DETAILED ACTION
Double Patenting
Claim 1, 4, 7, 10 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-3, 12-14 of copending application No. 18/234,072 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because of the following reasons:
Claim 1 of the instant application claims a battery pack configured for use with an energy storage system, comprising: a battery cell; and a printed circuit board assembly comprising a metal strip configured to connect to the battery cell and provide at least one of temperature or voltage data of the battery cell to a battery management unit operably coupled to the printed circuit board assembly.
Claim 4 that depends from claim 1 of the instant application claims the metal strip is made from aluminum, copper, or nickel.
Claim 1 of the reference application claims An energy storage system, comprising:a printed circuit board assembly configured to connect to a chassis of the energy storage system; and a battery cell comprising a connecting/disconnecting device configured to engage a corresponding connecting/disconnecting device on the printed circuit board assembly for providing at least one of electrical interconnection, routing, voltage sensing, or temperature sensing.
Claim 2 that depends from claim 1 of the reference application claims the connecting/disconnecting device of the printed circuit board assembly comprises a slot and the connecting/disconnecting device of the battery cell comprises a metal tab configured to be received within the slot and soldered thereto.
Claim 3 that depends from claim 1 of the reference application claims the metal tab is made from nickel, and wherein the metal tab is at least one of spot welded or soldered to the printed circuit board assembly.
Therefore, both claims 1 and 4 of the instant application and claims 1-3 of the reference application claim a battery pack configured for use with an energy storage system, comprising: a battery cell; and a printed circuit board assembly comprising a metal strip configured to connect to the battery cell and provide at least one of temperature or voltage data of the battery cell to a battery management unit operably coupled to the printed circuit board assembly, and further claim the metal strip is made from nickel.
Claim 7 of the instant application claims an energy management system, comprising: a distributed energy resource comprising a renewable energy source; a load center connected to the renewable energy source; and an energy storage system, comprising: a battery pack comprising: a battery cell; and a printed circuit board assembly comprising a metal strip configured to connect to the battery cell and provide at least one of temperature or voltage 11 data of the battery cell to a battery management unit operably coupled to the printed circuit board assembly.
Claim 10 that depends from claim 7 of the instant application claims the metal strip is made from aluminum, copper, or nickel.
Claim 12 of the reference application claims an energy management system, comprising: a distributed energy resource comprising a renewable energy source; a load center connected to the renewable energy source; and an energy storage system, comprising: a printed circuit board assembly configured to connect to a chassis of the energy storage system; and a battery cell comprising a connecting/disconnecting device configured to engage a corresponding connecting/disconnecting device on the printed circuit board assembly for providing at least one of electrical interconnection, routing, voltage sensing, or temperature sensing.
Claim 13 that depends from claim 12 of the reference application claims the connecting/disconnecting device of the printed circuit board assembly comprises a slot and the connecting/disconnecting device of the battery cell comprises a metal tab configured to be received within the slot and soldered thereto.
Claim 14 that depends from claim 13 of the reference application claims the metal tab is made from nickel, and wherein the metal tab is at least one of spot welded or soldered to the printed circuit board assembly.
Therefore, both claims 7 and 10 of the instant application and claims 12-14 of the reference application claim an energy management system, comprising: a distributed energy resource comprising a renewable energy source; a load center connected to the renewable energy source; and an energy storage system, comprising: a printed circuit board assembly configured to connect to a chassis of the energy storage system; and a battery cell comprising a connecting/disconnecting device configured to engage a corresponding connecting/disconnecting device on the printed circuit board assembly for providing at least one of electrical interconnection, routing, voltage sensing, or temperature sensing, and a metal strip is made from nickel, etc.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chen et al. (CN218039394 (U) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Chen.
