DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to claims filed on 05 January 2024 and Information Disclosure Statements filed on 23 April 2025.
Claims 1-20 are pending for examination.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 5, 8-9, 15-16, 19, 22-23, and 27-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Taherzadeh (WO 2022212839 A1, previously made of record).
With regarding claim 1, Taherzadeh disclosed an apparatus for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: one or more memories (See FIG. 7, 11, and ¶[0006]); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the UE to (See FIG. 7, 11, and ¶[0006]): receive a control message that indicates one or more aggregation factor values (See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005]-[0006], [0028], [0053],[0210], [0218], [0226]. Disclosed UE may receive control signaling which configures a first repetition factor associated with a feedback message, and UE may configured with a repetition factor, and UE may transmit the uplink control message in accordance with the repetition factor); receive information indicative of a parameter associated with a directional communication between the UE and a network entity, the parameter corresponding to an aggregation factor value of the one or more aggregation factor values (See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005]-[0006], [0053], [0143], [0210], [0218], [0226], [0258], [0261]. Disclosed aggregation factor as repetition, UE how many repetitions to apply for the relevant transmissions, and a bit field indicating a value. Receiving information indicative of a beam/TCI parameter that defines the directional communication between UE and Network/gNB); and communicate with the network entity in accordance with the aggregation factor value based at least in part on the parameter associated with the directional communication (See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005], [0108], [0210], [0218], [0226]. Disclosed that aggregation factor usage is based on the directional parameter.). With regarding claim 2, Taherzadeh disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, the one or more processors further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the control message, one or more identifiers associated with the one or more aggregation factor values (See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0009]-[0010], [0143]-[0146], [0185], [0226]. Disclosed that receiving the control signaling including a bit field indicating the first repetition factor), each identifier of the one or more identifiers associated with a respective aggregation factor value of the one or more aggregation factor values (See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005], [0146], [0126]. Disclosed receiving the control signaling including a physical uplink control channel resource indicator field indicating the first repetition factor), and the parameter associated with a transmission configuration indication state identifier that corresponds to an identifier of the one or more identifiers (See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0034], [0245], [0249], [0185]. Disclosed receiving, in accordance with second repetition factor the control message based at least in part on both the feedback message being associated with a same transmission configuration indicator state.). With regarding claim 5, Taherzadeh disclosed the apparatus of claim 2, the one or more processors further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the control message, an indication of a default aggregation factor value, the one or more aggregation factor values comprising the default aggregation factor value, and the default aggregation factor value corresponding to one or more second transmission configuration indication state identifiers that are not associated with any of the one or more identifiers(See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005]-[0006], [0053], [0116], [0143], [0210], [0218], [0226], [0258], [0261]. Disclosed aggregation factor as repetition, UE how many repetitions to apply for the relevant transmissions, and a bit field indicating a value. Receiving information indicative of a beam/TCI parameter that defines the directional communication between UE and Network/gNB. And second PDSCH transmission, and the DCI signaling scheduling the second PDSCH transmission may not include an indication for PUCCH repetition.). With regarding claim 8, Taherzadeh disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, the one or more processors further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the control message, a transmission configuration indication state element(See FIG. ¶[0103], [0015].Disclosed the establishes receiving TCI state information via control messages), wherein the transmission configuration indication state element does not include a field that indicates the aggregation factor value (See ¶[0009]. [0116]-[0119], [0142]. Disclosed a second PDSCH transmission and DCI signaling scheduling the second PDSCH transmission may not include an indication for PUCCH repetition.), the parameter associated with a transmission configuration indication state provided by the transmission configuration indication state element (See ¶[0015], [0108]. Disclosed parameter association with TCI states.), and the aggregation factor value corresponding to a default aggregation factor value based at least in part on the transmission configuration indication state element that does not include the field (See ¶[0116]-[0119], [0213]. Disclosed the fallback when DCI lacks TCI state fields.). With regarding claim 9, Taherzadeh disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, the one or more processors further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the control message, an indication of an activation of one or more transmission configuration