DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claim 11 is withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b), as being drawn to a nonelected Fire Extinguishing Equipment Species X, First Mounting Base Species I and Battery Pack Species III, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant timely traversed the restriction (election) requirement in the reply filed on January 13, 2026. Claim 11 recites a second mounting base, which is element 60 shown in the non-elected Species XIV, Figure 7A.
Applicant's election with traverse of Fire Extinguishing Equipment Species X, First Mounting Base Species I and Battery Pack Species III in the reply filed on January 13, 2026 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the Examiner has failed to identify the mutually exclusiveness of the Species. This is not found persuasive because the Examiner has clearly listed the corresponding figure/s of all of the three different groups of Species, namely the Fire Extinguishing Equipment Species, First Mounting Base Species and Battery Pack Species. None of the figures listed are showing different view or perspective of a same device. All of the identified figures/Species show different devices that are different from one another. For example, Figure 1A shows that the entirety of the second chamber 20 is disposed within the first chamber 10. Figure 1B shows only part or top portion of the second chamber 20 is disposed within the first chamber 10. Figure 2A shows only part or top portion of the second chamber 20 is disposed within the first chamber 10 and the second chamber 20 is secure by a first mounting base 50 to the first chamber 10 and so on so forth. These are the mutual exclusiveness of the Species. See MPEP § 806.04(f).
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore:
the pressure relief opening is a first pressure relief film as recited in claim 3. The first pressure relief film is not shown in the elected Fig. 5C;
the second chamber further comprises a first sealing ring and a first connecting piece; two opposite sides of the first sealing ring are respectively in contact with the first pressure relief film and a second part; and the first connecting piece is located on a side the first pressure relief film that is away from the first sealing ring as recited in claim 4. Reference numbers 23, 28, 25 and 27 are all appears to be pointing to a same element in the elected Fig. 5C; and
the two opposite sides of the second sealing ring are respectively in contact with the second pressure relief film and the first chamber; and the second connecting piece is located on a side of the second pressure relief film that is away from the second sealing ring, and the second connecting piece is fastened to the first chamber as recited in claim 12 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “the cell” in line 16 should read -- the at least one cell.--
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: “a fire extinguishing chemical agent” in line 17 should read -- the fire extinguishing chemical agent.-- Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 4, 9 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites “the pressure relief opening is a first pressure relief film.” It is unclear how a film is an opening? Is the Applicant trying to claim the opening defined or formed by the film or the opening is the film? Clarification is respectfully requested.
The terms “chamber structure” in claim 9 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The terms “chamber structure” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. The exact size, shape, volume and geometry needed to meet the claim limitation is not known. For the purpose of examination, the limitation or terms will be interpreted, as further recited in the claim as an “opening.”
Claim 16 recites the limitation "a fire extinguishing equipment according and at least one cell" in line 8. It appears to be idiomatically and/or grammatically incorrect.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10, 12-17 and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by 张少禹 et al. (CN107320871. Zhang hereinafter. See attached English translation by Google Patents).
With respect to claim 1, Zhang discloses a battery pack (Figs. 1-3), comprising: fire extinguishing equipment (Fig. 1) and at least one cell (in 9), wherein, the fire extinguishing equipment comprises: a first chamber (1) comprising a discharge opening (at 302), wherein the first chamber stores a fire extinguishing chemical agent (2); a second chamber (containing 6) comprising a pressure relief opening (capped by 503 and 506 and covered by the aluminum film coating technology. Second paragraph under “Contents of the invention” and page 3, lines 43-44), wherein the pressure relief opening is in communication with the first chamber, and the second chamber stores a gas-generating chemical agent (6); and an activation line (connecting 504, 505), extending (from 504, 505) into the second chamber and being in contact with the gas-generating chemical agent, wherein the activation line is configured to (capable of) ignite the gas-generating chemical agent to generate gas, the pressure relief opening is configured to (capable of) spray the gas in the second chamber to the first chamber (via opening capped by 506), and the discharge opening is configured to (capable of) discharge the fire extinguishing chemical agent in the first chamber after the gas enters the first chamber; and the cell is configured to (capable of) supply power, and the fire extinguishing equipment is configured to (capable of) discharge a fire extinguishing chemical agent when the battery pack catches fire.
With respect to claim 2, Zhang discloses wherein at least a part of the second chamber is disposed in the first chamber, and the pressure relief opening (capped by 506) is located in the first chamber.
