DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/15/2024. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francesco et al. (US-20220321198-A1) hereinafter Francesco, in view of Kim et al. (US20210389783A1) hereinafter Kim.
Regarding Claim 1, Francesco discloses a communication system comprising: a drone; a panel that includes a reconfigurable intelligent surface configured to reflect a signal in a reflection direction (Francesco, Fig. 2, par. 7; a UAV equipped with an RIS); and flexures connecting the panel to the drone, wherein the flexures are configured to hold the panel in an orientation such that an incident signal is reflected in the reflection direction to a target location (Francesco, Fig. 6, par. 86; A RIS mounted on a UAV is considered, composed of N reflecting elements and reflecting the signal coming from the BS towards the target area).
Francesco does not explicitly teach the shape of the mount connecting the RIS panel to an UAV, however, Kim discloses a UAS attachment for manipulating payload which includes robotic arms with flexures that grips elements below the UAV and compensates movement for flight stabilization and battery consumption optimization (Kim, figs. 5A-5C; UAV 501, a parallel manipulator gripper (PMG) 502, and a payload 503) in an initial state)
Therefore, it would have been reasonable for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of Francesco and Kim to add a gripper to a UAS to hold the RIS and aim it to a desire position in order to enhance communication in the target area and improve control of the directionality of the RIS panel towards the target area.
Regarding Claim 2, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 1, wherein the flexures comprise a material configured to be manipulated to a position (Kim, par. 41; the apparatus may receive an instruction to maintain a position of the payload or adjust the position of the payload based on, for example, a determined external force (e.g., a torque) which may affect the momentum of the manipulator 130 and/or UAV 102) and to hold that position (Francesco, Fig. 2, par. 22; The present invention provide an efficient control solution that compensates unwanted oscillations of the UAV (in terms of orientation, tilt angle and position) while still steering the reflected signal towards specific areas).
Regarding Claim 3, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 1, further comprising a mechanism to connect each of the flexures to a body of the drone in a movable manner (Kim, Figs. 2 and 5A-C, par. 27; A controllable apparatus may be attached to a body of a UAV as a PMG for precise manipulation, gripping, and handling of a payload)
Regarding Claim 4, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 1, further comprising four flexures (Kim, Fig. 4, par. 3; UAVs often include robotic arms and/or manipulators), wherein each of the flexures connects to a different corner of the panel (Francesco, Fig. 2, par. 51; RIS mounted on the UAV 210). Examiners note, as stated in claim 1, the combination teaches the mount of the RIS on the UAV could be modified to have a set number of flexures to point the panel to the desired angle.
Regarding Claim 5, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 1, wherein each of the flexures comprises a joint connecting two portions (Kim, par. 4; the base member may comprise and/or be otherwise secured to one or more balls or sockets of one or more ball and socket joints or any other type of joint which may facilitate a rotation and/or pivot) that allows each of the flexures to be expanded and contracted (Kim, par. 4; A first plurality of rigid members may extend from the base member with each of the rigid members being rotatably and pivotally coupled to the base member)
Regarding Claim 8, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 1, wherein the panel comprises openings to accommodate airflow requirements of the drone (Francesco, par. 21; the present invention provides a method to dynamically and automatically compensate unexpected UAV movements and orientation changes while properly configuring an RIS to provide connectivity towards selected areas). Examiners note, par. 21 discloses a method to compensate for UAV movements (aerodynamics) in addition, Kim discloses a method to balance the weight of the attachment and its payload (i.e. panel) during flight time (Kim, par. 36; Based on determining the movement of the UAV and/or the payload, the control unit may cause one or more repositionable weights of the one or more repositionable weights to move from a first predetermined weight-fixation position to a predetermined weight-fixation position, thereby offsetting a change in the center of mass)
Regarding Claim 9, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 1, wherein the flexures are repositionable (Kim, par. 4; A controllable apparatus may be attached a to body of a UAV as a parallel manipulator and gripper (PMG) (e.g., a three-axis PMG), for precise manipulation and handling of objects) manually and an orientation of the panel is configured by setting the flexures prior to launch of the drone (Francesco, par. 21; the present invention provides a method to dynamically and automatically compensate unexpected UAV movements and orientation changes while properly configuring an RIS to provide connectivity towards selected areas).
