This office action is in response to remarks filed on 03/25/2026.
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 13, 15-19 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 18, 19 are amended. Claims 2, 7, 12 are canceled.
Response to Amendments
Claims 1, 3, 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, 13, 15, 18, 19 have been considered based on amendments.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 6, 11, and 16-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al (US20230053805A1) (hereinafter "Kim '805") in view of Gupta et al (US20220110081A1) (hereinafter "Gupta").
Regarding claim 1, Kim '805 discloses a method of sending application context relocation (ACR) information, comprising: sending the ACR information of the first AC by using an enabler layer, wherein the ACR information of the first AC comprises an identifier of the first AC ([0065] In an operation of transmitting the capability information, the EEC may identify whether the application client and the MT in the UE may initiate the application context relocation procedure, and transmit it to the EES. ([0080] In order for the EEC to receive edge data network configuration information, the EEC may provide capability information of the EEC while transmitting an initial provisioning request to the edge data network configuration server, and the edge data network configuration server may transmit the information to the EES to which the EEC will access. The corresponding information may be transmitted before the EEC accesses the EES. This is because the edge data network configuration server may know an EES to be accessed by the EEC based on application client related information and UE related information (e.g., connectivity information such as public local mobile network ID, or location information of the UE) provided by the EEC.).
Kim '805 fails to disclose a method of sending application context relocation (ACR) information, comprising: determining ACR subscription status information of a first application client (AC) of an edge enabler client (EEC); and in response to the ACR subscription status information of the first AC of the EEC indicating that the EEC has subscribed to ACR information of the first AC served by the EEC.
However, Gupta discloses a method of sending application context relocation (ACR) information, comprising:
determining ACR subscription status information of a first application client (AC) of an edge enabler client (EEC); and ([0007] The application consumer(s) of the EAS (11) known as an application client(s) (AC) (21), which resides on the UE (20) and are assisted by an edge enabler client (EEC) (22) on the UE (20). … With the help of the AC (21), the EEC (22) then selects one of the available EAS (for example, selects EAS (11a) of the EASs (11)) and facilitates establishment of communication between the AC (21) and the selected EAS (11a). [0009] The principal object of the embodiments herein is to receive, by edge enabler server(s) (EES) of an Edge Data Network (EDN), an Edge Application server(s) (EAS) usage indication from an Edge Enabler Client (EEC) of a User Equipment (UE) and/or an EAS. The EES then reserves resources and makes appropriate arrangements (e.g., subscribing for CN capabilities or monitor UE for ACR) to provide support to the EAS based on the EAS usage indication. [0054] The EES (120) receives the EAS usage indication from the EEC (220) of the UE (200), where the EAS usage indication includes a plurality of parameters. The plurality of parameters includes an identifier of the EEC (220) (EECID), security credentials of the EEC (220), an identifier of the UE (200) (UE ID), or a list of EAS identifiers (EASIDs) which are being used by the AC (210) of the UE (200). The EEC (220) sends the EAS usage indication to the EES (120) by using a dedicated message or as part of another message, such as an application context relocation (ACR) information subscription message and/or an EEC registration update message and/or an EEC context message.)
in response to the ACR subscription status information of the first AC of the EEC indicating that the EEC has subscribed to ACR information of the first AC served by the EEC ([0007] The application consumer(s) of the EAS (11) known as an application client(s) (AC) (21), which resides on the UE (20) and are assisted by an edge enabler client (EEC) (22) on the UE (20). [0091] At step 601, the EEC (220) sends a request to the EES (120), such as an ACR information subscription (i.e., ACR information subscription) or an EEC registration update message to the EES (120) at which the selected EAS (110) is registered. The request from the EEC (220) provides the EAS ID and the EAS endpoint of the selected EAS (110) along with the EEC ID and the credentials of the EEC (220).).
Kim '805 and Gupta are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for adjusting application context relocation in edge computing systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '805 with Gupta to create a method of sending application context relocation (ACR) information, comprising: determining ACR subscription status information of a first application client (AC) of an edge enabler client (EEC); and in response to the ACR subscription status information of the first AC of the EEC indicating that the EEC has subscribed to ACR information of the first AC served by the EEC.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize resources utilization in an edge data network.
