein the first adhesive layer and the second adhesive layer overlap the first region in an (vertical) orientation of the input device (as illustrated in Fig. 8A). In the embodiment illustrated in Figs. 8A, B, Li does not teach that first and second adhesive layers are both patterned, and shows that only the first adhesive layer (120) above a light guide plate (110), which is formed by covering an optical micro-structure (114), is patterned (i.e., the adhesive layer 120 is essentially a cast to the micro-structure/mold.) However, Li, in a separate embodiment illustrated in Fig. 3, teaches that the optical micro-structure (114) may be formed on both sides of the light guide plate (110), “so as to make the light surface of the guide light board body 110 to generate more of refraction, so as to output light more uniformly”. Both of the first and second adhesive layers (120, 130) are therefore also patterned in this embodiment. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to combine different features of the same invention by Li and use both the patterned optical micro-structures and the patterned adhesive layers on top and bottom surfaces of the light guide plate in an electronic device illustrated in Figs. 8A, B, for the same advantage of distributing output light more evenly.
Li does not specify that the first microstructure density is different from the second microstructure density. Chen teaches a touch display device (Fig. 2) comprising a light guide plate (21), an adhesive layer (50), a microstructure layer (membrane 30 with optical structures 311), an light emitting element (LED 22), wherein the microstructure layer (30) has a first/right region further from the LED (22) and a second/left region closer to the LED having first and second microstructure densities, respectively, and wherein the first microstructure density is different from the second microstructure density (the microstructures 311 close to the light source 22 are sparsely arranged, and the microstructures 311 further away from light source 22 is relatively more densely packed, in order to reach the effect of homogenizing of light). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li’s invention, by using a gradually increasing density profile to arrange the optical microstructures (114), as suggested by Chen, in order to create homogenized light on the light guide plate.
Regarding claim 16, Li further teaches a light-transmissive element (620); and a patterned layer being disposed on the light-transmissive element and having the light-shielding area (630); wherein the first substance portion (120) and the second substance portion (130) overlap the light-shielding area in the (vertical) orientation (Fig. 8A).
Regarding claim 19, Chen further suggests the first microstructure density (on the right side) is greater than the second microstructure density (on the left side), the first region comprises first microstructures, the second region comprises second microstructures, and a shortest distance between an entirety of the first microstructures and an entirety of the second microstructures is not greater than a first interval between two adjacent second microstructures and a second interval between two adjacent second microstructures (since the spacing between microstructures 311 gradually decreases/tapers from further away from the LED 22, in order to create homogenized light).
Claim(s) 3, 5, 12, 14, 17, 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li as applied to claims 2, 8, 15 above, respectively, and further in view of WO 99/63394 A1 patent publication by Takagi et al.
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches the input device according to claim 2 and the input device further comprising a touch control panel (resistance type or capacitance type of touch control panel 800) but does not specify the composition of the touch panel (800) with regard to an insulation element and a third adhesive layer. Takagi also teaches a touch screen device comprising a light guide plate (3, Fig. 5) with a light source (4), a transparent touch panel (14) which further comprises an insulation element (an upper electrode plate 9, which is an upper electrode sheet formed on a film-like insulating substrate), an adhesive layer (10) and a lower electrode plate (11A, also a lower electrode sheet formed on a film-like insulating substrate). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li’s invention, by using the touch panel structure suggested by Takagi, such that the touch control panel (800) includes an adhesive layer sandwiched between two electrode plates each formed of the electrode plate on the insulating substrate, which results in an insulation element (the upper insulating substrate of the plate 9), a third adhesive layer (the adhesive layer 10), with the third adhesive layer disposed between the light-transmissive element and the insulation element and comprising a third substance portion (held between the upper and lower plate 9, 11A); wherein the first substance portion, the second substance portion and the third substance portion overlap in the orientation of the input device (the adhesive layer 10 matches and overlaps another self-adhesive layer 12 bonded to the light guide plate 3 in outer perimeter). The reason is a structure of the touch panel (14) suggested by Takagi allows the device to realize an input function on a display commonly used in the art and known as the resistive model.
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches the input device according to claim 2, a light-transmissive element (620); and a patterned layer being disposed on the light-transmissive element and having the light-shielding area (630); wherein the first substance portion (120) and the second substance portion (130) overlap the light-shielding area in the (vertical) orientation (Fig. 8A), and the input device further comprising a touch control panel (800). Li does not specify the composition of the touch panel (resistance type or capacitance type of touch control panel 800) with regard to an insulation element and a third adhesive layer. Takagi also teaches a touch screen device comprising a light guide plate (3, Fig. 5) with a light source (4), a transparent touch panel (14) which further comprises an insulation element (an upper electrode plate 9, which is an upper electrode sheet formed on a film-like insulating substrate), an adhesive layer (10) and a lower electrode plate (11A, also a lower electrode sheet formed on a film-like insulating substrate). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li’s invention, by using the touch panel structure suggested by Takagi, such that the touch control panel (800) includes an adhesive layer sandwiched between two electrode plates each formed of the electrode plate on the insulating substrate or insulation element. The reason is a structure of the touch panel (14) suggested by Takagi allows the device to realize an input function on a display commonly used in the art and known as the resistive model.
