DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 12 May 2026 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 22 October 2024, 30 January 2025and 14 February 2025,.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.Response to Arguments
applicant’s arguments, see Remarks, Pages 8-10, filed 12 May 2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of Claims 1-8, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0330022 to Kolekar et al. (hereinafter "Kolekar"). have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been maintained. Upon reconsideration of U.S. Provisional application No. 63/1635,436, does contain disclosures related to handover and mobility See Fig. 6.Y.2-1, Page 5-7, explicitly disclosed I). initial access to onboarding SNPN (STAND-ALONE NON-PUBLIC NETWORK), its registration, configuration PDU session, authentication, provisional server interaction, credential provisioning and deregistration. II). Page 6. ¶[a] teaches “The UE registers to O-SNPN for onboarding by
including an indication in the Registration Request, indicating that the registration is for UE onboarding.”
III). Page 9. Discloses that the X2/Xn interfaces permits ANs to communicate information relating to handovers data/context transfers, mobility.
IV). Page 23, Example 4-6 state: NG-RAN supports Restricted Onboarding Service, UE indicates the connection is for restricted onboarding, this enables NG-RAN to select an appropriate AMF, that AMF selects a designated SMF, and SMF selects a designated PSA providing restricted connection to the Onboarding Server.
Therefore, the rejection of Claims 1-8, 14-16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2022/0330022 to Kolekar et al. (hereinafter "Kolekar") is maintained. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-8, 14-16, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kolekar et al. (US 20220330022 A1).
With regarding Claim 1, Kolekar disclose a method, comprising: obtaining, by a first core network device, first information, wherein the first information indicates that a terminal device performs onboarding (See FIG. 5-9, and ¶[0098]-[0104]. Disclosed the AMF maintains, in the UE context, an indication that the UE is registered for SNPN onboarding and that a new AMF obtains or receives this UE context indication during mobility or handover, which is first information indicating the UE performs onboarding.), the first core network device is a core network device that serves the terminal device after the terminal device performs handover (See FIG. 5, 17A-17D, and ¶[0098]-[0104]. Disclosed that when AMF re-allocation occurs during an N2-based handover for a UE registered for SNPN onboarding. The core network device that will serve the UE after handover.(new AMF completes the N2-based handover procedure, establishing it as the post-handover serving core network device)), and the first core network device supports an onboarding function (See FIG. 5, 11 and ¶[0095]-[0100], [0104]. Disclosed AMF supporting UE onboarding configured with AMF onboarding configuration Data (NSSAI/DNN/SMF for onboarding) ) ; and performing, by the first core network device, onboarding on the terminal device based on the first information (See FIG. 5 and ¶[0101]-[0104]. Disclosed that the AMF performs onboarding actions (initiating authentication toward AUSF and applying AMF onboarding configuration data) based on the NAS registration request indicating SNPN onboarding). With regarding Claim 2, Kolekar disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the obtaining, by the first core network device, the first information comprises: obtaining, by the first core network device, the first information from a second core network device, wherein the second core network device is a core network device that serves the terminal device before the terminal device performs the handover (See FIG. 17A-17D and ¶[0101]-[0104], [0171], [0209]. Disclosed that onboarding indication is stored in UE context and transferred to new AMF during mobility/handover procedures, and states the new AMF receives in UE context the indication during handover.); obtaining, by the first core network device, the first information from a first access network device, wherein the first access network device is an access network device that serves the terminal device after the terminal device performs the handover (See FIG. 5 ¶[0101]-[0105], [0095]. Disclosed on AMF -to-AMF context transfer during mobility); obtaining, by the first core network device, the first information from the terminal device (See ¶[0097]-[0098], [0104]. Disclosed initial registration with O-SNPN, onboarding state transfer via UE context during handover. ); or obtaining, by the first core network device, the first information from a third core network device, wherein the third core network device is a core network device initially selected when the terminal device performs the handover, and the third core network device does not support the onboarding function. With regarding Claim 3, Kolekar disclose the method according to claim 1, wherein the first information comprises one or more of data network name information (See ¶[0095], [0100], [0288]. Disclosed DNN information is explicitly part of the onboarding configuration data store or transferred in UE context.), network slice information (See ¶[0099], [0100], [0288]. Disclosed the AMF sends a registration accept message to the UE. The allowed NSSAI containing the S-NSSAI from the AMF onboarding configuration Data is included in the N2 message to the NG-RAN), or information about a first value, and the first value indicates a duration