With respect to claim 3, Zhang discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the pressure relief opening is (covered by) a first pressure relief film (aluminum film coating technology. the components in the driving chamber 501 and the gas generating agent 6 are completely covered, so that they are effectively isolated from the gas fire extinguishing agent 2. Page 3, lines 43-44).
With respect to claim 4, Zhang discloses the battery pack according to claim 3, wherein the second chamber further comprises a first sealing ring (ring surrounding 506) and a first connecting piece (506); two opposite (upper and lower) sides of the first sealing ring are respectively in contact with the first pressure relief film and a second part (5); and the first connecting piece is located on a (under) side the first pressure relief film that is away from the first sealing ring, and the first connecting piece is fastened to the second chamber (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 5, Zhang discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein a first sealing piece (503) is disposed in the second chamber; the gas-generating chemical agent is located between the first sealing piece and a first side wall (defined by 506) of the second chamber, and the activation line extends into the second chamber from a second side wall (defined by a cap above 503) of the second chamber and passes through the first sealing piece to be in contact with the gas-generating chemical agent; and the first side wall is disposed opposite to the second side wall.
With respect to claim 6, Zhang discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein a first side wall (defined by 506) of the second chamber is the pressure relief opening; and the activation line extends into the second chamber from a second side wall (defined by an unmarked cap above 503) of the second chamber, and the first side wall is disposed opposite to the second side wall.
With respect to claim 7, Zhang discloses the wherein the second chamber is fastened (secured) to the first chamber.
With respect to claim 8, Zhang discloses the battery pack according to claim 7, wherein the fire extinguishing equipment further comprises a first mounting base (unmarked element defining an opening that surrounds the unmarked cap above 503), and the first mounting base is disposed outside the first chamber and is fastened (secured) to the first chamber; and the second chamber extends out of the first chamber and is fastened to the first mounting base (same configuration as the Applicant’s invention).
With respect to claim 9, Zhang discloses the battery pack according to claim 8, wherein the first mounting base is a chamber structure with an opening (defined by the unmarked element that surrounds the unmarked cap above 503); and the opening of the first mounting base faces the first chamber, the second chamber extends into (in the direction of) the first mounting base, and the activation line passes through a chamber bottom of the first mounting base (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 10, Zhang discloses the battery pack according to claim 8, wherein the first mounting base and the discharge opening are located on a same (diagonally top right) side of the first chamber (Fig. 1).
With respect to claim 12, Zhang discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the discharge opening is a second pressure relief film (constant pressure diaphragm of 302. Second paragraph under “detailed description”); the fire extinguishing equipment further comprises a second sealing ring (pressure ring) and a second connecting piece (locking part).
Zhang fails to disclose two opposite sides of the second sealing ring are respectively in contact with the second pressure relief film and the first chamber; and the second connecting piece is located on a side of the second pressure relief film that is away from the second sealing ring, and the second connecting piece is fastened to the first chamber.
However, Zhang teaches the second chamber further comprises a first sealing ring (ring surrounding 506) and a first connecting piece (506); two opposite (upper and lower) sides of the first sealing ring are respectively in contact with the first pressure relief film and a second part (5); and the first connecting piece is located on a (under) side the first pressure relief film that is away from the first sealing ring, and the first connecting piece is fastened to the second chamber.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of having the two opposite sides of the second sealing ring respectively in contact with the second pressure relief film and the first chamber, as taught by Zhang at the first sealing ring, to Zhang’s arrangement at the second sealing ring, in order to seal the discharge opening in preparation for the deployment.
With respect to claim 13, Zhang discloses the fire extinguishing equipment according to claim 1, wherein the activation line comprises at least one of a thermosensitive cable (in thermosensitive switch) or an igniter (7).
With respect to claim 14, Zhang discloses the battery pack according to claim 1, wherein the battery pack further comprises a detector (7, 8), and the detector is configured to (capable of) output a signal (explosion or activation as shown in Fig. 3) when an environment of the battery pack is abnormal.
With respect to claim 15, Zhang discloses the battery pack according to claim 14, wherein the battery pack further comprises a battery management unit (7, 8, 9, 504, 503 and the connecting wires) connected to an activation line (the connecting wires) in the fire extinguishing equipment and the battery management unit is configured to (capable of) ignite the activation line.
