Response to Amendment
This action is responsive to amendment filed on 7/13/26 and RCE filed 9/14/26. Claims 1-20 are pending.
The claims comprise multidimensional sample dataset and executes a query on the dataset indicating search embeddings in a plurality of subsets that generates output dataset. The concept comprises application in learning models and is therefore statutory.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-20 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims of U.S. Patent No. 11,886,435. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because they comprise substantially the same subject matter using broader terminology.
Claims 2-11 and 1-19 depend from claims 1 and 12 respectively, and are therefore rejected on the merits.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jaech et al (USPN. 10,268,646) in view of Interlandi et al (USPN. 2023/0244662), further in view of Stapenhurst et al (USPN. 20250139100).
Regarding claims 1 and 12, Jaech discloses a method and system, comprising: one or more processors coupled to memory, the one or more processors configured to (figs. 4 and 5):
identify a query for a multi-dimensional sample dataset, the query indicating an operation to perform on a plurality of samples of the multi-dimensional sample dataset, (see figs. 3 and 4, col. 22, line 26 to col. 24, line 9, Match-Tensor architecture, query match matrix based on match tensor where query is the size of an embedded vector), but Jaech does not explicitly teach,
“the operation identifying a first column identifier of the respective first tensor, the query specifying (i) a second column identifier for a second column of an output data structure in which a respective virtual tensor for a subset of samples of the plurality of samples is to be stored, the second column not included in the multi-dimensional sample dataset, the query comprising a naming expression that assigns the second column identifier to the respective virtual tensor and ii) one or more filtering criteria”.
However, Interlandi teaches,
“the operation identifying a first column identifier of the respective first tensor, the query specifying (i) a second column identifier for a second column of an output data structure in which a respective virtual tensor for a subset of samples of the plurality of samples is to be stored, the second column not included in the multi-dimensional sample dataset, the query comprising a naming expression that assigns the second column identifier to the respective virtual tensor, and ii) one or more filtering criteria” (fig. 2A, query 104 and 122(1), “select a from xyz where b = c”, b=c is an example of filtering criteria, par. 32-33, wherein selected X is from the first column and Y is from the second column, note that table XYZ has at least three columns, see generation of tensors as done in step ii) “Each dimension of the tensor can have a different respective number of elements or values. In some examples, the data formatter may generate a tensor for each column of a database table” and see each column may be represented by multiple tensors below “As an example, a column of integers or Boolean values in the data store 106 may be represented as a one dimension tensor (e.g., a vector), while a column of string values may be represented as a two dimensional tensor (e.g., a matrix)” Interlandi. Table 4 further teaches join key columns of multidimensional tensors, where multidimensions expand across columns and not rows, see pars. 28 and 33, Interlandi. The multidimensional columns comprise identifiers to be part of the multidimensional tensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing time of the application to integrate a query with filtering criteria in Jaech as done by Interlandi by implementing the filtering on multi-dimensional data system and query of Jaech (figs. 2 and 4, items 200 and 401, Jaech). One would have been motivated to effectively search the Jaech social graph (fig. 2, social graph 200, Jaech).
To further illustrate that the concept above is well known, Examiner provides that Stapenhurst at par. 38 supports and teaches joining datasets between columns with indirect or inconsistent column dimensions (par. 38, “form implicit join operation over datasets 107A/107N with inconsistent dimensions”, Stapenhurst).