Regarding claim 6, Kim '805 discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
at least one processor; and ([0181] With reference to FIG. 9, the server may include a transceiver 910, a controller 920, and a storage unit 930. In the disclosure, the controller may be defined as a circuit, an application specific integrated circuit, or at least one processor. [0182] In this case, the server may correspond to at least one of an EES, EAS, or edge data network configuration server.)
at least one memory coupled to the at least one processor and storing programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to cause the apparatus to perform ([0185] The storage unit 930 may store at least one of information transmitted and received through the transceiver 910 or information generated through the controller 920.):
sending the ACR information of the first AC by using an enabler layer, wherein the ACR information of the first AC comprises an identifier of the first AC ([0065] In an operation of transmitting the capability information, the EEC may identify whether the application client and the MT in the UE may initiate the application context relocation procedure, and transmit it to the EES. ([0080] In order for the EEC to receive edge data network configuration information, the EEC may provide capability information of the EEC while transmitting an initial provisioning request to the edge data network configuration server, and the edge data network configuration server may transmit the information to the EES to which the EEC will access. The corresponding information may be transmitted before the EEC accesses the EES. This is because the edge data network configuration server may know an EES to be accessed by the EEC based on application client related information and UE related information (e.g., connectivity information such as public local mobile network ID, or location information of the UE) provided by the EEC.).
Kim '805 fails to disclose a communication apparatus, comprising: determining application context relocation (ACR) subscription status information of a first application client (AC) of an edge enabler client (EEC); and in response to the ACR subscription status information of the first AC of the EEC indicating that the EEC has subscribed to ACR information of the first AC served by the EEC.
However, Gupta discloses a communication apparatus, comprising:
determining application context relocation (ACR) subscription status information of a first application client (AC) of an edge enabler client (EEC); and ([0007] The application consumer(s) of the EAS (11) known as an application client(s) (AC) (21), which resides on the UE (20) and are assisted by an edge enabler client (EEC) (22) on the UE (20). … With the help of the AC (21), the EEC (22) then selects one of the available EAS (for example, selects EAS (11a) of the EASs (11)) and facilitates establishment of communication between the AC (21) and the selected EAS (11a). [0009] The principal object of the embodiments herein is to receive, by edge enabler server(s) (EES) of an Edge Data Network (EDN), an Edge Application server(s) (EAS) usage indication from an Edge Enabler Client (EEC) of a User Equipment (UE) and/or an EAS. The EES then reserves resources and makes appropriate arrangements (e.g., subscribing for CN capabilities or monitor UE for ACR) to provide support to the EAS based on the EAS usage indication. [0054] The EES (120) receives the EAS usage indication from the EEC (220) of the UE (200), where the EAS usage indication includes a plurality of parameters. The plurality of parameters includes an identifier of the EEC (220) (EECID), security credentials of the EEC (220), an identifier of the UE (200) (UE ID), or a list of EAS identifiers (EASIDs) which are being used by the AC (210) of the UE (200). The EEC (220) sends the EAS usage indication to the EES (120) by using a dedicated message or as part of another message, such as an application context relocation (ACR) information subscription message and/or an EEC registration update message and/or an EEC context message.)
in response to the ACR subscription status information of the first AC of the EEC indicating that the EEC has subscribed to ACR information of the first AC served by the EEC ([0007] The application consumer(s) of the EAS (11) known as an application client(s) (AC) (21), which resides on the UE (20) and are assisted by an edge enabler client (EEC) (22) on the UE (20). [0091] At step 601, the EEC (220) sends a request to the EES (120), such as an ACR information subscription (i.e., ACR information subscription) or an EEC registration update message to the EES (120) at which the selected EAS (110) is registered. The request from the EEC (220) provides the EAS ID and the EAS endpoint of the selected EAS (110) along with the EEC ID and the credentials of the EEC (220).).
Kim '805 and Gupta are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for adjusting application context relocation in edge computing systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '805 with Gupta to create a communication apparatus, comprising: determining application context relocation (ACR) subscription status information of a first application client (AC) of an edge enabler client (EEC); and in response to the ACR subscription status information of the first AC of the EEC indicating that the EEC has subscribed to ACR information of the first AC served by the EEC.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize resources utilization in an edge data network.
