DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claim 18 objected to because claim 18 is exactly the same as claim 11.
Claim 19 objected to because Claim 19 is exactly the same as claim 12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-7 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "a right-hand circular polarization mode, or a left-hand circular polarization mode" in lines 4-5. It is indefinite because it is not clear whether or not the "a right-hand circular polarization mode” and the “a left-hand circular polarization mode" are the same as “a right-hand circular polarization mode, or a left-hand circular polarization mode” defined in claim 1 lines 6-7. Because the claim is indefinite and cannot be properly construed, for purposes of examination, this limitation is being interpreted as "the right-hand circular polarization mode, or the left-hand circular polarization mode". Appropriate clarification is required.
Claims 3-7 are also rejected by virtue of their dependency on claim 2 because each of dependent claims 3-7 is unclear, at least, in that it depends on unclear independent claim 2.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 8-10, 12, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews et al. (US9182485, hereafter Andrews) in view of Rincon et al . (US 2019/0101639, hereafter Rincon).
Regarding claim 1, Andrews (‘485) discloses that A quad polarimetric electronically steered weather radar system { Title (electronically steered weather radar); Fig.1; Fig.4 item 18 (antenna modules); col.2 lines 11-12 (FIG. 1 is a schematic block diagram of an electronically steered weather radar system); col.3 lines 26-27 (an array of antenna modules 18.); col.8 lines 65-67 (The antenna module 18 may include an antenna signal 82, a fifth switch 84, a horizontally polarized antenna 86, and a vertically polarized antenna 88) } comprising:
an antenna array formed from a plurality of antenna modules { Fig.4 item 18 (antenna modules); col.8 line 65 (The antenna module 18 },
each antenna module configured to operate selectively in a horizontal polarization mode or a vertical polarization mode { Fig.1 item 84 (switch), 86 (H-pol), 88 (V-pol); col.8 lines 65-67 (The antenna module 18 may include an antenna signal 82, a fifth switch 84, a horizontally polarized antenna 86, and a vertically polarized antenna 88) },
the antenna array configured to transmit a system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the horizontal polarization mode, the vertical polarization mode, a right-hand circular polarization mode, or a left-hand circular polarization mode which varies according to the polarization modes of the antenna modules { Fig.1 items 40 (Tx path), 42 (Rx path), 84 (switch), 86 (H-pol), 88 (V-pol); col.7 lines 33-35 (the receive RF amplifier 66 amplifies the RF signal 24 when the system 10 is in the receive mode and is disconnected from the RF signal 24 path when in the transmit mode); col.8 lines 65-67 (The antenna module 18 may include an antenna signal 82, a fifth switch 84, a horizontally polarized antenna 86, and a vertically polarized antenna 88); col.9 lines 49-50 (Each antenna module 18 in the antenna array 90 may transmit and receive an individual beam 92) }; and
a system controller and signal processor { Fig.1 items 12 (system signal processor), 26 (signal processors), 72 (controller); col.7 lines 55-56 (The controller 72 generally manages the operation of the transmit/receive module 16); col.13 lines 48-49 (system signal processor 12, signal processors 26) } configured to
set the polarization mode of each antenna module individually { Fig.1 item 84 (switch) individually, 72 (controller) controls switches; col.7 lines 55-56 (The controller 72 generally manages the operation of the transmit/receive module 16); col.9 lines 10-12 (The fifth switch 84 generally selects between the horizontally polarized antenna 86 and the vertically polarized antenna 88.); col.10 lines 6-7 (each antenna module 18 generating a beam 92.) },
, and
control a first portion of the antenna array selectively to transmit the system beam { Fig.1 items 68, 70, 84 (switches) for “selectively”; col.13 lines 22-23 (first portion of the frequency conversion modules), 25 (transmit mode)} and { Fig.1 items 68, 70, 84 (switches) for “selectively”; col.13 lines 25-27 (second portion of the frequency conversion modules 14, the receive mode)}.
