DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 05/06/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 05/06/2026 have been fully considered.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 1-2 of 5) about the objections to claims 18-19, the objections have been overcome by the amendment.
Regarding Applicant’s argument (REMARKS page 2 of 5) about the rejections of claims 2-7 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b), the rejections have been overcome by the amendment.
Applicant’s argument (REMARKS pages 2-5 of 5) about amended Claims 1, 13, and 20 is moot based on the new ground rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10, 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews et al. (US9182485, hereafter Andrews) in view of Matsumoto et al. (US6,144,339, hereafter Matsumoto) and Rincon et al . (US 2019/0101639, hereafter Rincon).
Regarding claim 1, Andrews (‘485) discloses that A quad polarimetric electronically steered weather radar system { Title (electronically steered weather radar); Fig.1; Fig.4 item 18 (antenna modules); col.2 lines 11-12 (FIG. 1 is a schematic block diagram of an electronically steered weather radar system); col.3 lines 26-27 (an array of antenna modules 18.); col.8 lines 65-67 (The antenna module 18 may include an antenna signal 82, a fifth switch 84, a horizontally polarized antenna 86, and a vertically polarized antenna 88); Examiner’s note: Fig.1 items 86 (H-pol), 88 (V-pol) for “polarimetric”. 2 x 2 block in Fig.4 for “quad” } comprising:
an antenna array formed from a plurality of antenna modules { Fig.4 item 18 (antenna modules); col.8 line 65 (The antenna module 18 },
each antenna module configured to operate selectively in a horizontal polarization mode or a vertical polarization mode { Fig.1 item 84 (switch), 86 (H-pol), 88 (V-pol); col.8 lines 65-67 (The antenna module 18 may include an antenna signal 82, a fifth switch 84, a horizontally polarized antenna 86, and a vertically polarized antenna 88) },
the antenna array configured to transmit a system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the horizontal polarization mode, the vertical polarization mode, { Fig.1 items 40 (Tx path), 42 (Rx path), 84 (switch), 86 (H-pol), 88 (V-pol); col.7 lines 33-35 (the receive RF amplifier 66 amplifies the RF signal 24 when the system 10 is in the receive mode and is disconnected from the RF signal 24 path when in the transmit mode); col.8 lines 65-67 (The antenna module 18 may include an antenna signal 82, a fifth switch 84, a horizontally polarized antenna 86, and a vertically polarized antenna 88); col.9 lines 49-50 (Each antenna module 18 in the antenna array 90 may transmit and receive an individual beam 92) }; and
a system controller and signal processor { Fig.1 items 12 (system signal processor), 26 (signal processors), 72 (controller); col.7 lines 55-56 (The controller 72 generally manages the operation of the transmit/receive module 16); col.13 lines 48-49 (system signal processor 12, signal processors 26) } configured to
set the polarization mode of each antenna module individually { Fig.1 item 84 (switch) individually, 72 (controller) controls switches; col.7 lines 55-56 (The controller 72 generally manages the operation of the transmit/receive module 16); col.9 lines 10-12 (The fifth switch 84 generally selects between the horizontally polarized antenna 86 and the vertically polarized antenna 88.); col.10 lines 6-7 (each antenna module 18 generating a beam 92.) },
independently control a phase of a signal associated with each antenna module in coordination with the selected polarization mode {Fig.1 item 18 (antenna module), 86 (H-pol), 88 (V-pol); Fig.4; col.1 lines 47-49 (Each transmit/receive module may be configured to adjust the phase of a radio frequency (RF) signal to be transmitted and received); Examiner’s note: Fig.4 for “in coordination”},
, and
control a first portion of the antenna array selectively to transmit the system beam { Fig.1 items 68, 70, 84 (switches) for “selectively”; col.13 lines 22-23 (first portion of the frequency conversion modules), 25 (transmit mode)} and { Fig.1 items 68, 70, 84 (switches) for “selectively”; col.13 lines 25-27 (second portion of the frequency conversion modules 14, the receive mode)}.