Regarding claim 1, Chen discloses a battery pack configured for use with an energy storage system (i.e., at least battery module, etc., used in electric vehicle battery management systems as disclosed in [n0002]-[n0004], [n0018], [n0020], [n0038], etc., lacking any further distinction thereof as to said battery pack, energy storage system, etc.),
comprising: a battery cell (i.e., at least battery module includes a battery housed within, etc., as disclosed in [n0038], also see [n0002], [n0047]-[n0048], Figs. 1-3); and
a printed circuit board assembly (i.e., at least [n0006], [n0008], [n0011], [n0015], [n0017], [n0020], [n0028], [n0030], [n0034]-[n0035], [n0037]-[n0038], [n0040], [n0043], [n0046], Figs. 1-3)
comprising a metal strip (i.e., at least first acquisition plate ref. 11, etc., as disclosed in [n0041], such that said acquisition plate is a nickel plate as disclosed in at least [n0002], also see Figs. 1-3)
configured to connect to the battery cell (i.e., at least battery strip ref. 3 is welded to the first acquisition plate ref. 11, etc., as disclosed in [n0041], also see Figs. 1-3, [n0047])
and provide at least one of temperature or voltage data of the battery cell (i.e., at least battery transmits its temperature to the thermistor ref. 12 and then to the temperature sensing point of the first printed circuit board ref. 13 through the first sensing element ref. 11 (i.e., acquisition plate as discussed above), etc., also see [n0006], [n0020], [n0034]-[n0035], [n0041], etc.)
to a battery management unit operably coupled to the printed circuit board assembly (i.e., at least data acquisition unit(s) ref. 1, etc., as disclosed in [n0034], such that the battery transmits its voltage to the voltage sensing point of the first printed circuit board ref. 13 through the first sensing element ref. 11, so that the first printed circuit board ref. 13 can effectively collect the voltage of the battery, whereby the sensing unit ref. 1 collects both the battery temperature and voltage at the same time, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that an acquisition unit is at least a battery management unit (i.e., at least data acquisition unit) operably coupled to the printed circuit board assembly so as to collect both the battery temperature and voltage at the same time, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said battery management unit, etc., also see [n0020], [n0028], [n0030], [n0042]-[n0048], Figs. 1-5).
Regarding claim 2, Chen discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Chen further discloses the metal strip comprises a thermistor (i.e., at least first data acquisition chip ref. 11 as discussed above in claim 1 comprises a thermistor ref. 13 as shown in Fig. 2 and disclosed in at least [n0034], etc., also see [n0006]-[n0007], [n0020], { n0035]-[n0037], [n0047]).
Regarding claim 3, Chen discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 2. Chen further discloses in [n0036] at least thermally conductive adhesive connects thermistor ref. 12 and the first acquisition piece ref. 11 (i.e., at least metal strip as discussed above in claim 1), which at least provides the thermistor is bonded to the metal strip so as to connected by a thermally conductive adhesive, and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said bonded.
Regarding claim 4, Chen discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Chen further discloses first acquisition plate ref. 11, etc., as disclosed in [n0041], such that said acquisition plate is a nickel plate as disclosed in at least [n0002], also see Figs. 1-3, which at least provides the metal strip is made from nickel from the group.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen et al. (CN218039394 (U) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Chen, in view of Huang et al. (CN112821457 (A) and using Machine Translation as English version), hereinafter Huang.
Regarding claim 7, Chen discloses an energy management system, comprising: an energy storage system, comprising: a battery pack (i.e., at least battery module, etc., used in electric vehicle battery management systems as disclosed in [n0002]-[n0004], [n0018], [n0020], [n0038], etc., lacking any further distinction thereof as to said battery pack, energy storage system, energy management system, etc.),
comprising: a battery cell (i.e., at least battery module includes a battery housed within, etc., as disclosed in [n0038], also see [n0002], [n0047]-[n0048], Figs. 1-3); and
a printed circuit board assembly (i.e., at least [n0006], [n0008], [n0011], [n0015], [n0017], [n0020], [n0028], [n0030], [n0034]-[n0035], [n0037]-[n0038], [n0040], [n0043], [n0046], Figs. 1-3)
comprising a metal strip (i.e., at least first acquisition plate ref. 11, etc., as disclosed in [n0041], such that said acquisition plate is a nickel plate as disclosed in at least [n0002], also see Figs. 1-3)
configured to connect to the battery cell (i.e., at least battery strip ref. 3 is welded to the first acquisition plate ref. 11, etc., as disclosed in [n0041], also see Figs. 1-3, [n0047])
and provide at least one of temperature or voltage data of the battery cell (i.e., at least battery transmits its temperature to the thermistor ref. 12 and then to the temperature sensing point of the first printed circuit board ref. 13 through the first sensing element ref. 11 (i.e., acquisition plate as discussed above), etc., also see [n0006], [n0020], [n0034]-[n0035], [n0041], etc.)