However, Andrews (‘485) does not explicitly disclose (see words with underlines) “control the antenna array selectively to transmit the system beam using a first one of the polarization modes and receive reflections of the system beam using a second one of the polarization modes” and “control a first portion of the antenna array selectively to transmit the system beam using the first one of the polarization modes and nearly simultaneously control a second portion of the antenna array selectively to receive reflections of the system beam using the second one of the polarization modes”. In the same field of endeavor, Rincon (‘639) discloses that
control the antenna array selectively to transmit the system beam using a first one of the polarization modes and receive reflections of the system beam using a second one of the polarization modes {[0012] lines 4-5 (horizontal transmit - vertical receive ( HV ) , vertical transmit - horizontal receive ( VH ) polarizations); [0048] lines 3-4 (beam pattern control)};
control using the first one of the polarization modes and nearly simultaneously control using the second one of the polarization modes {Fig.4 item 404 (circulator); [0012] lines 4-5 (horizontal transmit - vertical receive ( HV ) , vertical transmit - horizontal receive ( VH ) polarizations); [0048] lines 3-4 (beam pattern control); Examiner’s note: “circulator” for selecting transmitting path and receiving path for antenna. vertical transmit - horizontal receive ( VH ) polarizations) for radar is set “nearly simultaneously” for radar normal operation}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Andrews (‘485) with the teachings of Rincon (‘639) {use horizontal transmit - vertical receive ( HV ) , vertical transmit - horizontal receive ( VH ) polarizations operation in radar} to use horizontal transmit - vertical receive ( HV ) , vertical transmit - horizontal receive ( VH ) polarizations operation in radar. Doing so would provide high - polarization isolation array antennas so as to measure ecosystem structure, extent , surface and sub-surface topography , soil freeze - thaw ,,ice sheet composition and extent , glacier depth , and surface, water , among many others , as recognized by Rincon (‘639) {[0002] lines 8-11 (measure ecosystem structure, extent , surface and sub-surface topography , soil freeze - thaw ,,ice sheet composition and extent , glacier depth , and surface, water , among many others); [0009] lines 4-5 (high - polarization isolation array antennas)}.
Regarding claim 8, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) discloses that in the quad polarimetric electronically steered weather radar system,
the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the horizontal polarization mode when each antenna module is operating in the horizontal polarization mode {see Andrews (‘485) col.12 lines 65-67 (all of the antenna modules 18 in the antenna array 90 have the same polarization of antenna selected, then the system beam 94 may have either a); col.13 line 1 (horizontal polarization or a vertical polarization)}.
Regarding claim 9, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) discloses that in the quad polarimetric electronically steered weather radar system,
the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the vertical polarization mode when each antenna module is operating in the vertical polarization mode {see Andrews (‘485) col.12 lines 65-67 (all of the antenna modules 18 in the antenna array 90 have the same polarization of antenna selected, then the system beam 94 may have either a); col.13 line 1 (horizontal polarization or a vertical polarization)}.
Regarding claim 10, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) discloses that in the quad polarimetric electronically steered weather radar system,
each antenna module transmits a module beam and receives reflections of the module beam using a horizontal polarization when the antenna module is operating in the horizontal polarization mode; and each antenna module transmits the module beam and receives reflections of the module beam using a vertical polarization when the antenna module is operating in the vertical polarization mode { see Andrews (‘485) col.8 lines 65-67 (The antenna module 18 may include an antenna signal 82, a fifth switch 84, a horizontally polarized antenna 86, and a vertically polarized antenna 88); col.12 lines 65-67 (all of the antenna modules 18 in the antenna array 90 have the same polarization of antenna selected, then the system beam 94 may have either a); col.13 line 1 (horizontal polarization or a vertical polarization)}.
Regarding claim 12, which depends on claim 1, the combination of Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) discloses that in the quad polarimetric electronically steered weather radar system,
the antenna modules are positioned adjacent to one another to form a two-dimensional grid {see Andrews (‘485) Fig.4 item 18}.
Regarding claim 19, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 12. Accordingly, claim 19 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 12, shown above.
Claims 2-5, 11, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Amadjikpe et al. (US 9,929,886, hereafter Amadjikpe).
Regarding claim 2, which depends on claim 1, Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) do not explicitly disclose “the antenna array further includes a plurality of antenna module clusters, each antenna module cluster formed from a portion of the antenna modules and configured to operate in the horizontal polarization mode, the vertical polarization mode, a right-hand circular polarization mode, or a left-hand circular polarization mode according to the polarization mode of the antenna modules that form the antenna module cluster”. In the same field of endeavor, Amadjikpe (‘886) discloses that the antenna array further includes
a plurality of antenna module clusters {Fig.4 (with and without shade)},
each antenna module cluster formed from a portion of the antenna modules and configured to operate in the horizontal polarization mode, the vertical polarization mode, a right-hand circular polarization mode, or a left-hand circular polarization mode according to the polarization mode of the antenna modules that form the antenna module cluster {Fig.4}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) with the teachings of Amadjikpe (‘886) {use antenna module clusters with different polarizations} to use antenna module clusters with different polarizations. Doing so would continuously adjust the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna so as to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device, as recognized by Amadjikpe (‘886) {col.1 lines 14-15 (To maximize the strength of a radio wave that is received by a receiver), 31-33 (Continuous adjustments to the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna may be beneficial to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device)}.