With respect to claim 16, Zhang discloses an energy storage system (Figs. 1-3), comprising: at least one battery pack (in 9), a control unit (control center, 7, 8, 9, 504, 503 and the connecting wires), and a flame detector (7, 8), wherein the control unit (at least the control center. Page 3, third paragraph and Fig. 3) is separately connected to the at least one battery pack and the flame detector; the at least one battery pack comprises: a fire extinguishing equipment (Fig. 1) according and (connected to) at least one cell, wherein, the fire extinguishing equipment comprises: a first chamber (1) comprising a discharge opening (at 302), wherein the first chamber stores a fire extinguishing chemical agent (2); a second chamber (containing 6) comprising a pressure relief opening (capped by 503 and 506 and covered by the aluminum film coating technology. Second paragraph under “Contents of the invention” and page 3, lines 43-44), wherein the pressure relief opening is in communication with the first chamber, and the second chamber stores a gas-generating chemical agent (6); and an activation line (connecting 504, 505) extending (from 504, 505) into the second chamber and being in contact with the gas-generating chemical agent, wherein the activation line is configured to (capable of) ignite the gas-generating chemical agent to generate gas, the pressure relief opening is configured to (capable of) spray the gas in the second chamber to the first chamber (via opening capped by 506), and the discharge opening is configured to (capable of) discharge the fire extinguishing chemical agent in the first chamber after the gas enters the first chamber; the cell is configured to (capable of) supply power, and the fire extinguishing equipment is configured to (capable of) discharge a fire extinguishing chemical agent when the at least one battery pack catches fire; and the control unit is configured to (capable of) control the flame detector to start when a signal (explosion or activation as shown in Fig. 3) of the detector is received, the flame detector is configured to (capable of) output a signal (via 505, 504) to the control unit when an open flame is detected, and the control unit controls an activation line to ignite (Fig. 3).
With respect to claim 17, Zhang discloses the energy storage system according to claim 16, wherein the control unit is configured to (capable of) output a control signal (via the feedback device 505) to a battery management unit, to control the battery management unit to ignite the activation line.
With respect to claim 19, Zhang discloses a fire extinguishing equipment (Figs. 1-3), comprising: a first chamber (1) comprising a discharge opening (at 302), wherein the first chamber stores a fire extinguishing chemical agent (2); a second chamber (containing 6) comprising a pressure relief opening (capped by 503 and 506 and covered by the aluminum film coating technology. Second paragraph under “Contents of the invention” and page 3, lines 43-44), wherein the pressure relief opening is in communication with the first chamber, and the second chamber stores a gas-generating chemical agent (6); and an activation line (connecting 504, 505), extending (from 504, 505) into the second chamber and in contact with the gas-generating chemical agent, wherein the activation line is configured to (capable of) ignite the gas-generating chemical agent to generate gas, the pressure relief opening is configured to (capable of) spray the gas in the second chamber to the first chamber, and the discharge opening is configured to (capable of) discharge the fire extinguishing chemical agent in the first chamber after the gas enters the first chamber (Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang in view of McSheffrey et al. (US 20040065451. McSheffrey hereinafter).
With respect to claim 18, Zhang discloses the energy storage system according to claim 16. Zhang fails to disclose wherein the energy storage system further comprises an auxiliary power supply; the auxiliary power supply is connected to the control unit and the activation line; and the control unit is configured to output a control signal to the auxiliary power supply, to control the auxiliary power supply to ignite the activation line.
However, McSheffrey teaches a fire alarm and suppression system (Figs. 1-11), wherein the system further comprises an auxiliary power supply ([0035]); the auxiliary power supply is connected to a control unit (26) and an activation line (Fig. 1); and the control unit is configured to (capable of) output a control signal to the auxiliary power supply, to control the auxiliary power supply to ignite the activation line (when primary electrical service is disrupted. [0035]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teaching of adding an auxiliary power supply to the system, as taught by McSheffrey, to Zhang’s system, in order to provide continuous system service when primary electrical service is disrupted ([0035]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. The following patents are cited to show the art with respect to an energy storage system: Dennis, Olandt, Hook, White et al., Bonne, Boegli, Pietz et al., Brobeil, Gillis et al., Wilson et al., Enk and Kozai et al.
/CHEE-CHONG LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3752 January 31, 2026