DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1,7,9,15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Lee et al.(US 2023/0194685).
Considering 1 Lee an apparatus comprising: an amplifier to receive a reflected signal representative of a light signal received by an optical detector in a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system(See Paragraph 29,30, fig. 1 i.e. an amplifier (350) which is a readout integrated circuit or circuitry (ROIC) (115) to receive a reflected signal representative of a light signal received by an optical detector(106) in a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system(100)); and a current injection circuit operably coupled to the optical detector and configured to inject an interference reduction current into the optical detector to reduce undesired signals within the reflected signal(See Paragraph 36,37, fig. 2 i.e. a current injection circuit which is a test current generator(212) operably coupled to the optical detector(202(1)…202(N)) and configured to inject an interference reduction current into the optical detector(202(1)…202(N)) to reduce(remove) undesired signals(unwanted signals) within the reflected signal).
Considering 7 Lee discloses the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the optical detector comprises an avalanche photodiode(See Paragraph 27,62, fig. 4 i.e. the optical detector(402(1)…402(N)) comprises an avalanche photodiode).
Claim 9 rejected for the same reason as in claim 1.
Claim 15 rejected for the same reason as in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2,3,5,8,10,11,13,16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al.(US 2023/0194685) in view of Quirk et al. (US 2024/0007061).
Considering Claim 2 Lee does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the current injection circuit is operably coupled to a cathode of the optical detector to inject the interference reduction current into the cathode of the optical detector, wherein the anode of the optical detector is operably coupled to the amplifier to transmit the reflected signal adjusted by the interference reduction current.
Quirk teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the current injection circuit is operably coupled to a cathode of the optical detector to inject the interference reduction current into the cathode of the optical detector, wherein the anode of the optical detector is operably coupled to the amplifier to transmit the reflected signal adjusted by the interference reduction current(Paragraph 36,39, fig. 2 i.e. the current injection circuit which is a current supply unit(206) is operably coupled to a cathode(204) of the optical detector(202) to inject the interference reduction current(noise filtering) into the cathode(204) of the optical detector(202), wherein the anode(208) of the optical detector(202) is operably coupled to the amplifier(210) to transmit the reflected signal adjusted by the interference reduction current).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Lee, and have the current injection circuit to be operably coupled to a cathode of the optical detector to inject the interference reduction current into the cathode of the optical detector, wherein the anode of the optical detector to be operably coupled to the amplifier to transmit the reflected signal adjusted by the interference reduction current, as taught by Quirk, thus improving transmission signal quality by reducing noise and reducing voltage drop using supply current, as discussed by Quirk (paragraph 6,34).
Considering Claim 3 Lee does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the current injection circuit comprises an AC coupled voltage waveform source to provide the interference reduction current.
Quirk teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the current injection circuit comprises an AC coupled voltage waveform source to provide the interference reduction current(Paragraph 36,50, fig. 2 i.e. the current injection circuit(206) comprises an AC coupled voltage waveform source(212) to provide the interference reduction current(reduce noise)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Lee, and have the current injection circuit to comprises an AC coupled voltage waveform source to provide the interference reduction current, as taught by Quirk, thus improving transmission signal quality by reducing noise using AC coupled voltage, as discussed by Quirk (paragraph 6,50).
Considering Claim 5 Lee does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the current injection circuit is operably coupled to an anode of the optical detector to inject the interference reduction current into the anode of the optical detector, wherein the anode of the optical detector is operably coupled to the amplifier to transmit the reflected signal adjusted by the interference reduction current.
Quirk teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the current injection circuit is operably coupled to an anode of the optical detector to inject the interference reduction current into the anode of the optical detector, wherein the anode of the optical detector is operably coupled to the amplifier to transmit the reflected signal adjusted by the interference reduction current(Paragraph 6,32,36,39, fig. 2 i.e. the current injection circuit which is a current supply unit(206) is operably coupled to an anode(208) of the optical detector(202) to inject the interference reduction current into the anode(208) of the optical detector(202), wherein the anode of the optical detector is operably coupled to the amplifier to transmit the reflected signal adjusted by the interference reduction current).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Lee, and have the current injection circuit to be operably coupled to an anode of the optical detector to inject the interference reduction current into the anode of the optical detector, wherein the anode of the optical detector to be operably coupled to the amplifier to transmit the reflected signal adjusted by the interference reduction current, as taught by Quirk, thus improving transmission signal quality by reducing noise and reducing voltage drop using supply current, as discussed by Quirk (paragraph 6,34).