However, Andrews (‘485) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underlines) “independently control a phase of a signal associated with each antenna module in coordination with the selected polarization mode, such that the antenna array is configurable to generate the right-hand circular polarization mode and the left-hand circular polarization mode from antenna modules operating in the horizontal polarization mode and the vertical polarization mode”, “control the antenna array selectively to transmit the system beam using a first one of the polarization modes and receive reflections of the system beam using a second one of the polarization modes” and “control a first portion of the antenna array selectively to transmit the system beam using the first one of the polarization modes and nearly simultaneously control a second portion of the antenna array selectively to receive reflections of the system beam using the second one of the polarization modes”. In the same field of endeavor, Matsumoto (‘339) discloses that
independently control a phase of a signal associated with each antenna module in coordination with the selected polarization mode {Fig.1 items 101, 102, 103; Fig.2 item 112 (phase shift), output of 114 (to antenna elements 101 & 103 ); Fig.3; Fig.4C-D; col.2 lines 59-61 (The antenna 101-1 is made up of a vertical polarization antenna element 102-1 and a horizontal polarization antenna element 103-1.); }, such that the antenna array is configurable to generate the right-hand circular polarization mode and the left-hand circular polarization mode from antenna modules operating in the horizontal polarization mode and the vertical polarization mode { Fig.1 items 101, 102, 103; Fig.4C-D; col.2 lines 59-61 (The antenna 101-1 is made up of a vertical polarization antenna element 102-1 and a horizontal polarization antenna element 103-1.); col.4 lines 22-33 (As shown in FIG. 4C, when the phase of a horizontal polarization component 209 is combined with a vertical polarization component 208 while being delayed in phase by 90°, the resulting composite electric field vector 210 has a locus 211 varying along a clockwise circle with the elapse of time. This implements a right hand circular polarization. Further, as shown in FIG. 4D, when a horizontal polarization component 213 is combined with a vertical polarization component 212 while being advanced by 90°, the resulting component electric field vector 214 has a locus 215 varying along a counterclockwise circle with the elapse of time. This implements a left hand circular polarization.)},
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Andrews (‘485) with the teachings of Matsumoto (‘339) { form right and left hand circular polarizations using combination of horizontal and vertical polarizations } to form right and left hand circular polarizations using combination of horizontal and vertical polarizations. Doing so would form a desired transmission beam (e.g. beam with right or left hand circular polarization) so as to provide an array antenna capable of enhancing the freedom of transmission beam formation, as recognized by Matsumoto (‘339) {col.1 lines 28 (form a desired transmission beam), 39-42 (provide an array antenna capable of enhancing the freedom of transmission beam formation and increasing the number of beams to be formed at the same time during receipt.)}
However, Matsumoto (‘339) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underlines) “control the antenna array selectively to transmit the system beam using a first one of the polarization modes and receive reflections of the system beam using a second one of the polarization modes” and “control a first portion of the antenna array selectively to transmit the system beam using the first one of the polarization modes and nearly simultaneously control a second portion of the antenna array selectively to receive reflections of the system beam using the second one of the polarization modes”. In the same field of endeavor, Rincon (‘639) discloses that
control the antenna array selectively to transmit the system beam using a first one of the polarization modes and receive reflections of the system beam using a second one of the polarization modes {[0012] lines 4-5 (horizontal transmit - vertical receive ( HV ) , vertical transmit - horizontal receive ( VH ) polarizations); [0048] lines 3-4 (beam pattern control)};
control a first portion of the antenna array selectively to transmit the system beam using the first one of the polarization modes and nearly simultaneously control a second portion of the antenna array selectively to receive reflections of the system beam using the second one of the polarization modes {Fig.4 item 404 (circulator); [0012] lines 4-5 (horizontal transmit - vertical receive ( HV ) , vertical transmit - horizontal receive ( VH ) polarizations); [0048] lines 3-4 (beam pattern control); Examiner’s note: “circulator” for selecting transmitting path and receiving path for antenna. “vertical transmit - horizontal receive ( VH ) polarizations”) for radar is set “nearly simultaneously” for radar normal operation}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Andrews (‘485) and Matsumoto (‘339) with the teachings of Rincon (‘639) {use horizontal transmit - vertical receive ( HV ) , vertical transmit - horizontal receive ( VH ) polarizations operation in radar} to use horizontal transmit - vertical receive ( HV ) , vertical transmit - horizontal receive ( VH ) polarizations operation in radar. Doing so would provide high - polarization isolation array antennas so as to measure ecosystem structure, extent , surface and sub-surface topography , soil freeze - thaw , ice sheet composition and extent , glacier depth , and surface, water , among many others , as recognized by Rincon (‘639) {[0002] lines 8-11 (measure ecosystem structure, extent , surface and sub-surface topography , soil freeze - thaw ,,ice sheet composition and extent , glacier depth , and surface, water , among many others); [0009] lines 4-5 (high - polarization isolation array antennas)}.