Regarding claim 11, Kim '805 discloses non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising a computer program or instructions executable on a computer to enable the computer to perform:
sending the ACR information of the first AC by using an enabler layer, wherein the ACR information of the first AC comprises an identifier of the first AC ([0065] In an operation of transmitting the capability information, the EEC may identify whether the application client and the MT in the UE may initiate the application context relocation procedure, and transmit it to the EES. ([0080] In order for the EEC to receive edge data network configuration information, the EEC may provide capability information of the EEC while transmitting an initial provisioning request to the edge data network configuration server, and the edge data network configuration server may transmit the information to the EES to which the EEC will access. The corresponding information may be transmitted before the EEC accesses the EES. This is because the edge data network configuration server may know an EES to be accessed by the EEC based on application client related information and UE related information (e.g., connectivity information such as public local mobile network ID, or location information of the UE) provided by the EEC.).
Kim '805 fails to disclose a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising a computer program or instructions executable on a computer to enable the computer to perform: determining application context relocation (ACR) subscription status information of a first application client (AC) of an edge enabler client (EEC); and
in response to the ACR subscription status information of the first AC of the EEC indicating that the EEC has subscribed to ACR information of the first AC served by the EEC.
However, Gupta discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising a computer program or instructions executable on a computer to enable the computer to perform:
determining application context relocation (ACR) subscription status information of a first application client (AC) of an edge enabler client (EEC); and ([0007] The application consumer(s) of the EAS (11) known as an application client(s) (AC) (21), which resides on the UE (20) and are assisted by an edge enabler client (EEC) (22) on the UE (20). … With the help of the AC (21), the EEC (22) then selects one of the available EAS (for example, selects EAS (11a) of the EASs (11)) and facilitates establishment of communication between the AC (21) and the selected EAS (11a). [0009] The principal object of the embodiments herein is to receive, by edge enabler server(s) (EES) of an Edge Data Network (EDN), an Edge Application server(s) (EAS) usage indication from an Edge Enabler Client (EEC) of a User Equipment (UE) and/or an EAS. The EES then reserves resources and makes appropriate arrangements (e.g., subscribing for CN capabilities or monitor UE for ACR) to provide support to the EAS based on the EAS usage indication. [0054] The EES (120) receives the EAS usage indication from the EEC (220) of the UE (200), where the EAS usage indication includes a plurality of parameters. The plurality of parameters includes an identifier of the EEC (220) (EECID), security credentials of the EEC (220), an identifier of the UE (200) (UE ID), or a list of EAS identifiers (EASIDs) which are being used by the AC (210) of the UE (200). The EEC (220) sends the EAS usage indication to the EES (120) by using a dedicated message or as part of another message, such as an application context relocation (ACR) information subscription message and/or an EEC registration update message and/or an EEC context message.)
sending the ACR information of the first AC by using an enabler layer, wherein the ACR information of the first AC comprises an identifier of the first AC ([0007] The application consumer(s) of the EAS (11) known as an application client(s) (AC) (21), which resides on the UE (20) and are assisted by an edge enabler client (EEC) (22) on the UE (20). [0091] At step 601, the EEC (220) sends a request to the EES (120), such as an ACR information subscription (i.e., ACR information subscription) or an EEC registration update message to the EES (120) at which the selected EAS (110) is registered. The request from the EEC (220) provides the EAS ID and the EAS endpoint of the selected EAS (110) along with the EEC ID and the credentials of the EEC (220).).
Kim '805 and Gupta are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of techniques for adjusting application context relocation in edge computing systems.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '805 with Gupta to create a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, comprising a computer program or instructions executable on a computer to enable the computer to perform: determining application context relocation (ACR) subscription status information of a first application client (AC) of an edge enabler client (EEC); and in response to the ACR subscription status information of the first AC of the EEC indicating that the EEC has subscribed to ACR information of the first AC served by the EEC.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to optimize resources utilization in an edge data network.