Regarding Claim 10, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 1, wherein the flexures are controlled via a controller (Kim, par. 61; The PMG 201 may include a controller (e.g., the control unit 131, etc.))
Regarding Claim 11, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 1, wherein an orientation of the panel is changed by activating selected flexures (Francesco, par. 21; the present invention provides a method to dynamically and automatically compensate unexpected UAV movements and orientation changes while properly configuring an RIS to provide connectivity towards selected areas).
Regarding Claim 12, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 11, wherein an azimuth of the panel is changed by activating at least one pair of flexures connected to a first side of the panel to either contract or expand (Francesco, par. 21; the present invention provides a method to dynamically and automatically compensate unexpected UAV movements and orientation changes while properly configuring an RIS to provide connectivity towards selected areas). Examiner notes, par. 41 takes Azimuth and elevation into account to aim to the target location (Francesco, par. 41; optimally configure the RIS parameters such that the signal coming from the transmitter with azimuth φR and elevation angle θR will reach the target area).
Regarding Claim 13, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 12, wherein an elevation of the panel is changed by activating at least one pair of flexures (Kim, par. 67; When actuated, may cause the gripper member 209 to move and/or translate in either direction along a horizontal plane relative to the gripper member 209 … each gripper member 209 may include any other shape and/or orientation) connected to a second side of the panel adjacent to the first side to either contract or expand (Francesco, par. 21; the present invention provides a method to dynamically and automatically compensate unexpected UAV movements and orientation changes while properly configuring an RIS to provide connectivity towards selected areas). Examiner notes, par. 41 takes Azimuth and elevation into account to aim to the target location (Francesco, par. 41; optimally configure the RIS parameters such that the signal coming from the transmitter with azimuth φR and elevation angle θR will reach the target area).
Regarding Claim 14, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 1, wherein the orientation is changed such that the incident signal is reflected to a second target location (Francesco, Fig. 5, Par. 21; the present invention provides a method to dynamically and automatically compensate unexpected UAV movements and orientation changes while properly configuring an RIS to provide connectivity towards selected areas). Examiner Notes, it is implied that the UAS can be repositioned or oriented in different locations to provide coverage to different areas.
Regarding Claim 15, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 1, wherein a position of the drone is changed such that the incident signal is reflected to a second target location. (Francesco, Fig. 5, Par. 21; the present invention provides a method to dynamically and automatically compensate unexpected UAV movements and orientation changes while properly configuring an RIS to provide connectivity towards selected areas). Examiner Notes, it is implied that the UAS can be repositioned or oriented in different locations to provide coverage to different areas.
Regarding Claim 16, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 1, wherein the incident signal is a cellular signal, a television signal, a radio signal, or a network signal (Francesco, Fig. 2 par. 24; UAV may fly and hover over a specific area to provide connectivity to users on the ground in the area by means of portable (3G, LTE, or 5G) base stations).
Regarding Claim 17, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 1, wherein the reconfigurable intelligent surface comprises unit cells configured to resonate at a particular frequency or range of frequencies (Francesco, par. 44; The control of the RIS parameters is performed by means of an independent control channel that may rely on proprietary protocols running on a frequency such as 2.4 gigahertz (GHz) frequency).
Regarding Claim 18, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses, the communication system of claim 1, wherein the panel is detachable from and attachable to the flexures (Kim, par. 32; The apparatus may include a gripper element that may be used to grip, grasp and/or otherwise handle or manipulate an object). Examiner notes, it is implied the object gripped (RIS panel) can be released at will, in addition, it would have been reasonable for a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention to use the combined teachings of Francesco and Kim to design the gripper/flexures to be detachable to facilitate maintenance actions or an RIS panel replacement.
Claim(s) 6-7 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Francesco et al. (US-20220321198-A1) hereinafter Francesco, in view of Kim et al. (US-20210389783-A1) hereinafter Kim and further in view of Xiao et al. (A Survey on Millimeter-Wave Beamforming Enabled UAV Communications and Networking) hereinafter Xiao.