in which the terminal device has registered with a network (See ¶[0102]-[0105]. Disclosed hand over scenario. The new AMF receiving UE context containing onboarding indication. States the new AMF may start a timer based on this context to track remaining duration the UE is allowed to stay registered for onboarding.), or the first value indicates a remaining duration in which the terminal device is allowed to register with the network. With regarding Claim 4, Kolekar disclosed the method according to claim 3, wherein the first information comprises the information about the first value, and the method further comprises: starting, by the first core network device, a first timer, wherein a start value of the first timer is the first value (See FIG. 17A-17D and ¶[0101]-[0104]. Disclosed the new AMF (first core network device serving after handover) starts timer upon handover completion.).; and in response to a value of the first timer increasing to a first threshold, performing, by the first core network device, a deregistration procedure of the terminal device, wherein the value of the first timer indicates the duration in which the terminal device has registered with the network; or in response to the value of the first timer decreasing to a second threshold, performing, by the first core network device, the deregistration procedure of the terminal device, wherein the value of the first timer indicates the remaining duration in which the terminal device is allowed to register with the network (See FIG. 17A-17D and ¶[0101]-[0105]. Disclosed the timer expiry (value decreasing to threshold) triggers deregistration, time purpose is to limit remaining allowable registration duration.). With regarding Claim 5, Kolekar disclosed the method according to claim 1, further comprising: starting, by the first core network device, a second timer; and in response to a value of the second timer increasing to a first threshold or decreasing to a second threshold, performing, by the first core network device, a deregistration procedure of the terminal device (See ¶[0101]-[0105]. Disclosed that after N2 handover completion, the new AMF starts an implementation specific timer, the timer expiry triggers deregistration to prevent indefinite registration.). With regarding Claim 6, Kolekar disclosed the method according to claim 4, wherein one or more of the information about the first threshold or the information about the second threshold is preconfigured; or the method further comprises: obtaining, by the first core network device, second information from the second a second core network device, wherein the second information indicates at least one of the first threshold or the second threshold (See FIG. 17A- 17D, and ¶[0101]-[0105], [0100]. Disclosed that the term “implementation specific timer” (¶[0103], [0104]) inherently means the timer duration is determined by implementation specific configuration store in the AMF and ¶[0102] teaches statement that the timer is started “based on ON-SNPN policies” confirms the threshold value originates from network policy configuration. FIG. 17A-17B step. 5 shows that trigger for starting the timer I transferred during handover, but the timer duration/threshold itself is implementation-specific/preconfigured in the new AMF). With regarding Claim 7, Kolekar disclosed the method according to claim 1, wherein the first core network device is an access and mobility management function device (See FIG. 17A- 17D, and ¶[0101]-[0105], [0104]. Disclosed that identifies the post-handover serving entity as an AMF, confirms this AMF supports onboarding functionality.).
With regarding Claim 8, Kolekar disclosed the method according to claim 2, wherein the second core network device is an access and mobility management function device (See FIG. 17A- 17D, step 5, and ¶[0101]-[0104]. Disclosed old AMF to new AMF: Response to Namf_communication_UEContexttransfer during mobility.).With regarding Claim 14, Kolekar disclosed A communication device, comprising: a processor (See FIG. 2, and ¶[0055],-[0056] ,[0061]); anda memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, causes the communication device to (See FIG. 2, and ¶[0055],-[0057] ,[0061): obtain first information, wherein the first information indicates that a terminal device performs onboarding (See FIG. 5-9, and ¶[0098]-[0104]. Disclosed the AMF maintains, in the UE context, an indication that the UE is registered for SNPN onboarding and that a new AMF obtains or receives this UE context indication during mobility or handover, which is first information indicating the UE performs onboarding.), the communication device is a first core network device that serves the terminal device after the terminal device performs a handover (See FIG. 5, 17A-17D, and ¶[0098]-[0104]. Disclosed that when AMF re-allocation occurs during an N2-based handover for a UE registered for SNPN onboarding. The core network device that will serve the UE after handover.(new AMF completes the N2-based handover procedure, establishing it as the post-handover serving core network device)), and the first core network device supports an onboarding function (See FIG. 5, 11 and ¶[0095]-[0100], [0104]. Disclosed AMF supporting UE onboarding configured with AMF onboarding configuration Data (NSSAI/DNN/SMF for onboarding) ); and perform onboarding on the terminal device based on the first information (See FIG. 5 and ¶[0101]-[0104]. Disclosed that the AMF performs onboarding actions (initiating authentication toward AUSF and applying AMF onboarding configuration data) based on the NAS registration request indicating SNPN onboarding).