Regarding claim 16, Kim '805 discloses the method, wherein the method is performed by an edge enabler server ([0105] With reference to FIG. 3, in step 0, the source EES or the source EAS may initiate an application context relocation procedure. [0106] In step 1, the source EES or the source EAS may transmit a relocation-in-progress indication to each device based on a configured relocation mode. In this case, the relocation mode may be configured according to the above method described with reference to FIG. 2.).
Regarding claim 17, Kim '805 discloses the apparatus, wherein the apparatus is an edge enabler server ([0105] With reference to FIG. 3, in step 0, the source EES or the source EAS may initiate an application context relocation procedure. [0106] In step 1, the source EES or the source EAS may transmit a relocation-in-progress indication to each device based on a configured relocation mode. In this case, the relocation mode may be configured according to the above method described with reference to FIG. 2.).
Claims 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim '805 in view of Gupta, and further in view of Cho et al (US20220116831A1) (hereinafter "Cho").
Regarding claim 18, Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, fails to disclose the method, further comprising: receiving an ACR subscription request message from the EEC, wherein the ACR subscription request message comprises the identifier of the first AC.
However, Cho discloses the method, further comprising: receiving an ACR subscription request message from the EEC, wherein the ACR subscription request message comprises the identifier of the first AC ([0145] According to an embodiment of the disclosure, when the terminal 100 executes the application client, the application client may transmit information indicating that the application client 110 has been executed to the edge enabler client. Alternatively, the edge enabler client may detect the execution of the application client (not shown). [0146] When the edge enabler client identifies the execution of the application client, the terminal 100 and the edge data network configuration server 500 may generate APP context (or application context). [0149] For example, the APP context may include information about an application supporting MEC-based data transmission among applications installed in the terminal 100, an ID of the application client, information related to mobility of the terminal 100, life cycle information of the application, information about a status of the terminal 100, information obtained using a sensor, information about network performance, or the like.).
Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, and Cho are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing a multi-access edge computing or mobile edge computing service.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, with Cho to create the method, further comprising: receiving an ACR subscription request message from the EEC, wherein the ACR subscription request message comprises the identifier of the first AC.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure the correct application context is transferred.
Regarding claim 19, Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform: receiving an ACR subscription request message from the EEC, wherein the ACR subscription request message comprises the identifier of the first AC.
However, Cho discloses the apparatus, wherein the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform: receiving an ACR subscription request message from the EEC, wherein the ACR subscription request message comprises the identifier of the first AC ([0145] According to an embodiment of the disclosure, when the terminal 100 executes the application client, the application client may transmit information indicating that the application client 110 has been executed to the edge enabler client. Alternatively, the edge enabler client may detect the execution of the application client (not shown). [0146] When the edge enabler client identifies the execution of the application client, the terminal 100 and the edge data network configuration server 500 may generate APP context (or application context). [0149] For example, the APP context may include information about an application supporting MEC-based data transmission among applications installed in the terminal 100, an ID of the application client, information related to mobility of the terminal 100, life cycle information of the application, information about a status of the terminal 100, information obtained using a sensor, information about network performance, or the like.).
Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, and Cho are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing a multi-access edge computing or mobile edge computing service.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, with Cho to create the apparatus, wherein the programming instructions, when executed by the at least one processor, further cause the apparatus to perform: receiving an ACR subscription request message from the EEC, wherein the ACR subscription request message comprises the identifier of the first AC.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to ensure the correct application context is transferred.
Claims 3, 8, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim '805 in view of Gupta, and further in view of Kim et al (US20220015018A1) (hereinafter "Kim '018").
Regarding claim 3, Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, fails to disclose the method, wherein the determining the ACR subscription status information comprises: in response to determining that ACR for the first AC is to be performed or is completed, determining the ACR subscription status information of the first AC.
However, Kim '018 discloses the method, wherein the determining the ACR subscription status information comprises:
in response to determining that ACR for the first AC is to be performed or is completed, determining the ACR subscription status information of the first AC ([0061] In operation according to a UE triggered edge computing application context relocation procedure of some aspects of the disclosure, the UE may take more responsibility with respect to the application context transfer (e.g., to determine which EES is the best for the UE's current location, which in turn may determine a best EAS for the current location). … In some situations, a S-EAS may not correctly determine the application client's condition. However, in a UE triggered edge computing application context relocation procedure of some aspects of the disclosure, an application client may have its logic determine connectivity status, and it can notify it to the EEC.).
Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, and Kim '018 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing an edge computing service to a user equipment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, with Kim '018 to create the method, wherein the determining the ACR subscription status information comprises: in response to determining that ACR for the first AC is to be performed or is completed, determining the ACR subscription status information of the first AC.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the appropriate actions to take regarding the ACR process.
Regarding claim 8, Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the determining the ACR subscription status information comprises: in response to determining that ACR for the first AC is to be performed or is completed, determining the ACR subscription status information of the first AC.
However, Kim '018 discloses the apparatus, wherein the determining the ACR subscription status information comprises:
in response to determining that ACR for the first AC is to be performed or is completed, determining the ACR subscription status information of the first AC ([0061] In operation according to a UE triggered edge computing application context relocation procedure of some aspects of the disclosure, the UE may take more responsibility with respect to the application context transfer (e.g., to determine which EES is the best for the UE's current location, which in turn may determine a best EAS for the current location). … In some situations, a S-EAS may not correctly determine the application client's condition. However, in a UE triggered edge computing application context relocation procedure of some aspects of the disclosure, an application client may have its logic determine connectivity status, and it can notify it to the EEC.).
Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, and Kim '018 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing an edge computing service to a user equipment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, with Kim '018 to create the apparatus, wherein the determining the ACR subscription status information comprises: in response to determining that ACR for the first AC is to be performed or is completed, determining the ACR subscription status information of the first AC.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the appropriate actions to take regarding the ACR process.
Regarding claim 13, Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, fails to disclose the computer-readable storage medium, wherein the determining the ACR subscription status information comprises: in response to determining that ACR for the first AC is to be performed or is completed, determining the ACR subscription status information of the first AC.
However, Kim '018 discloses the computer-readable storage medium, wherein the determining the ACR subscription status information comprises:
in response to determining that ACR for the first AC is to be performed or is completed, determining the ACR subscription status information of the first AC ([0061] In operation according to a UE triggered edge computing application context relocation procedure of some aspects of the disclosure, the UE may take more responsibility with respect to the application context transfer (e.g., to determine which EES is the best for the UE's current location, which in turn may determine a best EAS for the current location). … In some situations, a S-EAS may not correctly determine the application client's condition. However, in a UE triggered edge computing application context relocation procedure of some aspects of the disclosure, an application client may have its logic determine connectivity status, and it can notify it to the EEC.).
Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, and Kim '018 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing an edge computing service to a user equipment.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, with Kim '018 to create the computer-readable storage medium, wherein the determining the ACR subscription status information comprises: in response to determining that ACR for the first AC is to be performed or is completed, determining the ACR subscription status information of the first AC.
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to determine the appropriate actions to take regarding the ACR process.
Claims 5, 10, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim '805 in view of Gupta, and further in view of Kim et al (US20210058489A1) (hereinafter "Kim '489").
Regarding claim 5, Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, fails to disclose the method, wherein the ACR information of the first AC comprises at least one of a first type of ACR information or a second type of ACR information, the first type of ACR information indicates that an ACR process is completed, and the second type of ACR information indicates a target edge application server (EAS) determined in the ACR process.
However, Kim '489 discloses the method, wherein the ACR information of the first AC comprises at least one of a first type of ACR information or a second type of ACR information ([0009] In accordance with an aspect of the present disclosure, a method of relocating application context for an application service provided to a UE by an S-EAS in an edge computing system is provided. The method includes receiving an application context relocation command for an application provided to the UE from an S-EES, the context relocation command including T-EAS information, transmitting the application context for the application service to the T-EAS through the S-EES, and transmitting a context relocation completion notification to the S-EES.),
the first type of ACR information indicates that an ACR process is completed, and (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.)
the second type of ACR information indicates a target edge application server (EAS) determined in the ACR process ([0009] In accordance with an aspect of the present disclosure, a method of relocating application context for an application service provided to a UE by an S-EAS in an edge computing system is provided. The method includes receiving an application context relocation command for an application provided to the UE from an S-EES, the context relocation command including T-EAS information, transmitting the application context for the application service to the T-EAS through the S-EES, and transmitting a context relocation completion notification to the S-EES.).
Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, and Kim '489 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing data in an edge computing system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, with Kim '489 to create the method, wherein the ACR information of the first AC comprises at least one of a first type of ACR information or a second type of ACR information, the first type of ACR information indicates that an ACR process is completed, and the second type of ACR information indicates a target edge application server (EAS) determined in the ACR process..
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have information pertaining to the edge application server that would serve the application context relocation as a result of the UE moving to a new location.
Regarding claim 10, Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, fails to disclose the apparatus, wherein the ACR information of the first AC comprises at least one of a first type of ACR information or a second type of ACR information, the first type of ACR information indicates that an ACR process is completed, and the second type of ACR information indicates a target edge application server (EAS) determined in the ACR process.
However, Kim '489 discloses the apparatus, wherein the ACR information of the first AC comprises at least one of a first type of ACR information or a second type of ACR information ([0009] In accordance with an aspect of the present disclosure, a method of relocating application context for an application service provided to a UE by an S-EAS in an edge computing system is provided. The method includes receiving an application context relocation command for an application provided to the UE from an S-EES, the context relocation command including T-EAS information, transmitting the application context for the application service to the T-EAS through the S-EES, and transmitting a context relocation completion notification to the S-EES.),
the first type of ACR information indicates that an ACR process is completed, and (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.)
the second type of ACR information indicates a target edge application server (EAS) determined in the ACR process ([0009] In accordance with an aspect of the present disclosure, a method of relocating application context for an application service provided to a UE by an S-EAS in an edge computing system is provided. The method includes receiving an application context relocation command for an application provided to the UE from an S-EES, the context relocation command including T-EAS information, transmitting the application context for the application service to the T-EAS through the S-EES, and transmitting a context relocation completion notification to the S-EES.).
Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, and Kim '489 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing data in an edge computing system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, with Kim '489 to create the apparatus, wherein the ACR information of the first AC comprises at least one of a first type of ACR information or a second type of ACR information, the first type of ACR information indicates that an ACR process is completed, and the second type of ACR information indicates a target edge application server (EAS) determined in the ACR process..
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have information pertaining to the edge application server that would serve the application context relocation as a result of the UE moving to a new location.
Regarding claim 15, Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, fails to disclose the computer-readable storage medium, wherein the ACR information of the first AC comprises at least one of a first type of ACR information or a second type of ACR information, the first type of ACR information indicates that an ACR process is completed, and the second type of ACR information indicates a target edge application server (EAS) determined in the ACR process.
However, Kim '489 discloses the computer-readable storage medium, wherein the ACR information of the first AC comprises at least one of a first type of ACR information or a second type of ACR information ([0009] In accordance with an aspect of the present disclosure, a method of relocating application context for an application service provided to a UE by an S-EAS in an edge computing system is provided. The method includes receiving an application context relocation command for an application provided to the UE from an S-EES, the context relocation command including T-EAS information, transmitting the application context for the application service to the T-EAS through the S-EES, and transmitting a context relocation completion notification to the S-EES.),
the first type of ACR information indicates that an ACR process is completed, and (The examiner does not select this because of the "or" statement.)
the second type of ACR information indicates a target edge application server (EAS) determined in the ACR process ([0009] In accordance with an aspect of the present disclosure, a method of relocating application context for an application service provided to a UE by an S-EAS in an edge computing system is provided. The method includes receiving an application context relocation command for an application provided to the UE from an S-EES, the context relocation command including T-EAS information, transmitting the application context for the application service to the T-EAS through the S-EES, and transmitting a context relocation completion notification to the S-EES.).
Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, and Kim '489 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same endeavor of providing data in an edge computing system.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teachings of Kim '805, as modified by Gupta, with Kim '489 to create the computer-readable storage medium, wherein the ACR information of the first AC comprises at least one of a first type of ACR information or a second type of ACR information, the first type of ACR information indicates that an ACR process is completed, and the second type of ACR information indicates a target edge application server (EAS) determined in the ACR process..
The motivation to combine both references would come from the need to have information pertaining to the edge application server that would serve the application context relocation as a result of the UE moving to a new location.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6, and 11, and associated dependent claims have been considered, but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/D LITTLE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419