DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-4, 6-11 and 13-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Coon et al (US 2025/0007018 A1). This prior art reference being cited to as Coon hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 1, Coon discloses a system (102 Fig. 1; “host vehicle 102” [0022]), comprising:
a battery module (108-1 Fig. 3; “a battery system 108-1” [0046]) that includes:
a first battery cell (306 Fig. 3; “a battery cell 306” [0048]);
a second battery cell (“the battery cell 306 associated with the battery module 302-2” [0048]); and
a thin-film pressure sensor disposed between the first battery cell and the second battery cell (110 Fig. 3; “ESD 108 in combination with the ESD sensors 110” [0046] and “the ESD sensors 110, which are arranged on the cooling plate 304 or between two cooling plates 304, to monitor for physical deformations in each individual battery module 302, or among each pair of the battery modules 302” [0050]), the thin-film pressure sensor adapted to measure a change in pressure associated with at least one of: a swelling of the first battery cell, and a swelling of the second battery cell (“The ESD sensors 110 may include multiple pressure sensors (e.g., other types of sensors) configured to detect compression in the material of the ESD sensors 110 that is above the sensor pads.” [0027] and “The ESD sensors 110 are arranged on a surface of the cooling plate 304 in a pattern or arrangement that provides sufficient measurement capability across most or all of the regions 312. The regions 312 correspond to surface areas on the cooling plate 304 where the battery cell 306 may swell.” [0051]); and
a battery management system (collectively comprising of 202, 204 and 206 shown in Fig. 2; “a display 202, one or more processors 204, and computer-readable storage media (CRM) 206” [0038]) that includes:
a processor (204 Fig. 2; “one or more processors 204” [0038]); and
memory (206 Fig. 2; “computer-readable storage media (CRM) 206” [0038]) coupled to the processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the processor (“The processors 204 execute instructions stored in the CRM 206, on one or more disks, memories, or other non-transitory computer-readable storage media.” [0038]), cause the battery management system to:
receive a pressure measurement from the thin-film pressure sensor (“processors 204 process measurement values from the ESD sensors 110 and execute instructions loaded from the CRM 206 that cause the processors 204 to monitor the capacitance, inductance, temperature, or other external sensor values associated with the ESD 108 and determine whether physical deformation occurs.” [0039] where “The ESD sensors 110 may include multiple pressure sensors” [0027] and “the sensor data comparator 208 may use a machine-learned model to identify the battery deformation based on the sensor data (e.g., capacitance values, inductance measurements, pressure readings)” [0112]);
determine, based on the pressure measurement from the thin-film pressure sensor, an abnormal condition associated with the battery module (“The machine-learned model may be trained to receive the sensor data output from the sensor circuit 402 over the interface 310 and classify the ESD 108 deformed or not deformed. The machine-learned model may perform classification, tracing, and/or other tasks related to identifying potential battery deformations during charging or other vehicle operations involving the ESD 108.” [0112]); and
generate an alert that includes an indication of the abnormal condition (“outputting the alert is to a vehicle processor. The output of the alert may drive a graphical display and be provided as an alert to a vehicle occupant or user (e.g., on the display 202), to warn and request approval to continue using the ESD 108” [0117]).
Regarding claim 2, Coon discloses the system with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the first battery cell and the second battery cell are lithium-based battery cells (“the ESD 108 may be a high voltage battery pack comprising a plurality of individual (e.g., Lithium-ion) battery cells.” [0025]).
