DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3, 8, 11, 16-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Where applicant acts as his or her own lexicographer to specifically define a term of a claim contrary to its ordinary meaning, the written description must clearly redefine the claim term and set forth the uncommon definition so as to put one reasonably skilled in the art on notice that the applicant intended to so redefine that claim term. Process Control Corp. v. HydReclaim Corp., 190 F.3d 1350, 1357, 52 USPQ2d 1029, 1033 (Fed. Cir. 1999). The term “constant” in claims 3, 11 is used by the claim to mean “a value that changes based on another parameter,” while the accepted meaning is “a fixed value that does not change.” The term is indefinite because the specification does not clearly redefine the term.
Claims 8, 16, 17 recite the limitation “an equilibrium time for active material of each of the battery cells to equally distribute across an electrode of the battery cell”. It is not clear what the claim is claiming. The originally filed disclosure does not provide any detail as to what is meant by the phrase except to repeat the same phrase. The Examiner is unable to determine the scope of the claim. The claim is indefinite.
Claims 18-20 are rejected for being dependent on a rejected claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 4-7, 9, 10, 12-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chang et al. [US 20150306971] in view of Lee [US 20160059727].
As to claim 1. Lee discloses An electrified vehicle (EV) comprising:
a battery pack, [figs. 1, 2, 0021] battery 24, including a plurality of battery cells, [fig. 2, 0021] battery cells 72, and operable to provide at least a portion of propulsion power of the EV, [0016] provide energy for propulsion;
one or more sensors, [fig. 2, 0021] voltage sensors 80; and
a vehicle controller, [fig. 2, 0021] controllers including Battery Energy Control Module (BECM) 76, configured to operate the battery pack, [fig. 6, 0048] the controller operates the battery 24 according to the estimated values, according to power limits defined at activation of the EV, [0048] the controller operates the battery according to estimated values of OCV, [0031] including max and min limits for the OCV Voc, [0046] performed after startup, by an estimated open circuit voltage (OCV), [0029, 0032] the controller estimates the OCV Voc, for each of the battery cells, [0022, 0024] voltage measurement and estimation for each cell, that is based on voltages measured by the one or more sensors after a last deactivation of the EV, [0029] OCV calculated based on measured voltage, when no current 114 is flowing from the battery, [0025] OCV reading after the battery has been resting for a predetermined amount of time, and a decay parameter that is a function of the voltages and a duration since the last deactivation, [0029] the second parameter in equation (5) including V2,0.
Lee fails to explicitly disclose wherein the operating of the battery is to charge and discharge the battery.
Chang teaches a method to adjust battery parameters based on battery power capability comprising a battery 24 with a plurality of cells 72, and a voltage sensor 80, [figs. 1, 2, 0019], and a controller 76, [fig. 2, 0019]; wherein the controller determines the open circuit voltage Voc and determine the battery power capability based on the Voc, including maximum power provided to the battery, i.e. charging, and power that can be provided by the battery, i.e. discharging, [0021, 0044]; wherein the controller charges and discharges the battery, [0030, 0046] based on the battery power capability, [0021, 0044].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Chang so that the system can maximize the lifetime of the battery.
As to claim 2. Lee discloses The EV of claim 1, wherein the decay parameter includes a coefficient that is a function of the voltages, [0032] V2,0 is a function of charge polarization voltage.
As to claim 4. Lee discloses The EV of claim 1, wherein the decay parameter has a non-linear correlation with the voltages, [0031, 0032].
As to claim 5. Lee discloses The EV of claim 1, wherein the decay parameter includes an exponential parameter involving a square root of the duration, [0029] equation 5.
As to claim 6. Lee discloses The EV of claim 1, wherein the vehicle controller is configured to detect the decay parameter using a non-linear regression model, [0031] Voc determined using non-linear regression method.
As to claim 7. Lee discloses The EV of claim 1, wherein the vehicle controller is configured to estimate an initial state of charge of the battery pack based on the estimated OCV, [0034], wherein the power limits are defined, in part, by the initial state of charge, [0048].
As to claim 9. Lee discloses A method of controlling an electrified vehicle (EV) having a battery pack including a plurality of battery cells, comprising:
responsive to a deactivation request, opening one or more contactors to electrically decouple the battery pack from a charge-discharge system of the EV, [fig. 1, 0015] contactors 42 connect and disconnect the battery 24;
responsive to an activation,
closing the one or more contactors to electrically couple the battery pack to the charge-discharge system, [fig. 1, 0015] contactors 42 connect and disconnect the battery 24, and
operating the battery pack according to power limits, [fig. 6, 0048] the controller operates the battery 24 according to the estimated values, defined at the activation of the EV, [0046] performed after startup, by an estimated open circuit voltage (OCV), [0029, 0032] the controller estimates the OCV Voc, for each of the battery cells, [0022, 0024] voltage measurement and estimation for each cell, that is based on voltages measured by the one or more sensors after a last deactivation of the EV, [0029] OCV calculated based on measured voltage, when no current 114 is flowing from the battery, [0025] OCV reading after the battery has been resting for a predetermined amount of time, and a decay parameter that is a function of the voltages and a duration since the last deactivation, [0029] the second parameter in equation (5) including V2,0.
Lee fails to explicitly disclose wherein the operating of the battery is to charge and discharge the battery.
Chang teaches a method to adjust battery parameters based on battery power capability comprising a battery 24 with a plurality of cells 72, and a voltage sensor 80, [figs. 1, 2, 0019], and a controller 76, [fig. 2, 0019]; wherein the controller determines the open circuit voltage Voc and determine the battery power capability based on the Voc, including maximum power provided to the battery, i.e. charging, and power that can be provided by the battery, i.e. discharging, [0021, 0044]; wherein the controller charges and discharges the battery, [0030, 0046] based on the battery power capability, [0021, 0044].
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the filing of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Lee with that of Chang so that the system can maximize the lifetime of the battery.
As to claims 10, 12-15 are rejected using the same prior arts and reasoning as to that of claims 2, 4-7, respectively.
Conclusion
/Benyam Haile/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688