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) discloses that in the quad polarimetric electronically steered weather radar system,
the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the horizontal polarization mode when each antenna module is operating in the horizontal polarization mode {see Andrews (‘485) col.12 lines 65-67 (all of the antenna modules 18 in the antenna array 90 have the same polarization of antenna selected, then the system beam 94 may have either a); col.13 line 1 (horizontal polarization or a vertical polarization)}.
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) discloses that in the quad polarimetric electronically steered weather radar system,
the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the vertical polarization mode when each antenna module is operating in the vertical polarization mode {see Andrews (‘485) col.12 lines 65-67 (all of the antenna modules 18 in the antenna array 90 have the same polarization of antenna selected, then the system beam 94 may have either a); col.13 line 1 (horizontal polarization or a vertical polarization)}.
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) discloses that in the quad polarimetric electronically steered weather radar system,
each antenna module transmits a module beam and receives reflections of the module beam using a horizontal polarization when the antenna module is operating in the horizontal polarization mode; and each antenna module transmits the module beam and receives reflections of the module beam using a vertical polarization when the antenna module is operating in the vertical polarization mode { see Andrews (‘485) col.8 lines 65-67 (The antenna module 18 may include an antenna signal 82, a fifth switch 84, a horizontally polarized antenna 86, and a vertically polarized antenna 88); col.12 lines 65-67 (all of the antenna modules 18 in the antenna array 90 have the same polarization of antenna selected, then the system beam 94 may have either a); col.13 line 1 (horizontal polarization or a vertical polarization)}.
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) discloses that in the quad polarimetric electronically steered weather radar system,
the antenna modules are positioned adjacent to one another to form a two-dimensional grid {see Andrews (‘485) Fig.4 item 18}.
Claims 2-5, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Amadjikpe et al. (US 9,929,886, hereafter Amadjikpe).
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) do not explicitly disclose “the antenna array further includes a plurality of antenna module clusters, each antenna module cluster formed from a portion of the antenna modules and configured to operate in the horizontal polarization mode, the vertical polarization mode, the right-hand circular polarization mode, or the left-hand circular polarization mode according to the polarization mode of the antenna modules that form the antenna module cluster”. In the same field of endeavor, Amadjikpe (‘886) discloses that the antenna array further includes
a plurality of antenna module clusters {Fig.4 (with and without shade)},
each antenna module cluster formed from a portion of the antenna modules and configured to operate in the horizontal polarization mode, the vertical polarization mode, a right-hand circular polarization mode, or a left-hand circular polarization mode according to the polarization mode of the antenna modules that form the antenna module cluster {Fig.4}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) with the teachings of Amadjikpe (‘886) {use antenna module clusters with different polarizations} to use antenna module clusters with different polarizations. Doing so would continuously adjust the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna so as to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device, as recognized by Amadjikpe (‘886) {col.1 lines 14-15 (To maximize the strength of a radio wave that is received by a receiver), 31-33 (Continuous adjustments to the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna may be beneficial to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device)}.
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claims 1-2, Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) do not explicitly disclose “the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the right-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating the right-hand circular polarization mode”. In the same field of endeavor, Amadjikpe (‘886) discloses that
the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the right-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating the right-hand circular polarization mode {Fig.4 RHCP_pol (see mark below); col.2 lines 59-60 (right-hand circular(RHCPpol)) }.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) with the teachings of Amadjikpe (‘886) {use antenna module clusters with different polarizations (e.g. right-hand circular polarization)} to use antenna module clusters with different polarizations (e.g. right-hand circular polarization). Doing so would continuously adjust the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna so as to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device, as recognized by Amadjikpe (‘886) {col.1 lines 14-15 (To maximize the strength of a radio wave that is received by a receiver), 31-33 (Continuous adjustments to the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna may be beneficial to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device)}.
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claims 1-2, Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) do not explicitly disclose “the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the left-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating in the left-hand circular polarization mode”. In the same field of endeavor, Amadjikpe (‘886) discloses that
the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the left-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating in the left-hand circular polarization mode { Fig.4 LHCP_pol (see mark below); col.2 line 59 (left-hand circular(LHCPpol))}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) with the teachings of Amadjikpe (‘886) {use antenna module clusters with different polarizations (e.g. left-hand circular polarization)} to use antenna module clusters with different polarizations (e.g. left-hand circular polarization). Doing so would continuously adjust the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna so as to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device, as recognized by Amadjikpe (‘886) {col.1 lines 14-15 (To maximize the strength of a radio wave that is received by a receiver), 31-33 (Continuous adjustments to the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna may be beneficial to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device)}.