indication states (See ¶[0213], [0125], [0147]. Disclosed receiving control messages DCI that indicates or activate specific TCI states for communications.), the parameter associated with a transmission configuration indication state of the one or more transmission configuration indication states (See ¶[0015], [0034], [0103], [0108]. Disclosed control messages are transmitted in accordance with repetition factors based on association with TCI states.). With regarding claim 15, Taherzadeh disclosed an apparatus for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: one or more memories (See FIG. 7, 11, and ¶[0006]); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories and configured to cause the network entity to (See FIG. 7, 11, and ¶[0006]): output a control message that indicates one or more aggregation factor values(See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005]-[0006], [0028], [0053],[0210], [0218], [0226]. Disclosed UE may receive control signaling which configures a first repetition factor associated with a feedback message, and UE may configured with a repetition factor, and UE may transmit the uplink control message in accordance with the repetition factor); output information indicative of a parameter associated with a directional communication between a user equipment (UE) and the network entity, the parameter corresponding to an aggregation factor value of the one or more aggregation factor values (See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005]-[0006], [0053], [0143], [0210], [0218], [0226], [0258], [0261]. Disclosed aggregation factor as repetition, UE how many repetitions to apply for the relevant transmissions, and a bit field indicating a value. Receiving information indicative of a beam/TCI parameter that defines the directional communication between UE and Network/gNB); and communicate with the UE in accordance with the aggregation factor value based at least in part on the parameter associated with the directional communication (See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005], [0108], [0210], [0218], [0226]. Disclosed that aggregation factor usage is based on the directional parameter.). With regarding Claim 16, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 16 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 2, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 19, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 19 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 5, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 22, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 22 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 8, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 23, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 23 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 9, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding claim 27, Taherzadeh disclosed a method for wireless communication at a user equipment (UE), comprising: receiving a control message that indicates one or more aggregation factor values (See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005]-[0006], [0028], [0053],[0210], [0218], [0226]. Disclosed UE may receive control signaling which configures a first repetition factor associated with a feedback message, and UE may configured with a repetition factor, and UE may transmit the uplink control message in accordance with the repetition factor); receiving information indicative of a parameter associated with a directional communication between the UE and a network entity, the parameter corresponding to an aggregation factor value of the one or more aggregation factor values (See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005]-[0006], [0053], [0143], [0210], [0218], [0226], [0258], [0261]. Disclosed aggregation factor as repetition, UE how many repetitions to apply for the relevant transmissions, and a bit field indicating a value. Receiving information indicative of a beam/TCI parameter that defines the directional communication between UE and Network/gNB); and communicating with the network entity in accordance with the aggregation factor value based at least in part on the parameter associated with the directional communication (See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005], [0108], [0210], [0218], [0226]. Disclosed that aggregation factor usage is based on the directional parameter.). With regarding Claim 28, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 28 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 2, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding claim 29, Taherzadeh disclosed a method for wireless communication at a network entity, comprising: outputting a control message that indicates one or more aggregation factor values(See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005]-[0006], [0028], [0053],[0210], [0218], [0226]. Disclosed UE may receive control signaling which configures a first repetition factor associated with a feedback message, and UE may configured with a repetition factor, and UE may transmit the uplink control message in accordance with the repetition factor); outputting information indicative of a parameter associated with a directional communication between a user equipment (UE) and the network entity, the parameter corresponding to an aggregation factor value of the one or more aggregation factor values(See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005]-[0006], [0053], [0143], [0210], [0218], [0226], [0258], [0261]. Disclosed aggregation factor as repetition, UE how many repetitions to apply for the relevant transmissions, and a bit field indicating a value. Receiving information indicative of a beam/TCI parameter that defines the directional communication between UE and Network/gNB); and communicating with the UE in accordance with the aggregation factor value based at least in part on the parameter associated with the directional communication (See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0005], [0108], [0210], [0218], [0226]. Disclosed that aggregation factor usage is based on the directional parameter.). With regarding Claim 30, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 30 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 2, and is rejected under the same reasoning. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 3, 6-7, 10, 17, 20-21, 24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taherzadeh (WO 2022212839 A1) in view of Takeda et al (US 20210184819 A1, previously made of record, hereinafter Takeda). With regarding claim 3, Taherzadeh disclosed the apparatus of claim 2, Taherzadeh may not explicitly disclose each identifier of the one or more identifiers corresponding to a respective transmission configuration indication state identifier of a plurality of transmission configuration indication state identifiers. However, in analogous art, Takeda disclosed each identifier of the one or more identifiers corresponding to a respective transmission configuration indication state identifier of a plurality of transmission configuration indication state identifiers (See FIG. 9 2A,-2B, and ¶[0174], [0114], [0117], [0139], [0056]. Disclosed multiple Identifiers (TCI indices) associated with repetitions and each identifier corresponding to exactly one TCI state identifier in an one-to-one mapping and a plurality of available TCI state identifiers configured to the UE.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takeda to modify Taherzadeh teachings. Taherzadeh teaches dynamically applying repetition factors based on beam/TCI associations, and efficiently managing directional communication with appropriate repetition levels without excessive control signaling overhead. And Takeda teaches provides the specific identifier structure needed to signal these configurations efficiently. This combination improvements in signaling efficiency by using the identifier structure to signal the TCI state repetitions with Taherzadeh. With regarding claim 6, Taherzadeh disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, the one or more processors further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the control message, a transmission configuration indication state element (See ¶[0103], [0015], [0034]. Disclosed receiving, in accordance with the second repetition factor, the control message based at least in part on both the feedback message and the control message being associated with a same transmission configuration indicator state.), the transmission configuration indication state element comprising a field that indicates the aggregation factor value, the parameter associated with a transmission configuration indication state provided by the transmission configuration indication state element (See ¶[0009]-[0010], [0015], [0053], [0108], [0249]. Disclosed transmitting, in accordance with the second repetition factor, the control message based on both the feedback message and the control message being associated with a same TCI state.). Taherzadeh may not explicitly disclose the transmission configuration indication state element. However, in analogous art, Takeda disclosed the transmission configuration indication state element(See ¶[0142]-[0144]. Disclosed the parameter may be associated with TCI state provided by a TCI state element of a set of multiple of a TCI state elements). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takeda to modify Taherzadeh teachings. Taherzadeh teaches the foundation of associating repetition factors with TCI states for directional beam communications. And Takeda teaches the mechanism of embedding aggregation factor information directly with TCI state elements. This combination results of a more efficient signaling mechanism where both direction information via TCI and repetition requirements are provided with same control element. With regarding claim 7, Taherzadeh disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, further comprising: an antenna array, the one or more processors further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the antenna array and the control message, a plurality of transmission configuration indication state elements, each transmission configuration indication state element of the plurality of transmission configuration indication state elements comprising a field that indicates a respective aggregation factor value, the parameter associated with a transmission configuration indication state provided by a transmission configuration indication state element of the plurality of transmission configuration indication state elements identifiers (See FIG. 6, 12, and ¶[0015], [0034], [0103], [0245], [0249], [0185]. Disclosed transmitting, in accordance with the second repetition factor, the control message based on both the feedback message and control message being associated with a same TCI state. Taherzadeh may not explicitly disclose further comprising: an antenna array, the one or more processors further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the antenna array and the control message, a plurality of transmission configuration indication state elements, each transmission configuration indication state element of the plurality of transmission configuration indication state elements comprising a field that indicates a respective aggregation factor value, However, in analogous art, Takeda disclosed further comprising: an antenna array, the one or more processors further configured to cause the UE to (See FIG. 2A-2B and ¶[0050], [0275]. Disclosed the processor configuration.): receive, via the antenna array and the control message, a plurality of transmission configuration indication state elements (See FIG. 9 and ¶[0173]-[0174], [0142]. Disclosed receiving multiple TCI state elements via control