With regarding Claim 15, Kolekar disclosed the communication device of claim 14, wherein the communication device is further caused to: obtain the first information from a second core network device, wherein the second core network device is a core network device that serves the terminal device before the terminal device performs the handover(See FIG. 17A-17D and ¶[0101]-[0104], [0171], [0209]. Disclosed that onboarding indication is stored in UE context and transferred to new AMF during mobility/handover procedures, and states the new AMF receives in UE context the indication during handover.); obtain the first information from a first access network device, wherein the first access network device is serves the terminal device after the terminal device performs the handover(See FIG. 5 ¶[0101]-[0105], [0095]. Disclosed on AMF -to-AMF context transfer during mobility);; obtain the first information from the terminal device (See ¶[0097]-[0098], [0104]. Disclosed initial registration with O-SNPN, onboarding state transfer via UE context during handover.; or obtain the first information from a third core network device, wherein the third core network device is initially selected when the terminal device performs the handover, and the third core network device does not support the onboarding function.
With regarding Claim 16, Kolekar disclosed the communication device according to claim 14, wherein the first information comprises one or more of data network name information (See ¶[0095], [0100], [0288]. Disclosed DNN information is explicitly part of the onboarding configuration data store or transferred in UE context.), network slice information (See ¶[0099], [0100], [0288]. Disclosed the AMF sends a registration accept message to the UE. The allowed NSSAI containing the S-NSSAI from the AMF onboarding configuration Data is included in the N2 message to the NG-RAN), or information about a first value, and the first value indicates a duration in which the terminal device has registered with a network (See ¶[0102]-[0105]. Disclosed hand over scenario. The new AMF receiving UE context containing onboarding indication. States the new AMF may start a timer based on this context to track remaining duration the UE is allowed to stay registered for onboarding.), or the first value indicates a remaining duration in which the terminal device is allowed to register with the network.
With regarding Claim 20, Kolekar disclosed a chip system, comprising: at least one processor (See FIG. 2, and ¶[0055],-[0056] ,[0061]), wherein the at least one processor is configured to execute a computer program or instructions in a memory to cause an apparatus to(See FIG. 2, and ¶[0055],-[0056] ,[0061]): obtain first information, wherein the first information indicates that a terminal device performs onboarding (See FIG. 5-9, and ¶[0098]-[0104]. Disclosed the AMF maintains, in the UE context, an indication that the UE is registered for SNPN onboarding and that a new AMF obtains or receives this UE context indication during mobility or handover, which is first information indicating the UE performs onboarding.), the apparatus is a first core network device that serves the terminal device after the terminal device performs a handover(See FIG. 5, 17A-17D, and ¶[0098]-[0104]. Disclosed that when AMF re-allocation occurs during an N2-based handover for a UE registered for SNPN onboarding. The core network device that will serve the UE after handover.(new AMF completes the N2-based handover procedure, establishing it as the post-handover serving core network device)), and the first core network device supports an onboarding function(See FIG. 5, 11 and ¶[0095]-[0100], [0104]. Disclosed AMF supporting UE onboarding configured with AMF onboarding configuration Data (NSSAI/DNN/SMF for onboarding) ); and perform onboarding on the terminal device based on the first information(See FIG. 5 and ¶[0101]-[0104]. Disclosed that the AMF performs onboarding actions (initiating authentication toward AUSF and applying AMF onboarding configuration data) based on the NAS registration request indicating SNPN onboarding).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9-13, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kolekar (US 20220330022 A1) in view of Ramle et al (US 20200112898 A1).
