Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 11-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross et al. (US 20240373086 A1) in view of Devoy, III et al. (US 20220191594 A1) [IDS dated 01/17/2025] and further in view of Mun et al. (US 20230009446 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ross teaches a computer-implemented method for video processing comprising:
accessing a stream on a device for connected television (CTV), wherein the device for CTV facilitates delivery of streaming video content to a user (providing an A/V stream on a smart television to a user for viewing – see FIG. 1, 4, 0031, 0038, 0054, 0055);
revealing a quick response (QR) code, using one or more processors, on the device for CTV (generating a QR code on the smart television – see FIGs. 1 & 4, 0033, 0040, 0056);
scanning the QR code, by the user, with a camera located on a mobile device, wherein the QR code redirects the mobile device to a webpage (scanning the QR code by the user using a camera of mobile device, and the QR code redirects the mobile device to a website – see FIGs. 1 & 4, 0033, 0043, 0044, 0057, 0058, 0080); and
enabling an ecommerce purchase of a product for sale using the mobile device (the user is able to purchase one or more products using the mobile device – see 0080).
Ross does not disclose the features of accessing a livestream and enabling participation in the livestream by the user, via the website, wherein the enabling is accomplished with the mobile device. Devoy teaches accessing a livestream and enabling a user to participate in a live stream event via a webpage using user’s smartphone. See abstract, 0021, 0027, 0039, 0045, 0077. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Ross by enabling participation in the livestream by the user, via the website, wherein the enabling is accomplished with the mobile device as disclosed or suggested by Devoy for the purpose of enhancing the viewing experience of the user.
Ross does not disclose that wherein the livestream is simultaneously displayed on the device for CTV and on the mobile device. Mun teaches that livestream can be concurrently presented on a first screen device, e.g., smartphone, and on a second screen device, e.g., television. See 0004, 0043, 0048, 0082. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ross and Devoy by including that the livestream is simultaneously displayed on the device for CTV and on the mobile device as disclosed or suggested by Mun for the purpose of providing a seamless viewing flexibility to user.
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches that wherein the enabling participation in the livestream includes a chat function (comments/messages – see Ross: 0086; Devoy: 0021, 0061, 0067, 0089, 0090).
Regarding claim 12, Ross teaches that wherein the chat function includes participating, by the user, in polls and questionnaires (see 0082, 0090).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches that wherein information within the chat function appears on the mobile device and the device for CTV (displaying messages via smart television/computing device and smartphone – see Ross: 0089; Devoy: 0021, 0039, 0061, 0067, 0089, 0090).
Regarding claim 14, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches that comprising showing at least one promotion, in the livestream, which features the product for sale (showing promotion/advertisement of product/item in the live stream event – see Ross: 0042; Devoy: 0017, 0071, 0078).
Regarding claim 15, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches that wherein the promotion is displayed on the device for CTV and the mobile device (advertisement/promotion of the product is displayed on the smart television/computing device and mobile device. See Ross: 0042, 0080, 0089, 0090; Devoy: 0017, 0071, 0078).
Regarding claim 16, Ross in view of Devoy teaches that wherein the enabling participation in the livestream is accomplished in an application running on the mobile device (the mobile device executes one or more client applications enabling the user to participate in the live stream event. See Devoy: 0039).
Regarding claim 17, Ross in view of Devoy teaches that wherein the enabling participation in the livestream includes video on the mobile device (video presented on viewing interface of the computing device, e.g., the mobile device – see Devoy: FIG. 4, 0060).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches that wherein the video is displayed on the device for CTV (displaying content on the smart television via social networking site - see Ross: 0086; presenting video on viewing interface of the computing device – see Devoy: FIG. 4, 0060).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches that wherein the livestream appears on a social network (providing content via the social networking site - see Ross: 0086; providing a live stream event via the social networking system – see Devoy: see abstract, 0026).
Regarding claim 20, Ross in view of Devoy teaches that wherein the product for sale is a service or event that was highlighted in the livestream (the item associated with the event set up by the host user that is highlighted in the live stream. See Devoy: 0065, 0067, 0081, 0083).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches that wherein the accessing a livestream is accomplished with an Over- the-Top (OTT) video device (accessing video stream via smartTV – see Ross: 0031, 0035; accessing the live stream via the computing device – see Devoy: 0021, 0077).
Regarding claim 22, Ross teaches that wherein the scanning the QR code redirects the user to an application running on the mobile device (see 0089).
Regarding claim 23, Ross teaches that wherein the device for CTV comprises a connected public display or a connected commercial display (the device 100/400 can be a smart television, a monitor at a kiosk or any other device capable of executing software and having video output display that can be controlled and updated by software as it executes – see 0038, 0055).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches that wherein the enabling participation in the livestream includes a chat function (comments/posts - see Ross: 0086; Devoy: 0021, 0041).
Regarding claims 25-26, see rejection of claim 1.
Claims 2-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ross et al. (US 20240373086 A1) in view of Devoy, III et al. (US 20220191594 A1) [IDS dated 01/17/2025] and Mun et al. (US 20230009446 A1) and further in view of Murray et al. (US 20240013284 A1).
Regarding claim 2, Ross as modified by Devoy teaches identifying when a livestream host highlights the product for sale in the livestream (presenting an item/a product highlighted by the host user for shopping in the live stream. See Devoy: FIG. 8, 0067, 0081, 0083). Both lack to teach the identifying is based on machine learning and performed automatically. Murray teaches a machine-implemented method for facilitating a shopping experience comprising the products promoted to a user selected based on machine learning and artificial intelligence. See abstract, 0041. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the combination of Ross, Devoy and Mun by the identifying of the highlighted the products is based on machine learning and performed automatically as taught or suggested by Murray for the purposes of increasing efficiency, productivity through task automation and enabling faster deployment.
Regarding claim 3, Ross in view of Devoy teaches pinning a product card, using one or more processors, by the livestream host, within a shopping window on the device for CTV (as the host user inputs an image/item associated with a product for presenting in an item highlighted area or content area to highlight in the live stream. See Devoy: FIG. 8-9, 0027, 0067, 0078, 0081).
Regarding claim 4, Ross in view of Devoy teaches that wherein the product card represents the product for sale (the image/item in the item highlighted area or content area represents the product for sale – see Devoy: FIG. 8-9, 0067, 0068).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches revealing a second QR code within the shopping window (see Ross: 0080; Devoy: FIGs. 5-8, 0021).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches scanning the second QR code, by the user, with the camera located on the mobile device (scanning the QR code via the camera of the smartphone – see Ross: 0033, 0080; Devoy: FIGs. 5-8, 0021).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches that wherein an ecommerce purchase environment is rendered within a livestream window on the mobile device (items/products are presented within shopping interface on the mobile device. See Ross: FIGs. 7A-7D; Devoy: 0021, 0036, 0039).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches that wherein the ecommerce purchase environment includes a virtual purchase cart (shopping cart – see Ross: FIGs. 7A-D, 0080, 0092, 0093; Devoy: FIG. 7, 0021, 0030, 0066).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches that wherein the virtual purchase cart is displayed while the livestream plays on the mobile device (displaying the shopping cart while playing the live stream – See Ross: FIGs. 7B, 8B, 0072, 0080; Devoy: 0021, 0030, 0035, 0066).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Ross and Devoy teaches that wherein the virtual purchase cart covers a portion of the livestream on the mobile device (see Ross: FIGs. 7B, 8B, 0072, 0080; Devoy: FIG. 8, 0067).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NGOC K VU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2421