messages, with the hardware configuration including antennas to receive these messages.), each transmission configuration indication state element of the plurality of transmission configuration indication state elements comprising a field that indicates a respective aggregation factor value (See ¶[0142]. Disclosed stating that each TCI state element in a set can include a field indicating its respective aggregation factor value), Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takeda to modify Taherzadeh teachings. Taherzadeh teaches mechanism between communication parameters and specific TCI states, and Takeda teaches antenna array and signaling for multiple TCI state elements with embedded aggregation factor fields. This combination yield the result of a UE that can efficiently receive and process multiple beam options with their corresponding repetition requirements through a single control mechanism. With regarding claim 10, Taherzadeh disclosed the apparatus of claim 9, Taherzadeh may not explicitly disclose the control message comprising an activation medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE). However, in analogous art, Takeda disclosed the control message comprising an activation medium access control (MAC)-control element (MAC-CE) (See ¶[0074], [0098]-[0100]. Disclosed using MAC layer control mechanisms (including MAC-CE) for activating communication states). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Takeda to modify Taherzadeh teachings. Taherzadeh teaches ¶[0103], [0015], [0125] teaches that beam activation is functionally equivalent to TCI state activation in the system. And Takeda teaches beam state activation procedures and the UE may receive, via a medium access control layer, control information for activating one or more communication states. This combination result of reduced signaling overhead for TCI state activation while maintaining the beam-TCI state relationship critical to directional communications. With regarding Claim 17, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 17 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 3, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 20, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 20 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 6, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 21, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 21 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 7, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 24, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 24 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 10, and is rejected under the same reasoning.11. Claims 4, 11-14, 18, 25-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Taherzadeh (WO 2022212839 A1) in view of Vilaipornsawai et al (US 20200106559 A1, previously made of record, hereinafter Vilaipornsawai). With regarding claim 4, 11, Taherzadeh disclosed the apparatus of claim 2, Taherzadeh may not explicitly disclose each identifier of the one or more identifiers corresponding to a respective set of transmission configuration indication state identifiers of a plurality of transmission configuration indication state identifiers that includes the transmission configuration indication state identifier. However, in analogous art, Vilaipornsawai disclosed each identifier of the one or more identifiers corresponding to a respective set of transmission configuration indication state identifiers of a plurality of transmission configuration indication state identifiers that includes the transmission configuration indication state identifier (See FIG. 8 and ¶[0086], [0215], [0154]-[0157]. Disclosed that identifiers can correspond to sets of TCI state identifiers. And this establishes that multiple TCI state identifiers exist in the system as a whole.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vilaipornsawai to modify Taherzadeh teachings. Taherzadeh teaches (¶[0108], [0126], [0015]) that a specific TCI state can be consistently used as a reference point across multiple transmissions, providing the foundation for ensuring that this reference TCI state is included in sets of TCI states. Vilaipornsawai teaches grouping TCI states. This combination improve reliability with beam management and repetitions schemes. With regarding claim 11, Taherzadeh disclosed the apparatus of claim 1, the one or more processors further configured to cause the UE to (See FIG. 11 and ¶[0062]-[0063], [0068]. Disclosed the architecture and components of devices capable of executing methods for wireless communication.): receive, via the control message, one or more identifiers associated with the one or more aggregation factor values (See FIG. 6, 11-12, and ¶[0005]-[0006], [0009]-[0010], [0053], [0062], [0116], [0143], [0210], [0218], [0226], [0258], [0261]. Disclosed aggregation factor as repetition, UE how many repetitions to apply for the relevant transmissions, and a bit field indicating a value. Receiving information indicative of a beam/TCI parameter that defines the directional communication between UE and Network/gNB. And second PDSCH transmission, and the DCI signaling scheduling the second PDSCH transmission may not include an indication for PUCCH repetition.), each identifier of the one or more identifiers associated with a respective aggregation factor value of the one or more aggregation factor values (See FIG. 6, and ¶[0137]. Disclosed specific values in control signaling fields (identifiers) correspond to specific repetition factors.), and Taherzadeh may not explicitly disclose the parameter associated with a sounding reference signal resource indicator that corresponds to an identifier of the one or more identifiers. However, in analogous art, Vilaipornsawai disclosed the parameter associated with a sounding reference signal resource indicator that corresponds to an identifier of the one or more identifiers (See ¶[0052], [0063], [0086]-[0088]. Disclosed identifiers tied to repetition numbers and about parameters associated with SRI.). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vilaipornsawai to modify Taherzadeh teachings. Taherzadeh teaches receives control message with identifiers corresponding to repetition factors. And Vilaipornsawai disclosed identifiers for repetition factors. This combination ensure association between SRI parameters and aggregation factor identifiers. With regarding claim 12, Taherzadeh disclosed the apparatus of claim 11, Taherzadeh may not explicitly disclose each identifier of the one or more identifiers corresponding to a respective sounding reference signal resource indicator identifier of a plurality of sounding reference signal resource indicator identifiers. However, in analogous art, Vilaipornsawai each identifier of the one or more identifiers corresponding to a respective sounding reference signal resource indicator identifier of a plurality of sounding reference signal resource indicator identifiers (See [0215], [0181], [0356]. SRI can be used as spatial information for diversity, that these SRI identifiers are selected from a plurality of SRI identifiers). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vilaipornsawai to modify Taherzadeh teachings. Taherzadeh teaches using identifiers in control signaling to indicate repetition factors. Vilaipornsawai teaches that SRI can be used as spatial information for diversity. With regarding claim 13, Taherzadeh disclosed the apparatus of claim 11, Taherzadeh may not explicitly disclose each identifier of the one or more identifiers corresponding to a respective sounding reference signal resource indicator power control identifier of a plurality of sounding reference signal resource indicator power control identifiers However, in analogous art, Vilaipornsawai each identifier of the one or more identifiers corresponding to a respective sounding reference signal resource indicator power control identifier of a plurality of sounding reference signal resource indicator power control identifiers (See [0215], [0150]-[0154], [0181], [0200], [0356]. SRI can be used as spatial information for diversity, that these SRI identifiers are selected from a plurality of SRI identifiers, multiple spatial resources can be grouped and selected via control signaling). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vilaipornsawai to modify Taherzadeh teachings. Taherzadeh teaches using identifiers in control signaling to indicate repetition factors. And Vilaipornsawai teaches spatial hopping information can include TCI state or precoder or SRS resource indicator (SRI) configurations for multiple spatial information which can be configured by RRC and selected by DCI. This combination using identifiers to indicate repetition factors and beam associations, specially using SRI identifiers as a spatial information for repetition configuration. With regarding claim 14, Taherzadeh disclosed the apparatus of claim 11, the one or more processors further configured to cause the UE to: receive, via the control message, an indication of a default aggregation factor value, the one or more aggregation factor values comprising the default aggregation factor value (See FIG. 6, 11-12, and ¶[0005]-[0006], [0009]-[0010], [0053], [0062], [0116], [0143], [0210], [0218], [0226], [0258], [0261]. Disclosed aggregation factor as repetition, UE how many repetitions to apply for the relevant transmissions, and a bit field indicating a value. Receiving information indicative of a beam/TCI parameter that defines the directional communication between UE and Network/gNB. And second PDSCH transmission, and the DCI signaling scheduling the second PDSCH transmission may not include an indication for PUCCH repetition.), and the default aggregation factor value corresponding to one or more sounding reference signal resource indicators that are not associated with any of the one or more identifiers. Taherzadeh may not explicitly disclose the default aggregation factor value corresponding to one or more sounding reference signal resource indicators that are not associated with any of the one or more identifiers. However, in analogous art, Vilaipornsawai the default aggregation factor value corresponding to one or more sounding reference signal resource indicators that are not associated with any of the one or more identifiers (See ¶[0194]-[0197]. Disclosed a fallback mode can be configured where a given mode has been specified, this relates to fallback modes for transmission modes rather than default aggregation factor values for unassociated SRIs). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Vilaipornsawai to modify Taherzadeh teachings. Taherzadeh teaches dynamically indicating and applying repetition factors for beams, and Vilaipornsawai repetition modes in combinations of time, frequency, and space domain. Use of SRI for Spatial diversity. This combination ensure identifiers associated with repetition factors via control signaling. With regarding Claim 18, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 18 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 4, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 25, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 25 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 11, and is rejected under the same reasoning. With regarding Claim 26, through of a different scope, the limitations of claim 26 are substantially similar or identical to those of claim 12, and is rejected under the same reasoning.
Conclusion
The IDS filed 04/23/2025 has been considered. One or more references submitted via the IDS are relied upon in the rejections set forth below. WO 2022212839 A1, US 20200106559 A1, and US 20200106559 A1.
/SHIVAKRISHNA VALLAMDASU/Examiner, Art Unit 2468
/MARCUS SMITH/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2468