Jaech in view of Interlandi in view of Stapenhurst teach,
maintain the multidimensional sample dataset comprising a plurality of samples, each plurality sample of the plurality of samples comprising a respective first tensor identified by a first column identifier and comprising one or more respective embeddings, the first column identifier corresponding to a first column in the multidimensional sample dataset in which the respective first tensor of each sample of the plurality of samples is stored (fig. 1, pars. 19 and 28, data store 106 and database table store tensors comprising vectors multidimensional, Interlandi);
execute the query to:
generate the respective virtual tensor for each sample of the plurality of samples, the respective virtual tensor not stored in the multi-dimensional sample dataset, the respective virtual tensor generated by executing the operation specified in the query using the respective first tensor of each sample of the plurality of samples as input, the respective virtual tensor generated to store a respective result of the operation (pars. 40 and 42, “generate one or more DNN data structures 126 corresponding to the query data associated with the data store 106” note that DNN structures are tensors representing information stored in the data store 106 but not the data itself stored in the data store 106, Interlandii),
select the subset of samples from the plurality of samples based on applying the one or more filtering criteria to at least the respective virtual tensor generated for each sample of the plurality of samples to generate the output data structure comprising the subset of samples, each sample of the subset of samples comprising (figs. 2 and 3, items 302-310 and pars. 42 and 43, the created data structures 126 are created from subset of samples matching/relevant to the query, Interlandi):
(i) the respective first tensor identified by the first column identifier in the first column, and (ii) the respective virtual tensor identified by the second column identifier specified in the query, the output data structure generated such that the respective virtual tensor is accessible using the second column identifier (col. 28, line 44- col. 29, line 11, match similar queries to retrieved objects based on embeddings of some objects, note that virtual tensors are equated to subset of sampled data, Jaech, in addition note Interlandi above, query data and formatter generate tensor representations for the desired result where columns meet the required conditions, pars. 32-33, select b=c, from columns x,y,z Interlandi); and
provide the output data structure as a response to the query (figs. 7, items 750 and 780, results in the form of a multi dimensional tensor for identified objects on interface, Jaech).
2. Jaech in view of Interlandi in view of Stapenhurst teach, wherein the operation comprises determining one of a Euclidean distance or a cosine similarity between an embedding identified by the query and the one or more respective embeddings in each the plurality of samples (col. 28, line 44- col. 29, line 11, match similar queries to retrieved objects based on degree of similarity and cosine function, Jaech).
3. Jaech in view of Interlandi in view of Stapenhurst teach, wherein the one or more filtering criteria indicates a second operation to rank each of the subset of samples according to results of a similarity comparison between an embedding identified by the query and the one or more respective embeddings of each sample of the subset of samples (fig. 7, item 770, ranking respective sample objects and relevant citations, Jaech, and par. 32, multiple conditions, Interlandi).
4. Jaech in view of Interlandi in view of Stapenhurst teach, wherein the one or more filtering criteria indicates a second operation a number of samples of the plurality of samples include into the output data structure (col. 27, lines 48-67, adjusting size of number of embeddings or number of matching strings, Jaech).
5. Jaech in view of Interlandi in view of Stapenhurst teach, wherein the one or more processors are configured to generate the one or more respective embeddings in each of the plurality of samples using a machine learning model (col. 38, lines 30-64, embeddings are used in machine learning, Jaech).
6. Jaech in view of Interlandi in view of Stapenhurst teach, wherein the one or more processors are configured to store, in the respective virtual tensor of each sample of the subset of samples, similarity comparison between the first tensor identified by the operation indicated in the query and the one or more respective embeddings in the sample (fig. 1, item 160, a similarity score is computing representing a degree of similarity between matched objects and query matrix or values, see also relevant content and col. 18, lines 26-49, structured queries bringing together virtual indexes of content based on relation of content to various social graph elements, Jaech).
7. Jaech in view of Interlandi in view of Stapenhurst teach wherein the one or more processors are configured to: receive, from a user interface, the query comprising at least one structured query language (SQL) keyword and determine the operation of the query based on the SQL keyword (fig. 7 and col. 17, line 50 to col. 18, line 48, structured query input and output/result, Jaech).
8. Jaech in view of Interlandi in view of Stapenhurst teach, wherein the user interface is configured to display the respective one or more respective embeddings of each sample of the plurality of samples in response to an interaction (fig. 7, and (col. 28, line 44- col. 29, line 11, match similar queries to retrieved objects based on embeddings and display/results, Jaech).
9. Jaech in view of Interlandi in view of Stapenhurst teach, wherein the one or more processors are configured to identify the subset of samples according to a match between an embedding identified by the query and the one or more respective embeddings of each sample of the plurality of samples, the match established within a predetermined threshold (col. 28, line 44- col. 29, line 11, match similar queries to retrieved objects based on embeddings within thresholds, Jaech).