Regarding claim 3, Coon discloses the system with all of the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein the thin-film pressure sensor is a first thin-film pressure sensor (ESD sensor 110 included in 302-1 shown in Fig. 3), and wherein the battery module further comprises:
a module frame (collectively comprising of 314, 316, 304, 308 and 310 shown in Fig. 3; “cooling plate 304 is supported by the frame 308, which partially surrounds one or more of the battery cells 306 (which are also commonly referred to as “pouch cells”). … The frame 308 may encompass the multiple regions 312 within a coolant tube contained within the frame 308 to permit coolant liquid to circle through the battery system 108-1 from a cooling inlet 314 to a cooling outlet 316” [0049] and “an interface 310 to each of the battery modules 302” [0050]);
a third battery cell (battery cell 306 included in 302-3 of 302 shown in Fig. 3 comprising of battery cells 302-n); and
a second thin-film pressure sensor disposed between the third battery cell and the module frame (ESD sensor 110 included in 302-2 shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 4, Coon discloses the system with all of the features set forth in claim 3 above, and wherein the battery module comprises a plurality of battery cells (“one or more of the battery cells 306 (which are also commonly referred to as “pouch cells”)” [0049]) that include the first battery cell, the second battery cell, and the third battery cell (306 shown in Fig. 3 indicates the battery cell of each battery module 302-n, including the battery cells 306 of battery modules 302-1, 302-2, and 302-3), and wherein at least two battery cells are disposed between the first thin-film pressure sensor and the second thin-film pressure sensor (“Every two battery modules 302 may share a single cooling plate 304 between their respective battery cells 306.” [0048] and “the ESD sensors 110, which are arranged on the cooling plate 304 or between two cooling plates 304, to monitor for physical deformations in each individual battery module 302, or among each pair of the battery modules 302” [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, Coon discloses the system with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein determining the abnormal condition associated with the battery module includes determining that a change in pressure measured by the thin-film pressure sensor within a predetermined time period exceeds a predetermined maximum pressure level (“predetermined thresholds, previous measured averages, or individual measured values are stored in the ESD profile/history 210. The saved profiles 210 may also include default profiles for popular models and types of ESDs to assist in detecting battery deformation” [0043], “whether the measurements in the chart 500-2 are within a sufficient tolerance or threshold established by the measurements originally recorded in the chart 500-1, the sensor data comparator 208 outputs an indication about whether the measurements are acceptable or not healthy” [0066], “the capacitance comparator 208 may identify a deformation from the short-term standard deviation, variance, or range being greater than a respective threshold value” [0093]).
Regarding claim 7, Coon discloses the system with all the features set forth in claim 1 above, and wherein determining the abnormal condition associated with the battery module includes determining that an average pressure, measured by the thin-film pressure sensor over a predetermined time period when the battery module is in a predetermined state, exceeds a predetermined threshold (“The sensor data comparator 208 may identify potential deformation of the ESD 108 if the difference between the short-term average of capacitance values and the long-term (e.g., all previous measurement cycles or a set number of previous measurement cycles) average of capacitance values is greater than a threshold value.” [0092]).
Regarding claim 8, Coon discloses a vehicle (102 Fig. 1; “host vehicle 102” [0022]), comprising:
a battery module (108-1 Fig. 3; “a battery system 108-1” [0046]) that includes:
a first battery cell (306 Fig. 3; “a battery cell 306” [0048]);
a second battery cell (“the battery cell 306 associated with the battery module 302-2” [0048]); and
a thin-film pressure sensor disposed between the first battery cell and the second battery cell (110 Fig. 3; “ESD 108 in combination with the ESD sensors 110” [0046] and “the ESD sensors 110, which are arranged on the cooling plate 304 or between two cooling plates 304, to monitor for physical deformations in each individual battery module 302, or among each pair of the battery modules 302” [0050]), the thin-film pressure sensor adapted to measure a change in pressure associated with at least one of: a swelling of the first battery cell, and a swelling of the second battery cell (“The ESD sensors 110 may include multiple pressure sensors (e.g., other types of sensors) configured to detect compression in the material of the ESD sensors 110 that is above the sensor pads.” [0027] and “The ESD sensors 110 are arranged on a surface of the cooling plate 304 in a pattern or arrangement that provides sufficient measurement capability across most or all of the regions 312. The regions 312 correspond to surface areas on the cooling plate 304 where the battery cell 306 may swell.” [0051]); and
a battery management system (collectively comprising of 202, 204 and 206 shown in Fig. 2; “a display 202, one or more processors 204, and computer-readable storage media (CRM) 206” [0038]) that includes:
a processor (204 Fig. 2; “one or more processors 204” [0038]); and
memory (206 Fig. 2; “computer-readable storage media (CRM) 206” [0038]) coupled to the processor and storing instructions that, when executed by the processor (“The processors 204 execute instructions stored in the CRM 206, on one or more disks, memories, or other non-transitory computer-readable storage media.” [0038]), cause the battery management system to:
receive a pressure measurement from the thin-film pressure sensor (“processors 204 process measurement values from the ESD sensors 110 and execute instructions loaded from the CRM 206 that cause the processors 204 to monitor the capacitance, inductance, temperature, or other external sensor values associated with the ESD 108 and determine whether physical deformation occurs.” [0039] where “The ESD sensors 110 may include multiple pressure sensors” [0027] and “the sensor data comparator 208 may use a machine-learned model to identify the battery deformation based on the sensor data (e.g., capacitance values, inductance measurements, pressure readings)” [0112]);
determine, based on the pressure measurement from the thin-film pressure sensor, an abnormal condition associated with the battery module (“The machine-learned model may be trained to receive the sensor data output from the sensor circuit 402 over the interface 310 and classify the ESD 108 deformed or not deformed. The machine-learned model may perform classification, tracing, and/or other tasks related to identifying potential battery deformations during charging or other vehicle operations involving the ESD 108.” [0112]); and
generate an alert that includes an indication of the abnormal condition (“outputting the alert is to a vehicle processor. The output of the alert may drive a graphical display and be provided as an alert to a vehicle occupant or user (e.g., on the display 202), to warn and request approval to continue using the ESD 108” [0117]).