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches the input device according to claim 11 and the input device further comprising a touch control panel (resistance type or capacitance type of touch control panel 800) but does not specify the composition of the touch panel (800) with regard to an insulation element and a third adhesive layer. Takagi also teaches a touch screen device comprising a light guide plate (3, Fig. 5) with a light source (4), a transparent touch panel (14) which further comprises an insulation element (an upper electrode plate 9, which is an upper electrode sheet formed on a film-like insulating substrate), an adhesive layer (10) and a lower electrode plate (11A, also a lower electrode sheet formed on a film-like insulating substrate). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li’s invention, by using the touch panel structure suggested by Takagi, such that the touch control panel (800) includes an adhesive layer sandwiched between two electrode plates each formed of the electrode plate on the insulating substrate, which results in an insulation element (the upper insulating substrate of the plate 9), a third adhesive layer (the adhesive layer 10), with the third adhesive layer disposed between the light-transmissive element and the insulation element and comprising a third substance portion (held between the upper and lower plate 9, 11A); wherein the first substance portion, the second substance portion and the third substance portion overlap in the orientation of the input device (the adhesive layer 10 matches and overlaps another self-adhesive layer 12 bonded to the light guide plate 3 in outer perimeter). The reason is a structure of the touch panel (14) suggested by Takagi allows the device to realize an input function on a display commonly used in the art and known as the resistive model.
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches the input device according to claim 10, a light-transmissive element (620); and a patterned layer being disposed on the light-transmissive element and having the light-shielding area (630); wherein the first substance portion (120) and the second substance portion (130) overlap the light-shielding area in the (vertical) orientation (Fig. 8A), and the input device further comprising a touch control panel (800). Li does not specify the composition of the touch panel (resistance type or capacitance type of touch control panel 800) with regard to an insulation element and a third adhesive layer. Takagi also teaches a touch screen device comprising a light guide plate (3, Fig. 5) with a light source (4), a transparent touch panel (14) which further comprises an insulation element (an upper electrode plate 9, which is an upper electrode sheet formed on a film-like insulating substrate), an adhesive layer (10) and a lower electrode plate (11A, also a lower electrode sheet formed on a film-like insulating substrate). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li’s invention, by using the touch panel structure suggested by Takagi, such that the touch control panel (800) includes an adhesive layer sandwiched between two electrode plates each formed of the electrode plate on the insulating substrate or insulation element. The reason is a structure of the touch panel (14) suggested by Takagi allows the device to realize an input function on a display commonly used in the art and known as the resistive model.
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches the input device according to claim 15 and the input device further comprising a touch control panel (resistance type or capacitance type of touch control panel 800) but does not specify the composition of the touch panel (800) with regard to an insulation element and a third adhesive layer. Takagi also teaches a touch screen device comprising a light guide plate (3, Fig. 5) with a light source (4), a transparent touch panel (14) which further comprises an insulation element (an upper electrode plate 9, which is an upper electrode sheet formed on a film-like insulating substrate), an adhesive layer (10) and a lower electrode plate (11A, also a lower electrode sheet formed on a film-like insulating substrate). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li’s invention, by using the touch panel structure suggested by Takagi, such that the touch control panel (800) includes an adhesive layer sandwiched between two electrode plates each formed of the electrode plate on the insulating substrate, which results in an insulation element (the upper insulating substrate of the plate 9), a third adhesive layer (the adhesive layer 10), with the third adhesive layer disposed between the light-transmissive element and the insulation element and comprising a third substance portion (held between the upper and lower plate 9, 11A); wherein the first substance portion, the second substance portion and the third substance portion overlap in the orientation of the input device (the adhesive layer 10 matches and overlaps another self-adhesive layer 12 bonded to the light guide plate 3 in outer perimeter). The reason is a structure of the touch panel (14) suggested by Takagi allows the device to realize an input function on a display commonly used in the art and known as the resistive model.
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches the input device according to claim 15, a light-transmissive element (620); and a patterned layer being disposed on the light-transmissive element and having the light-shielding area (630); wherein the first substance portion (120) and the second substance portion (130) overlap the light-shielding area in the (vertical) orientation (Fig. 8A), and the input device further comprising a touch control panel (800). Li does not specify the composition of the touch panel (resistance type or capacitance type of touch control panel 800) with regard to an insulation element and a third adhesive layer. Takagi also teaches a touch screen device comprising a light guide plate (3, Fig. 5) with a light source (4), a transparent touch panel (14) which further comprises an insulation element (an upper electrode plate 9, which is an upper electrode sheet formed on a film-like insulating substrate), an adhesive layer (10) and a lower electrode plate (11A, also a lower electrode sheet formed on a film-like insulating substrate). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify Li’s invention, by using the touch panel structure suggested by Takagi, such that the touch control panel (800) includes an adhesive layer sandwiched between two electrode plates each formed of the electrode plate on the insulating substrate or insulation element. The reason is a structure of the touch panel (14) suggested by Takagi allows the device to realize an input function on a display commonly used in the art and known as the resistive model.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 13 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Prior art fails to teach or suggest an input device comprising first and second adhesive layers overlapping a light-shielding area, wherein the adhesive layers are both patterned and have respective hollow pattern areas overlapping each other, when considered in view of the rest of the limitations of the claimed invention. The ‘188 publication is the closest identified prior art but teaches away from using two hollow, patterned adhesive layers.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20080247152 discloses a multi-layer light guiding structure.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CHARLIE Y PENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2874