Regarding claim 3, which depends on claims 1-2, Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) do not explicitly disclose “the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the right-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating the right-hand circular polarization mode”. In the same field of endeavor, Amadjikpe (‘886) discloses that
the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the right-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating the right-hand circular polarization mode {Fig.4 RHCP_pol (see mark below); col.2 lines 59-60 (right-hand circular(RHCPpol)) }.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) with the teachings of Amadjikpe (‘886) {use antenna module clusters with different polarizations (e.g. right-hand circular polarization)} to use antenna module clusters with different polarizations (e.g. right-hand circular polarization). Doing so would continuously adjust the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna so as to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device, as recognized by Amadjikpe (‘886) {col.1 lines 14-15 (To maximize the strength of a radio wave that is received by a receiver), 31-33 (Continuous adjustments to the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna may be beneficial to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device)}.
Regarding claim 4, which depends on claims 1-2, Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) do not explicitly disclose “the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the left-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating in the left-hand circular polarization mode”. In the same field of endeavor, Amadjikpe (‘886) discloses that
the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the left-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating in the left-hand circular polarization mode { Fig.4 LHCP_pol (see mark below); col.2 line 59 (left-hand circular(LHCPpol))}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) with the teachings of Amadjikpe (‘886) {use antenna module clusters with different polarizations (e.g. left-hand circular polarization)} to use antenna module clusters with different polarizations (e.g. left-hand circular polarization). Doing so would continuously adjust the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna so as to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device, as recognized by Amadjikpe (‘886) {col.1 lines 14-15 (To maximize the strength of a radio wave that is received by a receiver), 31-33 (Continuous adjustments to the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna may be beneficial to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device)}.
Regarding claim 5, which depends on claims 1-2, Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) do not explicitly disclose “each antenna module cluster includes four antenna modules positioned in a two by two formation”. In the same field of endeavor, Amadjikpe (‘886) discloses that
each antenna module cluster includes four antenna modules positioned in a two by two formation { Fig.4(see mark below)}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) with the teachings of Amadjikpe (‘886) {use antenna module clusters (e.g. 2 x 2 format) with different polarizations} to use antenna module clusters (e.g. 2 x 2 format) with different polarizations. Doing so would continuously and individually adjust the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna so as to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device, as recognized by Amadjikpe (‘886) {Figs 4-6; col.1 lines 14-15 (To maximize the strength of a radio wave that is received by a receiver), 31-33 (Continuous adjustments to the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna may be beneficial to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device)}.
Regarding claim 11, which depends on claim 1, Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) do not explicitly disclose “each antenna module includes a first antenna element configured to transmit a module beam and receive reflections of the module beam using a horizontal polarization and a second antenna element configured to transmit the module beam and receive reflections of the module beam using a vertical polarization”. In the same field of endeavor, Amadjikpe (‘886) discloses that
each antenna module includes a first antenna element configured to transmit a module beam and receive reflections of the module beam using a horizontal polarization and a second antenna element configured to transmit the module beam and receive reflections of the module beam using a vertical polarization { Fig.2B; Fig.2C; col.11 table 1 (α and β selection for Vpol); Examiner’s note: based on Fig.2C, each antenna element can be configured separately using Fig.2B with parameters provided by Table 1}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) with the teachings of Amadjikpe (‘886) {use antenna module clusters with different polarizations} to use antenna module clusters with different polarizations. Doing so would continuously adjust the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna so as to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device, as recognized by Amadjikpe (‘886) {col.1 lines 14-15 (To maximize the strength of a radio wave that is received by a receiver), 31-33 (Continuous adjustments to the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna may be beneficial to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device)}.
Regarding claim 18, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 11. Accordingly, claim 18 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 11, shown above.
Claims 6-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (‘485), Rincon (‘639), and Amadjikpe (‘886) as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Ha et al. (J. Ha, M. A. Elmansouri, P. Valale Prasannakumar and D. S. Filipovic, "Monostatic Co-Polarized Full-Duplex Antenna With Left- or Right-Hand Circular Polarization," in IEEE Transactions on Antennas and Propagation, vol. 65, no. 10, pp. 5103-5111, Oct. 2017, doi: 10.1109/TAP.2017.2741064, hereafter Ha).