10. Jaech in view of Interlandi in view of Stapenhurst teach, wherein the one or more processors are configured to: detect that the query identifies an attribute indicative of one of a textual item, a graphic feature or metadata corresponding to a search input provided by a user and generate the output data structure according to the attribute (col. 30, lines 6-46, each identified object of the query match may be retrieved thus identify the title of a video clip, as textual, and an object match for the identified video, as image, Jaech).
11. Jaech in view of Interlandi in view of Stapenhurst teach, wherein the one or more processors are configured to use the output data structure as an input to train one or more machine learning (ML) models (par. 37, lines 26-45, model learns from interactions).
Regarding claim 20, Jaech discloses a medium comprising: one or more processors coupled to memory, the one or more processors configured to (figs. 4 and 5):
identify a query for a multi-dimensional sample dataset, the query indicating an operation to perform on a plurality of samples of the multi-dimensional sample dataset, (see figs. 3 and 4, col. 22, line 26 to col. 24, line 9, Match-Tensor architecture, query match matrix based on match tensor where query is the size of an embedded vector), but Jaech does not explicitly teach,
“the operation identifying a first column identifier of the respective first tensor, the query specifying (i) a second column identifier for a second column of an output data structure in which a respective virtual tensor for a subset of samples of the plurality of samples is to be stored, the second column not included in the multi-dimensional sample dataset, the query comprising a naming expression that assigns the second column identifier to the respective virtual tensor and ii) one or more filtering criteria”.
However, Interlandi teaches,
“the operation identifying a first column identifier of the respective first tensor, the query specifying (i) a second column identifier for a second column of an output data structure in which a respective virtual tensor for a subset of samples of the plurality of samples is to be stored, the second column not included in the multi-dimensional sample dataset, the query comprising a naming expression that assigns the second column identifier to the respective virtual tensor, and ii) one or more filtering criteria” (fig. 2A, query 104 and 122(1), “select a from xyz where b = c”, b=c is an example of filtering criteria, par. 32-33, wherein selected X is from the first column and Y is from the second column, note that table XYZ has at least three columns, see generation of tensors as done in step ii) “Each dimension of the tensor can have a different respective number of elements or values. In some examples, the data formatter may generate a tensor for each column of a database table” and see each column may be represented by multiple tensors below “As an example, a column of integers or Boolean values in the data store 106 may be represented as a one dimension tensor (e.g., a vector), while a column of string values may be represented as a two dimensional tensor (e.g., a matrix)” Interlandi. Table 4 further teaches join key columns of multidimensional tensors, where multidimensions expand across columns and not rows, see pars. 28 and 33, Interlandi. The multidimensional columns comprise identifiers to be part of the multidimensional tensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing time of the application to integrate a query with filtering criteria in Jaech as done by Interlandi by implementing the filtering on multi-dimensional data system and query of Jaech (figs. 2 and 4, items 200 and 401, Jaech). One would have been motivated to effectively search the Jaech social graph (fig. 2, social graph 200, Jaech).
To further illustrate that the concept above is well known, Examiner provides that Stapenhurst at par. 38 supports and teaches joining datasets between columns with indirect or inconsistent column dimensions (par. 38, “form implicit join operation over datasets 107A/107N with inconsistent dimensions”, Stapenhurst).