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claims 1-2, Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) do not explicitly disclose “each antenna module cluster includes four antenna modules positioned in a two by two formation”. In the same field of endeavor, Amadjikpe (‘886) discloses that
each antenna module cluster includes four antenna modules positioned in a two by two formation { Fig.4(see mark below)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) with the teachings of Amadjikpe (‘886) {use antenna module clusters (e.g. 2 x 2 format) with different polarizations} to use antenna module clusters (e.g. 2 x 2 format) with different polarizations. Doing so would continuously and individually adjust the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna so as to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device, as recognized by Amadjikpe (‘886) {Figs 4-6; col.1 lines 14-15 (To maximize the strength of a radio wave that is received by a receiver), 31-33 (Continuous adjustments to the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna may be beneficial to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device)}.
Regarding claim 11, which depends on claim 1, Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) do not explicitly disclose “each antenna module includes a first antenna element configured to transmit a module beam and receive reflections of the module beam using a horizontal polarization and a second antenna element configured to transmit the module beam and receive reflections of the module beam using a vertical polarization”. In the same field of endeavor, Amadjikpe (‘886) discloses that
each antenna module includes a first antenna element configured to transmit a module beam and receive reflections of the module beam using a horizontal polarization and a second antenna element configured to transmit the module beam and receive reflections of the module beam using a vertical polarization { Fig.2B; Fig.2C; col.11 table 1 (α and β selection for Vpol); Examiner’s note: based on Fig.2C, each antenna element can be configured separately using Fig.2B with parameters provided by Table 1}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) with the teachings of Amadjikpe (‘886) {use antenna module clusters with different polarizations} to use antenna module clusters with different polarizations. Doing so would continuously adjust the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna so as to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device, as recognized by Amadjikpe (‘886) {col.1 lines 14-15 (To maximize the strength of a radio wave that is received by a receiver), 31-33 (Continuous adjustments to the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna may be beneficial to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device)}.
Claims 6-7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), Rincon (‘639), and Amadjikpe (‘886) as applied to claim 5 above and claim 15 below, respectively, and further in view of Ha et al. (J. Ha, M. A. Elmansouri, P. Valale Prasannakumar and D. S. Filipovic, "Monostatic Co-Polarized Full-Duplex Antenna With Left- or Right-Hand Circular Polarization," in IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol. 65, no. 10, pp. 5103-5111, Oct. 2017, doi: 10.1109/TAP.2017.2741064, hereafter Ha).
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claims 1-2 and 5, Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), Rincon (‘639), and Amadjikpe (‘886) do not explicitly disclose “each antenna module cluster is configured to operate in the right-hand circular polarization mode when the antenna modules of a first diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the horizontal polarization mode and the antenna modules of a second diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the vertical polarization mode”. In the same field of endeavor, Ha (‘NPL) discloses that
each antenna module cluster is configured to operate in the right-hand circular polarization mode when the antenna modules of a first diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the horizontal polarization mode and the antenna modules of a second diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the vertical polarization mode {Fig.1(b) (SRA of four dual-polarized antennas.); page 2 left column lines 28-31 (the used BFN, the radiation pattern can be either left-handed CP (LHCP) or right-handed CP (RHCP) depending on which input port is used.), 37-38 (Dual-polarized microstrip patch SRA); Examiner’s note: 0° and 180° in Fig.1(b) for “horizontal” and 90° and 270° for “vertical”}.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. left- and right-hand circular polarization is formed by using horizontal and vertical polarizations in diagonal pattern) to a known device (e.g. radar) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. form a right-hand circular polarization beam) and result in an improved system (e.g. provide dual-polarized antenna system so as to increase far-field data gain and improve antenna performance, as recognized by Ha (‘NPL) {abstract lines 1-2 (dual-polarized simultaneous transmit and receive (STAR) antenna system); page 2 left column lines 5-10 from bottom (Far-field data clearly show LHCP and RHCP gains higher, wideband performance of the proposed antenna system, demonstrated)}).