Considering 8 Lee does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the amplifier is a transimpedance amplifier (TIA) that converts current pulses obtained from a photodetector to voltage pulses to be utilized to determine the distance to the object of interest(See Paragraph 40,33, fig. 2 i.e. wherein the amplifier(20d for the same reason as in claim 16,210) is a transimpedance amplifier (TIA) that converts current pulses obtained from a photodetector(202) to voltage pulses to be utilized to determine the distance to the object of interest).
Quirk teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the amplifier is a transimpedance amplifier (TIA) that converts current pulses obtained from a photodetector to voltage pulses to be utilized to determine the distance to the object of interest(See Paragraph 33,40, fig. 2 i.e. wherein the amplifier(206,210) is a transimpedance amplifier (TIA) that converts current pulses obtained from a photodetector(202) to voltage pulses to be utilized to determine the distance to the object of interest).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Lee, and have the amplifier to be a transimpedance amplifier (TIA) that converts current pulses obtained from a photodetector to voltage pulses to be utilized to determine the distance to the object of interest, as taught by Quirk, thus improving transmission signal quality by improving current response, minimize noise and impedance load, using transimpedance amplifiers, as discussed by Quirk (paragraph 40,41).
Claim 10 rejected for the same reason as in claim 2.
Claim 11 rejected for the same reason as in claim 3.
Claim 13 rejected for the same reason as in claim 5.
Claim 16 rejected for the same reason as in claim 8.
Claim 6,14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lee et al.(US 2023/0194685) in view of Prem et al.(5,630,836).
Considering 6 Lee does not explicitly disclose the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the interference reduction current is less than or equal to about 20 microamperes.
Prem teaches the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the interference reduction current is less than or equal to about 20 microamperes(See Col. 2 lines 50-58, claim 8, fig. 1 i.e. wherein the interference reduction current is less than or equal to about 20 microamperes(about zero amperes)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Lee, and have the apparatus of claim 1, wherein the interference reduction current is less than or equal to about 20 microamperes, as taught by Prem, thus improving transmission signal quality by reducing interference using a voltage regulator, as discussed by Prem (Col. 2 lines 53-57).
Claim 14 rejected for the same reason as in claim 6.
Claims 17, 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gaaleman et al.(US 2019/0079167) in view of Lieber et al.(US 5,220,164).
Considering Claim 17 Gaaleman discloses an apparatus comprising: an amplifier to receive a reflected signal representative of a light signal received by an optical detector in a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system(See Paragraph 29, 120,122, fig. 11 i.e. an amplifier(510,512 of fig. 11) to receive a reflected signal(135 of fig. 1 or 11) representative of a light signal received by an optical detector(502 of fig. 11) in a light detection and ranging (LiDAR) system(157 of fig. 1)); and an active threshold adjustment circuit operably coupled to the amplifier and configured to: provide an adjustable detection threshold used to detect an object of interest(See Paragraph 130-132, fig. 11,12 i.e. and an active threshold adjustment circuit which is a controller(150 of fig. 12) operably coupled to the amplifier(512) and configured to: provide an adjustable detection threshold via link(602)(G1 low-gain) used to detect an object of interest(light pulse scattered by a remote target)); and increase the adjustable detection threshold (See Paragraph 132-134, fig. 12 i.e. increase the adjustable detection threshold((high-gain G2) via link (602)).
Lieber teaches increase the adjustable detection threshold to reduce undesired signals within the reflected signal(See Col. 4 lines 61-67, fig. 1 i.e. increase the adjustable detection threshold(gain) to reduce undesired signals(decrease noise) within the reflected signal(received signal)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the invention of Gaaleman, and have the adjustable detection threshold to be increased to reduce undesired signals within the reflected signal, as taught by Liber, thus improving transmission signal quality by improving range sensitivity and minimizing noise by increasing gain, as discussed by Lieber(Col. 4 lines 61-63).
Considering claim 18 Gaaleman and Liber disclose the apparatus of claim 17, wherein the apparatus further comprises a comparator operably coupled to the amplifier to receive an output of the amplifier and operably coupled to active threshold adjustment circuit to receive the adjustable detection threshold(See Gaaleman: Paragraph 123,132,133, fig. 11,12 i.e. wherein the apparatus further comprises a comparator(514) operably coupled to the amplifier(510,512 of fig. 11) to receive an output of the amplifier(510,512 of fig. 11) and operably coupled to active threshold adjustment circuit(150 of fig. 12) to receive the adjustable detection threshold), wherein the comparator generates an edge signal indicative of the object of interest in response to the received output being greater than or equal to the adjustable detection threshold(See Gaaleman: Paragraph 123, fig. 11,12 i.e. wherein the comparator(514) generates an edge signal indicative of the object of interest in response to the received output being greater than or equal to the adjustable detection threshold).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4,12,19,20 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/HIBRET A WOLDEKIDAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2635