Jaech in view of Interlandi in view of Stapenhurst teach,
maintain the multidimensional sample dataset comprising a plurality of samples, each plurality sample of the plurality of samples comprising a respective first tensor identified by a first column identifier and comprising one or more respective embeddings, the first column identifier corresponding to a first column in the multidimensional sample dataset in which the respective first tensor of each sample of the plurality of samples is stored (fig. 1, pars. 19 and 28, data store 106 and database table store tensors comprising vectors multidimensional, Interlandi);
execute the query to:
apply the operation to the respective first tensor of each sample of the plurality of samples to generate the respective virtual tensor for each sample of the plurality of samples (col. 38, Tables 1 and lines 14-16 and 40-50, labels and results using match-tensor model comprising embeddings, modified Jaech), the respective virtual tensor storing a respective result of the operation (col. 25, line 41 to col. 26, line 27, generate query match matrix for search query, where the matrix corresponds to n-dimensional embeddings for the query terms in an n-dimensional or subset embedding space searched such a “Ariana TV shows”, col. 26, lines 37-67. Note that system produces object match matrix for the first object by encoding generated term embeddings with neural network based on neighboring words contextually, Jaech, in view of Interlandi fig. 2A, item 204, tensor representations);
select the subset of samples from the plurality of samples based on applying the one or more filtering criteria (figs. 2 and 3, items 302-310 and pars. 40 and 42, Interlandi) to at least the respective virtual tensor generated for each sample of the plurality of samples (par. 42, item 308, Interlandi),
generate the output data structure comprising the subset of samples, each sample of the subset of samples comprising the respective first tensor identified by the first column identifier in the first column and the respective virtual tensor identified by the second column identifier in the second column, the output data structure generated such that the respective virtual tensor is accessible using the second column identifier (col. 28, line 44- col. 29, line 11, match similar queries to retrieved objects based on embeddings of some objects, note that virtual tensors are equated to subset of sampled data, Jaech, in addition note Interlandi) query data and formatter generate tensor representations for the desired result where columns meet the required conditions (pars. 32-33, select b=c, from columns x,y,z Interlandi); and
provide the output data structure as a response to the query (figs. 7, items 750 and 780, results in the form of a multi dimensional tensor for identified objects on interface, Jaech).
Methods claims 13-19 comprise substantially the same subject matter as system claims 2-11 and are therefore rejected on the merits.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 7/13/26 with respect to claim(s) 1-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant alleges the Double Patenting rejection should be withdrawn in view of the amended claims.
This is an Obviousness Double Patenting rejection. The claimed respective virtual tensor refers to a generated tensor as claimed “range of values… for inclusion in the second group” in the Double Patenting Obviousness of claim 1. The Tensor data is generated in part based on the query condition (claim 1, Double Patenting). As such, the concept and function appear well supported by the obviousness rejection. Examiner will re-evaluate Applicant’s position when all other issues are overcome. As such, the rejection is maintained.
Applicant mostly rehashes the same issues already addressed in the previous responses below. Examiner further provides additional mappings and interpretation of the amended claims in the updated office action. Last, a supplemental prior art is provided to further show the state of art and support the present teachings of the prior art.
For example, the updated portion of the office action with regard to the amendment to the claims now reads,
‘… Jaech dot not explicitly teach,
“the operation identifying a first column identifier of the respective first tensor, the query specifying (i) a second column identifier for a second column of an output data structure in which a respective virtual tensor for a subset of samples of the plurality of samples is to be stored, the second column not included in the multi-dimensional sample dataset, the query comprising a naming expression that assigns the second column identifier to the respective virtual tensor and ii) one or more filtering criteria”.
However, Interlandi teaches,
“the operation identifying a first column identifier of the respective first tensor, the query specifying (i) a second column identifier for a second column of an output data structure in which a respective virtual tensor for a subset of samples of the plurality of samples is to be stored, the second column not included in the multi-dimensional sample dataset, the query comprising a naming expression that assigns the second column identifier to the respective virtual tensor, and ii) one or more filtering criteria” (fig. 2A, query 104 and 122(1), “select a from xyz where b = c”, b=c is an example of filtering criteria, par. 32-33, wherein selected X is from the first column and Y is from the second column, note that table XYZ has at least three columns, see generation of tensors as done in step ii) “Each dimension of the tensor can have a different respective number of elements or values. In some examples, the data formatter may generate a tensor for each column of a database table” and see each column may be represented by multiple tensors below “As an example, a column of integers or Boolean values in the data store 106 may be represented as a one dimension tensor (e.g., a vector), while a column of string values may be represented as a two dimensional tensor (e.g., a matrix)” Interlandi. Table 4 further teaches join key columns of multidimensional tensors, where multidimensions expand across columns and not rows, see pars. 28 and 33, Interlandi. The multidimensional columns comprise identifiers to be part of the multidimensional tensor).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing time of the application to integrate a query with filtering criteria in Jaech as done by Interlandi by implementing the filtering on multi-dimensional data system and query of Jaech (figs. 2 and 4, items 200 and 401, Jaech). One would have been motivated to effectively search the Jaech social graph (fig. 2, social graph 200, Jaech).