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claims 1-2 and 5, Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), Rincon (‘639), and Amadjikpe (‘886) do not explicitly disclose “each antenna module cluster is configured to operate in the left-hand circular polarization mode when the antenna modules of a first diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the vertical polarization mode and the antenna modules of a second diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the horizontal polarization mode”. In the same field of endeavor, Ha (‘NPL) discloses that
each antenna module cluster is configured to operate in the left-hand circular polarization mode when the antenna modules of a first diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the vertical polarization mode and the antenna modules of a second diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the horizontal polarization mode {Fig.1(b); page 2 left column lines 28-31 (the used BFN, the radiation pattern can be either left-handed CP (LHCP) or right-handed CP (RHCP) depending on which input port is used.); Examiner’s note: 0° and 180° in Fig.1(b) for “horizontal” and 90° and 270° for “vertical”}.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. left- and right-hand circular polarization is formed by using horizontal and vertical polarizations in diagonal pattern) to a known device (e.g. radar) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. form a left-hand circular polarization beam) and result in an improved system (e.g. provide dual-polarized antenna system so as to increase far-field data gain and improve antenna performance, as recognized by Ha (‘NPL) {abstract lines 1-2 (dual-polarized simultaneous transmit and receive (STAR) antenna system); page 2 left column lines 5-10 from bottom (Far-field data clearly show LHCP and RHCP gains higher, wideband performance of the proposed antenna system, demonstrated)}).
Regarding claim 16, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as the combination of claims 6-7. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 6-7, shown above.
Claims 13-15, 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (‘485) in view of Amadjikpe (‘886), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639).
Regarding claim 13, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as the combination of claims 1-2. Accordingly, claim 13 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 1-2, shown above.
Regarding claim 14, which depends on claim 13, Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) do not explicitly disclose that “the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the right-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating the right-hand circular polarization mode, and the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the left-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating in the left-hand circular polarization mode”. In the same field of endeavor, Amadjikpe (‘886) discloses that
the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the right-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating the right-hand circular polarization mode {Fig.4 (RHCP) (see mark below); Examiner’s note: 6 modules can be interpreted as 3 clusters}, and
the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the left-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating in the left-hand circular polarization mode {Fig.4 (LHCP) (see mark below); Examiner’s note: 18 modules can be interpreted as at least 6 clusters.}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Andrews (‘485), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639) with the teachings of Amadjikpe (‘886) {use antenna module clusters with different polarizations (e.g. right-hand circular polarization, left-hand circular polarization)} to use antenna module clusters with different polarizations (e.g. right-hand circular polarization, left-hand circular polarization). Doing so would continuously adjust the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna so as to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device, as recognized by Amadjikpe (‘886) {col.1 lines 14-15 (To maximize the strength of a radio wave that is received by a receiver), 31-33 (Continuous adjustments to the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna may be beneficial to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device)}.
Regarding claim 15, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 5. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 5, shown above.
Regarding claim 17, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as the combination of claims 8-9. Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 8-9, shown above.
Regarding claim 18, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 11. Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 11, shown above.
Regarding claim 19, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 12. Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 12, shown above.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (‘485) in view of Amadjikpe (‘886), Ha (‘NPL), Matsumoto (‘339), and Rincon (‘639).
Regarding claim 20, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as the combination of claims 1-2, 5, 6-9, and 12. Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 1-2, 5, 6-9, and 12, shown above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Hu (‘NPL) (J. Hu, Z. -C. Hao and W. Hong, "Design of a Wideband Quad-Polarization Reconfigurable Patch Antenna Array Using a Stacked Structure," in IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol. 65, no. 6, pp. 3014-3023, June 2017, doi: 10.1109/TAP.2017.2695529) discloses that “independently control a phase of a signal associated with each antenna module in coordination with the selected polarization mode, such that the antenna array is configurable to generate the right-hand circular polarization mode and the left-hand circular polarization mode from antenna modules operating in the horizontal polarization mode and the vertical polarization mode”, which further support the rejections of claims 1, 13, and 20.
Hu (‘NPL) also discloses that “each antenna module cluster is configured to operate in the right-hand circular polarization mode when the antenna modules of a first diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the horizontal polarization mode and the antenna modules of a second diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the vertical polarization mode” and “each antenna module cluster is configured to operate in the left-hand circular polarization mode when the antenna modules of the first diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the vertical polarization mode and the antenna modules of the second diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the horizontal polarization mode“ {Fig.1; Table I}, which further support the rejections of claims 6-7 and 16.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/YONGHONG LI/Examiner, Art Unit 3648