Regarding claim 9, Coon discloses the vehicle with all the features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein the first battery cell and the second battery cell are lithium-based battery cells (“the ESD 108 may be a high voltage battery pack comprising a plurality of individual (e.g., Lithium-ion) battery cells.” [0025]).
Regarding claim 10, Coon discloses the vehicle with all the features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein the thin-film pressure sensor is a first thin-film pressure sensor (ESD sensor 110 included in 302-1 shown in Fig. 3), and wherein the battery module further comprises:
a module frame (collectively comprising of 314, 316, 304, 308 and 310 shown in Fig. 3; “cooling plate 304 is supported by the frame 308, which partially surrounds one or more of the battery cells 306 (which are also commonly referred to as “pouch cells”). … The frame 308 may encompass the multiple regions 312 within a coolant tube contained within the frame 308 to permit coolant liquid to circle through the battery system 108-1 from a cooling inlet 314 to a cooling outlet 316” [0049] and “an interface 310 to each of the battery modules 302” [0050]);
a third battery cell (battery cell 306 included in 302-3 of 302 shown in Fig. 3 comprising of battery cells 302-n); and
a second thin-film pressure sensor disposed between the third battery cell and the module frame (ESD sensor 110 included in 302-2 shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 11, Coon discloses the vehicle with all the features set forth in claim 10 above, and wherein the battery module comprises a plurality of battery cells (“one or more of the battery cells 306 (which are also commonly referred to as “pouch cells”)” [0049]) that include the first battery cell, the second battery cell, and the third battery cell (306 shown in Fig. 3 indicates the battery cell of each battery module 302-n, including the battery cells 306 of battery modules 302-1, 302-2, and 302-3), and wherein at least two battery cells are disposed between the first thin-film pressure sensor and the second thin-film pressure sensor (“Every two battery modules 302 may share a single cooling plate 304 between their respective battery cells 306.” [0048] and “the ESD sensors 110, which are arranged on the cooling plate 304 or between two cooling plates 304, to monitor for physical deformations in each individual battery module 302, or among each pair of the battery modules 302” [0050]).
Regarding claim 13, Coon discloses the vehicle with all the features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein determining the abnormal condition associated with the battery module includes determining that a change in pressure measured by the thin-film pressure sensor within a predetermined time period exceeds a predetermined maximum pressure level (“predetermined thresholds, previous measured averages, or individual measured values are stored in the ESD profile/history 210. The saved profiles 210 may also include default profiles for popular models and types of ESDs to assist in detecting battery deformation” [0043], “whether the measurements in the chart 500-2 are within a sufficient tolerance or threshold established by the measurements originally recorded in the chart 500-1, the sensor data comparator 208 outputs an indication about whether the measurements are acceptable or not healthy” [0066], “the capacitance comparator 208 may identify a deformation from the short-term standard deviation, variance, or range being greater than a respective threshold value” [0093]).
Regarding claim 14, Coon discloses the vehicle with all the features set forth in claim 8 above, and wherein determining the abnormal condition associated with the battery module includes determining that an average pressure, measured by the thin-film pressure sensor over a predetermined time period when the battery module is in a predetermined state, exceeds a predetermined threshold (“The sensor data comparator 208 may identify potential deformation of the ESD 108 if the difference between the short-term average of capacitance values and the long-term (e.g., all previous measurement cycles or a set number of previous measurement cycles) average of capacitance values is greater than a threshold value.” [0092]).
