DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Truong. Truong discloses at col. 4, lines 3-7 a braid training tool comprising a wig cap configured to be placed on a mannequin (i.e. a head component), where the wig cap comprises a plurality of hair segments 14. Truong further discloses at col. 4, lines 63-65 that the hair segments my comprise hair, synthetic hair or yarn. Truong also discloses at col. 4, lines 33-55 the provision of right side hair segments 20, left side hair segments 22, and crown hair segments 24. These designations constitute a partition into segments.
With respect to claim 2, the hair segments of Truong are capable of being formed into a cornrow or a plait. While Truong does not explicitly recite these patterns, the pertinent claim language constitutes functional language reciting an intended use or purpose of the device, which is not sufficient to impart patentability under MPEP 2114 so long as the apparatus is capable of the recited function. With respect to claim 10, Truong discloses the recited method of interweaving the hair segments to form a braid.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong in view of Davis. Truong discloses the claim limitations with the exception of providing hair segments with different thicknesses or textures. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Davis at paragraphs [0004] and [0006] (teaching strands for training in shoelace tying, which is considered to be an analogous art, having different textures), and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results and for the purpose of providing a tactile indication of differing stranding to a user. With respect to claim 5, the provision of quadrant sections is considered to be an obvious variation on the teachings of the prior art. With respect to claim 6, Truong discloses a mannequin head as discussed above.
Claims 7 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong in view of Dana. Truong discloses the claim limitations with the exception of the head component being a container. This feature is known in the art, as taught for example by Dana at paragraphs [0025-27], and would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art as an obvious substitution of one known element for another to achieve predictable results and for the purpose of allowing a user to conveniently store tools and other associated items in the device. The recited shape is considered to be an obvious aesthetic choice of design under MPEP 2144.04(I) as well as an obvious change in shape under MPEP 2144.04(IV)(B). With respect to claim 9, Truong discloses in each of the Figures that its plurality of strands has a length greater than the height of its mannequin head.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Truong in view of Dana, and further in view of Passage. Truong as viewed in combination with Dana discloses the claim limitations with the exception of providing an edge operative as a ruler. Passage discloses at col. 3, lines 1-8 a mannequin head for hairstyle training having a grid thereon which is configured for use as a measuring tool. The recited ruler is considered to be obvious in light of the measuring device taught by Passage. The recited location of the measuring device is considered to be an obvious rearrangement of elements under MPEP 2144.04(VI)(C).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/KURT FERNSTROM/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715
November 17, 2025