To further illustrate that the concept above is well known, Examiner provides that Stapenhurst at par. 38 supports and teaches joining datasets between columns with indirect or inconsistent column dimensions (par. 38, “form implicit join operation over datasets 107A/107N with inconsistent dimensions”, Stapenhurst).’
Examiner points to Table 4 of Interlandi to support the teaching of the amended features. Table 4 teaches join key columns of multidimensional tensors, where multidimensions expand across columns and not rows, see pars. 28 and 33, Interlandi. The multidimensional columns comprise identifiers to be part of the multidimensional tensor. In an effort to support the logic, Stapenhurst is provided to explicitly teach joining a multidimensional tensor from across different columns even if the columns are not obvious or inconsistent. The joined dataset set is the updated tensor. The columns used to derive the data values comprise column identifiers so that they can be queried by the system such as Interlandi data formatter 112. As such, all the allegations are believed moot in view of the updated office action and remarks presented herein.
Previous relevant responses:
Applicant alleges the prior art does not teach the amended “query… respective virtual tensor… is to be stored”.
Examiner disagrees.
Jaech in view of Interlandi teaches,
“the operation identifying a first column identifier of the respective first tensor, the query specifying (i) a second column identifier for a second column of an output data structure in which a respective virtual tensor for a subset of samples of the plurality of samples is to be stored, the second column not included in the multi-dimensional sample dataset, and ii) one or more filtering criteria” (fig. 2A, query 104 and 122(1), “select a from xyz where b = c”, b=c is an example of filtering criteria, par. 32-33, wherein selected X is from the first column and Y is from the second column, note that table XYZ has at least three columns, see generation of tensors as done in step ii) “Each dimension of the tensor can have a different respective number of elements or values. In some examples, the data formatter may generate a tensor for each column of a database table” and see each column may be represented by multiple tensors below “As an example, a column of integers or Boolean values in the data store 106 may be represented as a one dimension tensor (e.g., a vector), while a column of string values may be represented as a two dimensional tensor (e.g., a matrix)” Interlandi).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing time of the application to integrate a query with filtering criteria in Jaech as done by Interlandi by implementing the filtering on multi-dimensional data system and query of Jaech (figs. 2 and 4, items 200 and 401, Jaech). One would have been motivated to effectively search the Jaech social graph (fig. 2, social graph 200, Jaech)”.
The combination teaches a query identifying multiple tensors in multiple columns, as each column may represent a tensor.
Applicant alleges the prior art does not teach “generating a respective virtual tensor according to an operation specified in a query”.
Examiner disagrees. The claimed subject matter comprises a multi-dimensional sample dataset which is used to create a table of tensors that can be queried by more than one column.
Similarly, Jaech in view of Interlandi teach,
“generate the respective virtual tensor for each sample of the plurality of samples, the respective virtual tensor not stored in the multi-dimensional sample dataset, the respective virtual tensor generated by executing the operation specified in the query using the respective first tensor of each sample of the plurality of samples as input, the respective virtual tensor generated to store a respective result of the operation (pars. 40 and 42, “generate one or more DNN data structures 126 corresponding to the query data associated with the data store 106” note that DNN structures are tensors representing information stored in the data store 106 but not the data itself stored in the data store 106, Interlandii)”.
The data structure 126 is the created data table comprising a respective virtual tensor with multiple columns based on the query input condition and does not comprise the data from data store 106 but represents the data stored in data store 106 using tensors.
Applicant alleges the output data structure is not generated as claimed.
Examiner is not persuaded. As noted above with reference to data structure 126, the data structure generated does not comprise the data from data store 106 as alleged by the Applicant, instead, the data created in data structure 126 is representative of data store 106 and comprises tensors stored in a plurality of columns.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure in the field of learning models.
USPN. 2021/0124739 : figs 2-3, embeddings and associations.
USPN. 2023/0325391 : Abstract and figs. 1-2, embeddings and tensors calculation.
USPN. 2023/0306087: fig. 1 and par. 24, matrix/tensor query, tensor to tensor ranking
September 29, 2026
/MARCIN R FILIPCZYK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153