Regarding claim 15, Coon discloses a battery module (108-1 Fig. 3; “a battery system 108-1” [0046]), comprising:
a first battery cell (306 Fig. 3; “a battery cell 306” [0048]);
a second battery cell (“the battery cell 306 associated with the battery module 302-2” [0048]); and
a thin-film pressure sensor disposed between the first battery cell and the second battery cell (110 Fig. 3; “ESD 108 in combination with the ESD sensors 110” [0046] and “the ESD sensors 110, which are arranged on the cooling plate 304 or between two cooling plates 304, to monitor for physical deformations in each individual battery module 302, or among each pair of the battery modules 302” [0050]), the thin-film pressure sensor adapted to measure a change in pressure associated with at least one of: a swelling of the first battery cell, and a swelling of the second battery cell (“The ESD sensors 110 may include multiple pressure sensors (e.g., other types of sensors) configured to detect compression in the material of the ESD sensors 110 that is above the sensor pads.” [0027] and “The ESD sensors 110 are arranged on a surface of the cooling plate 304 in a pattern or arrangement that provides sufficient measurement capability across most or all of the regions 312. The regions 312 correspond to surface areas on the cooling plate 304 where the battery cell 306 may swell.” [0051]).
Regarding claim 16, Coon discloses the battery module with all of the features set forth in claim 15 above, and wherein the first battery cell and the second battery cell are lithium-based battery cells (“the ESD 108 may be a high voltage battery pack comprising a plurality of individual (e.g., Lithium-ion) battery cells.” [0025]).
Regarding claim 17, Coon discloses the battery module with all of the features set forth in claim 15 above, and wherein the battery module further comprises:
a module frame (collectively comprising of 314, 316, 304, 308 and 310 shown in Fig. 3; “cooling plate 304 is supported by the frame 308, which partially surrounds one or more of the battery cells 306 (which are also commonly referred to as “pouch cells”). … The frame 308 may encompass the multiple regions 312 within a coolant tube contained within the frame 308 to permit coolant liquid to circle through the battery system 108-1 from a cooling inlet 314 to a cooling outlet 316” [0049] and “an interface 310 to each of the battery modules 302” [0050]);
a third battery cell (battery cell 306 included in 302-3 of 302 shown in Fig. 3 comprising of battery cells 302-n); and
a second thin-film pressure sensor disposed between the third battery cell and the module frame (ESD sensor 110 included in 302-2 shown in Fig. 3).
Regarding claim 18, Coon discloses the battery module with all the features set forth in claim 17 above, and wherein the battery module comprises a plurality of battery cells (“one or more of the battery cells 306 (which are also commonly referred to as “pouch cells”)” [0049]) that include the first battery cell, the second battery cell, and the third battery cell (306 shown in Fig. 3 indicates the battery cell of each battery module 302-n, including the battery cells 306 of battery modules 302-1, 302-2, and 302-3), and wherein at least two battery cells are disposed between the first thin-film pressure sensor and the second thin-film pressure sensor (“Every two battery modules 302 may share a single cooling plate 304 between their respective battery cells 306.” [0048] and “the ESD sensors 110, which are arranged on the cooling plate 304 or between two cooling plates 304, to monitor for physical deformations in each individual battery module 302, or among each pair of the battery modules 302” [0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5, 12 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Coon (US 2025/0007018 A1) in view of Kanai et al (WO 2006067903 A1). The latter prior art reference being cited to as Kanai hereinafter in this Office Action.
Regarding claim 5, Coon discloses the system with all the features set forth in claim 4 above, but does not disclose the system further comprising a temperature sensor coupled to a battery cell from the plurality of battery cells, wherein the temperature sensor is not coupled to the first battery cell, the second battery cell, or the third battery cell.
However, Kanai discloses a system ("electric vehicles" [0002]), comprising a battery module (20 Fig. 2; “assembly of cells 20” [0016]) that includes battery cells stacked in one direction with no thin-film pressure sensor disposed between a pair of the battery cells (“many formed battery cells18 are stacked in the same orientation as shown in Figure 2, the assembly of cells 20 is assembled. At this time, a gap 21 is formed between adjacent battery cells 18 (device case 4).” [0016]).
