Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5-6, 9-10, 14, 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (US011233920Bl, hereinafter “Wang”).
Regarding claim 1, Wang teaches receiving an input specifying an update to a dimension of the digital image (read in Column 4, Line 15-29).
Wang further teaches segmenting, by the processing device using a machine learning model, a foreground object from a background in the digital image (read in Figure 4 below).
See also (Column 10, Line 58-67) for using a machine learning model to accomplish this segmentation.
Wang further teaches generating a re-dimensioned background by changing the background based on the update to the dimension specified by the input (read in Figure 5).
Wang further teaches generating a re-dimensioned digital image by positioning the foreground object over the re-dimensioned background (read in Column 22, Line 36-44).
Wang further teaches displaying, by the processing device, the re-dimensioned digital image in a user interface (met by displaying the document with the modified document layout). This is read in (Column 8, Line 45).
Regarding claim 5, Wang further teaches tagging and assigning a bounding box to the foreground object using the machine learning model (met by the layout-modification application generates a bounding region surrounding the document element). This is read in (Column 9, Lines 25-27).
Regarding claim 6, Wang further teaches re-sizing the foreground object based on dimensions of the re-dimensioned background (met by transformation rules include resizing or repositioning operations that are applied to transform the document element). This is read in (Column 4, Line 62-67).
Regarding claim 9, Wang further teaches wherein the foreground object is a logo or text depicted in the digital image (met by foreground element that depicts a brand logo). This is read in (Column 4, Line 4-6).
Regarding independent claim 10, the claim is substantially identical to claim 1 except for different statutory category, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is substantially identical to claim 6 except for different statutory category, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 17, the claim is substantially identical to claim 1 except for different statutory category, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Regarding claim 18, the claim is substantially identical to claim 6 except for different statutory category , the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wang in view of Feng et al. (US20240311960A1, hereinafter “Feng”).
Regarding claim 2, Wang fails to teach filling in an extended portion of the re-dimensioned background in the re-dimensioned digital image using the machine learning model. However, Feng amends this deficiency.
Feng teaches a machine learning based method of re-dimensioning an image by generating image data to extend the aspect ratio of the image. See (Figure 9).
Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Wang to incorporate the teachings of Feng in order to provide adjustment an aspect ratio of an image to match the aspect ratio of a display area for presenting the image (Abstract).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is substantially identical to claim 2 except for different statutory category, the analysis of which is incorporated herein.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-4, 7-8, 12-13, 15-16, 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact
/MATTHEW JAMES BODNARK/ Examiner, Art Unit 2668
/VU LE/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2668