to a battery management unit operably coupled to the printed circuit board assembly (i.e., at least data acquisition unit(s) ref. 1, etc., as disclosed in [n0034], such that the battery transmits its voltage to the voltage sensing point of the first printed circuit board ref. 13 through the first sensing element ref. 11, so that the first printed circuit board ref. 13 can effectively collect the voltage of the battery, whereby the sensing unit ref. 1 collects both the battery temperature and voltage at the same time, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that an acquisition unit is at least a battery management unit (i.e., at least data acquisition unit) operably coupled to the printed circuit board assembly so as to collect both the battery temperature and voltage at the same time, etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said battery management unit, etc., also see [n0020], [n0028], [n0030], [n0042]-[n0048], Figs. 1-5).
However, Chen is silent as to a distributed energy resource comprising a renewable energy source; a load center connected to the renewable energy source.
a distributed energy resource comprising a renewable energy source (i.e., at least wind and photovoltaic power generation, etc., as taught in [n0020], and power generation system ref. 100, energy storage system ref. 200, etc., as taught in [n0049], etc., lacking any further distinction thereof as to said distributed energy resource and/or renewable energy source, etc., also see [n0024], [n0042], [n0044], [n0048], [n0050]-[n0051], [n0055]-[n0057], etc., Figs. 1-3);
a load center connected to the renewable energy source (i.e., at least load system ref. 300, etc., as taught in [n0049], etc., connected to wind, solar power generation, etc., as taught in [n0071], etc., also see [n0006]-[n0007], [n0014]-[n0015], [n0020], [n0062], [n0107]-[n0115], etc., Figs. 1-3).
Huang further teaches in [n0020] wind and photovoltaic power generation equipment is particularly suitable for deployment in long-distance travel service areas in intercity or suburban areas, and can utilize abundant renewable energy sources with high power generation efficiency; in addition, photovoltaic complementary power generation can effectively reduce the output fluctuation of the power generation system, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Chen with the teachings of Huang, whereby the energy management system, comprising: an energy storage system, comprising: a battery pack, etc., as disclosed by Chen further includes a distributed energy resource comprising a renewable energy source; a load center connected to the renewable energy source, etc., as taught by Huang so as to effectively reduce the output fluctuation of the power generation system.
Regarding claim 8, Chen and Huang disclose the energy management system as discussed above in claim 7. Chen further discloses the metal strip comprises a thermistor (i.e., at least first data acquisition chip ref. 11 as discussed above in claim 7 comprises a thermistor ref. 13 as shown in Fig. 2 and disclosed in at least [n0034], etc., also see [n0006]-[n0007], [n0020], { n0035]-[n0037], [n0047]).
Regarding claim 9, Chen and Huang disclose the energy management system as discussed above in claim 8. Chen further discloses in [n0036] at least thermally conductive adhesive connects thermistor ref. 12 and the first acquisition piece ref. 11 (i.e., at least metal strip as discussed above in claim 7), which at least provides the thermistor is bonded to the metal strip so as to connected by a thermally conductive adhesive, and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said bonded.
Regarding claim 10, Chen and Huang disclose the energy management system as discussed above in claim 7. Chen further discloses first acquisition plate ref. 11, etc., as disclosed in [n0041], such that said acquisition plate is a nickel plate as disclosed in at least [n0002], also see Figs. 1-3, which at least provides the metal strip is made from nickel from the group.
Claims 5-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Noh et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2015/0023392 A1), hereinafter Noh.
Regarding claim 5, Chen discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Chen further discloses the metal strip and thermistor as discussed above in claims 1-2.
However, Chen is silent as to the battery cell comprises a cell stud terminal, and wherein the metal strip comprises a thermistor in a form of a ring lug that connects to the cell stud terminal.