Regarding claim 6, which depends on claims 1-2 and 5, Andrews (‘485), Rincon (‘639), and Amadjikpe (‘886) do not explicitly disclose “each antenna module cluster is configured to operate in the right-hand circular polarization mode when the antenna modules of a first diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the horizontal polarization mode and the antenna modules of a second diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the vertical polarization mode”. In the same field of endeavor, Ha (‘NPL) discloses that
each antenna module cluster is configured to operate in the right-hand circular polarization mode when the antenna modules of a first diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the horizontal polarization mode and the antenna modules of a second diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the vertical polarization mode {Fig.1(b); page 2 left column lines 28-31 (the used BFN, the radiation pattern can be either left-handed CP (LHCP) or right-handed CP (RHCP) depending on which input port is used.); Examiner’s note: 0° and 180° in Fig.1(b) for “horizontal” and 90° and 270° for “vertical”}.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. left- and right-hand circular polarization is formed by using horizontal and vertical polarizations in diagonal pattern) to a known device (e.g. radar) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. form a right-hand circular polarization beam) and result in an improved system (e.g. provide dual-polarized antenna system so as to increase far-field data gain and improve antenna performance, as recognized by Ha (‘NPL) {abstract lines 1-2 (dual-polarized simultaneous transmit and receive (STAR) antenna system); page 2 left column lines 5-10 from bottom (Far-field data clearly show LHCP and RHCP gains higher, wideband performance of the proposed antenna system, demonstrated)}).
Regarding claim 7, which depends on claims 1-2 and 5, Andrews (‘485), Rincon (‘639), and Amadjikpe (‘886) do not explicitly disclose “each antenna module cluster is configured to operate in the left-hand circular polarization mode when the antenna modules of a first diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the vertical polarization mode and the antenna modules of a second diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the horizontal polarization mode”. In the same field of endeavor, Ha (‘NPL) discloses that
each antenna module cluster is configured to operate in the left-hand circular polarization mode when the antenna modules of a first diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the vertical polarization mode and the antenna modules of a second diagonal of the antenna module cluster are operating in the horizontal polarization mode {Fig.1(b); page 2 left column lines 28-31 (the used BFN, the radiation pattern can be either left-handed CP (LHCP) or right-handed CP (RHCP) depending on which input port is used.); Examiner’s note: 0° and 180° in Fig.1(b) for “horizontal” and 90° and 270° for “vertical”}.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention would have recognized that applying a known technique (e.g. left- and right-hand circular polarization is formed by using horizontal and vertical polarizations in diagonal pattern) to a known device (e.g. radar) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (e.g. form a left-hand circular polarization beam) and result in an improved system (e.g. provide dual-polarized antenna system so as to increase far-field data gain and improve antenna performance, as recognized by Ha (‘NPL) {abstract lines 1-2 (dual-polarized simultaneous transmit and receive (STAR) antenna system); page 2 left column lines 5-10 from bottom (Far-field data clearly show LHCP and RHCP gains higher, wideband performance of the proposed antenna system, demonstrated)}).
Claims 13-15, 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (‘485) in view of Amadjikpe (‘886), and Rincon (‘639).
Regarding claim 13, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claims 1-2. Accordingly, claim 13 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 1-2, shown above.
Regarding claim 14, which depends on claim 13, Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) do not explicitly disclose that “the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the right-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating the right-hand circular polarization mode, and the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the left-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating in the left-hand circular polarization mode”. In the same field of endeavor, Amadjikpe (‘886) discloses that
the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the right-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating the right-hand circular polarization mode {Fig.4 (RHCP) (see mark below); Examiner’s note: 6 modules can be interpreted as 3 clusters}, and
the antenna array is configured to transmit the system beam and receive reflections of the system beam using the left-hand circular polarization mode when each antenna module cluster is operating in the left-hand circular polarization mode {Fig.4 (LHCP) (see mark below); Examiner’s note: 18 modules can be interpreted as at least 6 clusters.}.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the combination of Andrews (‘485) and Rincon (‘639) with the teachings of Amadjikpe (‘886) {use antenna module clusters with different polarizations (e.g. right-hand circular polarization, left-hand circular polarization)} to use antenna module clusters with different polarizations (e.g. right-hand circular polarization, left-hand circular polarization). Doing so would continuously adjust the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna so as to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device, as recognized by Amadjikpe (‘886) {col.1 lines 14-15 (To maximize the strength of a radio wave that is received by a receiver), 31-33 (Continuous adjustments to the polarization of the transmitting ( or receiving) antenna may be beneficial to maintain strong signal reception from the antenna of a moving device)}.
Regarding claim 15, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claim 5. Accordingly, claim 15 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claim 5, shown above.
Regarding claim 17, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claims 8-9. Accordingly, claim 17 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 8-9, shown above.
Claim 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (‘485), Amadjikpe (‘886), and Rincon (‘639) as applied to claim 15 above, and further in view of Ha (‘NPL).
Regarding claim 16, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claims 6-7. Accordingly, claim 16 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 6-7, shown above.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Andrews (‘485) in view of Amadjikpe (‘886), Ha (‘NPL), and Rincon (‘639).
Regarding claim 20, Applicant recites claim limitations of the same or substantially the same scope as that of claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, and 12. Accordingly, claim 20 is rejected in the same or substantially the same manner as claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, and 12, shown above.
Conclusion
/YONGHONG LI/ Examiner, Art Unit 3648