With regarding Claim 9, Kolekar disclosed a method, comprising: selecting, by a second core network device, a first core network device based on third information, wherein the third information indicates that a terminal device performs onboarding (See ¶[0095], [0101-[0104]. Disclosed that an onboarding indication exists and the during AMF re-allocation in N2 handover a new AMF supporting onboarding should be selected.), and the first core network device supports an onboarding function (See ¶[0100]. [0104]. Disclosed the new AMF/T-AMF supporting onboarding functionality.), wherein the second core network device serves the terminal device before the terminal device performs a handover, and the first core network device serves the terminal device after the terminal device performs the handover; and sending, by the second core network device, first information to the first core network device, wherein the first information indicates that the terminal device performs the onboarding, so that the first core network device performs onboarding on the terminal device based on the first information (See FIG. 17A- 17D, step 5, and ¶[0101], [0104]. Disclosed The new AMF stores in the UE context in AMF an indication that the UE is registered for SNPN onboarding, if the new AMF receives in UE context the indication that the UE is registered for SNPN onboarding.). Kolekar may not explicitly disclose selecting, by a second core network device, a first core network device based on third information, wherein the third information indicates that a terminal device performs onboarding, wherein the second core network device serves the terminal device before the terminal device performs a handover, and the first core network device serves the terminal device after the terminal device performs the handover
However, in analogous art, Ramle disclose selecting, by a second core network device, a first core network device based on third information, wherein the third information indicates that a terminal device performs onboarding (See FIG. 3a, 4-5, and ¶[0060], [0181], []. Disclosed the S-AMF 106s determines a T-AMF 106t based on the target ID and Network Slice Selection Assistance information(NSSAI). If the determined T-AMF 106t is not the same as the S-AMF 106s, then S-AMF 106 determines that the S-AMF 106 s must be relocated.(the S_AMF performs AMF selection during handover preparation.)). wherein the second core network device serves the terminal device before the terminal device performs a handover (See FIG. 3a, 4-5, and ¶[0181], [0063]-[0065]. Disclosed S-AMF 106s which currently serves the UE 102 before handover), and the first core network device serves the terminal device after the terminal device performs the handover(See FIG. 3a, 4-5, and ¶[0181], [0063]-[0065]. Disclosed T-AMF 106t that should serve a UE 102 after the handover).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ramle to modify Kolekar teachings. Kolekar teaches that during handover of a onboarding UE, an onboarding-capable AMF must be selected and that the onboarding indication is stored in or transferred via UE context. And Ramle teaches that the S-AMF (second core network device) performs AMF selection during handover preparation and transfers UE context to the T-AMF via FRR. This combination ensure continuity of onboarding across N2 handover/AMF re-allocation.
With regarding Claim 10, Kolekar disclosed the method according to claim 9, wherein the third information comprises one or more of registration type information (See ¶[0097], [0273], [0101], [0104]. Disclosed that when AMF re-allocation occurs during handover for a UE registered for onboarding, and onboarding capable AMF must be selected, the S_AMF (second core network device) has access to the UE context containing the onboarding indication), data network name information (See ¶[0100]. Disclosed that DNN to be used for UE onboarding or a configured SMF for DNN and S-NSSAI used for onboarding), network slice information (See ¶[0100]. Disclosed that DNN to be used for UE onboarding or a configured SMF for DNN and S-NSSAI used for onboarding) or information about a first value, and the first value indicates a duration in which the terminal device has registered with a network, or the first value indicates a remaining duration in which the terminal device is allowed to register with the network (See ¶[0102]-[0105]. Disclosed Implementation specific timer tracking remaining registration duration for onboarding UEs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ramle to modify Kolekar teachings. Kolekar teaches SNPN onboarding registration type as an indication that the UE performs onboarding. And Ramle teaches UE context containing the onboarding indication when performing AMF selection. This combination ensure correct onboarding continuity across AMF re-allocation.