Regarding Claims 6, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses the system of claim 1, where a UAV uses and IRS panel to reflect waves to a target area. The combination of Francesco and Kim does not explicitly disclose the use of mmWaves being reflected on the IRS, however, Xiao discloses a method to reflect mmWaves to a desired target area by mounting an IRS panel to different UAV platforms (Xiao, Fig. 9, pg. 12; MmWave signals are easily blocked by obstacles, especially in urban and indoor environments. To tackle this issue, IRS/RIS, which is able to reconfigure the propagation environment by providing adjustable reflected paths for signals [81]–[83], has attracted increasing attention).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to combine Francesco’s methods of using UAVs with a mounted RIS panel, with Kim UAV attachment for payload management to enhance RIS directionality to a target area with Xiao’s method of using UAVs with RIS panels to reflect mmWave signals to enhance coverage in hard to reach places or areas where the terrain obstructs wireless communication due to bad line of sight or lack of infrastructure.
Regarding Claims 7, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses the communication system of claim 1, wherein the reconfigurable intelligent surface is an active surface configured to reflect mmWave frequencies and wherein power is provided by the drone a battery, or from a ground power source via a cable (Francesco, par. 22; RISs are used to minimize the impact of the battery consumption on an emergency UAV provided with portable network equipment).
The combination of Francesco and Kim does not explicitly teach the teach the RIS configuration being able to reflect mmWave frequencies. However, Xiao discloses a method to reflect mmWaves to a desired target area by mounting an IRS panel to different UAV platforms (Xiao, Fig. 9, pg. 12; MmWave signals are easily blocked by obstacles, especially in urban and indoor environments. To tackle this issue, IRS/RIS, which is able to reconfigure the propagation environment by providing adjustable reflected paths for signals [81]–[83], has attracted increasing attention). In addition, Xiao discloses a method to use energy harvesting to enhance the UAV’s battery life during operations (Xiao, pg. 45; In this scenario, energy harvesting enables UAVs with the ability of sustainable communication without power infrastructures. By harvesting energy from ambient environment, such as solar and wind energy, a UAV is able to realize perpetual flight and provide continuous communication service to ground users [355]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious toa person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Francesco’s methods of using UAVs with a mounted RIS panel, with Kim UAV attachment for payload management to enhance RIS directionality to a target area with Xiao’s method of using UAVs with RIS panels to reflect mmWave signals to enhance coverage in hard to reach places or areas where the terrain obstructs wireless communication due to bad line of sight or lack of infrastructure and further incorporate Xiao’s energy harvesting method to prolong the battery life of the UAV during operations.
Regarding Claim 19, The combination of Francesco and Kim discloses the communication system of claim 1, where a UAV uses and IRS panel to reflect waves to a target area. The combination of Francesco and Kim does not explicitly disclose the use of a plurality of drones each equipped with an RIS panel. However, Xiao further teaches a method to use multiple UAVs to stablish an ad-hoc mesh network (Xiao, pg. 35; A multi-UAV system organized in a mesh manner is referred to as a flying ad hoc network (FANET), where multiple UAVs can collaboratively carry out complex missions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious toa person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Francesco’s methods of using UAVs with a mounted RIS panel, with Kim UAV attachment for payload management to enhance RIS directionality to a target area with Xiao’s method to reflect mmWave signal and multi-UAV system to stablish and ad-hoc mesh network to enhance communications in multiple target areas or extend coverage in a specific site.
Regarding Claim 20, the combination of Francesco and Kim discloses the communication system of claim 1, where a UAV uses and IRS panel to reflect waves to a target area. The combination of Francesco and Kim does not explicitly disclose the use of a plurality of drones are deployed to different locations and reflect an incident signal to different target locations. However, Xiao further teaches a method to use multiple UAVs to stablish an ad-hoc mesh network (Xiao, pg. 35; A multi-UAV system organized in a mesh manner is referred to as a flying ad hoc network (FANET), where multiple UAVs can collaboratively carry out complex missions).
