Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-6 in the reply filed on 9/22/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 7-12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected process, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 9/22/2026.
Information Disclosure Statement
The listing of references in the specification is not a proper information disclosure statement. 37 CFR 1.98(b) requires a list of all patents, publications, or other information submitted for consideration by the Office, and MPEP § 609.04(a) states, "the list may not be incorporated into the specification but must be submitted in a separate paper." Therefore, unless the references have been cited by the examiner on form PTO-892, they have not been considered.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because Figures 5a and 5b are not legible. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. See page 12, line 15. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: the application contains Figures 2A and 2B, but the brief description of drawings only refers to Figure 2. The application contains Figures 3A, 3B, 3C, and 3D, but the brief description of drawings only refers to Figure 3. The application contains Figures 4A and 4B, but the brief description of drawings only refers to Figure 4. The application contains Figures 5A and 5B, but the brief description of drawings only refers to Figure 5. A brief description of each figure is required. See MPEP 608.01(f).
Appropriate correction is required.
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: The brief description of drawings for Figure 4 indicates the presence of a “diagram to illustrate a method”, but a diagram illustrating a method is not illustrated.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “DNA type analysis”. The addition of the word "type" to an otherwise definite expression (e.g., Friedel-Crafts catalyst) extends the scope of the expression so as to render it indefinite. Ex parte Copenhaver, 109 USPQ 118 (Bd. Pat. App. & Inter. 1955). See MPEP 2173.05(b)(III)(E).
Claim 1 refers to an adhesive comprising a polyurethane aqueous dispersion as a “main ingredient”. It is unclear what does or does not constitute a “main ingredient”. It could, for instance, refer to greater than 50 wt%, the component present in the majority, or an active ingredient. Thus, the intended scope of the claim is unclear.
As claims 1-6 depend from claim 1, they are rejected for the same issue discussed above.
Claim 3 indicates the aqueous polyurethane dispersion “comprises” polyol, ionic group, isocyanate, and chain extender, but the specification appears to indicate such materials are reactants that participate in a chemical reaction to form the polyurethane. This is further compounded that an aqueous dispersion clearly requires a water continuous phase, but it appears the recited percentages do not encompass materials such as water or surfactants necessary to create a dispersion. The discrepancy between the specification and claims renders the intended scope of the claim unclear. It is also unclear what the recited weight percentages are with respect to (e.g. polyurethane solids, the entire aqueous dispersion).
As claims 4-6 depend from claim 3, they are rejected for the same issue discussed above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 3-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shen (WO 2021/262845 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, Shen describes polyurethane dispersions used as adhesives (Abstract; ¶ 367-374, 393-397; Examples). The recitation “for collecting a human body-derived sample from a porous surface of an adherent for DNA type analysis” refers to an intended use of the adhesive. Case law holds that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02, In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). As there is no perceived difference in structure between the aqueous polyurethane dispersions of Shen and what is indicated within the claims, said adhesives are seen to be capable of performing the intended use in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding Claims 3 and 4, Shen teaches examples where polyurethane dispersion is derived from roughly 68.9 wt% polyol that is a mixture of polytetramethylene glycol and polycarbonate diol, 2.8 wt% of DMPA (ionic group), 23.7 wt% of IDPI (isocyanate), and 2.3 wt% EDA (chain extender) relative to total quantity of polyurethane solids forming ingredients (PUD 2 of Table 5; ¶ 422-427). A 1:1 weight ratio is used between PTMEG and polycarbonate whereby both materials are diols having a molecular weight of roughly 2,000 (¶ 424, Table 5), equivalent to a 1:1 molar ratio.
Regarding Claim 5, Shen teaches the polyurethane dispersion is created via adding and mixing the polyol, the ionic group, and a catalyst to produce a mixed solution, drying and then adding the isocyanate to the mixed solution to prepare a pre-polymer; adding a neutralizing agent (TEA) to the pre-polymer for water dispersion; and adding water thereto to produce an aqueous dispersion and adding chain extender thereto to extend a chain, thereby preparing the polyurethane aqueous dispersion. Since the polyol/ionic group/catalyst mixture is dried, it is implied solvent is mixed therein.
Thus, Shen suggests the claimed method. In the alternative, Case law holds that even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process. See In re Thorpe, 777 F.2d 695, 698, 227 USPQ 964, 966 (Fed. Cir. 1985). In the present case, the claimed dispersions are seen to meet the claims even if produced by alternative means.
Regarding Claim 6, Shen teaches 49.7 pbw IPDI (0.447 pbmol of NCO) is reacted with 72.2 pbw of polycarbonate diol with a molecular weight of 2,000 (0.072 pbmol OH), 72.2 pbw of polytetramethylene glycol with a molecular weight of 2,000 (0.072 pbmol OH), and 5.9 pbw of dimethylolpropionic acid (0.088 pbmol OH) (Table 5), suggesting a prepolymer NCO/OH ratio of roughly 1.9.
Claim(s) 1 and 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Zhang (Journal of Beijing University of Chemical Technology, 2011, 38(5), 81-85). As Zheng is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
Regarding Claim 1, Zhang describes aqueous polyurethane dispersions suitable for use as an adhesive (Abstract; Page 2). The recitation “for collecting a human body-derived sample from a porous surface of an adherent for DNA type analysis” refers to an intended use of the adhesive. Case law holds that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02, In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). As there is no perceived difference in structure between the aqueous polyurethane dispersions of Zhang and what is indicated within the claims, said adhesives are seen to be capable of performing the intended use in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding Claim 2, Zhang teaches the further addition of silane coupling agent to the adhesives (Abstract; Sections 1.2.2, 2.2 and 2.3). Concentrations of 1-2.5 wt% are described (Table 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (WO 2021/262845 A1) in view of Zhang (Journal of Beijing University of Chemical Technology, 2011, 38(5), 81-85). As Zheng is in a non-English language, a machine-translated version of the publication will be cited to.
Shen describes polyurethane dispersions used as adhesives (Abstract; ¶ 367-374, 393-397; Examples). The recitation “for collecting a human body-derived sample from a porous surface of an adherent for DNA type analysis” refers to an intended use of the adhesive. Case law holds that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. See MPEP 2111.02, In re Casey, 152 USPQ 235 (CCPA 1967) and In re Otto, 136 USPQ 458, 459 (CCPA 1963). As there is no perceived difference in structure between the aqueous polyurethane dispersions of Shen and what is indicated within the claims, said adhesives are seen to be capable of performing the intended use in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Regarding Claim 2, Shen teaches the adhesives can contain various additives (¶ 374, 397). Shen differs from the subject matter claimed in that silane adhesion promoters are not described. Silane adhesion promoters are well known within the art. Zhang teaches it was known silanes can be added to waterborne polyurethane dispersion adhesives in order to achieve enhanced adhesive strength (Abstract; Conclusions). Zhang indicates concentrations spanning 1.0-2.5 wt% are applicable (Table 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further incorporation 1.0-2.5 wt% of silane coupling agents into the adhesives of Shen, thereby affording enhanced adhesive strength in accordance with the teachings of Zhang.
Conclusion
/STEPHEN E RIETH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1759