With regarding Claim 11, Kolekar disclosed the method according to claim 9, further comprising: obtaining, by the second core network device, the third information from a second access network device or the terminal device (See ¶[009]-[0098]. Disclosed the UE directly provides onboarding indication in its registration request. While this message typically traverses the RAN to reach the AMF. The S_AMF ultimately obtains this third information that originated from the terminal device during initial registration.), wherein the second access network device serves the terminal device before the terminal device performs the handover (See FIG. 17A- 17D, step 1, 3, and ¶[0095], [0101]-[0104]. Disclosed initial registration UE provides onboarding to S_RAN via RRC Connection establishment, S_RAN forwards this indication to S-AMF via N2 message containing registration request, S-AMF stores the onboarding indication in UE context.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ramle to modify Kolekar teachings. Kolekar teaches SNPN onboarding registration type as an indication that the UE performs onboarding. And Ramle teaches UE context containing the onboarding indication when performing AMF selection. This combination ensure correct onboarding continuity across AMF re-allocation.
With regarding Claim 12, Kolekar disclosed the method according to claim 9, wherein the first information comprises one or more of the following: data network name information (See FIG. 17A-17D and ¶[0100], [0104]. Disclosed that DNN to be used for UE onboarding or a configured SMF for DNN and S-NSSAI used for onboarding), network slice information (See FIG. 17A-17D and [0100], [0104]. Disclosed that DNN to be used for UE onboarding or a configured SMF for DNN and S-NSSAI used for onboarding) or information about a first value, and the first value indicates a duration in which the terminal device has registered with, a network, or the first value indicates a remaining duration in which the terminal device is allowed to register with the network(See ¶[0102]-[0105]. Disclosed Implementation specific timer tracking remaining registration duration for onboarding UEs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ramle to modify Kolekar teachings. Kolekar teaches SNPN onboarding registration type as an indication that the UE performs onboarding. And Ramle teaches UE context containing the onboarding indication when performing AMF selection. This combination ensure correct onboarding continuity across AMF re-allocation.
With regarding Claim 13, Kolekar disclosed the method according to claim 9, wherein one or more of the first core network device or the second core network device is an access and mobility management function device (See FIG. 17A- 17D, and ¶[0101]-[0105], [0104]. Disclosed that identifies the post-handover serving entity as an AMF, confirms this AMF supports onboarding functionality.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ramle to modify Kolekar teachings. Kolekar teaches AMF re-allocation during handover of a onboarding UEs. And Ramle Teaches S-SMF and T-AMF roles in handover procedures¶[0181]. This combination ensure correct onboarding continuity across AMF re-allocation.
With regarding Claim 17, Kolekar disclosed a communication device, comprising: a processor; and a memory having instructions stored thereon that, when executed by the processor, causes the communication device to: select a first core network device based on third information, wherein the third information indicates that a terminal device performs onboarding See ¶[0095], [0101-[0104]. Disclosed that an onboarding indication exists and the during AMF re-allocation in N2 handover a new AMF supporting onboarding should be selected.), and the first core network device supports an onboarding function (See ¶[0100]. [0104]. Disclosed the new AMF/T-AMF supporting onboarding functionality.), wherein the communication device is a second core network device that serves the terminal device before the terminal device performs a handover, and the first core network device is a core network device that serves the terminal device after the terminal device performs the handover (See FIG. 3a, 4-5, and ¶[0181], [0063]-[0065]. Disclosed T-AMF 106t that should serve a UE 102 after the handover).; and send first information to the first core network device, wherein the first information indicates that the terminal device performs onboarding, so that the first core network device performs onboarding on the terminal device based on the first information (See FIG. 17A- 17D, step 5, and ¶[0101], [0104]. Disclosed The new AMF stores in the UE context in AMF an indication that the UE is registered for SNPN onboarding, if the new AMF receives in UE context the indication that the UE is registered for SNPN onboarding.). Kolekar may not explicitly disclose select a first core network device based on third information, wherein the third information indicates that a terminal device performs onboarding, wherein the communication device is a second core network device that serves the terminal device before the terminal device performs a handover, and the first core network device is a core network device that serves