Noh teaches a battery pack (Title). Noh further teaches the battery cell comprises a cell stud terminal (i.e., at least electrode terminal ref. 10a as shown in at least Figs. 1-2, also see [0018], [0021], [0023], [0041]-[0042], Figs. 5-7), and
wherein the metal strip comprises a thermistor in a form of a ring lug that connects to the cell stud terminal (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0039] wires ref. 85 and 95, in one embodiment, include a temperature measurement wire ref. 85 extending from a thermistor ref. 80 attached on a bus bar ref. 15, and a voltage measurement wire ref. 95 connected to an electrode terminal ref. 10a of the battery cell ref. 10, whereby state information of the battery cell ref. 10 collected through the wires ref. 85 and 95 may include a temperature measurement signal and a voltage measurement signal, whereby state information of the battery cell ref. 10 may transmitted to a battery management system (BMS) to be used as data for determining whether a malfunction has occurred, such as overheating, overcharging, and over-discharging, or for detecting a degree of charge/discharge, such as a full charge, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that connected is broad in scope and is at least met by the prior art, also see [0009], [0022]-[0024], Figs. 5-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Chen with the teachings of Noh, whereby the battery pack including the battery cell, terminal, metal strip, thermistor, etc., as disclosed by Chen further includes the battery cell comprises a cell stud terminal, and wherein the metal strip comprises a thermistor in a form of a ring lug that connects to the cell stud terminal as taught by Noh so as to provide state information of the battery cell that is transmitted to a battery management system (BMS) to be used as data for determining whether a malfunction has occurred, such as overheating, overcharging, and over-discharging, or for detecting a degree of charge/discharge, such as a full charge, etc.
Regarding claim 6, Chen discloses the battery pack as discussed above in claim 1. Chen discloses the metal strip comprises a thermistor as discussed above in claims 1-2. Chen further discloses in [n0041] the battery strip ref. 3 is welded to the first acquisition plate ref. 11, which at least provides the metal strip (i.e., at least first acquisition plate, etc.) is welded to the busbar (i.e., at least battery strip), etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [n0047], Figs. 1-2).
However, Chen is silent as to a busbar couples to a cell stud terminal.
Noh teaches a battery pack (Title). Noh further teaches the battery cell comprises a cell stud terminal (i.e., at least electrode terminal ref. 10a as shown in at least Figs. 1-2, also see [0018], [0021], [0023], [0041]-[0042], Figs. 5-7). Noh further teaches in [0078] the bus bar ref. 15 may be inserted into a protrusion of the electrode terminal ref. 10a, or may be connected on the electrode terminal ref. 10a, such as by welding, which at least provides a busbar couples to a cell stud terminal so as to be connected by welding, etc. Noh further teaches in [0039] wires ref. 85 and 95, in one embodiment, include a temperature measurement wire ref. 85 extending from a thermistor ref. 80 attached on a bus bar ref. 15, and a voltage measurement wire ref. 95 connected to an electrode terminal ref. 10a of the battery cell ref. 10, whereby state information of the battery cell ref. 10 collected through the wires ref. 85 and 95 may include a temperature measurement signal and a voltage measurement signal, whereby state information of the battery cell ref. 10 may transmitted to a battery management system (BMS) to be used as data for determining whether a malfunction has occurred, such as overheating, overcharging, and over-discharging, or for detecting a degree of charge/discharge, such as a full charge, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Chen with the teachings of Noh, whereby the battery pack including the battery cell, terminal, metal strip, thermistor, etc., as disclosed by Chen further includes a busbar couples to a cell stud terminal as taught by Noh so as to provide state information of the battery cell that is transmitted to a battery management system (BMS) to be used as data for determining whether a malfunction has occurred, such as overheating, overcharging, and over-discharging, or for detecting a degree of charge/discharge, such as a full charge, etc.
Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen and Huang as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Noh et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2015/0023392 A1), hereinafter Noh.
Regarding claim 11, Chen discloses the energy management system as discussed above in claim 7. However, Chen is silent as to the battery cell comprises a cell stud terminal, and wherein the metal strip comprises a thermistor in a form of a ring lug that connects to the cell stud terminal.