Kanai teaches the system further comprising a temperature sensor coupled to a battery cell from the plurality of battery cells (“a temperature sensor (Sa1 misster 23) can be inserted into the gap 21 formed between adjacent battery cells 18” [0016]), and that it is desirable to place the temperature sensor extremely close to the surface of the battery cell ([0004]) and at the center of the battery cell to measure the temperature of the battery cell more accurately ([0017]) as the battery cell has the characteristic of getting hot toward its center ([0017]) and the temperature changes of the battery cell greatly influences the performance of the battery module ([0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add a temperature sensor that is coupled to a battery cell from the plurality of battery cells of the battery module of Coon, in view of Kanai, wherein the temperature sensor is not coupled to the first battery cell, the second battery cell, or the third battery cell because the temperature sensor taught by Kanai was not coupled to a battery cell that a thin-film pressure sensor is disposed directly adjacent to, and because it is desirable to place the temperature sensor extremely close to the surface and at the center of the battery cell to more accurately measure the temperature of the battery cell as the battery cell has the characteristic of getting hot toward its center and the temperature changes of the battery cell greatly influences the performance of the battery module.
Regarding claim 12, Coon discloses the vehicle with all the features set forth in claim 11 above, but does not disclose the vehicle further comprising a temperature sensor coupled to a battery cell from the plurality of battery cells, wherein the temperature sensor is not coupled to the first battery cell, the second battery cell, or the third battery cell.
However, Kanai discloses a vehicle ("electric vehicles" [0002]), comprising a battery module (20 Fig. 2; “assembly of cells 20” [0016]) that includes battery cells stacked in one direction with no thin-film pressure sensor disposed between a pair of the battery cells (“many formed battery cells18 are stacked in the same orientation as shown in Figure 2, the assembly of cells 20 is assembled. At this time, a gap 21 is formed between adjacent battery cells 18 (device case 4).” [0016]).
Kanai teaches the vehicle further comprising a temperature sensor coupled to a battery cell from the plurality of battery cells (“a temperature sensor (Sa1 misster 23) can be inserted into the gap 21 formed between adjacent battery cells 18” [0016]), and that it is desirable to place the temperature sensor extremely close to the surface of the battery cell ([0004]) and at the center of the battery cell to measure the temperature of the battery cell more accurately ([0017]) as the battery cell has the characteristic of getting hot toward its center ([0017]) and the temperature changes of the battery cell greatly influences the performance of the battery module ([0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add a temperature sensor that is coupled to a battery cell from the plurality of battery cells of the battery module of Coon, in view of Kanai, wherein the temperature sensor is not coupled to the first battery cell, the second battery cell, or the third battery cell because the temperature sensor taught by Kanai was not coupled to a battery cell that a thin-film pressure sensor is disposed directly adjacent to, and because it is desirable to place the temperature sensor extremely close to the surface and at the center of the battery cell to more accurately measure the temperature of the battery cell as the battery cell has the characteristic of getting hot toward its center and the temperature changes of the battery cell greatly influences the performance of the battery module.
Regarding claim 19, Coon discloses the battery module with all the features set forth in claim 15 above, but does not disclose the battery module further comprising a temperature sensor coupled to a battery cell from the plurality of battery cells.
However, Kanai discloses a battery module (20 Fig. 2; “assembly of cells 20” [0016]) that includes battery cells stacked in one direction with no thin-film pressure sensor disposed between a pair of the battery cells (“many formed battery cells18 are stacked in the same orientation as shown in Figure 2, the assembly of cells 20 is assembled. At this time, a gap 21 is formed between adjacent battery cells 18 (device case 4).” [0016]).
Kanai teaches the battery module further comprising a temperature sensor coupled to a battery cell from the plurality of battery cells (“a temperature sensor (Sa1 misster 23) can be inserted into the gap 21 formed between adjacent battery cells 18” [0016]), and that temperature changes of the battery cell greatly influences the performance of the battery module ([0004]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to add a temperature sensor that is coupled to a battery cell from the plurality of battery cells of the battery module of Coon, in view of Kanai, because temperature changes of the battery cell greatly influences the performance of the battery module.
Regarding claim 20, modified Coon discloses the battery module with all the features set forth in claim 19 above, and wherein the temperature sensor is not coupled to the first battery cell, the second battery cell, or the third battery cell (Kanai “to measure the temperature more accurately, it is desirable to place the sensor as close as possible to the surface of the film-mounted battery inside the cell case, and the temperature sensor extremely close to the surface of the film-mounted battery” [0004], “since the film outer battery 100 has the characteristic of getting hotter toward its center, from the perspective of temperature control, it is desirable to insert the thermistor 23 at a position where the temperature at the center can be measured more accurately” [0017]).
Conclusion
/CHARLENE BERMUDEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 1721 /ALLISON BOURKE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1721