the terminal device after the terminal device performs the handover; and send first information to the first core network device, wherein the first information indicates that the terminal device performs onboarding, so that the first core network device performs onboarding on the terminal device based on the first information. However, in analogous art, Ramle disclose select a first core network device based on third information, wherein the third information indicates that a terminal device performs onboarding (See FIG. 3a, 4-5, 8 and ¶[0060], [0181], [212]. Disclosed the S-AMF 106s determines a T-AMF 106t based on the target ID and Network Slice Selection Assistance information(NSSAI). If the determined T-AMF 106t is not the same as the S-AMF 106s, then S-AMF 106 determines that the S-AMF 106 s must be relocated.(the S_AMF performs AMF selection during handover preparation.))., wherein the communication device is a second core network device that serves the terminal device before the terminal device performs a handover (See FIG. 3a, 4-5, and ¶[0181], [0063]-[0065]. Disclosed S-AMF 106s which currently serves the UE 102 before handover), and the first core network device is a core network device that serves the terminal device after the terminal device performs the handover (See FIG. 3a, 4-5, and ¶[0181], [0063]-[0065]. Disclosed T-AMF 106t that should serve a UE 102 after the handover); and send first information to the first core network device, wherein the first information indicates that the terminal device performs onboarding, so that the first core network device performs onboarding on the terminal device based on the first information (See ¶[0063]-[0067], Disclosed S-AMF 106s sends, to the selected T-AMF 106t a FRR message that includes UE related MM information.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ramle to modify Kolekar teachings. Kolekar teaches that during handover of a onboarding UE, an onboarding-capable AMF must be selected and that the onboarding indication is stored in or transferred via UE context. And Ramle teaches that the S-AMF (second core network device) performs AMF selection during handover preparation and transfers UE context to the T-AMF via FRR. This combination ensure continuity of onboarding across N2 handover/AMF re-allocation.
With regarding Claim 18, Kolekar disclosed the communication device of claim 17, wherein the third information comprises one or more of registration type information (See ¶[0097], [0273], [0101], [0104]. Disclosed that when AMF re-allocation occurs during handover for a UE registered for onboarding, and onboarding capable AMF must be selected, the S_AMF (second core network device) has access to the UE context containing the onboarding indication), (See ¶[0100]. Disclosed that DNN to be used for UE onboarding or a configured SMF for DNN and S-NSSAI used for onboarding), network slice information (See ¶[0100]. Disclosed that DNN to be used for UE onboarding or a configured SMF for DNN and S-NSSAI used for onboarding), or information about a first value, and the first value indicates a duration in which the terminal device has registered with a network, or the first value indicates a remaining duration in which the terminal device is allowed to register with the network(See ¶[0102]-[0105]. Disclosed Implementation specific timer tracking remaining registration duration for onboarding UEs.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ramle to modify Kolekar teachings. Kolekar teaches SNPN onboarding registration type as an indication that the UE performs onboarding. And Ramle teaches UE context containing the onboarding indication when performing AMF selection. This combination ensure correct onboarding continuity across AMF re-allocation.
With regarding Claim 19, Kolekar disclosed the communication device of claim 17, wherein the communication device is further caused to: obtain the third information from a second access network device or the terminal device (See ¶[009]-[0098]. Disclosed the UE directly provides onboarding indication in its registration request. While this message typically traverses the RAN to reach the AMF. The S_AMF ultimately obtains this third information that originated from the terminal device during initial registration.), wherein the second access network device is an access network device serves the terminal device before the terminal device performs the handover(See FIG. 17A- 17D, step 1, 3, and ¶[0095], [0101]-[0104]. Disclosed initial registration UE provides onboarding to S_RAN via RRC Connection establishment, S_RAN forwards this indication to S-AMF via N2 message containing registration request, S-AMF stores the onboarding indication in UE context.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Ramle to modify Kolekar teachings. Kolekar teaches SNPN onboarding registration type as an indication that the UE performs onboarding. And Ramle teaches UE context containing the onboarding indication when performing AMF selection. This combination ensure correct onboarding continuity across AMF re-allocation.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
SHIVAKRISHNA . VALLAMDASU
Examiner
Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468