The combined teachings of Chen and Huang discloses the energy management system as discussed above in claim 7. Noh teaches a battery pack (Title). Noh further teaches the battery cell comprises a cell stud terminal (i.e., at least electrode terminal ref. 10a as shown in at least Figs. 1-2, also see [0018], [0021], [0023], [0041]-[0042], Figs. 5-7), and
wherein the metal strip comprises a thermistor in a form of a ring lug that connects to the cell stud terminal (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0039] wires ref. 85 and 95, in one embodiment, include a temperature measurement wire ref. 85 extending from a thermistor ref. 80 attached on a bus bar ref. 15, and a voltage measurement wire ref. 95 connected to an electrode terminal ref. 10a of the battery cell ref. 10, whereby state information of the battery cell ref. 10 collected through the wires ref. 85 and 95 may include a temperature measurement signal and a voltage measurement signal, whereby state information of the battery cell ref. 10 may transmitted to a battery management system (BMS) to be used as data for determining whether a malfunction has occurred, such as overheating, overcharging, and over-discharging, or for detecting a degree of charge/discharge, such as a full charge, etc., such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that connected is broad in scope and is at least met by the prior art, also see [0009], [0022]-[0024], Figs. 5-8).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Chen and Huang with the teachings of Noh, whereby the battery pack including the battery cell, terminal, metal strip, thermistor, etc., as disclosed by Chen and Huang further includes the battery cell comprises a cell stud terminal, and wherein the metal strip comprises a thermistor in a form of a ring lug that connects to the cell stud terminal as taught by Noh so as to provide state information of the battery cell that is transmitted to a battery management system (BMS) to be used as data for determining whether a malfunction has occurred, such as overheating, overcharging, and over-discharging, or for detecting a degree of charge/discharge, such as a full charge, etc.
Regarding claim 12, Chen discloses the energy management system as discussed above in claim 7. Chen discloses the metal strip comprises a thermistor as discussed above in claims 7-8. Chen further discloses in [n0041] the battery strip ref. 3 is welded to the first acquisition plate ref. 11, which at least provides the metal strip (i.e., at least first acquisition plate, etc.) is welded to the busbar (i.e., at least battery strip), etc., and lacking any further distinction thereof (also see [n0047], Figs. 1-2).
However, Chen is silent as to a busbar couples to a cell stud terminal.
The combined teachings of Chen and Huang discloses the energy management system as discussed above in claim 7. Noh teaches a battery pack (Title). Noh further teaches the battery cell comprises a cell stud terminal (i.e., at least electrode terminal ref. 10a as shown in at least Figs. 1-2, also see [0018], [0021], [0023], [0041]-[0042], Figs. 5-7). Noh further teaches in [0078] the bus bar ref. 15 may be inserted into a protrusion of the electrode terminal ref. 10a, or may be connected on the electrode terminal ref. 10a, such as by welding, which at least provides a busbar couples to a cell stud terminal so as to be connected by welding, etc. Noh further teaches in [0039] wires ref. 85 and 95, in one embodiment, include a temperature measurement wire ref. 85 extending from a thermistor ref. 80 attached on a bus bar ref. 15, and a voltage measurement wire ref. 95 connected to an electrode terminal ref. 10a of the battery cell ref. 10, whereby state information of the battery cell ref. 10 collected through the wires ref. 85 and 95 may include a temperature measurement signal and a voltage measurement signal, whereby state information of the battery cell ref. 10 may transmitted to a battery management system (BMS) to be used as data for determining whether a malfunction has occurred, such as overheating, overcharging, and over-discharging, or for detecting a degree of charge/discharge, such as a full charge, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Chen and Huang with the teachings of Noh, whereby the battery pack including the battery cell, terminal, metal strip, thermistor, etc., as disclosed by the combined teachings of Chen and Huang further includes a busbar couples to a cell stud terminal as taught by Noh so as to provide state information of the battery cell that is transmitted to a battery management system (BMS) to be used as data for determining whether a malfunction has occurred, such as overheating, overcharging, and over-discharging, or for detecting a degree of charge/discharge, such as a full charge, etc.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Akaboshi et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2010/0309949 A1) discloses a device for detecting abnormality in a secondary battery (Title), whereby as disclosed in [0025] in the battery module ref. 10, a battery-monitoring device substrate ref. 31 with the CMU ref. 30 is placed on the upper faces of the metal plates ref. 18 so as to extend across the battery cells ref. 11 making up the battery module ref. 10, and is fastened to the metal plates ref. 18 with the metal terminals ref. 20, whereby the battery-monitoring device substrate ref. 31 is provided with thermistors (temperature-detecting means) ref. 32.
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727