Therefore, it would have been obvious toa person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Francesco’s methods of using UAVs with a mounted RIS panel, with Kim UAV attachment for payload management to enhance RIS directionality to a target area with Xiao’s method to reflect mmWave signal and multi-UAV system to stablish and ad-hoc mesh network to enhance communications in multiple target areas or extend coverage in a specific site.
It is noted that any citations to specific pages, columns, lines or figures in the prior art
references and any interpretation of the reference should not be considered limiting in any way. A
reference is relevant for all it contains and may be relied upon for all that it would have reasonably
suggested to a person of ordinary skill in the art. See MPEP 2123
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Sugaki et al. (US-10471596-B2) Robot arm and unmanned aerial vehicle equipped with the robot arm, 2017
Zhu et al. (CN-116142460-A) Dynamic bionic grabbing unmanned aerial vehicle with cognitive function, 2023.
MCMENAMY et al. (WO-2023161428-A1) APPARATUS AND METHOD CONFIGURABLE TO CHANGE COMPONENTS OF A WIRELESS LINK, 2023.
Renzo et al. (arXiv:2004.09352v1) Smart Radio Environments Empowered by Reconfigurable Intelligent Surfaces: How it Works, State of Research, and Road Ahead, 2020.
Brighente et al. (arXiv:2205.02506v1) Unmanned Aerial Vehicles Meet Reflective Intelligent Surfaces to Improve Coverage and Secrecy, 2022.
Farrag et al. (ISBN 978-8007-6001-5) Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface and UAV–Assisted THz Mobile Communications, 2022.
Al-Nahhas et al. (poarXiv:2209.10616v1) Improving UAV Communication in Cell Free MIMO Using a Reconfigurable Intelligent Surface, 2022.
Ye et al. (arXiv:2109.00876v1) Non-terrestrial Communications Assisted by Reconfigurable Intelligent Surfaces, 2021.
Pang et al. (IEEE WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS LETTERS, VOL. 11, NO. 8, AUGUST 2022) Intelligent Reflecting Surface Assisted Interference Mitigation for Cellular-Connected UAV, 2022.
Newaz et al. (2023 International Conference on Computing, Networking and Communications (ICNC): Wireless Communications) ECEA Based Joint Circular Design of Reconfigurable Intelligent Surfaces with Drone During Disaster
Wu et al. (IEEE JOURNAL ON SELECTED AREAS IN COMMUNICATIONS, VOL. 39, NO. 10, OCTOBER 2021) A Comprehensive Overview on 5G-and-Beyond Networks with UAVs: From Communications to Sensing and Intelligence, 2021.
Zhao et al. (CN-114051204-A) Unmanned Aerial Vehicle Auxiliary Communication Method Based on Intelligent Reflecting Surface, 2022.
Gupta et al. (US-20250357996-A1) OPTIMIZING THE USE OF UNMANNED AERIAL VEHICLES TO EXTEND WIRELESS NETWORK COVERAGE, 2025.
Zhang et al. (CN-115955264-B) Unmanned Aerial Vehicle Carrying RIS Auxiliary AF Relay Cooperative Construction and Optimization Method, 2023.
Bakr et al. (US-10348394-B1) System Architecture and Method for Enhancing Wireless Networks with Mini-satellites And Pseudollites and Adaptive Antenna Processing, 2019.
Hardy et al. (US-20180234164-A1) Wireless Communication System for Distributing E.g. Text Messages, To User Devices, Has Aerial Network Drone for Triangulating Ownship Drone Position and Implementing Corresponding Flying Adjustments to Maintain Ownship Drone Position, 2018.
Tu (US-9836049-B1) Relay Drone System Used in Relaying Data Between Base Station and Working Drone, Has Relay Drone That Passes Working Drone Control Signal from Base Station to Working Drone, And Collected Data Signal from Working Drone to Base Station, 2017.
Chang (US-20140241239-A1) Communications Architectures Via UAV, 2014.
/MRCM/ Examiner, Art Unit 2649
/YUWEN PAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2649